W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class CKD – RM270k-RM300k, official equipment lists identical to CBU models

Click to enlarge price lists – Left: C 200 Avantgarde, Right: C 250 Exclusive

Not exactly the best-kept secret around, the official prices and specs of the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class CKD range have been released. As reported earlier, the locally-assembled C 200 Avantgarde and C 250 Exclusive go for RM269,888 and RM299,888 respectively, inclusive of GST. Refer to the price lists above for more details.

Both variants are cheaper than their equivalent CBU models by between RM15,000 (C 250) and RM16,000 (C 200). Best yet, the specs appear identical to the fully-imported (from South Africa) models, based on the specs sheets (below) that are now available on Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s official website.

Click to enlarge spec sheet – Left: C 200 Avantgarde, Right: C 250 Exclusive

As before, the C 200 model is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine that makes 184 hp and 300 Nm of torque. It gets to 100 km/h in 7.3 seconds through a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus automatic transmission. Fuel economy is rated at 5.3 litres per 100 km (18.9 km/l).

The C 250 model, meanwhile, gets the same engine that’s uprated to 211 hp and 350 Nm. Zero to 100 km/h is done is 6.6 seconds, while top speed is limited to 250 km/h (15 km/h higher that the C 200). Claimed fuel consumption matches that of the C 200. Naturally, both models are rear-wheel drive.

On the outside, the C 200 wears the sportier Avantgarde look, while the C 250 is only available in Exclusive trim (with Airpanel active louvres on the front grille). Both have LED headlights (but not the full-fledged adaptive system) and 17-inch alloy wheels (different designs) with run-flat tyres as standard.

Inside, the basic Audio 20 CD with Touchpad system, fitted with a Garmin MAP Pilot navigation are installed, along with an Agility Select Switch, powered front seats with memory, rear (powered) and side (manual) window blinds, LED Ambient Lighting, auto lights and wipers, cruise control, reverse camera and Active Parking Assist.

The variants differ quite considerably, though. The C 200 gets plain piano black interior trim, perforated leather on the steering wheel and an Agility Control suspension that’s lowered by 15 mm. The C 250 adds on wood interior décor, leather-covered dashboard, sunroof, Air Balance, keyless entry and comfort suspension.

On the safety front, the W205 C-Class comes with seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee bag), Collision Prevention Assist Plus (partial autonomous braking at speeds of up to 200 km/h; able to prevent rear end collisions at up to 40 km/h), rear Isofix anchors and Mercedes-Benz’s usual PRE-SAFE system.

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class_vs_F30_BMW_3_Series_ 005

The lowered CKD prices put the W205 pair reasonably close to the equivalent BMW 3 Series alternatives – the RM269,888 C 200 Avantgarde goes against the RM258,800 320i Sport Edition, while the RM299,888 C 250 Exclusive is comparable to the RM293,800 328i Luxury.

So far, there’s no word yet on a locally assembled C 250 AMG Line, which was available for a short period of time as a CBU import. We’ll have to wait and see if the AMG Line will be introduced later, or even perhaps fitted to a C 300 model with 245 hp and 370 Nm of torque (vs 211 hp and 350 Nm on the C 250) instead.

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 246
    • BLT_Club on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Never buy Japanese except for Honda/Nissan/Subaru. Toyota known for low safety specs and being overpriced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 9
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:31 am

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than 2 years ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than 2 years have passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. They blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin recently quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM14,000) per month by 2020, which is 5 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was also Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM14,000 in 5 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:19 pm

There are Toyota models with VSC and 7 airbags.

If you can’t afford them, don’t pretend they do not exist. Same as don’t pretend Saga & Persona are safe simply the Preve/Suprima S have more airbags and VSC. No one buy Preve/Suprima S also.

Proton may keep you safe (if the safety features work!), but your wallet confirm not safe with Proton quality.

Proton mah, biasalah bang <= from Proton technician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • lingerie dept on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:58 pm

What model with 7 airbags? Vios Skiva?

LOL

• Very true! Best still you can retain 100% of your Toyota car value when it crashes due to subpar safety quality and get burnt! In that way, you can hold tightly to your beloved Toyota car and never fear loosing its RV coz those from the underworld receive plenty of cars during ChingMing. In real life you retain as high RV as you like since no one wants it, after death also you can clinging onto it still. Toyota for you! So happy for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Why don’t we just stop responding to this recycle comment or better still, stop responding to the name completely. He just enjoy the responses..nothing else matter to him. Any response, positive or negative, will only encourage him to produce more garbage.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:24 am

Let him be. It’s just a desperate attempt to seek public attention.

• Folger Penipu on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:32 am

Although this is a good price at RM300k, MBM can reduce more. They are clearly making at least RM100,000 profit on this car alone. You see, top of the range C300 in the US is USD$34,000. That is RM100,000. It comes with a bigger and better engine. The C250 is much cheaper.

Adding to that, MBM will get the C250 cheaper directly from Germany from its Principal. If the C300 in the US can be sold for US$34,000 and yet MB USA can make a good margin and the US Government can still collect taxes and duties. That would mean they are getting the car far cheaper from their principal directly in Germany.

So, assuming MBM is getting the C250 cheaper directly from Germany, we can assume it will be US$25k.

Another reduction would be CKD. Since it is using Malaysian parts, and Barang Buatan Malaysia and all the CKD crap MITI tells us, we can safely say, the price will be reduced to US$20k or BELOW per car sold. That is about RM70k.

The above estimates are just modest assumptions. We all know MBM will get this car far far cheaper than the US$20k direct from Germany price.

