Puspakom introduces whistleblower contact line for public to report any irregular activity – 03-20528989

puspakom-1

Puspakom has introduced a new telephone line for whistleblowers – members of the public can call 03-20528989 or email [email protected] if they come across any irregular practice or unethical business conduct by its staff.

Under the vehicle inspection agency’s Whistleblower Policy, anyone with evidence of any irregular practice or activity can file a complaint against the individual(s), and the informant’s identity will be kept confidential. Puspakom’s intelligence and surveillance department will then investigate the matter.

Puspakom will take stern action against employees who fail to comply with the disciplinary code or breach any procedures, said CEO Mohammed Shukor Ismail. He urged customers to report immediately if they were approached by unscrupulous third parties who claim they can guarantee a pass for a vehicle.

The agency emphasised that it does not authorise third parties to act on behalf of the company, nor does it give any guarantee that a vehicle will pass an inspection. It added that because it has invested in equipment that sends inspection data directly to the server, it is “hardly possible” for anyone to guarantee a pass by bribing officers or interfering with inspection data.

“There is no reason for our customers to use a third party to deal with Puspakom. The inspection fee charged is based on the type of inspection, ranging from RM20 to RM90. We welcome and encourage customers to come directly to Puspakom centres,” said Mohammed Shukor.

“These irresponsible people can only make empty promises when it comes to solving any problems with the vehicles being inspected. The inspection process is made even more convenient for our customers now by using our Inspection by Appointment system.”

Puspakom recently invested RM3 million in Toughpad (pic, above left), a device used to directly transmit digital results to the server, minimising human intervention and cutting the time taken to process results by 20%. Between 1994 and 2014, the agency has spent over RM400 million to improve and upgrade its systems, in its efforts to ensure transparency and eliminate graft.

Mohammed Shukor stressed that Puspakom’s existence is to do with ensuring the safety and roadworthiness of vehicles and motorists, and that constant attempts to try and circumvent the system would render the whole exercise futile.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Burong on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:40 am

In the past few months, saw lots of PKR Whistle blower get lock up in the jail. The news line who are reporting the truth is also jailed up.

So…. who is going to be the hero next?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • Whistleblow and Lokap Straight on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Aiyaa. nobody dare whistleblow in Malaysia la. See, you either lose your job, get thrown into jail or your family gets threatened with molotiv cocktail.

Shukor Ismail, it is no big secret, your Puspakom is dirty every inch. Everybody in Puspakom is asking for money to get things done. It is dirty to the core. Unless you do something yourself, how can people whistleblow?

People are scared of Puspakom. Everything needs money to get things done. Nothing moves unless money is given. Infact Puspakom is worse than JPJ. Corrupted to the core.

I think better just abolish Puspakom. It serves no purpose and make selling your car very difficult. You guys can never be like the MOT in the UK where everything is done in honour.

Half the time Puspakom approves not road worth cars on the road because of duit kopi. There cars are the main cause of accidents and tragic death.

Better to just close Puspakom down as I can clearly say, it is the sole cause of road deaths in Malaysia.

I appeal to syed Mokhtar, please abolish your Puspakom or give it back to the Government as Puspakom itself has failed to do its job and it is the sole caus eof accidents in Malaysia, ultimately, deaths.

One organisation causing hundreds of deaths in Malaysia is too much.

Close it down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • biggbro on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:03 am

Before you even think of blowing the whistle, better get ready to be blown away by all kind of newly introduced Acts designed to keep you silent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:24 am

It’s like going into a war with all their missiles and what nots and then they give you a knife to fight with them. Win liao lor!

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:24 am

sila tekan 1 untuk bahasa ingerris dan dua untuk bahasa melayu. tekan 1 untuk ini, tekan dua untuk itu, tekan tiga untuk yang lain. sila tunggu, harap maaf operator kami akan bersama dengan anda sebentar lagi. perbualan anda mungkin akan dirakam. enough of this crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Yesterday I spend 6 hours at puspakom batu caves. WTF

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Puspakom is no less than a crony scam to make money.

If u take your car for a B5 test…they just basically check the car VIN and tint. Car can go in with bald tires and still pass. Waste of time this “safety” inspection.

The B7 test is more comprehensive because the bank is buying the car and renting it back to you.

Otherwise also a complete waste of time and money.

Now please tell me where is the value add to consumers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:21 pm

4G63T DSM,

Before you comment on this you should know the objective of inspections and Puspakom implements it based on Government’s directive guided by the Road Transport Act.

B5, Transfer of Ownership Inspection, is a mandatory inspection before customers sell their private vehicles to other individuals. B5 inspection verifies the very existence of a vehicle through checking of chassis number and registration card and also visual inspection to detect any irregularities of the physical condition of a vehicle for instance “cut and joint”. The requirement under the Road Transport Act, is for vehicles to bear a clear, distinct and untampered engine and chassis number, which can be identified through visual inspection.

In practice, vehicles with suspected illegal / unauthorised modifications are requested to head to RTD for further analysis.

The objective is to detect and address any fraudulent cases involving vehicle transactions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Anonymous on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:44 pm

B7 is HPI, required under KPDNKK act, that’s why the checks are comprehensive.

B5 is Tukar Hak Milik / Transfer of Ownership, the objective is to check the very existence of the vehicle, to prove the vehicle exists. Puspakom is just implementing the Government’s policy.

To make comprehensive checks mandatory for private vehicles would require the Government to impose mandatory routine private vehicle inspection, to confirm roadworthiness of private vehicles.

• Low Budget on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:49 pm

To most of us, it is wasting money, to Puspakom is profit, to their employee is free kopl o.

• klwklw on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Bald tyres can pass? R u sure the operator or the driver didnt rent tyre and change it back to old tyre after they passed d inspection?

• P1 Sucks on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Can i call if i’m unsatisfied with Proton’s service centre?

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Buy a Toyota and you will never need to go Puspakom for inspection. Toyota is well-known for its good reliability.

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 76

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • Low Budget on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Pls don’t talk rubbish, all vehicles must go through the puspakom route, whether toyota or not

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:28 pm

You are the one who talk rubbish. Why would I have to go Puspakom when my Toyota got no problem? Toyota is the Godcar, face the fact. You can buy your Perodua if you can’t afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Sorry la I like to usik you guys. Though I am selling ladies undergarments in Parkson, I sometimes feel I am still in UMW.

So, sorry for the rants. Simply usik only!

• superbird #43 on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:10 pm

puspakom turns into a thug business, blackmailing or threatening anyone who disagree their practices…

• To quote someone in a previous article “They are doing for the good of the rakyat. So please keep this a car blog. No politics here”

• Totally agree. Nothing will ever satisfy people with negative mindset. All blame other people, even when they strive to make improvement.

• gundam mama on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Can I whistleblow to puspokom that puspakom themselves are unethical??

• Sure you can. But if ur not specific with proof just like some shotgun politician, nobody should give you a flying f*ck

• appointment2queup on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:59 pm

I dont understand why we got to que behind the walk-ins, even though we already made an appointment. A whole day cud be wasted just to que with busses n trucks. Thts y some of us hired third party to send the vehicle for inspection coz not many can spend a whole day doing nothing while queing, in worst case customer have to continue queing in the following day

• alldisc on Apr 10, 2015 at 5:00 pm

how to proof?

everything is banked in one… no cash transaction involved within or around puspakom premise.

each personnel at every puspakom will easily earn double his/her salary because of the so-called side income – especially the vehicle examiners.