Mazda 6 facelift now here – 2.0 and 2.5, RM160k-199k

Mazda 6 Facelift 1

Local Mazda distributor Bermaz has quietly introduced the facelifted Mazda 6 – we popped by its 3S centre in Sungai Besi to obtain these pictures of the updated D-segment sedan in 2.0 litre guise.

Stop rubbing your eyes, because you’re not seeing things – this car looks exactly like the current 2.0 litre model on the outside. The facelift’s supposed reshaped headlights, slatted grille with thicker chrome surround, reshaped front bumper, LED fog lights with chrome accents and updated tail light graphics are nowhere to be found here.

We’re told that the 2.5 litre model, which will be in showrooms by the end of the month, will feature the exterior tweaks – it seems the changes only come with the optional new LED headlights, which are fitted on the high-end variant; spec the regular halogens and you’ll receive the old front fascia instead.

Mazda 6 Facelift 2

Thankfully, the massively-revamped dashboard and centre console is present and correct – there’s a more refined design with classier looking air vents and climate controls, new dials for the instrument cluster gauges, swathes of leather trim (including along the transmission tunnel), neater switchgear layout, a space-saving electronic parking brake and new roll-top cupholders.

With the facelift, the 6 also finally receives Mazda’s latest MZD Connect system as seen on the new Mazda 2 and 3, with a freestanding display and BMW iDrive-like Commander Control knob. As before, navigation, keyless entry, sunroof, paddle shifters and 11-speaker Bose sound system are reserved for the 2.5 litre model, but the range-topper now also receives a new head-up display.

Otherwise, eight-way power-adjustable leather front seats (with driver’s side memory), push-button start, a reverse camera, auto lights and wipers and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror are all shared between both variants, as they were previously.

Mazda 6 Facelift 7

Engine choices remain unchanged as well – the 2.0 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-pot makes 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,000 rpm, while the 2.5 litre variant delivers 185 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm at 3,250 rpm. The six-speed SkyActiv-Drive has been retained, too, but gets a rocker switch to select the new, faster-reacting Sport mode. Cruising cabin noise is also said to have been decreased by as much as 25%.

Safety kit is the same as before – both models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist as well as Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), with the 2.5 litre model also receiving the i-ActivSense suite of active safety systems.

All that’s left now is the price – as revealed in the GST-inclusive price list at the beginning of the month, the facelifted 2.0 litre sedan retails at RM159,158 on-the-road without insurance (RM4,000 more than before), the 2.5 litre sedan costs RM194,647 and the 2.5 litre Touring estate is priced at RM198,647 (both 2.5 sedan and estate cost RM9,999 more than before).

UPDATE: We managed to find pictures of the 2.5 litre sedan variant on the Mazda Zoom-Zoom page – the top-of-the-range model gets all the exterior changes mentioned, as well as gunmetal 19-inch wheels as opposed to the 2.0’s silver 17-inch rollers.

2015 Mazda 6 2.0 facelift

2015 Mazda 6 2.5 facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• this is the perfect car now

the only set back for the pre facelift was the interior…. and they’ve fixed it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 184
      • Ah Lian PeroduaFan on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Is ‘than’, not ‘then’, ah beng…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 18, 2015 at 9:17 am

This are automotive forum and not English lesson forum Ah Lian !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
          • This isn’t an automotive forum, this is an auto news site. This isn’t an English lesson but it helps a lot to be smarter than a donkey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • John doe on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:33 am

This ‘is’ not this ‘are’, Ah Beng

• SeeTron on Apr 18, 2015 at 11:17 am

Skyactive Engine still as noisy ?

• Berjaya sial on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Anything BY BERJAYA SUXXS

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Why is Bermaz not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why Bermaz not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat? After all Bermaz is Berjaya, a GLC and crony company.

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Mazda 6 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM199,000 for this Mazda 6 with lots of safety features stripped.

