Govt did not buy BMW 7 Series, cars sponsored for ASEAN meet instead – BMW Group Malaysia CEO

11128790_945242205510287_168231223464246486_n

BMW Group Malaysia has stated that the six units of the BMW 7 Series bearing the Malaysian crest – photographed outside a showroom in Bandar Puteri Puchong – had not been bought by the government, but instead have been sponsored by the company for the 26th ASEAN Summit taking place on April 24-28.

“BMW Group Malaysia would like to clarify that the cars photographed have not been purchased by Putrajaya,” said MD and CEO Alan Harris. “The cars are part of BMW Group Malaysia’s commitment as the automotive partner of the upcoming 26th ASEAN Summit.”

He added that the fleet of cars BMW is providing – the 5 and 7 Series – would be used to shuttle dignitaries, officials and VIPs throughout the course of the summit.

https://www.facebook.com/rafiziramli.keadilan/posts/945399698827871

Earlier today, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) vice president Rafizi Ramli queried if the government had purchased the six 730Li’s, each costing RM648,800, adding that it was an inappropriate time to be buying them considering that the Goods and Services Tax (GST) had only recently been implemented. He also shared the photos on his Facebook page, drawing ire from social media users.

In response to Harris’ statement, the Pandan MP posted in Malay, “I have been informed that BMW Malaysia said the six BMWs were sponsored by BMW for the ASEAN summit. Thank you to the public who took the pictures; thank goodness the GST money from the rakyat was not used to buy the cars.”

In any case, these “official cars” are usually available for purchase after the event at a discounted price as pre-registered vehicles, so that should take the sting out of things…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• This is rather small amount.
    Forgot about the plane?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
    • kadajawa on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Better use the new Proton Perdana.
      Apa mau malu if ASEAN delegates ask why Perdana looks like Accord? Just tell them it is as good as BMW Lexus Volvo lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
      • Agreed. Ah Jib, use the Accordana to shuttle those dignitaries around for ASEAN. I have been to Proton’s Centre of Excellence and walk around the place like a bawse (more like bakso, eh?). I have seen more than 20 Accordana 2.4 in black in one of the garages. I am guessing they already been booked, or Proton is just gonna let them rot to dust. Proton, how about a swap for my dad’s Accordana 2.0 in that unappealing grey colour? Void warranty? No problem. Our government are paying approximately RM3K monthly for every single Accordana 2.0 to SPANCO, used by government officials. There goes our money again, sigh..

http://paultan.org/2014/11/04/mustapa-defends-accord-based-proton-perdana-low-volume-justify-developing-new-model-report/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • taboogen on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:15 am

orang mahu sponser what is the problem lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
          • Minister on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Yeah, better sponsor Protons as they have “Handling of BMW” and “Safety of Volvo”. Why waste money on the real thing?

• Bodoh Bodoh CEO on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Hello Alan, BMW itself is wholly owned by Sime Darby. Sime Darby is not only a GLC but it is practically owned by the Government of Malaysia. So, what rubbish are you talking about?

It is the same thing. At the end of the day, it is the Government that is buying the BMWs. Remember one thing, Sime Darby is just another name for Government of Malaysia.

And we all know this is an utter waste because, after the event, these cars, are usually and NORMALLY sold half the price. Everyone knows this. So, BMW Malaysia still loses so much of money buying this cars and ultimately, Sime Darby (another name for Malaysian Government) loses money.

I hope the CEO can act with a bit of integrity and be neutral instead of bowing down to pressures of the Government to come out with statements to the press. You sound like a real joke defending the Government.

Ultimately, this is just a waste of money. What about the BMW 750il bought for Tun Musa and when he said the engine was too noisy, Sime Darby bought another 750il for another RM1 million? RM2 million just on 2 cars alone wasted. That is all a waste of money isn’t it?

Very disgraceful CEO. You should be running your company well instead of coming out with press statements defending Government abuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:57 pm

This is kampung thinking. See who is the parent company of BMW. It is Sime Darby.

