Petronas to sell Euro 4 petrol in September, RON 97

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 017

Higher quality petrol is just around the corner. Petronas will be rolling out Euro 4 petrol this September, company CEO and president Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin announced at Petronas Dagangan Berhad’s annual general meeting today. The new Euro 4M product has an octane rating of RON 97.

“We are preparing to roll out Euro 4M RON 97 nationwide in September this year,” Wan Zulkiflee told reporters after the AGM. He declined to comment when asked about the new product’s price.

In November last year, MITI said that oil companies can start selling Euro 4 and Euro 5 fuels in Malaysia earlier than the gazetted dates, which are Euro 4 RON 97 in September 2015, Euro 4 RON 95 in October 2018, Euro 5 diesel in September 2020, Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97 in September 2025.

BHPetrol has already heeded the call by introducing Euro 5 diesel in limited areas late last year, but this move by a major player, and with petrol, is more significant; should there be a domino effect, Malaysian motorists and the environment will benefit.

Car companies and the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) umbrella body have long called for better quality fuel for them to be able to bring in the engines with the latest technology. The fuel currently sold in Malaysia is of Euro 2 standards.

It is understood that Petronas’ Pengerang facility that will produce Euro 4 gasoline is only set to be ready in a few years time, so is this a case of the company importing in stock? In any case, it’s good news.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Petron on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:22 pm

I doubt that it will be launched on September knowing that Malaysians is alway slow in everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 70
    • San Miguel haram on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:57 pm

You Lanun company go to back to MarcosLand lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
      • Diesel Bila Abang? on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:44 am

Wahai bodoh Petronas and kerajaan, intro Euro 4 diesel first. This is the one clogging our air. All the bus companies including the famous Metrobus emits thick black smoke in KL. The lorries all emit thick back smoke.

But nobody can touch these compaanies as they are all UMNO owned.

So, please at least intro clean diesel first for the sake our our environment, the fumes are killing people in Malaysia.

Our hospitals are full to the max. Most because of respiratory illness caused by the poisonous fumes. In EU, Euro 2 diesel is completely banned because they say it is as poisonous as drinking Roundup straight. Ours is Euro 2M, even lower than Euro 2.

Please for the sake of the rakyat, make clean petrol and diesel available now itself. 2020 for diesel is a sin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:03 pm

For the minister and Petronas management, we breath in Metrobus smoke while they sit comfortably in their S class everyday.

We join the long queue in government hospital while they go Singapore/Australia/US hospitals.

We rakyat just their milk cow to squeeze money (e.g. GST). Before they fall, all Malaysians have to fall.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Besides their S class, our Petronas petrol is like kencing, smelly and no quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Besides the S class and Petronas fuel, this imitator talk non sense.

Real Same L0rrrr will never despise of kampung and low income people.

Poor? Get a Myvi (Toyota engine), reliable also.
            Rich? Get a Lexus, luxury also.

Real Same L0rrrr has no discrimination on people but only on junk class car quality and RV-less car.

• Blablabla on Apr 16, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Thick black smoke aren’t caused by the lower quality diesel. It is by the irresponsible lorry owner themselves by not servicing their bloody lorries.

• RicoT on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Keyword: Euro4″M”

Malaysia’s interpretation of “Euro4” standard.

• Where got, now same edy la.. Last time we build car like bmw, now our car as good as volvo d…

• u5rtBN on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:15 am

Just shut up and keep support DrM or else just leave Malaysia…

DrM give u buy cheap car and petrol and still complaint like sissy.

Grow up kid!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Cheap Car? Have u out of your mind?
            You need bleach 4 mind clearing.

• Megane on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:36 am

In September, Malaysians are, alwayS. Sigh

• Euro 4 RON 97 in September 2015, Euro 4 RON 95 in October 2018, Euro 5 diesel in September 2020, Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97 in September 2025.

And people would be on Euro 6/7/8/9 by the time we have Euro 5. Are they even serious about this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 5
    • FIST (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:12 pm

they should skip Euro 5 and go ahead with the next ready standard at that point of time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Yah, maybe sudah pakai electric by that time. They always think the world will wait them like snails.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • maa765 on Apr 16, 2015 at 1:21 am

Harga petrol skrg pon malaysian bising.. lagi mau euro 6..7..8..9… ermm nti bising la sbb mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • Fair Car Tax System on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Yes MITI also must change the car excise duty based on CO2 emission and not using engine CC liters.

It can reduce car price (for smaller, fuel efficient cars) but govt can still collect even more taxes on those bigger cars.

