Shanghai 2015: Volvo XC90 Lounge Console unveiled

Volvo XC90 Excellence Lounge Concept

Here’s something for the bosses and high-rollers alike. The Volvo XC90 Lounge Console concept has been revealed at the Auto Shanghai 2015 exhibition missing a front passenger seat. In an attempt to one up its XC90 Excellence stablemate, the Lounge Console concept features just three seats in total.

Unfortunately, individuals keen on such a layout will be disappointed to know that the Volvo XC90 Lounge Console remains in the realm of concept cars for now. “Removing the passenger seat enabled us to create an open space that dramatically changes the dynamics of the interior and led to a firework of ideas and new possibilities,” said senior vice president of design at Volvo, Thomas Ingenlath.

In place of the front passenger seat lies a large work table that slides open to reveal an illuminated vanity mirror. Beneath said work table is a storage space for miscellaneous items such as pieces of jewellery, watches and the like. The table itself is capable of rotating 90 degrees to make way for a massive 17-inch screen whereby passengers are treated to “a full in-car theater experience.”

Situated under the cushioned leg rest is a storage compartment for an additional pair of shoes while Volvo has also provided a lockable storage box for more valuable items. “People who are on the move and have a hectic lifestyle… need some space, some luxury time to relax and refresh themselves. This is ultimately what the Lounge Console is designed to facilitate,” adds Ingenlath.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Wow, Volvo aiming to become a luxury car maker with the likes of Bentley or RR by the looks of it.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 9:03 pm

You must be crazy, this is low RV car, no value just like your Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
      • hanjin on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Toyota Lexus please buckle up, you cannot get those things in RX or NX.

Volvo is lightyears in front.

• Obamma on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Business class in a car. OMFG

• shawal on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Its not going to happen..
    If the oligarchs wishes to roll high in extreme opulence, they are better or in a rrange rover tweaked by holland n holland, or wait for the upcoming bentayga

• what is this??

Luxury Crampy Car?

• Jimmy on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Told you already, now they admitted it.
    Read my previous comment on the ‘pseudo-luxury’ 4-seater XC90.
    You sacrificed 3rd row for ??

• tokmoh. on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:46 pm

In normal Chinese trend, they should come out with long wheelbase version too.

Kinda cool come to think of it. A solid alternate to Range Rover, mmm.

• drchan on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:50 pm

wow.. designed by Hippo Ma for Hippo Ma??? generous compartments for her cincin, watches, etc..

• kopi o kao kao on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:24 pm

This is call innovative…proton will never get it…I will seriously consider this if I can afford, my wife will love it :)

• Rosmah Mansur on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:57 am

Shut up & take my money…!

• kapchai on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:18 am

Where is the airbag?

• All this design only for 1 Person?

• Krishna on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:59 am

What a waste of precious space…for that price, I could get an Alphard with captain seats that will allow me to do the same AND fit in more passengers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Volvo for life on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:26 am

Why compare this with a low class metal van?

• kopi o kao kao on Apr 22, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Volvo is for professional like Dr and Lawyer, Alphard is for Loan Shark and Bak Kut Teh stall owner :)

• wake up my friend..
      please talk on the same wave length. Keep ‘The Van’ idea away from this thread.

• Gavin Y on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:28 am

pity the poor soul driving if their passenger has a terrible foot odor issue.

LOLZ

• nckeat on Apr 21, 2015 at 1:40 pm

If I were to buy this car, I need to hire a driver as well. Otherwise doesn’t make sense. I don;t want to drive my wife like that.