VIDEO: Honda films first ‘never-ending’ Youtube video

As far as product-related videos go, Honda is, arguably, one of the most creative players in its field. Late last year and prior to the launch of the Honda Civic Type R, the company released a short film starring said vehicle in concept form. Dubbed ‘The OtheR Side‘, the film portrayed the Civic’s intended Jekyll and Hyde nature by allowing viewers to toggle between two contrasting narratives by holding down the ‘R’ key.

Now, as part of its campaign to drum up hype for the European launch of the Honda CR-V, the marque will be the first automobile brand to film a ‘never-ending’ Youtube video. The campaign, dubbed ‘The Endless Road’ will feature an infinitely-looped video that shows a Honda CR-V driving through an unending canyon road.

Employing real time location data from the viewer’s computer, the video will reflect the time of day and weather pattern. Also available is the option to cycle through multiple major cities around the world, which then results in the respective change in air temperature and presence/absence of sunlight.

Previewed as a prototype at the 2014 Paris Motor Show, the Euro-spec Honda CR-V is slated to go on sale in the near future. Externally, only minute differences help set it aside from the Malaysian-spec CR-V with the addition of roof rails being one of the most obvious.

2015_Honda_CR-V_facelift_Europe_01

Under the skin, the European CR-V is expected to come powered by a 1.6 litre, i-DTEC turbocharged diesel engine pumping out 160 PS and 350 Nm of torque and mated to either a six-speed manual or nine-speed automatic transmission. Other options include another version of a 1.6 litre turbo’ed diesel mill and a 2.0 litre i-VTEC petrol engine.

The European CR-V will be the first production car to be equipped with what Honda calls a predictive safety cruise control system. Dubbed Intelligent Adaptive Cruise Control (i-ACC), it employs a camera and millimeter wave radar to slow the car down should it detect a parallel vehicle intending to merge into its lane.

Said system is able to foresee a merging vehicle up to five seconds prior to the actual manoeuvre taking place, Honda claims. Should be quite a useful feature for us Malaysian drivers, don’t you think? In the mean time, head on over to endlessroad.eu and experience the slightly trippy video for yourself.

European-spec 2015 Honda CR-V facelift

European-spec 2015 Honda CR-V prototype in Paris

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:33 am

You spin my head right round, right round
    When you drive round, When you drive round round

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars, but people do prefer Toyota more. Despite the bashing and story making, our sales still good here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • policeman on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Tipu. I prefer Proton more.

Why your Camry got no manual transmission option?

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:34 pm

You can buy Proton if you like, please buy more instead, so that Proton beg less money from government. I don’t see any of my tax money should flow into their pocket.

Ask manual transmission in Camry? Is like asking drum brake in Ferrari. I think Proton still the best for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • UMW Mampus on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:20 pm

wa you never stop kaki kong kaki song here. F you la.. latest figures already prove Honda overtakes Toyota.

People who buy moving coffin tin kosong UMWs confirm brain got stuck with water inside.

UMW is well known for it’s kiamsiap-ness or kedekutness in not giving out ESP even for cars priced above 150k. Come on.. even Proton that everyone looks down perform better in this!! Same goes to Honda in giving proper safety spec for their cars. Your statement is invalid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Honda overtake Toyota (for a quarter only) doesn’t mean Toyota is the last. Neither you see RM8888 discount from Toyota. Because we are NOT DESPERATE!!!

If you think the RM150k Camry not worthy because lack of VSC. Well go for RM160k! But then you can’t afford RM160k? Get a Iriz then.

You don’t like/can’t afford Toyota, we won’t ask you to get out of Malaysia/Japan like the Proton fanboys do.

There is no perfect car in the world. You know what you get when you paid for Proton/Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • Mr.Arrogant on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Hardly see new camry on the road nowadays. still talking rubbish.

• UMW Mampus on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Stupid… RM150k car no ESP ask us go buy 160k car. The fact is many cars are equipped with full safety features far below this price!! My point is UMW Toyota is trying to rip people’s money off! Now go back and have fun with your deek in the unsold cars’ exhaust. F off

• WTF Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:27 pm

OMG, seriously? It’s not about affordability.. it’s about making a smart choice. Why would I want to pay more if I have cheaper alternative with better value? Your stupidity is beyond definition.

• GrayImports on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:37 pm

T – Tentu
            O – Orang
            Y – Yang
            O – Otak
            T – Tiada
            A – Angkat

H – Head
            O – Office
            N – No
            D – Discount
            A – Asked

• Nasi goreng africa on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:35 am

I really wish we have the red color option in Malaysia! It looks stunning!

• berserker on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:36 am

Very creative ads indeed!

• nine-speed automatic transmission

Seems like Honda got no love for Malaysia. And some still just praise it like god…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • cool & creative video from honda..

btw, hoping that odyssey will be powered with turbo later on..

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:45 am

I can imagine Proton ad, the car has to go to the petrol station on and on and onz because campro drinks too much fuel hahaha

• OMG you still live in 2000’s?
      Get out from cave you are there too long

• sabahan on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:10 pm

damn…. i get dizzy when i watching this…

• Wasting money in creating this video. It is going nowhere. Just go for the real road drive and pass the money saved to the buyers.

• kimi's fan on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:47 pm

i feel dizzy after watching this advertisement

• Lance on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:18 pm

CRV are so under power, you drive and drive and it takes forever to reach.

• walaoeh on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Underpowered and looks like shit inside and out as well.Design like garbage. Garbage collectors SUV.LOL
      The idiots honda model. Better buy Cx5 and Tucson or get the HRV better.

• so if you buy this car you don’t go anywhere…

• Josh Ling on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:26 pm

honda people never fail to put a smile on my face in every advertisement they come up with. i mean the european one. so creative!

• Mr.Arrogant on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:29 pm

creative but not impressive.