Agree?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 3
    • paparadzi (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:43 pm

CO2 emission, fuel tax, vehicle weight, vehicle price…. anything but the stupid cc-based road tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • kadajawie on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Those selling poor fuel efficient cars will suffer low sales and might close shop. (Eg.Proton)

That’s why Proton should use Toyota engine, just like Lotus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
        • petrolatt on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:00 pm

If i’m not mistaken Vios is only Euro3 compliant

p1’s CFE is already Euro5 lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • maa765 on Apr 16, 2015 at 1:23 am

Proton mmg suda ada enjin yg bagus … ke awak yg x tahu..krik..krik..krik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • neutral on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:49 pm

start with the ancient road tax system based on cc….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • They don’t want to do that because later Proton gg..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • kadajawie on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Bingo! Finally the mystery solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • cocoonn on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Nice try but wrong answer

• ncpau on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Hello noobs, CFE is already Euro5 compliant engine, your junk Vios not even reach Euro 3

Lololololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
          • Accordana on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Honda City emission is Euro 2. Add that to your joke list okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • So tell me whats the percentage of Proton cars with CFE engine. Majority of the Proton cars on the road are old Saga, Wira & Waja. All with appalling emissions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • sepul on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Older Proton runs on old Mitsubishi engines. Even earlier Waja also uses ancient Mitsubishi engine. Gearbox also from them.

You should ask Mitsubishi.

• iwantvsc on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Forget about environment, safety is more important with VSC. Saga is derived from savvy, of course none but why new Vios dun have VSC? After generations?

• Arell on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Wrong. They should tax one flat rate for all cars. Why need double standards? If want to tax big cars more then also have a special place in cinemas for poor ppl to sit. and have special place in restaurants where only rich ppl can sit. Hows that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Jimmy on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Anak tiri2 bila mendapat diesel negara maju?

• Sammy on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Why? Why Ron 97?
    So that we get to pay more GST?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • sabah bah ni on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:47 pm

paul.sabah here got biodiesel already..

• sabah skg baru dapat biodiesel ke ???? banyok lama ooii.. semenajung dah dapat semasa anak umur 5 i lahir…. FYI, Biodiesel tu lain dgn RON 4 ke 5…biodiesel hanya campuran diesel biasa dgn minyak kelapa sawit je..

• dewaSemut on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

It’s RON97.. if Pertonas put Euro 4 RON95 on sale this September, yes it will put other oil co on real pressure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • sagaowner on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Weird that u guys still talking about euro 4. I ve been using euro 5 on my saga since few years back. So slow aar u guys?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • FIST (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Currently at Euro 2M not Euro 2

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Euro 5 Diesel please at all Petronas pumps, will give Shell and BHP a run though!

BMW X5 M50d can finally be a reality in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:23 pm

2025 for Euro 5, damn..I’m not even sure I still alive to see those day !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Carrot on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Notice how they plan it around 5 years each stage. Purely for election ploy.

“Vote us if you want clean fuel”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Gaviny on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Eleh bhp already euro 3 minimum

• Yooida on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Whatever no money use Euro 10

• Yooida on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Whatever no money use Euro 95 or Bio Esso

• MrNyx (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:12 pm

So frustrating to see they are still implementing things at third world’s country speed (Or worse). It’s funny to see 2020, our country’s vision to be a developed country but still using Euro 4. When the implementing this, environment issues is definitely not their top priority but the how their oil industry will be affected!

By the time 2025, I believe other developed nations already have electrical pump station (duno what’s it calls exactly) at most parts in the country already.. Haiz, malaysia, malaysia….

• kadajawie on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Maybe that time electric cars are common daily use that compete on how fast the recharging and who can offer the best mileage (eg. 2,000km per charge, @5 minutes recharge).

So who knows, maybe Proton can produce it at Bangladesh factory too. :D

• To quote someone, “They are at least trying to improve for the rakyat, so let’s keep this a car blog only. No politics here please”

Whoever downvotes this, is a hypocrite. I dare you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • intermilan on Apr 16, 2015 at 12:08 am

I hope BHP can upstage them by introducing proper euro 4 petrol even earlier.

• OnlyOption on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:17 am

All euro 5 fuel by 2025? This is taking too long. Europe is currently at euro 6. 7 years ago it was euro 5. Judging by the rate of regulations, by 2025 it will be at least euro 8. We will still be generations behind, our cars are still banned from being sold in europe and their high tech and super clean cars will still not be eligible to be sold here.

We need to make the changes sooner to catch up especially at an era where fuel subsidies no longer exists.

Previously the justification was the government are subsidising the fuel so its not prudent to spend more for extra filtration for clean fuel. Now we are at the age where the government are charging tax and eliminating subsidies on our fuel purchases so why are we still following these archaic framework?

• I don’t understand. Why isn’t BHP introducing the Euro 4 RON 95 and 97 petrol first? Then they can have a head start over Petronas. I am a BHP user because I believe their fuel is comparatively cleaner.

• sabahan on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:29 pm

when you launch euro 4 ron 95 on year 2018, other country is using euro 6.

• Joe Hung on Apr 20, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Apa lagi Rakyat mahu? cukurlah ada euro 2 sdh.
    tak suka keluar la malaysia