Shanghai 2015: Production Nissan Lannia for China

nissan-lannia-shanghai 1267

No, this is not a concept car and you’re looking at a production Nissan sedan. Conceived for the Chinese consumer in his 20s and 30s, the Nissan Lannia’s design development was led by Nissan Design China, riding on the experience and capabilities of the Nissan Global Design Center. In short, it’s by the Chinese for the Chinese. The name lan niao is in honour of the Nissan Bluebird.

The Lannia evolved from the Friend-ME Concept and Lannia Concept which debuted in China in 2013 and 2014, respectively. Inspired by the “smooth, muscular movements of wild animals” the sedan features “dynamic, tensional, yet edgy surfaces” and highlights such as the V-motion grille, kick-up C-pillar, floating roof and boomerang-shaped LED lights, cues also seen on the bold 2016 Nissan Maxima.

nissan-lannia-shanghai 1272

It’s a little more conventional inside, where there’s a driver-centric cockpit with plenty of red trim. Connectivity was a key focus in the Lannia’s development, and it features integrated infotainment tech including an “advanced audio system” with smartphone connectivity and a seven-inch display. The system was developed by Nissan’s R&D team in China and it will be available exclusively in the world’s biggest car market.

To also feature Nissan’s Safety Shield tech and achieve competitive levels of fuel efficiency, the Nissan Lannia sedan will go on sale in China towards the end of 2015.

Wacky one-offs aside, Nissan has never really been associated with bold designs, but the new Maxima and this Lannia are signs of the company’s new design focus on the young and young at heart, moving away from today’s safe, inoffensive designs. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bluebird on Apr 20, 2015 at 1:32 pm

the name is not too good for malaysian

• This lanjiao looks nice.

• Peter on Apr 20, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Lannia in Chinese base on the report means Blue Bird (in Mandarin). They should at least check with millions of Citizen in Hockian Province how does it sounds like in their dialect. before using this name for this nice car
    (… and not to mention how many Hockian people in Taiwan, Singapore Malaysia etc. etc. )

• Nissan Lannia.. giggles…

Nissan names the best!

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 1:55 pm

That name is so lame. Malaysian used to call the Bluebird as “Lan-Jiao” la

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:02 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars. And why sushi cars are expensive here? Thanks to your beloved government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Thanks to government, I can only afford saga for my son.

• Jonn Dol on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Overall an interesting looking car. The design is definitely bold , unique & futuristic.The rear-end is quite nice though.The Lannia looks more refined and better designed compared to the Maxima in the States.And compared to current Sylphy, the Lannia looks miles away better. Good job Nissan!

• farghmee on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:13 pm

trying too hard, eh?

• Simon on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Bluebird new name… Lannia… LOL

• roxas on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:35 pm

the nissan bluebird

• Blue bird…. Lan J***

• Lan Niao = Lan J***

• Josh Ling on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:40 pm

the rear half of the car is just wrong for me. simply ugly. thank god it’s just meant for China.

• NissanSupporter on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:40 pm

The front is really good looking ..fierce face and aggressive…
    but the butt..ehhhh…hmmmmmm

• iskhalifah (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Remember during the last decade, the Beemers with scorned Bangle-butt design? Sooner or later the design will surely mature well.

• I think is just a bad job at taking a hatch design and placing it into a sedan.. Shorten the tail and it’s actually quite nice. Anyway, Nissan Lannia will win the best car naming award, if there’s any.

• NissanSupporter on Apr 20, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Front is really nice looking…looks fierce and agressive
    but the butt eehhhhhhh…hmmmmmmm….truely nissan design

• tougke70 on Apr 20, 2015 at 3:01 pm

the roof looks awkward

• oh god. chinese people really have bad taste

• Jack Philip Yong on Apr 20, 2015 at 3:58 pm

If comes to Malaysia, better call Nissan Primera because Lannia is the successor of Nissan Primera and Bluebird.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:04 pm

The interior reminds me of the current toyota altis

• me. i am hk on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:06 pm

your comment just make my day…. i really enjoyed read all of your comment…. so funny

• iskhalifah (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:15 pm

1. This design is expected to produce kind of polarized perceptions: love it or hate it response.
    2. Nevertheless, it is indeed revolutionary and indicates that the ‘design’ playing field just keep on rising.
    3. Hope more ‘bread & butter’ car makers can adopt radical approach in designing their cars, not just luxury cars like Lexus, Beemers or Jags.
    4. Nissan used to play-it-safe by offering conventional uncle looking car, but current trend of Maxima & Lannia is signs of good things to come.
    5. Can we expect next generation Almera to be offered with such radical design, and inspires admiration among current haters? :)

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu! on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Next time if the Impul sport package introduce to this “lanjiao”, and the package should call ” Lanjiao Hard Hard” version.LOL

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu! on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:58 pm

wen i check my lower part of the body in between my both legs, i realize i can ride this car.Why, coz nissan name their new car by using my precious parts. Proud riding this car along in bukit bintang to attract mature women to sit in my “Lan Niao”

• the front end and the curves look nice…. up until the rear, the rear looks out of place

i’m thinking this car would look better as a hatchback instead of sedan