VIDEO: Lexus NX 200t F Sport in-depth walk-around

In the latest episode of our walk-around series, the spotlight settles on the Lexus NX 200t F Sport – not that it needed it in the first place, to be honest. Launched in January, the NX represents the Japanese carmaker’s first attempt in duking it out with the likes of the Volvo XC60, BMW X3, Audi Q5 and Range Rover Evoque.

Decked out in F Sport trim, the Lexus NX is, arguably, the most striking premium compact SUV on the market right now. If sales were made based solely on looks, the rest of the competition might as well go home and churn butter. From its opinion-dividing front grille to its origami-esque lines, the NX is no shrinking violet.

Call it ugly, call it gorgeous, call it whatever you want but there’s just no way to ignore this crossover on the road. Individuals keen to call it out as an all-show-no-go vehicle might want to hold back, as well. Under the bonnet lies a turbocharged 2.0 litre, inline four-cylinder pumping out 235 hp at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,650 to 4,000 rpm.

A six-speed automatic transmission sends power to the road via an on-demand Dynamic Torque Control AWD system. The century sprint gets done and dusted in 7.1 seconds while top speed is rated at 200 km/h. Fully-imported from Japan, the NX 200t F Sport will cost you RM362,432 OTR without insurance.

We could go on and on about the car but that’s completely missing the point of the video, right? If you prefer to do the research yourself, read up on our launch story for all the important bits and bobs. Additionally, do check out Carbase.my for a more in-depth look into the car’s specifications. If you like what you see here, gives us a thumbs up and subscribe to our Youtube channel for more.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:44 pm

‘sales …. solely on looks …..the rest ……might as well go home ….. ‘
    Ha ha.

Does everybody think that Nicole Kidman is the prettiest ever woman in this world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • samlui on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Are 4 cupholders in between front seats available?
      So luxury

*Sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:42 pm

The basher mostly didn’t even sit in a Lexus before. The Lexus owner at the other side, stick with Lexus forever and ever.

Simple logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • pohpoh on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Yes, because it’s not luxury car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Nenek Kau on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:15 pm

People who can afford it won’t care about cupholders. For Proton owners, cupholders are luxury

• glorifiedT on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Luxury car wannabe, L for Luxury but not even luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • AhSim on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Dear Greg,
    A bit overdo on this video.
    That smile of the GST part. Haiz..
    Just my humble opinion.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:19 pm

So in the end, the question remiains,

Is it an over-glorified and overpriced Toyota, which should be sold for 50% less since its from Japan, and for the German master-race owners to laugh at from their mechanic’s workshop?

Oh there will be so many dislike for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:45 pm

While the Chinese car owners enjoy safety, comfort, peace of mind aftersales, power, economy, value-for-money, reliability, more subtle, elegant, and sophisticated design too. More quality time to share with fellow Chinese owners the fun road trips they’d be having.

And for some sense of humour and comradeship, slap some prancing moose badges everywhere around their pride and joy, as did fellow Chinese car owners worldwide. Also, plenty of awesome wheel choices with unique names, giving more exclusivity to every wheel’s design.

Haters gonna hate.

• snobbish on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Learn the art of real rich people. Nagging everyday about repair cost but they can afford it.

If not, better go for Lexus, it’s for those people who are not rich but want to be looked as rich.

• Better go for Proton, it’s for those people who wants conti car but cannot afford it and want to be seen in a BMW or Volvo

• farghmee on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:19 pm

what is that thing in pic row2column4?

• That is the qiqiqiqiqiqi charger for you to charge your steering lock.

• protonsucks on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:31 pm

bro , appreciate the effort for the video,

but u r trying too hard. talking so not natural.
    u have to lay back, its ok to have a malaysian slang.
    its more natural that way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • nike should sue lexus for that headlamp with their nike logo lookalike ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • it’s funny to see car “experts” giving their 2 cents in the comment section on cars they will never come close to driving.

I’ve been driving my NX for almost a month and I have to say it is a step up from my old BMW X5. I couldn’t give two shits if it was Japanese or Korean all I know is that it is a better car compared to the X5. So “experts” what have you to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
    • lexusfatal on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Good luck for the brake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • crossX on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:19 pm

The brake only degrades but nobody knows when will bad luck happen

• Joe Hung on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:01 pm

dun lie la.
      just admit u drive kembara

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:51 pm

The X5, both in the past and now, has not been BMW’s best product. That is due to its sheer size. When you slap BMW and M badges, you expect minimal body roll, something the X5 doesn’t do. Plus, in the case of the new one, the air suspension on the rear doesn’t settle the car and actually makes it very floaty and nervous at the back, or at least that’s the feeling I get. And this is coming from a current BMW owner.

