SPIED: Hyundai Santa Fe facelift revised inside out

Hyundai Santa Fe facelift 3

It’s been a while since we’ve heard about the facelifted Hyundai Santa Fe, which was last spotted by our European spies last May. Now, however, the revised DM third-gen model has resurfaced showing clearer details, including an unhindered look at the updated tail light design and mildly-rejigged interior.

This is clearly a higher-spec version than the car seen previously, as we can now see Sonata-inspired LED daytime running lights just above the fog lights. There have also been some detail changes compared to when we last saw it – the grille slats are new, and the unusual square projectors in the current model’s headlights have been replaced by round units set inside redesigned internal graphics.

Also new are the wing mirrors – the odd diagonal indicators on the pre-facelift car have given way to more conventional horizontal items. A peek at an undisguised rear hatch reveals more angular graphics for the tail lights, and we also expect a reprofiled rear bumper to complete the look.

We also get a look inside the cabin – from the looks of it, changes are limited to new trim and revised switchgear for the OEM navigation system, with twin knobs rather than just a single large centre controller for volume. Malaysians get a`locally-fitted unit, however, so we won’t see the latter change.

Under the skin, we could see mild revisions to the current range of inline-four and V6 petrol and diesel powertrains. The facelifted Hyundai Santa Fe is expected to make its debut sometime later this year.

Current Hyundai Santa Fe

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:58 am

The Santa Fe is actually a pretty good car. For what it is, it’s comfortable, quiet and has adequate power to pull the load.

Now if only HSDM got their act together, and if they brought in the one with more safety, cause for the price, 2 airbags is pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
    • UMW Mampus on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:24 am

You test drove it before? How’s the ride and handling?

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Hyundai not doubt quality is better (compared to Proton), but I also see a lot of “facelift” during trade in negotiation. The owner face usually turn very very sour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • khaizan on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Hey salesman… since your toyota no more resale value and become regret value (RV), this time “facelift” story? Wonder what next…??

• alonso on Apr 14, 2015 at 12:01 pm

I heard HSDM has quietly introduced the 6 airbags version, with power boot and new android entertainment system. I couldn’t agree more with you, I owned the previous gen santa fe, the engine provides amazing pull even with full load of passengers and luggage. HSDM needs to be less greedy in the future

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:02 am

Oh yeah, hopefully Hyundai will bring this car to Malaysia with full spec. Give a Fortuner a run for its money.

• joking on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

Fortuner, Pajero Sport and Everest.

D-Segment Off Road High Capibility SUV..

SANTA Fe to fight>>?
      it’s only a rival for CR-V and X-trail 7 seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • RM150k for a Hyundai Badge.

at least better than the Honda CR-V, driven by Aunties.

• Gaviny on Apr 14, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Interior doesn’t seem to exude any sort of luxury compared to cheaper ones like the cx5

• House got 2 car:

1 Ford Ecosport, 1 Hyundai Tucson.

obviously, only Sime Darby Staff drive These.
    Company Car maa..

• Elchino on Apr 14, 2015 at 1:34 pm

The 2015 Sante Fe is already available for booking. I have been given a detailed brochure showing all the new additional accessories. However, the price for the 2.2 crdi Executive model has been increased to slightly more than $196,000 (including $7,000 worth of assessories comprising android based gps/navigation/DVDs, reverse camera, luggage cargo screen, safety triangle and first aid kit). From what I understand it is not a new model but just a facelift. It has dual front airbags, side front passenger airbags and side curtain airbags ( but the salesman insists that this means it has six airbags). I am informed that the actual new 2015 model has brambo brakes etc thus I assume our 2015 model is definitely just a facelift, or rather they have put back some of the assessories previously removed. Better wait for the Ford Everest to be launched and compare before I decide. BTW I have been driving my friend’s 2.4 petrol elegance Sante Fe to Thailand several times now and the drive is just spectacular. I just love it thus the diesel model would certainly be a dream to drive!

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:33 pm

I see lots of it lately…but I prefer its Kia’s variants the Sorento..

(disclaimer: I don’t care about RV)

• johny on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:32 pm

U got a wierd taste.

Kia Sorento and Hyundai Santa Fe, styled for the Uncle.
      Santa Fe is so bulky while Sorento is so boring.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 4:22 pm

I’m not into buying the two..just my preference on the more modest Sorento design than more stand out Santa Fe

btw, johny..I way past ‘uncle’..gonna hv my first grandchild this year…

• Joe Hung on Apr 14, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Hyundai = Hyu Buy Hyu Dai

• Elchino on Apr 14, 2015 at 5:47 pm

The salesman said that the 2015 Sante Fe has a servicing intervals of 10,000 klm or every 6 months which is good compared to the present 5,000 klm or every 3 months. The car is not bulky for me as my previous car was a Toyota Landcruiser VX. With the reverse camera, it will be a breeze to drive and I need a 7 seater.

• Hilat kimchi owner on Apr 15, 2015 at 7:32 am

If it is kimchi, it will have no RV.