F56 MINI JCW launched in Malaysia – RM288,888

F56_MINI_JCW_Malaysia_ 001

The F56 MINI John Cooper Works (JCW) has been launched at the 2015 BMW World Malaysia exhibition. The most powerful series production MINI ever comes with a turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine with 231 hp at 6,000 rpm and 320 Nm of torque (350 Nm on overboost) from 1,250 to 4,800 rpm.

Mated to a six-speed Steptronic automatic transmission, the CBU three-door hatch rockets from 0-100 km/h in 6.1 seconds before hitting a top speed of 246 km/h. Official fuel consumption figures are rated at 17.2 km/l.

On the outside, things are suitably racy with the inclusion of a JCW-specific front bumper and bonnet stripes while full LED headlights and daytime running lights are featured. Moving further back, 18-inch John Cooper Works Cup Spoke two-tone alloy wheels, JCW side skirts, a JCW rear spoiler and bumper are presented.

F56_MINI_JCW_Malaysia_ 016

Elsewhere, a smattering of John Cooper Works badges as well as a chrome-plated side scuttle with integrated turn indicators come as standard. Owners are also presented with the option of having the JCWs decked out in red, white or black for the roof and mirror caps.

Inside, the F56 MINI JCW boasts a start/stop button with keyless go and Dinamica Carbon Black leather combination for its sports seats while the dash gets a Black Checkered finish. Going against the black-dominated interior are crimson accents that are to be found on the lower portion of the dash and on the seats.

In-car entertainment gets taken care of with the inclusion of a Harman Kardon sound system with 12 speakers and Bluetooth/USB connectivity. An 8.8-inch LCD display with Radio MINI Visual Boost, MINI Connected and Navigation system Professional are standard, along with a head-up display system.

F56_MINI_JCW_Malaysia_ 004

Additional goodies include an automatic dual-zone air-conditioning system, cruise control with braking function, velour floor mats, a multi-function leather steering wheel with paddle shifters, stainless steel pedals and an “exclusive” instrument cluster design which includes an interactive LED ring on the central display.

Safety kit includes a total of four airbags, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) – which includes Automatic Stability Control+Traction – and Dynamic Traction Control (DTC) along with ABS. A tyre pressure monitoring system and Park Distance Control (rear only) are standard as well.

The F56 MINI JCW is priced at RM288,888 on-the-road without insurance. A two-year/unlimited mileage warranty comes with the JCW in addition to the MINI Service Inclusive Programme that covers the maintenance and repair costs for three years/50,000 km, whichever comes first.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• policeman on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Better buy a used Kelisa instead. More reliable than this German junk.

Why can’t the Germans make a reliable car? Are they that incompetent? May as well close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • or you get a 420i for a little bit more…

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 17, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Why is Sime Darby and BMW/Hyundai Malaysia not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why BMW not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat? After all Hyundai and BMW Malaysia is GLC

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.
      Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

Sime Darby which owns Hyundai Malaysia and BMW is owned by the Government. Where is the 30% your boss Najib promised?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:22 pm

to buy this car with an automatic is a bloody disgrace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • blaster88 on Apr 16, 2015 at 11:11 pm

hmmm interesting….based on your logic…the same disgrace should apply to Ferraris, McLarens and a whole bunch of Porsches. In fact, almost every supercar that I can think of…

Like it or not, the reality is that you are not going to sell many esp in Asia if you do not have an auto variant…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:48 am

as i said, its a disgrace if you go all out trying to look cool and what not but drive an automatic…like having sex with scarlett johansson but refusing to take off your clothes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • Blaster88 on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:25 am

Owning or driving a car is more than looking cool…..driving an auto or manual does not make someone cool or uncool…anyway, from the outside, how would you know whether it’s a manual or auto??? bTW, I don’t need to take off my clothes to enjoy sex with scarlett Jo, as long as she does…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • shamevo (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 3:09 pm

driving a manual does make people cool to people tho care about cars and driving… because why else would you spend nearly 300k for a performance car when you can get a 420i for about the same price???

and fyi, you can’t have sex with someone if you didn’t take off your clothes… it is a rule of nature…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • blaster88 on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:24 pm

So what you are saying is that the hordes of drivers that drive auto including supercars are not cool? For example, a Ferrari is also a performance car that would cost 5 JCWs but it also comes esp in auto? How? So based on your logic, not cool? To each his own?

BTW, you need to work on your imagination and think out of the box when it comes to the sex department…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • lol 290k, wif dis price i cn get golf R ledi much faster than dis car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • difflam on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:18 am

exactly totally agreed. its gettin no where near the golf R in terms of raw performance nearly 300 horses with 380Nm, century sprint around 5 sec mark. it will literally smoke the JCW

plus from my point of view golf R is prettier and feels more upclass as opposed to MINI’s funkiness

p/s: golf R is available in manual if you feel like it, this JCW? none.

• blaster88 on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:39 am

I agree at 288K its daylight robbery! However, the Golf R in Bolehland has been detuned to about 250 plus hp, moreover I reckon the R is about 100 to 200kg heavier..AWD on the R may offer better cornering abilities but can be boring and predictable…

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:58 am

Basically a rocket. On wheels.

Madness. Who said the Germans are not fun? :P

• Only Toyota and Honda owners said the Germans are not fun because they can’t afford it.

• hazamiey on Apr 17, 2015 at 5:53 pm

If I bought this car, straight away I will change the wheels with aftermarket one. Just couldn’t look at those wheels. Its too ugly.