BUT MBM sells for RM300k. Cost only about RM70k

Don’t talk about UK or Europe pricing. They GDP per capita is so high, they earn very high income in the UK and Europe. So, the car is priced accordingly to the proportion of income the British earn or Americans earn

So Folger, don’t bullshit lah. Malaysians will always be cheated. How much you guys want to untung MBM?

• droll on Apr 14, 2015 at 4:51 pm

don’t forget they also make pretty darn good margins on servicing during the warranty period. check out their list prices for engine oil, and regular consumables (e.g. filters). there was a discussion in local MB forums some time back about driving down to SG to get the car serviced and for major repairs (under warranty) because it is still cheaper after taking into account petrol, toll, and accommodation.

• Try to do this with your Camry and it’s shrapnel airbags and then we continue the discussion:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VojePSOrnYw

• Toyota not stable. Therefore, not save to drive… Even proton stability is miles away better than overpriced and overrated Toyota..

• MAZDA BERMAS CBU CKD on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Well at least the equipments for the CBU are identical to the CKD. The latest Mazda 3 CKD program is so unreasonable for the CBU buyers.

• L0or Same on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:28 pm

I am just here waiting for Sam L0r to say buy Toyota better RV /popcorn

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Yep…MBM needs a C160 or C180 to fight the army of 316i seen on our roads…

• cendol (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Is it better to get C-Class CKD at Rm270k or Recon 2011 E-Class at same price??

• Jimmy on Apr 13, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Recond Mercedes? Good luck.
      Purchase according to affordability (purchase price and subsequent maintainence).

10 airbags in all E-class and above, hopefully I am not flogging a dead horse.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:16 am

I’d go for a new one with that money and enjoy peace of mind. Unless you wan’t something that is not offered by local distributors.

• Fastwork on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:20 am

You are courting for trouble by buying recond cars. There are enough materials/comments out there and live cases such as high mileage cars reset to few thousand kilometers passing off as almost brand new. Owners of such cars suddenly find themselves having huge repair bills on hand and worst still no compatible spare parts carried by franchise dealers locally and you are the mercy of seller to charge you exorbitant price to fix the car.

• ganni on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:36 am

recond for the contis??i suggest u NO..unless u buy a recond jap brand should be ok…

• roberto on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Hafriz
    CKD using same rubbers? Got spare wheel already?

How is the waiting list like?

Same lorr….jangan kacau…ur 2.5v hybrid shd sell well now..

• duhhh on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:38 pm

If you ask about rubbers then you only can afford only tyres, not the car

• roberto on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:27 am

what is wrong for asking about the rubber?

I am seriously concern if its RFT or Semi-slick…

U don’t ask anything so it means u can’t afford anything?

• duhhh on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:02 pm

If you worry about rubber go for kancil, 13″ is cheap enough for you

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:55 pm

They should have put it even closer to the 3 series, give Munich a run for the money!

On a side note, too bad no Avantgarde option for the 250. Personally prefer the Avantgarde look, the active louvre looks hideous once closed on the Exclusive.

• Co. car on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:42 pm

W205? Or should just wait for 328 LCI

• wrigley on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:14 pm

So expensive how to buy?

• Rumsteros on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Ok guys, i’m seriously considering the C200, my first hurrah with a merc, appreciate your kind advice on this. Cheers!

• droll on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:41 am

nice car. from the outside it does look a little odd. the s-class like design being shrunk makes the car look hunched from the rear – but that’s personal. the interior is miles ahead of the w204 though.

the spec list certainly looks great. however
      a) the use of runflats is a bit of a let down. regular radials are far cheaper and more easily available.
      b) the lack of COMAND ONLINE – why? only audio 20 unit. sigh.
      c) no adaptive LED. the last w204 units being sold had the intelligent light system. those were a godsend when driving at night https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QBHGd1odac

• blaster88 on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:37 am

Depends of what you want…if you lean towards a comfort, prestige and quality drive, the C200 is for you esp the interior which is miles ahead of the previous model and competitors. However, the ride is on the soft side esp if you sit behind, engine and the transmission are a big yawn…

However, if you are into performance and handling, wait for the new F30 LCI…

• C-Twohundredpeo-o on Apr 13, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Did I read correctly – C200 does NOT come with keyless entry???

• 270K and you don’t even get keyless entry as standard. What were they thinking!!!

• droll on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:34 am

actually, it’s probably better not to have this option. http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-29786320

• no intelligent lighting system.
      no auto cruise control.
      no keyless go which is available on many cars half its price.

• Johnny on Apr 13, 2015 at 11:34 pm

M.Benz… for the grand uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • elson on Apr 13, 2015 at 11:54 pm

the c200 had just fuxked 320i and cum inside without any worries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • roberto on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:30 am

Hope MBM will bring in
    C160 7G-Tronics RM200k (tak mau 7-DCT lah)
    or can rebadge C180 with different equipment level???
    to fight 316i..

Also… BLUETEC HYBRID (mouthful) will be good

• Guys, anyone knows whether MBM will bring in C250 avantgarde model to Malaysia or just c250 AMG line only?

• nighttrain on Apr 14, 2015 at 12:10 pm

You can’t beat the 3 Series stance.. The nose points downward like it’s about to take off on a sprint.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 1:14 pm

The cars in the brochure look a millions times better than the actual car we get. When are we getting the flat bottom steering, 18/19 inch rims option, and that fantastic Burmester sound system? Or was that for the CBU AMG line only, which is sadly no longer sold.

• abdul rani on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Have they fixed the pedal position? previous model the brake and accelerator pedal are not aligned with the seat and steering position

• Yooida on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Yes!

• AWESOME on Apr 22, 2015 at 6:16 pm

With Fuel economy rated at 5.3 litres per 100 km
    Energy Efficient Vehicles EEV rebates!