Nissan Pulsar SSS revealed – 190 hp Australian Sylphy

nissan-pulsar-sss-sedan

As part of an exercise to streamline the range of the Nissan Pulsar (known as the Nissan Sylphy to Malaysians), Nissan Australia is set to introduce the Pulsar SSS variant as part of the Pulsar Series II update at the end of April.

Aside from the introduction of the aforementioned variant, the entire Pulsar range will witness a price reduction as well as the inclusion of added safety and standard features. Beginning from the bottom, the range now kicks off with the Pulsar ST with the mid-range ST-L sitting above. At the very top, the Pulsar SSS replaces the slow-selling Ti variant – all three trim levels are offered on the sedan and hatch models.

The highlight of the SSS variant is the inclusion of the 1.6 litre DIG turbocharged petrol engine. Said mill pumps out a total of 188 hp and 240 Nm of torque and is mated to either a six-speed manual transmission or Nissan’s trademark Xtronic CVT.

nissan-pulsar-sss-sedan-2

Spec-wise, the SSS model carries over the same amount of kit from the Ti while adding on a bodykit and reverse sensors. Prices begin at AUD$25,990 (RM73,120) for the manual-equipped hatch and tops out at AUD$29,290 (RM82,404) for the CVT-equipped sedan.

Further down the range, the mid-range ST-L sedan receives a 5.8-inch touchscreen head unit with navigation and Bluetooth connectivity from the SSS variant. The cheaper ST-L hatch loses out on most of the goodies bar the reverse sensors. The ST-S variant, on both body styles, has been dropped from the range.

On the local front, the CBU (from Thailand) B17 Nissan Sylphy was launched more or less a year ago with a single engine option – a 1.8 litre MRA8DE four-cylinder mill with 131 PS and 174 Nm of torque was hooked up to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT. Two variants are on sale with prices beginning at RM119,900 OTR without insurance for the base E-spec, the VL goes for RM121,900.

GALLERY: Nissan Sylphy 1.8 E

GALLERY: Nissan Sylphy 1.8 VL

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• JB_KIA on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:37 pm

so ahpekish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:12 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Compared to this, of course our Altis is sexier.

Don’t like Toyota? We won’t ask you to get out of Malaysia/Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
      • altissnail on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Altis no turbo, boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Toyosushi on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:05 am

Altis more safe as it’s top speed is same as that of an EX5.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:33 am

I give special discounts to those buying ladies undergarments. Come to Parkson Subang Parade.

• Jimmy on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Current Sylphy is quite good, looking at the spec sheet.

Price quite competitive after discount. (RM100K after discount. Advertised above, oto.my.)

Buyers should seriously give it a look.

• SSS – Super Shiok Sendiri edition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • kington on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Trouble with ETCM is their reluctance to bring this in, well at least Nissan’s sports range. I guess the Megane RS and Imprezas would be all from them for now.

It’d be nice to see this here, both in sedan and hatch, auto and manual. Only Honda did it with the FD2R Civic, while Mitsi did sell the EVO 9 here officially with some limited warranty.

• totti on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:50 pm

This car fail miserably in Malaysia. Latio and previous slyphy is much more better than new slyphy.

You hardly can see 1 on the road today after more than a year of launching.

Teana, Xtrail, Serena having the same fate and need MUV to dispose off at 2nd hand value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • kington on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:52 pm

I actually felt that the Teana improved quite a lot in the D segment, a car i’d pick over the Accord and Camry. Sad to see that there aren’t many buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Annoynimouse on Apr 14, 2015 at 6:33 pm

I kinda like the Teana as well. But here, it needs something extra special to sway people from the old Accords and Camrys.

• Pulsar SSS 1.6 litre Turbocharged with manual transmission, such a good choice and price below rm1000k.Or even the basic Pulsar costs about rm 75k. Y,Y??/ it can’t bring to M’sia. YY?? need to seed over rm 1000k ??? Are we better income country than Australia ?? Only can admire . What is wrong ??

• shawal on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:26 pm

1.6 turbo with manual box…
    good old fashion fun…

• Stupid name on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:27 pm

SSS? What’s is wrong with Nissan Marketing dept and design dept? Super Smelly Shit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • alifzz on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:51 am

I think you should be call stupid.

Nissan has been using SSS (Super Sport Saloon) marks since 1960’s at their Bluebird. Now they’re reviving it at Pulsar.

So got problem with it?

• Joe Hung on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Ter-read as PUSSY

• blaster88 on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:41 pm

ok….ok…ok…is it just me or TCM/Nissan are horrible at naming their models. Sylphy??? First thing that came to my mind was..Syphilis??? Teana? Tuna’s mother in Cantonese? Remember Nissan Bluebird? What is blue bird in Hokkien??? Its either a mouthful or sounds vulgar…Marketing 101 TC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • blaster88 on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:49 pm

one more…Nissan Latio…I was told to call it “lashio” with a very heavy French accent and shhhhh…spitting…most of the time my China man friends call it “Lat tio” or “Lan Tiu” in Cantonese…seriously not doing justice to the cars….

• TooFurious! on Apr 14, 2015 at 4:14 pm

seems like many babies here do not know about the “SSS” moniker.

• Kids above please read more before you bashing the name. It’s been there since you were not born yet

• Annoynimouse on Apr 14, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Hmm… I can’t appreciate the design. It does look a bit better than the Almera though. Perhaps I’m expecting too much the 370Z and GTR designs to trickle down to its cheaper siblings.

• Steve Kok on Apr 14, 2015 at 6:50 pm

The Super Sport Sedan is back!! Datsun Triple S :) that’s what ppl call this car in the 70’s.
    The top end models comes with Twin Solex carburettor

• vager on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Yeah how come kids nowadays only know how to bash without even search it first on the net

Before i forget, it can tarpau your fathers’ camry like peanut

• It’s tax tax tax

• Gargantia on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Proton = DrM

Excise duty and AP system = DrM

So is the same…

• rewdn on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Huh? Since when he owns DRB Hicom?

• Gargantia on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Kid go watch how the “DRB Hicom Boss” kiss DrM butt like no tomorrow… or I mistaken he does call him “MASTER” !!!

• Josh Ling on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:18 pm

“Spec-wise, the SSS model carries over the same amount of kit from the Ti while adding on a bodykit and reverse sensors”

so meaning previously even on the top range Ti model, Nissan didn’t even bother to install reverse sensors kah? wow…..talking about unbelievable omission.

• PeterGriffin on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:25 am

The dashboard still screams of year 2000. It’s 2015. Can’t they do something about the dashboard design? Even the boring looking Vios dashboard design had improved a lot in this new model.

• ss427 on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:24 am

Its already on sale in SG for quite some time already.

No buyers here as well. Nissan put in a big power engine, and then slow the whole car down by hooking up a CVT to it. The CVT has no paddle shifters and all you get is a inconvenient + – gate on the shifter. And there’s no 6 airbags as usual. Just dual front

http://nissan.com.sg/vehicles/sylphy/index.cfm
    http://nissan.com.sg/vehiclespecs/SYLPHY.pdf
    $150k for a Bluebird! This is SG for you. Still complain cars are expensive in Bolehland?