Mitsubishi Malaysia reports best ever sales since 2005

triton-spy-01

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has reported the highest ever sales result since its establishment in January 2005. The company sold 14,184 units in its financial year 2014 from April 2014 to March 2015. The FY2014 performance was a 12.8% increase from the previous financial year.

The strong performance was partly due to contribution from MMM’s first locally-assembled model, the Mitsubishi ASX. The compact SUV found 3,299 new homes, or 23% of total sales.

MMM’s regular cashcow is the Triton, and the pick-up truck did 6,016 units for 42% of the pie. A new Triton is already in town and will be launched in May – it’s now open for booking with estimated introductory prices from RM71k to RM114k, and you can get more details here.

On the network front, MMM expanded its sales network from 42 to 58 outlets in FY2014. Out of the 58, 51 are 3S centres. Since setting up shop here in 2005 after a long absence, the company has sold more than 88,000 vehicles in Malaysia.

2015 Mitsubishi Triton at 2014 Thai Motor Expo

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kadajawie on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Most carmakers reporting good sales result except Proton.

As for Mitsubishi, being single divorced from Proton is truly a blessing. Finally can get rid of bad vibe and keep making profits ever since.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Mitsubishi sold 14,000 units….make reasonable profits.
      Protong sold 115,000 units in 2014.Lost Rm821 juta ( also due to ailing stepchild Lotus).
      You see,it is not the number of units sold.
      You can sell 1 million cars and still end up in red ink,if your costs are uncontrolled.Protong has a lot of ”marked up costs” due to CRONIES ,who refuse to budge.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
      • ProtonGSC on Apr 13, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Well said… finally here some truth.

• What truth? 14k units are number sold in bolehland only not inckuding all over the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Yala, this is claim from Mitsubishi Malaysia but but global Mitsubishi what..

• Global Mitsubishi cars sales for fiscal year 2014 is 1.35 million. Proton yearly sales is only about 1 month of Mitsubishi sales. Mitsubishi is still technical partner of Hyundai but was chucked out of proton 20 years ago.

• The mitsu sales worldwide certainly outdo p1 sales number AND it reaches the TIV and reduce production costs

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:32 am

The moment Proton get rid of their suppliers, who are mainly UMNO cronies supplying very very low quality parts, Proton will start doing well and come into profit.

Every single supplier of Proton parts is an UMNO crony.

• jaggs on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Nah, mitsu didn’t give much to p1, nothing to lose

• DonkeyKong on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:43 pm

ASX and Triton are best-sellers for Mitsubishi? Time to sign and agreement with Proton to have these two rebadged for the benefit of Smart People!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:48 pm

MMM will be like “Yah, right, as if we’d fall for that again! Pfft!”

• Same L0rrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:46 pm

You will never go wrong with sushi cars. Toyota is still preferred.

Come get the Hilux instead of Triton, Altis instead of the Lancer, Fortunner instead of ASX, and Alphard instead of Grandis.

Buy Toyota better, good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 86
    • RV =regret value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:27 pm

2012 Camry V now = RM95k (new RM170k). RM75k lost in 3 years, that’s what you called RV?

Better go to Indon, promote that good RV tag and Indon people will believe you, because Indon is the only country where Toyota & Honda tagged as good RV.

As long as you live in Malaysia, better continue with Parkson and give my wife some discounts for Triumph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • VHL Lorr on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:52 am

2012 Camry 2.5V market value – you’re lucky if you can even get RM50k as it’s fair value = scrap metal value plus it’s potong parts value since there’s no VSC equipped that time.

• khadijah on Apr 13, 2015 at 9:22 pm

The reason why all manufacturers report double digits growth except for proton which report negative growth is because people rather pay more for other brands other than proton.

Proton = junk piece of crap and everybody knows that and everybody agrees.

It’s best proton extinct so all Malaysians can buy good, reliable and quality cars for our children and families.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • ..but still cannot beat moving coffin crap toyoda and p2

• khalid on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:21 pm

But still cannot beat burning coffin Proton

• But still there’s no proof to say it’s p1 fault

Toyoda cases? Please google and read

• khalifah on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:33 am

Ya, it’s the owner, not p1’s fault… as usual

• Bob Vettel on Apr 14, 2015 at 5:26 am

True enough. Proton is a junk piece of crap because it’s Malaysian made. Just like Malaysian people, all junk pieces of crap.

• why is it best sales “ever”, if it’s only since 2005

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:33 am

There is really nothing wrong with that statement…that’s the year they reentered the Malaysian car market as a passenger car brand.

• jaafar on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:42 pm

then future sales shouldn’t be more than the current one since it is their best ‘ever’ sales

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 14, 2015 at 1:03 am

Really? Why is it I don’t see any newly registered Mitsubishis on the road? Hardly see any WA and WB plates around. I own a 2013 Mirage and the car is perfect, but the problem is the after sales especially in Glenmarie. The staffs can be unfriendly, emotional, slow, unprofessional and can’t resolve the issue most of the time. They just want to generate sales and forget about the customer. Anyone else had a bad experience? My 2-year warranty Mirage is almost over. Any idea where is good to maintain the car? Appreciate it, thanks in advance.

• zZzZz on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:21 am

Not an owner of Mirage but since its using CVT, u better stick to service at the SC coz CVT need to use specific CVT fluid.

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:55 am

The CVT is fine, it is perfect I have no problem with it. There is some interior and exterior bodywork vibration sound like the door panel or the rear spoiler and also problem with the starter. Lets face it, most cars will encounter a problem and it is up to the car manufacturers to give a good after sales service and support. Mitsubishi Motor personnels are not professional, knowledgeable and poor at resolving a problem. It is that small little details like, they forgot or didn’t list you on the appointment list on the day you sent your car to service, that means you have to wait at the service centres and wait your car to be serviced at first come first serve basis; then what’s the point of having an appointment? I have to work you know? Worse thing is, when the car is done with the servicing, they didn’t acknowledge or tell me it is ready. The ownership experience is more Proton than the top three Japanese carmakers here.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:37 am

Maybe you should change your Mitsu SC. The quality of personnel are quite different across their different SCs. For example, my experience with the Auto Pacifica SC in Miri, Sarawak is fine.

Ask around as I can’t remember which are the good SCs to go to around your area.

If you want to service outside of their SC, make sure you get your mechanic to replace the CVT fluid with the correct one. Like zZzZz said, the fluid used in CVT is not exactly the same as the one used in conventional ATs.

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 14, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Hey thanks @Obviously!
            I will probably read or ask at the Mirage/Attrage owners club Facebook forum. Happy motoring and cheers!

p/s: Actually I really like the Mirage 1.2 engine and CVT powertrain, it is so efficient at low revs. the 1.2 performs more like 1.3.

• triplew on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:07 am

ASX is one of the main sales, then it’s worrying , considering HRV with such hot booking, CX5 and Subaru XV lowered entry price , god bless u mitsu