Hyundai’s new-gen i20 WRC set for 2016 rally debut

new-i20-wrc-02

There’s a new Hyundai i20 in the showrooms, so a renewal must happen on gravel too, where Hyundai is campaigning its i20 WRC for the second FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) season after coming back to the sport in 2014.

The Hyundai Motorsport team recently completed a four-day test of the new generation five-door i20 WRC car in the Spanish region of Almeria. The test marked the next important phase of development for the car, which will make its debut next year.

The team’s test driver Kevin Abbring and co-driver Sebastian Marshall were at the wheel of the new i20 WRC together with Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul. Work focused on engine and chassis development, as well as altitude testing with the latest iteration of the car, which has been upgraded compared to the version used in previous tests.

new-i20-wrc-01

Hyundai had hoped to introduce the car later this season, but a change on the planned homologation due to production schedule means that the target has shifted to 2016’s season opening Rallye Monte Carlo. A series of upgrades will be introduced to the current car in the remaining rallies of 2015 in a bid to help the team fight for podiums regularly.

“We had hoped to introduce the new car later this season but unfortunately an issue with the homologation schedule – related to production of the three-door road version – will delay our programme. We have therefore opted to continue focus on the five-door version of the new generation i20 WRC which will compete at Monte Carlo next year,” said team principal Michel Nandan.

Things are going pretty well for Hyundai this season. After three rallies in 2015 (Monte Carlo, Sweden, Mexico), the Korean brand is second in the manufacturers’ standings behind defending champs VW, while Neuville, who finished second in Sweden, is third in the drivers’ race behind VW duo Sebastien Ogier and Andreas Mikkelsen.

GALLERY: Current road-going Hyundai i20, Euro-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:34 am

Try harder, kimchis. Toyota Corolla Altis finished 7th in Nurburgring recently, it can smoke this anytime.

Nobody will bat an eye on kimchis anymore. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 96

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 75
    • Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:50 pm

What sort of RV?

My mother sold an Altis V’12 under RM80k. Such a great cash loss.

• Khaisan on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Yes la….
      2012 Altis 2.0V Regret Value: RM7XK / (new RM13XK)
      2013 Camry 2.5V Regret Value: RM10XK / (new RM17XK)
      2013 Vios 1.5 TRD Regret Value: RM5XK / (new RM90K)
      Remember everybody, RV = Regret Value

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 13, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Yes, and my mother booked a Mazda3 this morning for a better value.
        Same lorrr’s good RV tagline only works for Indon.

• Allen Lee on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:09 pm

High in resell value or not is not only talk cxck from salesman la. salesman know well about the current resell value… Stop cheating around la salesman sam lor

• sepakTiang on Apr 13, 2015 at 1:56 pm

they should sell this here instead of i10….

• Khairuddin Azlan on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Toyota Corolla Altis ESport Nurburgring Edition is a BIG JOKE! What so proud of yourself if only finished 7th in the race? Do some research on internet, not much news regarding this ‘7th position WINNING’… Pity Toyota simply created this so called ‘nurburgring styling special edition’ to boost sales… how pity!

• Same L0rrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:06 pm

You can say all you want, with TRD Sportivo kit, a Vios can easily smoke a Kia Rio.

Work harder. It’s time to upgrade your Perodua MyVi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Allen Lee on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Yeahhhhh…. a vios with trd sportivo kit can easily smoke off your money too! 2~3 years 40k fly away LOL

• Sam Liuuu on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:19 pm

silly salesman… all the while you emphasize about your RV (resale Value). When toyota no more resale value, you turned to performance? hello… you compare your ‘super’ vios trd sportivo 1.5 with a kia rio 1.4? Do you know what are you talking about? hohohoooo

• smokechicken on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:25 pm

@Same L0rrr
        Now you use ‘smoke here and there’? Out of idea?
        Last time you used it as a joke, so why not you say it like last time : smoke here smoke there smoke chicken curry, smoke lamb stick

ROTFL

• shamevo (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:57 pm

silly hyundai… using a ford for its rally campaign…