But then again, you can’t compare the X5 and NX. The NX is a midget compared to the X5, which makes it closer to the X3, Macan and Evoque. Of which, the Macan drives brilliantly and is an example of how air suspension to be done. And the Evoque shows how good design can hold up a car’s desirability, while the X3, well…… It’s alright I guess (our Malaysian ones are crap cause we never got the 28i engine on it, making it underpowered compared to the competition).

My big pet peeve with the NX is this. When I step into a car that costs an arm and a leg, be it a BMW, Mercedes Benz or Audi, I don’t expect to see parts from a cheaper manufacturer being used. Do you see MINI bits in a BMW? Or Renault bits in the Mercedes A Class (Renault and Mercedes have some JV for the FWD A class, and the V class if I am not mistaken), or heck, Skoda parts in an Audi or Porsche? Of course not. Then why is it that Lexus can actually dare to throw in parts that were clearly off a Camry, Corolla and Vios in an expensive car. And no, I actually went to view the NX on the hope that it would be good and I would sell of my current SUV for one. But the irony when I saw the Toyota based cruise control, push start button, and plastic bits here and there, I just couldn’t.

I have to give it to the NX, the leather used is nice, and it is quite distinctive in real life.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:10 pm

U manyak fussy, tabouli ini machiem, tabouli itu machiem, apa boleh dapat? Apa pun tabouli.

Deal with it, or take the leap of faith: go Chinese. Go Volvo. Scared not safe w/o 4WD? You sure you wanna question the World’s Safest Car’s safety standard?

Even “basic” XC60 T5 gets Corner Traction Control. Get better tires, it will far over compensate lack of 4WD. Anyway, Volvo can’t be silly enough to make FWD with power it cannot cope. They know what they’re doing.

And while you’re at it, 18″ Ixion R-design wheels look sooooo good on any modern Volvo. Worth upgrading.

• Philip on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Tokmoh, I take your offer to go Volvo if it’s free :).

Sorry lah if you want me to take the leap of faith with my own money.

You think RM400K is kacang putih, not that I’m poor.

Talk is cheap bro

• bespoke on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Only 5 spokes, like that City also got, like Merc ady

• bimmerworksyop on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:23 pm

But Volvo is old uncle punya
          Lexus Same Lorrr sells only not own
          Bimmer is the way to go.

If rosak can show off to neighbours I have money to repair.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 8:35 am

As much as I like the Volvo, somehow the XC60 doesnt drive that well. I was close to buying one myself, with the EcoBoost and 6 speed PowerShift. One huge issue I had was how unsettled the rear suspension was.

I have driven on their test drive route numerous times, in various cars including ones that I have bought. Yet none bounced about like a pogo stick as per the XC60.

In fact, even Volvo’s own V40 felt resolved. And the part where it is only 2WD, say what you want, in poor conditions, when you drive at speed, 4WD does help when it needs to shuffle power around without reaching for ESP. Just see how magical quattro is in the rain.

• Josh Ling on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:12 am

errr….i thought Gregory was mentioning X3 and not X5 in the video??

• Your old X5 or your old Kamlanpah.

• Hoi hoi on Apr 15, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Try this car last week at Spring, Kuching. I think it’s too small and the leather use inside is just slightly better than vios. In small margin. I think toyota leather is too harsh and this NX leather felt cheap like Axia. Even Honda leather is much better in comfort. BTW, i can even afford this car. i only drive saga.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Greg, Volvo XC60 T5 is the cheapest car: RM 288,888. And it comes with 5+5+5 years free service, warranty and on-call service.

Even if T5 is the “basic” version of XC60, it still gives 245hp, EIGHT (8) speed Aisin gearbox (same supplier as Lexus, except Lexus gets more archaic 6 speed only), digital LCD meter panel, City Safety auto brake up to 50km/h, BLIS, hey, it’s the World’s Safest Car.

Your move, Lexus, Germans!

• eeeriz on Apr 16, 2015 at 8:41 am

tokmoh, I second you! I owned the first generation of S60 T5 (oredi sold it after 8 years in hand), nothing beat its seat comfort and its sheer turbo whoosshiingg pleasure.

Despite what ppl said in its handling (yes, it is slight soft as compared to say, E90 325i), it was still very good in cornering as I have always using Karak-KL highway monthly.

Anyway given XC60 vs NX200, i will choose XC60 anytime. The new Aisin gearbox has improved tremendously since my volvo days..

• Adrian on May 02, 2015 at 1:16 pm

I think this is the most fugliest car I’ve ever seen!