Opel Adam Rocks S – tough tiny car gets more power

Opel Adam Rocks S-05

GM Europe is fleshing out its Adam city car range, one by one. Last year saw the company roll out the tough-looking Adam Rocks and the high-performance Adam S – now both Rocks and S combine to make the Opel Adam Rocks S, which will debut at the 2015 International Amsterdam Motorshow this month.

Powered by a 150 hp Ecotec four-pot with start/stop and a short ratio six-speed manual gearbox, the Adam Rocks S does 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds and has a top speed of 210 km/h. We have no doubt that it will all feel faster in a car this small. Fuel consumption? This warm hatch uses just 5.9 litres of petrol per 100 km.

A sport chassis, lowered by 15 mm compared to the Adam Rocks, and “direct sporty steering” are included to match the engine. Uprated brakes and an ESP system that can be deactivated round up the changes.

This is the Rocks, so there’s an electrically operated Swing Top canvas roof that folds back in just five seconds. Sportswear comprises an extended rear bumper cut-out with a visible exhaust tailpipe and a rear spoiler. There’s a total of 11 body paint choices that can be combined with five roof colours, including the S-exclusive “Red n Roll” theme, which continues inside. Nice Recaros, too.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Adam Rock on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Nice, looks better than Iriz and not to mention can smoke it as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • P2 macai on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Stupid Toyota and P2 macai always want to drag Proton to any post!! Why don’t you mention that the look is better than Myvi? Bear in mind the safety features of Iriz is nothing comparable to the tin kosong Myvi. Macai f off and go to hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 29
      • mr_em on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:56 pm

My advise is stay away from blogs if not man enough to take criticisms… And be nice to others…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
        • P1 macai on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Agree, these Proton supporters act like crybabies when they cannot accept the truth of others while they themselves will happily criticise other car brands especially the Japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • ecotecboring on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Cannot compare with Iriz, this got 3 doors, Iriz 5 doors. 8.5 is not unsual performance nowadays. Make it at least on par with polo GTi then it’s something

• kaizen on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:17 pm

my advice, always get the fact right. do not waste other people’s time with your absurdity.

• This column is not to argue or scold people. Discuss n compare cars. Be cool and behave. All are entitle to their views. We are not particular brand of car sale agent., even if U are, put facts n with substantia proof data or whatever to clear people opinions/views. We don’t gain/lose anything to tell the truth, what is good n bad of the cars. That is all. TQ.

• Full value on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:55 pm

With one macai spawning more macais.. impressive! I would agree with the second statement.

The stupid thing is that many people here keep dragging Proton for no apparent reason and licking P2’s ass like no tomorrow. The fact is very clear and no need to state anything. Safety wise and pricing Proton is far ahead of P2. People need to start going to Proton showroom and look at the difference they have made. Though they are not on par with BMW but at least they made great improvement.

P2 and Toyota are brothers going step by step to rip people’s money off. The former without ABS for base line model and the latter without ESP. What a shame, and people still fall of it because they think P2 is the king of everything and Proton should go to hell.

Yet they are still people asking to argue with facts and be nice. But some people can’t even be nice at first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • TRD Sportivo on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Agreed. Many people still poking fun of Proton for everything. Issues like power window and tin milo still can be heard even Proton has made great improvement. I bet they are living in stone age.

P2 is basically just rebadging cars and put super low-spec stuffs for you and yet all people praise. P1 made great improvement leaps and bounds over the year still being criticised by people who have not gone to Proton showroom for years.

Wake up Malaysians, if you are really talking about “being nice”. Debate with maturity not just simply bash without facts. I’m not a hardcore supporter of Proton. I own some cars with different brand, among them is a Preve, Exora and also a Honda Accord and Toyota Alphard at home (yes, I have a big family). They all have their pros and cons but purely licking P2’s ass and bashing Proton for no apparent reason is not “being nice” too.

• Dear TRD Sportivo,
          U already behaving like an old man from old folks home…nagging “Potong” again. ..pls shut down lah

• mr_em on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Are u condoning people to wish other people to go to hell? Hmmmm….

• Jimmy on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:39 pm

These Proton macais sikit-sikit pun condemn people. Cannot argue using facts, have to use personal attacks. Normally people who said it go there themselves

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Never buy Germans except for their sausages. Sushis will never go wrong. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • taknakToyota on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:29 pm

I want good handling, for sure Jap cars are out of my list. They dun give enough confidence when cruising at high speed.

RV? Oh that’s old minded people idea, not relevant to youngsters nowadays.

• For safety, japanese cars like the Camry are designed for a top speed of 120km/h.

When using a Camry, drivers automatically will go slow and less accidents will happen.

• camryrubbish on Apr 10, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Then what’s the purpose of having big engine?
          Just to show off?