Tak ada logic. US$22k vs RM200k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Once this car CKD, there will be a lot of Camry traded in. Nobody will take those Camry cabbage because used car dealers also know, prospective buyers always ask got VSC or not and how many airbags

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:01 pm

The funniest thing here is: When they can’t afford the car, they simply bash the car. For them, their Proton is the best in the world. Good luck with your “BMW”.

• Mazdah on Apr 18, 2015 at 11:20 am

Mazda ?

Poor’s man wannabe BMW interior copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
          • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:49 pm

With this car, Toyota sales is dead. Mazda 3 wiped out the Altis completely. 100% wiped out.

Toyota Vios also wiped out by the Honda City. Everybody also confirms this.

Now this Mazda 6, who is going to bother with 2 airbag and no VSC Camry anymore?

Same Lorrrr, Sam Loo (ori1) always love to talk about cabbage Hyundai. Now, Toyota themselves have become cabbage. All their models have become cabbage.

This happens when you play dirty. Toyota salesman and Same Lorrrr play dirty and condemn their rivals. Now, Toyota got ZERO Sales.

Life is hard isnt it Same Lorrrr???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
          • Nope..this are the car for someone that doesn’t want to be seen as MLM agent or get rich schemes. Get you fact straight..as someone can afford 200k car what make you think they can’t afford a bimmer?

• LOLOL on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:36 am

I wouldnt buy Proton… but with this pricing… I wouldnt buy Mazda too. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
        • eseesee on Apr 18, 2015 at 8:19 am

Overpriced.camry.and.mazda6. I skip both

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • cendol (Member) on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:18 am

What car is not overpriced in Malaysia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
          • agreed. camry and m6 are not just overpriced, they are so much overpriced thinking they are same league as european cars

• dugongx on Apr 20, 2015 at 12:39 pm

At least this Mazda 6 is CBU. Therefore the tax is much higher and justifies the the high OTR price. Camry? Just a piece of CKD junk coffin asking mega sky high price.

• Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Same Lorrrr past antics of running down the RV of other brands are now open. Everybody is aware of the modus operandi of Toyota salesman antics.

• Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:53 pm

So many Toyota salesman now crying. All got no sales. Everyhting they have done so far ie going online bad mouthing Korean and Proton cars have backfired.

Toyota sales are so so so so low. 2 airbags and no VSC is a put off to even ardent Toyota fans. And worse, Toyota now got low low RV. 10 month old Camry 2.5 being sold for RM98k. In 10 months, can lose RM82k. That is a Malaysian record.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Too bad on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:40 pm

With Sucky prices like this, Toyota and Honda gonna be back on top. this is the fall of Mazda in Malaysia.

• taknakToyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Toyota is moving coffin, nuff said

• Jimmy on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Due to greed, now the best deal in D-segment saloon has become Teana.

Go and test drive, friends. And get good discount which makes the Teana 2.5L at least 30k cheaper than this Mazda6.

If you don’t care about leather seats and torque, then the Teana 2.0L is even more value for money, 6 airbags + ESP with good refinement at very good price after discount. It is truely competitive.

A bit of extra goodies and torque doesn’t make it worthy to spend extra 65k (Teana 2.0L basic versus Mazda6 2.5L, both with 6 airbags + ESP).

Please go and test drive. Spend wisely at this increasingly taxing era.

65K is a small amount of money for people who drive luxurious marques, but it is a significant amount for those hunting for D-segment saloons.

• hanjou on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Hello,may i know, the so called facelift M6 still come with tyre repair kit or space saving spare tyre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • hanjou on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:29 pm

so no answer for my question? even the man,jonathan lee himself can’t give me the answer?

• If mazda6 get mazda2/3 meter panel with head up display, it is perfect !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • This car is more expensive than Camry, I would say it is hard to sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Don’t forget, this is still the non CKD version. Try getting UMW to bring in the Camry from Japan, at least 200k. Btw they will be launching the CKD verraion by the end of they year, so best to wait it out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • LOLOL on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:45 am

Dont forget, Toyota CKD beats Mazda CKD in quality and fitting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • Why? Proof?