BMW loses, Sime loses. Sime loses, Government loses. Government loses, your money and my money from LHDN and EPF hilang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:25 am

Why u all so stupid. BMW had offer themselves to sponsor the cars which they did same during 25th ASEAN SUMMIT in Myanmar a year ago. By approving this sponsorship, govt did not need to spend buying 6 unit of Perdana to fetch the delegates. It’s a saving instead..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
          • Why u so stupid, just ask Proton to sponsor lah, no need to buy. After all, it is “BMW of Asia”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • Why Proton don’t sponsor, do national service for the country?

• tailong on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:32 pm

i don’t know what to say to this kind of people.. whether bangang or bongok or just plain stupid.. the last person i told, doesn’t receive it well..

BMW wants to offer.. it’s up to BMW lah.. i believe part of the marketing plan.. also BMW sponsors for other ASEAN summit in other country as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Strange…..I thought Putrajaya says Proton is as good as BMW….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
  • S-Class >>> 7 Series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
  • TheDuh on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:06 pm

I respect that you’re trying to do your job as a member of the Opposition. But stop being an asshole and creating unnecessary and adverse publicity for people. Wouldn’t it have been easier to check with BMW directly and let the matter rest if nothing was improper?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 45
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:41 pm

being a MIC politician for years….i can see politicians have started to be modest…dulu i cakap bmw ini sepatutnya untuk kita kan kita ada hak hak menteri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Sami Vellu never said that. If you wanna troll with dupe ID, pls do so at /K/

• You are absolutely right. Those asshole politician keep harping on those unnecessary issue to gain popularity while neglecting the bigger issue facing by normal citizen like us. Grow up please!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 14
      • Opposition always play with perception dude. Once been reveal and then say sorry. Mostly like this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 10
        • rapijirameli on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:51 pm

thats y at the end still need madey to open his mouth, then only things start shaking. If left to the oppositions, they just there to enjoy the MP allowance only. From time to time, bring up issue but to no effect, only good at becoming online content for free time consumption for the rakyat. When it is time for them to do their real work, give excuse “..if we come also BN gonna win that block voting, so no big issue we were absent from parlimenet eventhough we are called MP (Member of Parliment)..” ..

politician like thst lor.. eventhough today they admit they are useless, dont hope tomorrow they will resign. Every month claim allowance and if the amount is right, change team also can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:33 am

this time around he didn’t even apologise nor admit mistake… typical…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
          • Gargantia on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:58 am

Even DrM never admit wrong…

He only following the lead even he’s a opposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
      • tailong on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:35 pm

i always fond of the true-blue macai from both sides of the fence.. they’ll worship their leaders words.. no wrong one.. always right.. even proven wrong, those true-blue macai will find words to defend..

• Krusty on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:39 pm

It looks improper when only emblem being used as car plate. We have the right to be curious. Nowadays lots of people use unauthorised car emblem and have fake Datuk titles.

BTW it was public tip-off that informed Rafizi. He just raised the concern. Do not shoot the messenger lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 55
      • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:30 am

oh wow… ure oh so rite… proof today that he’s also a rumour monger… a spinner… misinformation giver… just creating ruffles over something he could easily verify with a simple call to BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
      • blaaah on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:33 am

rafizi has lost all credibility since his BAFIA high jinks n that Kajang move antics. Add this buffoonery to the scorecards please :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Mama fizi should be working as gossip columnist for a tabloid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • If there’s one thing you can count on PR politician, is they can make mountains out of ant hills. If he tried this stunt here PT, first thing I would ask “mana gerudi?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Kenny lim on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Mp said proton is as good as merc, why still use bmw? N after use….wonder if it will be cheaply sold off….haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 50
  • Addict on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Malaysian crest for cars to be used during ASEAN Summit?? Something fishy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 58
    • Observer on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:34 pm

What’s so fishy? Malaysia is the host of the summit… obviously Malaysian Crest would be there…. if it’s host by vietnam or singapore I’m sure it will be those country’s crest on the car instead of malaysian crest…. duh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:42 am

u’re either very stupid… or your heart is so black its blinding your judgment adamant to find fault in what is a non issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Gargantia on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Thanks goodness Ministers or BN never admit wrong… So after event will it goes to Ministers house or his mistress house???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 52
    • Gargantia on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Mistaken comment… and still hope BN ministers don’t simply use tax payers money to buy !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Ultra2Disk on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Rafizi spin as the wheel on the road spinning !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
  • FIST (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Wow, so caring

• Jimmy on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Ya, lo.

