F16 BMW X6 debuts at BMW World: xDrive35i, RM719k

BMW_X6_Malaysia_ 001

Presented at the BMW World Malaysia 2015 media preview was the F16 BMW X6 – the second-generation low-slung SUV is making its Malaysian debut at the show in xDrive35i guise, equipped with the M Sport pack.

First things first – the new X6 retails at RM718,800 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of 6% GST, a two-year/unlimited-mileage warranty and a three-year/60,000 km BMW Service + Repair Inclusive package. This is RM20k more expensive than the previous E71 LCI, but the new car comes with more kit as standard.

BMW_X6_Malaysia_ 004

The F16’s looks are pretty much an evolution of its predecessor, with the new car gaining the current BMW front face, Air Breather vents aft of the front wheels and large rear haunches from the smaller X4. The interior looks nigh-on identical to the X5‘s, save for front knee pads on either side of the transmission tunnel.

As mentioned before, our cars receive the M Sport kit with more aggressive bumpers, deeper side skirts and 20-inch M light alloy wheels shod with 275/40 tyres at the front and 315/35 rubber at the rear. There’s also an M Sport multi-function leather steering wheel with shift paddles, M door sills and adaptive M suspension with rear air suspension.

BMW_X6_Malaysia_ 018

Standard kit includes adaptive LED headlights with high-beam assistance, LED fog lights, keyless entry and start, a head-up display, surround-view camera, four-zone auto air-con, powered sports seats (with driver’s side memory) upholstered in Dakota leather, a powered tailgate, a panoramic glass sunroof, rear sun blinds, a BMW Professional navigation system and a 16-speaker 600 W Harmon Kardon surround sound system.

Powering the F16 X6 is BMW’s 3.0 litre TwinPower Turbo straight-six, producing 306 PS from 5,800-6,400 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,200-5,000 rpm. Mated to an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission, it goes from 0-100 km/h in 6.4 seconds before reaching a top speed of 240 km/h. Fuel consumption is rated at 8.6 litres per 100 km and it emits 200 grams of carbon dioxide per kilometre.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:23 pm

What intrigues me is why did BMW never do a 28i version of both X5 and X6, after all, projected performance would be close to the 520i, 7-8 seconds to 100kmh but heck of a lot cheaper to tax which means it would actually cross below the 600 mark for the X6 and below 500 for the X5.

The main thing is cause in Malaysia, BMW never really had a clear next step to the 5 series. It’s like once you touch the 5 series, the X5 is probably the next step but even then it’s a good 150k above the highest priced 5 series. We also don’t get the short wheel base 7 either which is also kinda tough.

In the end, many would just get stuck at the same level, BMW needs to start considering bringing smaller engined X5s and X6s. They could start with the 25d that is globally available.

• Protonist on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Brainless ppl buy BMW. Smart ppl buy Exora. Proton now same good as BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Sendiri cakap sendiri syiok!!

• BMW 2 Year Warranty on Apr 17, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Why would someone buy a car that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, and facebook postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts after the warranty expires. That is why you see so many 1 year old BMWs for sale in the 2nd hand market.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.

To those sour grapes BMW salesman who will say I am a Mercedes salesman, don’t be jealous. I am not. I am a BMW owner fighting for the rights of all BMW owners in Malaysia for longer warranty. You BMW salesman should be telling your management to give longer warranty to us BMW owners.

Facebook and forums don’t lie. Go and see for yourself what happens after the 2nd year and read all the forums. The saying Banyak Masuk Workshop is not a myth. Even the company themselves so scared to give you more than 2 years warranty so that alone speaks volume!

• policeman on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:36 pm

The ultimate king on the road. People who prefer BMW prefer power, leave the low power engine to Mercedes.

• Jimmy on Apr 16, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Luxurious vehicles above 350k should have 10 airbags at the very minimum.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:36 pm

For that kind of asking price, it would be logical for BMW Malaysia to add in some driver’s aid tech like lane departure warning or blind spot detection as standard but nope, none seen in this house on 4 wheels.

Better luck next time BMW Malaysia as MBM does offer these tech in cheaper models like the M-Class which is RM150k cheaper…

• Fairus on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:39 pm

A new X6 in Australia, NZ, Canada and US costs RM265k – RM300k after conversion.

Comes to bolehland starting price RM719k.

• Australia collects tax from petrol and diesel.

Of course they can do that since their currency value is 3 times that of ours.

Luxury car tax is 20%.

• Arsenalfans on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Seriously just stop whining about the price in Malaysia. If u whine about the price, then u can’t afford it. As simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Pening on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Wow with the price selling here I can buy 2 units in UK.
    in Middle East I can buy 1 unit with spare change for a 5 series.
    Thank you G

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:14 pm

coming soon to your local hokkien klang guy who made it household in setia eco park….

smart people will wait for mercedes MLC