W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class adds C 160 and C 300 variants, brings 4Matic option to C 200 and C 220 d

Mercedes-Benz C 300 BlueTEC HYBRID, Exclusive Line, Cavansitblau metallic, Leder ARTICO Kristallgrau/Tiefseeblau, Zierelemente Holz Linde linestructure, (W205), 2013

Buyers in the market for the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class will see their choices broaden soon with two new models joining the lineup – one at the bottom end and one near the top of the cooking range (barring the spicier C 450 AMG 4Matic and AMG C63 models).

Forming the new base level in the lineup is the previously-announced C 160 – it draws 129 hp and 210 Nm from a detuned version of the C 180’s 1.6 litre turbo four, propelling it from 0-100 km/h in 9.6 seconds while returning a fuel consumption figure of 5.2 litres per 100 km. Priced at €31,684 (RM124,100), the C 160 is around €2,000 (RM7,800) cheaper than the previous entry-level C 180.

At the other end of the scale is the C 300, which sits at the top of the four-cylinder C-Class range. It utilises the C 200 and C 250‘s turbocharged 2.0 litre engine, but uprated to produce 245 hp and 370 Nm. As such, it sprints to 100 km/h in 5.9 seconds and delivers 6.3 litres per 100 km. Mercedes’ 4Matic all-wheel drive system also makes its way to the C 200 and C 220 d as a near-€5,000 (RM19,500) option for both variants.

The two new engine options are particularly pertinent to our market, as they could potentially enable the local C-Class market to compete directly with similar BMW 3 Series variants on sale here in Malaysia – the 136 hp/220 Nm 316i and the 245 hp/350 Nm 328i.

The C 200 and the C 250 are the sole W205 C-Class variants on sale in Malaysia

The C 160 is slower to 100 km/h than the 316i (9.6 seconds versus 9.2 seconds) but uses less fuel (5.2 litres per 100 km as opposed to 5.9 litres per 100 km), while the C 300 is just as fast (5.9 seconds) and as frugal (6.3 litres per 100 km) as the 328i.

However, the C 160’s lack of an automatic gearbox (it is only available with a six-speed manual in Europe) could force Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s (MBM) hand into bringing in the C 180 – fitted with the 7G-Tronic Plus auto – as a cut-price alternative instead. That car uses the same engine tune as on the A 200 and B 200, punching out 156 hp and 250 Nm – exactly the same figures as on the previous C 180 that formed the base of the W204 C-Class range here.

In any case, we’re probably gonna have to wait a while to receive any new variants of the W205 – even with the advent of the locally-assembled version, the current C 200 and C 250 are expected to soldier on as the sole engine choices on offer at least in the near future, as they were the only ones mentioned in MBM’s Returning Expert Programme (REP) and Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) price lists.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:46 pm

German cars reliability is in doubt. You can never go wrong with sushis. Buy Toyota better, good RV. Camry conti quality with Malaysian price.

Latest Camry booking: 78

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 74
    • spongewai on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:19 pm

aiyo, this fella ahh

Toyota Toyota Toyota, go and becoming a CEO la

lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • okcomputer on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:53 pm

i know you want one :D

• Jimmy on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Thank you for ‘Camry conti quality’.
      Do you like to drive?
      What about status and prestige?

Now, this C160 is possible to be price at 188,888 Malaysian Ringgit, a price so close to Camry.

Moga-moga more competitions will help Najib to bring down vehicle prices; people out there are so marah because no fuel subsidy and yet vehicle prices are still sky high.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:08 pm

You can only buy German made sausages, not cars. Toyota gives you prestige and status with our latest Camry. At least you don’t have to park two streets away from your relatives house because you drive a Perodua.

Latest Camry booking:79

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
        • Sam is Danny umw on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:14 pm

What Danny said is true.

• camryjamban on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Camry? Prestige? Status?
            Bwahahahahhahha hahahhahahaha ahhahahahahaha hahahahah hahahaha hahahaha hahahahahahahahaha

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:06 pm

I can easily get this car with just one month commission. Please work hard and dont be malas and drink teh tarik everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • Paria Sam Lorrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 12:13 am

I can easily buy a Camry with 1 day salary. Work harder Same Lorrr

• CarzyMobilo on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Toyota is failing to keep Its Customers… Still this fella is talking big about Toyota…
      Grow up la bro

• dugongx on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Actually Toyota RV is in doubt. In fact its just a myth.

• Hellhole on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:51 am

Try to explain that concept to a Car Jockey when they give more attention to a C Class Driver

• German cars are too fast to be safe.

Because our dad’s eyesight gets worse and worse, we had to find a new and safe kind of transportation for him. We had two choices: An electric scooter from China or a Toyota Camry. Both have nearly the same acceleration and top speed (ok, the electric scooter is a bit faster).

Our choice was the Camry, because our dad won’t get wet when it’s raining.

So far we never regret our choice. And when dad frequently claims that his friends are faster with their electric scooters, my brother will tell him: ‘But the RV is much better’.

• You are wiseman. I think i buy toyota logo and stick in front and back of my electric scooter. I go faster and might get good RV value later on. Thumbs Up!

• Yaa…good in regret value

• VHL Lorr on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Buy Toyota better, excellent “Regret Value”. ‘Jamban junk’ Toyota Malaysia ‘junk car’ quality with Mercedes price. Trade in time, they will shout ‘Hai Lat Lorrr’ repeatedly like insane person.

• Not really.. they will most likely shout “Sam Loo Sam Loo” when they trade in.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:15 pm

RM124000 can buy you new C-Class C160 overseas.
    In Malaysia, same RM124000 can’t even get you Camry.
    I think it means we are richer than other countries since we can afford to pay much more for lesser car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • hahaha on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Not sure if it is something I’d proud of though cendol…

Tourists come here and see all “small cars” and envision “poor country”…

I’d rather be “not as rich” but driving around in a C Class for Rm 124k than say… a Civic (not offense intended to Civic owners ofcourse)

• Actually, if you didn’t notice, Malaysian roads in KL are one of the few countries that you can constantly see upper market cars on road. Go travel more hahaha.

• good deal! on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:08 am

C160 price RM148,888!!