Thank you, this CEO. For your words, at least.

More thankful if there was a media event for announcement, proactively.

The role of opposition is acknowledged and appreciated. They are the ‘mata-mata-mata-mata’.

GST is good, and the tax money gained must be used with utmost care and appropriateness, because this time, the tax money also comes from the poor, unlike income tax.

Is economi merosot worldwide, and as bad?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • razifinakbmw on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Razifi nak BMW ke? Beli jerla, x yah bising2. Paultan ini u consider automotive news jugak ke? Duh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
  • Kruel on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Proton marketing dept asleep again? They should use this opportunity to promote their car to the world by sponsoring their cars for this event. Imagine heads of Asean countries all in Proton, and giving their thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawa on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Yes very true indeed. The new Perdana is as good as Accord and looks the same too. A proof to the ASEAN delegates that Proton is on par with Honda BMW Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • drMpower on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:22 pm

so he didnt even offer apology?
    jesus christ what kind of MP he is?
    and despite all, he is the Wunderboy
    cannot he check first?

so thats ur MP, boys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
    • Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:57 am

you stupid…He done nothing wrong, why want to apologize ? Is it a sin for being curious ?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
      • applegreen on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:47 am

you r right. It stated that ‘Rafizi Ramli QUERIED if the government had purchased..’. So Rafizi just asking to government only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • drMpower on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:25 am

he didnt queried
          he thought it was a very big chance to further nail najib and co

i didnt ask u to support najib. i am asking u to see whats going on. infact i am training u as a person to NOT prostitute urself to anyone

i am asking u to use ur faculty of mind to see things. and this one, rafizi owed an apology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:28 am

u’re the one who is stupid n blindly following… rafizi insinuated that the govt did something wrong… but he could have easily verified the news with a simple call to BMW… he’s laziness shows he merely wants to paint a bad pic of the govt no matter what the truth is. He’s is oblivious that as a lawmaker… he needs to verify n clarify before making claims, assumptions n innuendoes… U should know better too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • drMpower on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:17 am

he didnt check his source
        thats his problem and thats why he needs to apologize

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • hahahaha u r right. Seems like whatever opposition is doing, everything are alright. but when the govt are doing it, be it right or wrong, everything seems so wrong. we keep talking about good governance and yet the rakyat itself who are the one that need to have positive mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Seems like posting facebook and getting answer from it, is rather faster than finding it out in Parliament.

• Jeffry on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Why the comment is so low at this matter ? Something not right.

• Becoz it is their favourite MP caught with his pants down (maybe even bending over for his leader). But if BN did do it, I expect no less than 100 comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:39 am

of coz its rite… govt haters are loudmouths… with a non issue they keep quiet… a few try to twist it… but people see it for what it is.

U did realise that rafizi boy didn’t apologise or admit fault at anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Samad Jain on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:35 pm

with so much of scandals going on in the Govt, so much cover-up, so much of twist and turn story, fabrication, half-truth stories, denial, talking-without facts, etc

I wonder how much truth there is left when govt ppl make statements…..

I find it hard to believe the govt anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • with so much half-truths, outright lies, die die straitening a wet sting even when proven wrong again and again, grand master plans, state wide drama better than any korean series…

I wonder if there’s any truth at all when PR ppl make statements…

I find it hard to believe PR anymore

• It’s not about which make is good. It’s about who sponsored it. Go blame BMW.

