VIDEO: Mazda 2 1.5 hatchback in-depth walk-around

Our latest walk-around video stars the little car with a big following – the 2015 Mazda 2. The hatchback enters the fourth generation wielding striking Kodo looks, a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine and a six-speed auto with Sport mode.

Fully-imported (CBU) from Thailand, the RM85k hatch is the longest car in its class at 4,060 mm, and its wheelbase among the longest at 2,570 mm – but how much of all that translates to cabin and boot room? Few ways of showing this better than with a video, right?

But it’s the interior that leaves a lasting impression. You’re cocooned by black and red, classy-looking fabric and leather, circular air vents (plus a single ‘hidden’ air vent), seven-inch MZD Connect touch-screen, Commander Control knob and head-up display – there’s little not to like; hit Play and see for yourself!

Still thirsty for more knowledge? Read our complete launch report and review from Japan. You can also pore over all the specs and compare it to its classmates on CarBase.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• George Abdul on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Ok done thanks and just wait for ckd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Ive already seen few on the road n they look very premium indeed… Im nt comparing here bt i really think iriz has more interior room n knee room….
    The sedan stil looks awkward… The rear sits too high… Bt Obviously its more practical with its bigger boot…
    Overall A lovely product…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
  • BOYRACER on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Driven it couple of times.One of the best if not the best in its segment.A joy to drive.Flick the sport button and the gearbox is marvellous.Interior quality is good with premium feel to it.Although interior space is tight with my 180 cm height.Havent driven the Fiesta Ecoboost though.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 71

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 54
  • Zoom Zoom on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Better upgrade to bigger C-Segment midspec ckd Mazda 3 2.0 with 6 airbags for less than 20k. For me, Mazda 2 is too cramp inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Francis on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:08 pm

I wonder does Bermaz going to do good-will for their customer to bring in some of Mazda2 signature projector headlight as optional. I mean how could those headlight going to cost? RM3K? That reflector headlight just a killer for that lovely car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • therealmaserati on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Superb car to drive. Had a go in it recently and it was a joy to drive. Sport mode is awwwwwweeessoooommmee!

Interior quality is superb. Some bits are of better quality than BMW.

Its a super good car . Only let down is space. Quite cramp inside.

• John X on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Great video! The car aside, the clip was actually very well done. Nice shots of the car, informative, great colors and JJ speaks well. I loved the quality of this clip, so good job guys and keep up the good work.

Well to talk about the car, it is a shame that the Mazda 3 CBU didn’t get the heads up nor the reverse camera, and a number of other things, but those have been rectified by the CKD getting them. Which stings a little for those that got the M3 brand new.
    So its pretty decent kit you get for this car at this price point for a Mazda 2.

• applegreen on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:07 pm

PT should make new video…mazda2 vs iriz vs ?

• Iriz has no market, Please don’t waste time.
      Mazda2 vs Jazz vs Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • JB_KIA on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:13 pm

how can u compare a mazda with a BMW that comes with safety of a Volvo?

• tougeke70 on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:05 pm

iriz should be against volvo and bmw.. Thats their benchmark

• Dr Mamak on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Don’t buy until they upgrade it with projector headlights

• Bye bye honda jazz and with its outdated SOHC engine and shitty design compared to the old Jazz ckd 2013.Very hideous and expensive model compared to honda city, swift and even fiesta and kia rio!
    This model has much better looks, premium built quality compared to the junk ckd honda quality( check out honda malaysia fb page. many negative comments on built quality) and extremely cool features like Heads up Display above speedometer, real soft leather with real stitches compared to fake ones on Jazz and Sam Loo’s infamous vios, and a beautiful screen with mzd connect system. Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
    • walaoeh on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:44 pm

You are absolutely right on the shitty jazz ckd 3rd Generation model. I currently drive one.
      Engine response is not that great and now it has a huge scratch on the dashboard and minor gaps here and there.I bought it brand new.Haiz, nothing is perfect la bro.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:53 am

The Malaysian Mazda 2 seems to be pretty much a Sports Line Mazda 2 (which is the highest spec in Germany, and costs quite a bit more than the base spec Prime Line (which comes with 75 hp, unless you top up), apart from the airbags. In terms of airbags all specs in Germany include 6 airbags. The price is 17400 Euro for the 90 hp car with manual gearbox. The engine offered in Malaysia costs 18800 with a manual gearbox, no auto gearbox offered… but for 18900 you can get the 90 hp engine with an auto gearbox.

And yes, these headlights are standard even on the Sports Line. To get nicer looking ones you need to spend extra money to get the LED headlights. They cost 650 Euro, and are probably really worth it. Not just the looks, they will throw a much better light on the road.

Another interesting thing… white is free (not the one offered in Malaysia though), if you want metallic paint you’ll have to add 490 Euro… unless you want it in red, then it’s 750. It’s the best color offered in Malaysia. Germany also gets a midnight blue version, which on photos looks pretty stunning. It’s kind of black with a blue tone to it, looks cool.

The Mazda 2 would be the perfect 90k car, if they had thrown in the 6 airbags and perhaps the LED headlights. It’s a shame they didn’t.

• kimci tea on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:17 am

For rm90k, if they have fitted 6 airbags and projector lights, it will be a good buy.

Else I still think value for money wise, the pug 208 or kia rio is much better. At least it came with all the safety perks and although the interior can’t beat Mazda 2 for rio, the pug 208 had a better premium feel than Mazda.

Then again, I just need to top up another rm4k after rebate to get the kia cerato which is a C-segment, better specs and more space.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:30 am

The hatch looks better than the sedan. Interior is to die for in this segment and even classier than, dare I say the VW polo. That heads up display is a cool gadget. Mazdas are fun to drive too which is important for cars like this.

• BOYRACER on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:42 am

I agree with you.The hatchback looks much better compare to sedan.The interior design and quality is the best in its segment.Regarding the head up display,i found it hard to see for people 180cm or taller.And it is in a fixed position.I had to stoop a bit to look at it.The rear interior space is only gripe for me.And that gearbox is great especially with the Sport button is there when you need it.

• neonceejay on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:31 pm

let’s forget bout boyracer dream and real man 3 pedals, this is the only desirable practical car within reach for me, even I’m only manual sport car lover…despite it’s automatic transmission and torsion Beam rear but it’s equipped with a seems to be legit sport mode…and Mazda2 hatch is famous for handling!(siblings of ford fiesta)

But then, why no 6 speed manual matched with this engine? it would be so, so, so much better that I might just run to showroom and get myself a deal.

now, what I can do is…wait for the hotter MPs version. No news for MPs then…just bang my bucks on this lah~!