Tesla Model S 70D: new entry level with AWD, 329 hp

Tesla-Model-S-Blue

Tesla has revamped the Model S with a new entry-level model that gets more power and standard all-wheel drive. The Tesla Model S 70D, as it’s called (we wonder how Canon’s lawyers like the sound of the new suffix), replaces the two-wheel drive 60 (as well as the stillborn AWD 60D), leaving the 85 model as the sole rear-drive variant.

As the name suggests, the 70D uses a larger 70 kWh lithium-ion battery and dual motors to power all four wheels. With 329 hp on tap (versus the 60’s 302 horses), the base model sprints from 0-100 km/h in 5.2 seconds (0.7 seconds quicker), before reaching a 35 km/h higher top speed of 225 km/h. Despite the increased performance, the 70D has a range of 386 km, up from 335 km.

Kit count has also been increased with the update. Compatibility with Tesla’s free Supercharger rapid-charging network – previously a US$2,000 (RM7,300) option – is now standard, as is keyless entry and navigation.

The radar sensors and forward-facing camera used for the company’s Autopilot range of driver assistance features are also fitted to the 70D, but while blind spot warning and automatic emergency braking come as standard, enabling the rest of the functions – adaptive cruise control, lane keeping with automatic steering, self-parking and automatic high beam – is still a US$2,500 (RM9,100) extra.

Also on the options list are GPS adaptive air suspension, a 12-speaker sound system, a powered tailgate, door handle lights, LED fog and cornering lights, LED ambient lighting, executive rear seats, rear-facing seats in the boot (making it a seven-seater) and heated steering wheel, rear seats, wipers and washer nozzles. Additionally, three new colours join the Model S palette – Warm Silver, Obsidian Black and Ocean Blue.

Pricing for the new Tesla Model S 70D starts at US$75,000 (RM272,500) before incentives, but Tesla says that because you save so much money over a petrol-powered car in the long run – it estimates a US$10,000 (RM36,300) saving over five years – the “real” cost of the car is actually US$57,500 (RM208,800), inclusive of a US$7,500 (RM27,200) federal tax credit.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Barely any charging stations in Msia. No use selling here.

• You can still charge it at any power socket you numbnut.
      As a car to drive to and from work, and then take the family for dinner or go shopping, who cares?
      Everyone parks their car at home every night, charging the tesla from completely empty to full would take just over 8 hours, which is the same time as most people sleep.
      The only thing we don’t have is Tesla Superchargers which is only useful if you are going to drive further than Penang to KL without stopping at all.

• sick&tired on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:49 pm

wouldn’t the giant screen in the center console drain more power?

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Never buy American except for burgers and fries. Want a hybrid? Get the Camry. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking:78

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • kadajawie on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Go check utube video drag race Tesla S beat the crap out of Dodge Charger Helcat. Elon Musk must be damn proud.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Sorry guys. I still think I am in UMW. I cannot adjust to the fact that I am selling bra and panties now. So sorry. These are my imaginary bookings

• Dude, even toyol hybrid cannot match the distance cover by this car when full charge. Mind you tesla is not a hybrid, it’s EV.

• teslacoil on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Dun compare speedster tesla with slowsnail peasant Camry Hybrid, haha!

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:46 am

You guys can say whatever you want. Work harder and you will able to buy a Toyota. Stop driving a Perodua. Camry hybrid is miles away from this shit at least you don’t have to worry about burn batteries.

This Tesla will only be able to sell for USD10k after two years. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
          • Kenneth Wong on May 01, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Lol, Toyota is no cheap thing in Malaysia, and Tesla too (if Malaysia has it). Perodua and other produced-in-country vehicles such as Proton, is more economical to average families.

• choha on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:40 pm

some said EV doesn’t need the front grill, how true is that?

• About as much Canon liked VW using EOS on their car