• BMW!!! ARE YOU TRYING TO SONGLAP ASEAN!!!
    U BUNCH OF CRONIES!!! CORUPT!!! BEE-EMD!!!
    BETTER CLOSE SHOP LAH!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • chikubi on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:10 am

Hahahaa….dapat dosa kering je…

• chikubi on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:13 am

Hahaha….dapat dosa kering je…

• TheDean on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:26 am

Our ministers use Accordanas, while Penang CM uses S-Class. Proton is no where near BMW standard. Not even Japanese standard (exceot for Iriz). Let’s not behave like our politicians. We are the rakyat, and have higher class and standards. Now, back to our regular programming…..

• Typical of this guy Lapiji; Shoot first, ask the question later. No wonder he & his party are in disarray.
    The Govt may be weak, but an even weaker opposition keeps us thinking about the country’s future. haish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • BNaik on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:37 am

Why need brand New cars? During Langkawi LIMA, gov buy BMW more than +50 cars, just carry VIPs & crews. After LIMA, sell it all again!!!

• C.P.MOHAN on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:04 am

Remember who is affiliated to BMW in Malaysia. If you want to believe in Santa Claus or free sponsor go ahead, I don’t.

• PowerHong on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:04 am

Why only sponsored 6 units of 7 Series to ferry dignitaries? Aren’t there about 10 ASEAN countries? I m not very clever, but this does leave me a question on whether some dignitaries from poorer nations only get to ride on 5 series? Double standards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • blaaah on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

coz some diginitaries have official cars ready at their embassies or consulates… the sponsored cars are to complement when needed… perhaps the 5 series are for those who assist or part of the entourage… Sultan of Brunei surely wants to ride in his RollsRoyce.

Who it which car? How many escorts? What is the route?
      They cant reveal everything for you just becoz u want to know it all… security reasons.

• drMpower on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:32 am

yes u are not clever
      thats entirely to BMW how many they want to sponsor and thats nothing to do with the numbers of ASEAN countries or what

it seems u dont know alot of things. relax. u will grow up. and u will learn lots of things. i hope u become wiser and not say anything like this again.

• IrizX on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:07 pm

The smaller countries will ride in Iriz

• CarzyMobilo on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

Mostly evry1 at this forum are bashing up Rafizi’s statement… But y only now guys? He is the 1 to questioned so many things that has gone wrong in Malaysia n thnks to him also, we have known so many underlining truths…
    So jus make this a car website and stop bringin in politics brothers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Becoz a priest who lies is even worse than a thieve that steals

• nanaskinux on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:09 am

tak perlu spin la rafizi lepas kantoi menfitnah ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • shawal on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:36 am

Rafizi happily declared his assets, which im sure bodes well with the rest of pakatan leaders right? Is LGE and LKS will follow suit?

Den rafizi said ” wan azizah is most qualified candidate to contest in permatang pauh ”

Now he went on fb for dis mess….

He might be smart….but he is one dumbass politician

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Observers on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:48 am

“Rafizi happily declared his assets”….. the assets which are using his name… what about assets he acquired not using his name… just to fool other ppl eyes…. lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • pondan on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:11 pm

please la… there’s no free lunch… BMW must have got something in return or else, there’s no biz reason for doing so..

for those who work enough years in the industry will know.

• Joe Hung on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:29 pm

USE PROTON LA!
    GLOBAL CARS MA!
    ANCAP 5 STARS ***** MA!
    MALU KEH?
    ARKKKKK PUIIIIIII(LUDAH/SPIT) <—UR VALUE

• BMW sponsor also Govt salah??? What stupidity is this???

• David on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Means that after this very big possible customer BMW buy this second-hand car.

• lekor on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:49 pm

if it’s something the opposition does wrong, suddenly all their trooper say “hey let’s keep it a car blog – no politics please”. but you see lah any other article, suddenly politics here and there. nonsense lah these people. i’ve given up supporting them for sure. now both sides have the same problem: arrogance got to their head.

• So can i insinuate that he is a pandan and get away with it?