Shanghai 2015: Toyota Corolla Hybrid/Levin HEV debut

faw-toyota-corolla-hybrid-shanghai 1294

Toyota has revealed both the Corolla Hybrid (pictured above) and Levin HEV at the Auto Shanghai 2015 exhibition. Although there’s a Corolla Hybrid in Japan, that is a different JDM-only model, while these new cars are similiar to the Corolla Altis sold in Malaysia.

The Toyota Corolla Hybrid will be assembled in China via the FAW-Toyota joint venture with sales slated to commence by the end of the second quarter of this year. In terms of its aesthetics, the Toyota Corolla Hybrid features sweptback projector headlights with stylised LED daytime running lights embedded into the housing itself. Elsewhere, the Corolla Hybrid sports two-toned, spiral 16-inch wheels.

Moving further back, a solid, one-piece chrome strip spans the entire length of the rear end, merging into the taillight assemblies. As is the case with hybrid Toyotas, the T badge features blue highlights. Under the hood, Chinese media reports that the Corolla Hybrid will employ a 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle petrol engine that’s mated to an electric motor for a total output of 99 hp. Official fuel consumption is rated at 20.4 km/l.

guangqi-toyota-levin-hybrid-shanghai 1307

Simultaneously, Toyota has also revealed the other eco-friendly stablemate to the Corolla Hybrid. The Toyota Levin HEV will be manufactured by the GAC-Toyota (Guangqi-Toyota) joint venture with sales set to commence not long after its debut.

As for the looks of the Levin HEV, it sports an almost-identical set of slim headlights as the Corolla Hybrid but features a single, downturned line that divides the upper and lower half of the car’s front fascia – giving the Levin HEV a ‘moustached’ look. Like its Corolla sibling, the rear of the Levin HEV also features a single horizontal strip that cuts across the rear, ending just before the taillight assembly.

FAW-Toyota Corolla Hybrid

GAC-Toyota Levin HEV

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Chinese like Volkswagen, don’t like Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • You are Chinese?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:56 pm

A – Arrogance
        L – Low RV
        T – Technical Problems
        I – Idiot Buyers
        S – Sick Moving Coffin

This car will have 10 airbags globally. Come to Malaysia, it will be 2 airbags. If you get VSC also you will be lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm

That’s the best you got for the acronym? So badly described. Here’s a better one:

P – Protected
          R – Rubbish
          O – Of
          T – Tongkat
          O – On our
          N – Negara

Proton’s car are so bad in quality, that you can get better quality cars in Australia than Malaysia if you’re lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
          • alldisc on Apr 22, 2015 at 12:52 pm

i tot it stands for sumting else

P – power window
            R – rosak
            O – oh
            T – Tidak
            O – oh
            N – NO!

• anchkor on Apr 22, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Power window story is old story, get a life dude

• toyotalembu on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Only 99hp how to move this lembu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Though I am pro Toyota, all Hybrids RV fall like a rock. If 2014 Camry 2.5 is now selling for RM98k, you can imagine the Camry Hybrid. I think next year, the Camry Hybrid will be sold for RM70k.

Be a wise consumer. Let the 1st buyer bear the depreciation of 120k in one year. Then you buy a 1 year old Hybrid for RM70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • Yes, but it drinks less fuel compare to Proton. You can bet that Iriz drinks more fuel compare to Lembu drinking water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • pugair on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Iriz is not hybrid car. Apple to apple conparison pls

• alldisc on Apr 22, 2015 at 1:13 pm

is there any full size D segment hybrid car on sale now in Malaysia? Forget A6 hybrid as all quota sold out.

Forget BMW & Merc as the price segment is too far a difference.

Compare to Ford Mondeo, Mazda 6, Hyundai Sonata, Kia Optima, Nissan Teana, Honda Accord, Peugoet 508, VW Passat, Chevrolet Malibu – all within 20k range of price and yes

The Camry Hybrid is the most economical, has the lowest emission and the most powerful (it can move the car with 143PS/270Nm at 0 rpm)

so i apology but this Camry is not able to do apple-to-apple comparison.

With 7 airbags (1 more than many others) it has the most comprehensive list of safety equipment.

since 5 year ago, many ppl realised after switching brand they did not get the good after-sales support (pure 3 years/100k warranty), or wide service network (except Honda & Nissan) and reliability (except Honda & Nissan).

they will come back to Toyota after painful ownership of so-called good looking/most powerful/most safety cars.

Resale value is only a bonus.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Maybe the Chinese loves our newly invented “BEARD”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • DPCraft on Apr 21, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Honda Civic designers better buckle up!!

• Can this Levin drift? IF not betta close shop!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:06 pm

H-Hailat
    Y-you
    U-until
    N-near
    D-death
    A-and
    I-irritated

K-Keep
    I-it
    A-Away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • razin91 on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:21 pm

1.5 litre atkinson cycle petrol engine with 99hp? im pretty sure its the same engine used in toyota prius c/aqua

• Andrew Lee on Apr 21, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Wondering why so many Toyota Haters here. I think Camry Hybrid 2.5 is a good buy, but 2.0 is a Junk

Saw the statement year 2014 Camry2.5 selling RM98k? can please recommend the seller? I check from Mudah year 2012 around Rm120,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • ori fake on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Same L0rrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) that you see above are the same fake person. In fact, they are butthurt bumi Proton supporters that want to bad mouth the real person because they are a COWARD to use their own identity to comment. Childish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
      • fakeorreal on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Lol how about you? What’s your real name, I/c number, address, cellphone no.?

If you are so real put here your drills la pandan. Lmao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
        • realorfake on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Lol, you butthurt? He said use own identity, not real identity lah. Bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • supporterstpd on Apr 21, 2015 at 11:51 pm

They want to show their stupidity, let them lah

• fakeorreal on Apr 22, 2015 at 9:30 am

Why i have to butthurt? From your logic, identity (your word) is exclusive for one person kah? That’s bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:29 am

Kimchi owners that has been shown the Hilux will not be honest for a few months to come

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Answer is simple.

As a result of their instinctive buy, kimchi owners have been denied promotions, looked down by colleagues, having to park far far away at family gatherings, ditched by pretty girls and given a funny look by family members.

When they wanted to sell, they expect to get 75% of value for 12 month old models. Unfortunately, they only get less than 50%.

That’s why they are jealous of Jap cars RV.

Most of the time after trying for 6 months, they will come to me and I will show them the Hilux. They yell hailat lor, i cut them a cheque and they feel like committing suicide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • Toyota Saleman Crying on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Lucky Sam took my 2014 Sonata for RM35k.

Today, heard that all used car dealers will only take in for RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Toyota Saleman Crying on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:34 pm

I was a Korean car owner before.

Believe me, my 2.5 year ownership of this piece of rotten cabbage is the worst nighmare in my life,

Never ever Korean again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • 2014 Hyundai RM35k on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Sam only gave RN35k for my Sonata 2 weeks ago.

Now, all kimchi dealers only give RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:58 pm

What’s wrong with the sonata?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:00 pm

E-errogant
    L-lansee
    A-asshole
    N-nibble
    T-tai lan ngong
    R-rear end