• LOLOL on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:50 am

You go read stuff in forums you will know. Previous gen Mazda M3 CKD has more complaints Altis. Generally Toyota fit and fitting better. Though they lack the features.

• Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Is that why Mazda 3 has wiped out Altis completely?

• LOLOL on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:51 am

No. Its becos buyers got cheated by desperate Mazda salesman like you.

• Alvin on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:59 am

You’re wrong . Camry high end spec Rm170+k. Mazda 6 2.5 Rm190k. Come with a lot of safety feature , perfect body shape , 19inch rim. Camry just a boring car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • LOLOL on Apr 18, 2015 at 8:28 am

thats a 15K difference you are talking about and what additional things you get? A less powerful engine, less FC car? The few difference is the iActive Sense which some of the features like lane departure and rear vehicle monitoring the camry already has, 19 inch wheels and the HUD. 15K is too much of a premium above. Esp when you factor in the Accord which is 20K cheaper. Thts alot of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Mazda? Are you serious? I was fancy with the facelift at first but now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:45 pm

I’m a bit skeptic, IIHS rated this car ‘acceptable’ on small overlapped crash test..means it nowhere near good..wonder if facelift variants got some update

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Acceptable is already considered good, compared to most other cars that got mediocre. That’s a test where almost all models failed, the only ones that didn’t IIRC were Volvo and the D segment Suzuki. The test was specifically designed so that car manufacturers fail so that they invest more in making the cars even safer. They significantly raised the bar with the small overlap test.

Also, compared to the non-hybrid Camry sold in Malaysia this is A LOT safer.

• drCooper on Apr 19, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Actually most 2014 and above model did pass the small overlap test with good…most didn’t pass are 2013 below model..the test is introduce back in middle 2012

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:40 am

Meh…acceptable is still acceptable is not ‘good’…btw I saw other 2014 model cars did pass with good result on this small overlap crash including recent KIA and Hyundai model…since this Mazda6 is already post 2014 model I wonder their engineer didn’t do the homework..

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:07 am

The small overlap test is one test that got all the manufacturers stumped. The cars are just not designed and built to take the small overlap test.

Changing the goal posts, means that its back to the drawing board for all manufacturers.

Instead of the small overlap test, I would have like to have seen a more stringent side impact test instead. Side impact is more crucial since there is less deformable space on the side.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 18, 2015 at 7:30 pm

The small overlap test is important though… usually when you see you are going to collide with someone you try to steer away, and if you almost make it the result is the small overlap test.

Then again, for the Malaysian market the Mazda 6 is probably pretty much as good as it gets, far ahead of the Camry for example. So lets not be too picky.

• drCooper on Apr 19, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Most automakers with recent 2014 car models scores ‘good’ in the small overlaps test..

• kokatoa on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:31 am

“Acceptable” is just a step below “Good”, and still makes the car eligible for IIHS’ Top Safety Pick+ award.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Even Mazda also nicer than my Toyota. I gotta dapao by using RV crap to con people already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:04 pm

People now know about Same Lorrrrs RV lies. Toyota got now the worst RV around. Worse than Kimchi even. In 10 months, Camry 2.5 can lose RM82k. Accident free car and only done RM22k km

• Jeremy on May 17, 2016 at 9:40 am

Really?any link?i am interested if that’s a accident free camry with such cheap price?don’t empty talk cabbage.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Seems like a reasonable price, leather on the dash makes it look pretty expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:02 pm

All features and changes are OK, I like them. Then how about suspension? Is it more comfortable than before? I’ve tested my uncle’s 6 (before facelift) and I think the suspension is rather stiff for a sedan :/

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:06 pm

As long as it’s not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • As long as it is related to Jap/Korean made cars, Joker Sam got some shit for them

• Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:56 pm

What RV you talking about? 10 month old Toyota Camry 2.5, done only 22k km, accident free, selling for RM98k. Brand new Rm180k.

