GST: Updated BMW prices – decrease of up to RM19k

2013-Top-5-BMW-M6-Gran-Coupe-02

BMW Malaysia has finally released its post-GST price list for all its models and on the whole, it’s a pretty rosy picture indeed. The majority of the range will witness a reduction in price bar the BMW 520d Sport, 730Li, 740Li and Z4 sDrive20i – the 218i Active Tourer, X6 xDrive35i M Sport and i8 are not affected, having been launched after the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

The most significant drop in price comes courtesy of the revised price tag adorning the BMW M6 Gran Coupe – a massive reduction of RM19,000 (1.9%) now sees it priced at RM980,800 on-the-road (OTR) without insurance. On the other end of the scale, one has to now fork out less than RM170k to own a BMW as the 116i’s price tag has been reduced by RM1,000 to RM169,800 OTR sans insurance.

BMW GST price list

For M fanatics, the BMW M5 now sees a price reduction of RM12,000 while both the M4 and M3 are now cheaper by RM8,000. Prices are now quoted at RM889,800, RM740,000 and RM730,8000 OTR without insurance, respectively.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Why do I get a sense that this was a knee-jerk reaction to the industry? BMW did look like they messed up a bit when they were one of the few who didn’t drop the price.

Also, for those who did buy between 1st and 16 April, what happens?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:44 pm

I think this updated price list was made in response to the backlash BMW Malaysia got earlier on after seeing MBM & Audi Malaysia lowering their prices. PS: X3/X5 price now looks a bit better.

But I think its a bit misleading to say that one can own a brand new Beemer under RM170k now when the price does not include insurance (+6% GST) and road tax!

• fantastic. been waiting for this!

• Same Shit on Apr 16, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Even if they reduce 50k per model it’s still much expensive than other countries!!!!!

Moron suckers!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • BMW was the first to announce no reduction in price post GSM. Then the rest started to announce price reductions. Must not be seen as arrogant and profiteering it had to do likewise. 3 cheers for free market competition.

• Bijan hamsor on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Kereta orang kaya lebih diturunkan. Kereta orang susah? Mampuih pi dekat hampaaa

• Terima kasih BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • drMpower on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:14 pm

So ahmad maslan and the kastam head were right. Come gst vehicle prices go down.

So for u people saying stuffs about ahmad maslan and make fun of his pointer then u must know that u should apologise to him after all. Which i doubt any of u would

The car prices go down. Its a fact.

Thats why i am different than u lot. I wasnt crying for cheaper cars. I want affordable cars.

The 19k reduction – it is a reduced price – but it isnt what i can afford.

Lesson 1 : get your argument right.

Lesson 2 : apologise to ahmad maslan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
    • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:27 pm

When even UITM bash ahmad maslan, u have reached epic level of bodoh.

Inb4 tak bodoh, cgpa 3.85

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • annonymous on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:27 pm

I dont understand. All these 3 series and 5 series are ckd. Why only reduce less than 1% but the 4%? GST replaced the sales tax and there is the difference of 4%

Hmmm.. can someone explain?

• so far i havent seen a car with price decrease up to 3~4%.

and the 30% decrease promised by the big liar… lagi tak nampak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Megane on Apr 17, 2015 at 3:30 am

The big liar has become a pathological liar. No one listens to him anymore. Most people are cursing him day and night. Serves him right.

• Buy Buy Buy?

BMW 3 series 116i 136hp only kosong features… RM200k..

for ppl who want the BMW Logo, C-segment.
    but u will not get the BMW good noise insulation, too much of cost cutting..

320i US only RM120k, Malaysia RM240k.
    so overpriced.. Overpriced aaaa…

2 years manufacturer warranty only for this…. nice.

• Jimmy on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Your money seemed to be hard-earned.

Some people have 316i as their lousiet car at homes to be used by saudara-mara.

Will you lend other people your X6 or 7-series? Car lover may have a few luxurious vehicles at home but he will only lend out the only cheap one; the favourite one cannot even be driven by wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • sick&tired on Apr 16, 2015 at 8:36 pm

whoaaaaa! so cheap! thank you DS Najis!!!! You da man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Riders on Apr 17, 2015 at 12:18 am

Hi,

Do you have the price update for BMW Motorrad? From the news, the cost reduction is up to 18%.

Thanks!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:50 am

sales carnival…but charges you 18 ringgit to enter….LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
  • ramamurthy on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:26 am

Read b4 you post anything u good
    for nothing semi value.
    u go look who is gonna benefit
    from this 18 ringgit spent.
    Its for your own kind and you
    should be ashame of yourself !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 16
  • nageshshawari kinjikulli rsmanyanan rajan on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:52 am

I think 19k discount ok coz i and my usband plan to but it coz we got rich. No for poor ppl. I want to park it in my porch let all my friends see. Sooooooo japppyyyyy