What RV you talking about? This sushi lost RM82k in 10 months!!

• Bloodsucker on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Very pricey compare to other similar category cars.

• shawal on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:29 pm

I now wonder what the accord would bring come facelift time since it is specced to the brim ( 6 airbags now standard) , my guess would be passive safety, city brake n adaptive cruise control….then we cn hb another rematch

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:08 pm

With these spec levels? Are you sure? If it is really 90K, which I doubt, then it will be super empty. Expect the leather seats to be gone. The MZD Connect. The powered seats. The climate control. Smaller engine. Maybe even no aircon. No powered windows. The M6s sold in Malaysia are mid to high spec ones, they cost more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:27 pm

rather have the handbrakes….still, one of the few cars better than an audi a4 but people will still buy audi a4 sadly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • think on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:32 pm

it is really ridiculous to see that each and every current japanese and korean models are getting very expensive. just look at this mazda6 and the hyudai santa fe,,already touching the RM200k mark. if this trend continues people will rather go for a european cars,, than these..a really bad situation.think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Agree 101%! The gap between top spec jap d segment and c segment Germans are narrowing. I’m if the contis throw in discount like bmw which you and I know japs won’t do, the difference can be as small as 40k. So save up a bit more and get a better badge and drive!

• ayamxxx on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:51 pm

why this 2.0 Mazda 6 have less HP and Torque compared to Mazda 3 2.0.

both are Skyactive engine

• benyeoh on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Leftover pre-facelift exterior kit + new interior= more expensive M6

• Nasi ayam on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:41 pm

A bit let down of the exterior.
    Shud get the refined version like Aussie. Looking at the price. Ppl will jump ship to accord or teana

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Can’t believe they left out the new exterior for the lower spec model for the FL…but that’s Bermaz for you. Good spec but it will be a wiser choice to wait for the CKD version then it’ll be on level playing ground with the rest of the boys.

Now we’ll wait to see how they will spec the CX-3 when it launches in July.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:10 pm

to be honest thats the way globally….only those with the LED lights will get the new facelift…

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:18 am

Indeed, that does seem to be what it is around the world, not just something Bermaz specced. We’ve used the UK configurator and it’s the same over there – only the top-spec model with the LED headlights gets the new face.

• stanzai on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:26 pm

mind blowing, a staggering 200k~ for that Mazda.. No way!!

• Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:58 pm

How to spend so much on a Japanese car?

• propertyagent on Apr 19, 2015 at 3:52 pm

You buy from me a slime darbee terrace house in ulu kampung elmina already rm 950k.

Put things in perspective la. Tak mahal la kereta 200k.

Kita kan soon hailat income nation!

• is I-Eloop still there?

• Ninjaboy on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:22 am

Why do they call it a face-lift when nothing has changed?

And why the price increase? Other makers are lowering the price post GST.

• Subramaniam Kathivelu mariannasammy on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:46 am

Wahy this is the car i wait for. I like. Now got to sell all my maica shares and booking 1. My gf kusbhoowahiti will marryy me if i drive it. I likr ginger blue colour. Got ??? How d lesale value mr sammm lorrr. Can beating toyota or not.

• victor Lee keng cheang on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:48 am

My taugoofa biz vely good. I think i out down money to buy this car. Now vely nice okedi. I must call samlloo to get my monety back after ibsell my vios

• Balls on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:16 am

Wow…. 10K more expensive than the highest spec modern 2.4 Camry and 15K more than the highest spec 2.4 Accord. This is where Mazda will lose out unfortunately.

All of a sudden, the impressive Ford Mondeo seems to be a contender for the mazda 6 2.5. Between the old time fav Accord and Camry; and Mondeo.

Not a good position to be…..

• LOLOL on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:21 am

FL models 10K more than before????? WTF… more ridiculous if you compare with Top spec Camry and Top Spec Accord which are comparable and the additional features on the Mazda doesnt justify the 15K premium on top of an accord.

Looks like Bermaz is getting G-R-E-E-D-Y

• is the I-ELOOP removed from 2.5 model? thats the 1 of best part of sky aktiv

• judging from the meter seems no more power regenerative

• PTReader on Apr 18, 2015 at 4:25 am

The showroom showing the 2.5 M6 is located at Sri kembangan branch near Astro.

• Oh man…No, thanks. I wait for Sonata and Optima year end discount then.

• vital5 on Apr 18, 2015 at 8:31 am

You dun know t a x tax?

• Big brotherly Sista on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:48 pm

car design gettin old,
    prices going high,

I dont think it will sell….

• i waited for this to upgrade my 2011 m6.. thought new facelift will beautify the interior plus intro of GST thought may maintain price or even cheaper.
    But noo.. they had to add RM10K to it.. nearly 200k for a jap car.. although good CBU quality.
    haishh.. looks like no more mazda for me…

• Contender on Apr 18, 2015 at 11:35 pm

After reading the article can’t seem to find if this is CBU or CKD but reading the comments by various forum members seems to be CBU, wow so when they CKD 2.0 will probably drop 10k ? hmmm not attractive when it does not get exterior facelift …. so 2.5 will probably drop 12-15k after CKD ….. Mazda premium brand now in Malaysia … so “atas” now

Let’s see how well Mazda6 facelift sells in CBU and when they CKD

• Jimmy on Apr 19, 2015 at 12:41 pm

As I said, I am arrogant and greedy. Do you know what I mean?

• donno how berjaya want to set up mazda’s brand rating in malaysia, in the middle of luxuries (BMW/Merc) and japanese (toyota/honda)?

my instinct tells me it gonna fail big time with the wrong pricing.

• Gaviny on Apr 19, 2015 at 12:57 pm

No surprise ward has placed on their list of best interior of 2015

• Albert on Apr 19, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Mazda broke all the records in Boleh land.Comparatively,it is even more expensive than the Accord and Camry(already shit sky high pricing).
    Well,no matter what,rain or shine,there will always be loyal Mazda fanboys,just like poor protong.
    Perhaps,some people treat buying cars like changing undergarments every one to two years,or some even after 6 months(you see those very new pre owned 2014 cars at car websites)

• Yellowbird CTR on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:21 am

Nice car! Camry & Accord better watch out!

Even though Accord is cheaper by RM20K, I think Mazda6 is way better interior and exterior wise. Very current.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:31 am

Think the car looks much better than the pre FL – especially inside. The rather padded dash top looks so luxurious, or appears to be so.

But that price increase is quite steep. I wouldn’t exactly blame it all on profiteering on the part of the distributor (I mean, which company does not want to make profits), maybe part of the blame is the fact that it is CBU, so is subject to exchange rate, and the RM is not that strong at the moment. Anyways, as a buyer, you have many options. If this is too expensive, there is always the, urmmmm, cheaper Camry FL – provided you can live with its weird exterior design (sporty bits sticking out from a clearly not sporting silhoutte). Even the Accord is still good. Or you can wait for the CKD Mazda6. But I suspect some stuff from the CBU unit might be removed.

• canon on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:11 am

berjaya is not a GLC company la dumb..

• Richard on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Too expensive!

I rather go for 2012 -2013 Class of 3 series.
    Mazda is just a junior for performance/driver’s cars. If compare to THN Mazda is leading but far from Conti.

Minum susu also charging expert price.
    This only happen in Bolehland.

If Proton selling @ RM150 K then I will consider this car.

Proton! Proton! please learn from Japanese use more fine finger skills not lembu power (cepat masuk cepat keluar).

• Cruising cabin noise is also said to have been decreased by as much as 25%. Is this tested by noise measure equipment? As compared to Camry or Accord, is FL Mazda 6 more quiet or noise?