SPIED: Isuzu MU-X spotted around town, launch soon

DSC_6441

We’ve spotted the new Isuzu MU-X SUV – dressed in a funky digital camouflage – in town. Looks like the launch of this seven-seater SUV is imminent.

UPDATE: The MU-X has been officially previewed in Malaysia – story and gallery here.

Daisuke Ishida, COO of Isuzu Malaysia had previously confirmed to our sister Bahasa Malaysia website InfoKereta.com that the D-Max-based SUV will be launched in Malaysia sometime this year. Sources indicate that there will be two variants offered at launch: 4×4 and 4×2 options, both automatic.

Launched in Thailand in 2013, the Isuzu MU-X is offered with a 2.5 litre turbodiesel engine with 136 hp and 320 Nm of torque, as well as a larger 3.0 litre unit that makes 177 hp and 380 Nm of torque. We should be getting the smaller engine option, at least for now.

Based on what we can see through the windows, the MU-X 4×2 will not come with a DVD touchscreen head unit that is available in other markets. An integrated radio/CD player is installed instead, along with manual air-con. Perhaps the 4×4 variant will get better specs.

What do you think – how will the MU-X stack up against its rivals?

Jared David

Despite his age, Jared David is an old soul in a young body. He eats, sleeps and breathes cars. When he is not attempting to finish his tertiary education, he can be found in workshops in Klang, tinkering with old school cars.

• Exciting!!! Replacement of Trooper!
    Hope it come in 2.0L engine…Former Troopers fans definitely flock back!

• jackson91 on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:55 am

I hope this comes in at around 100k. At most 120k otr.please dont be crazy price like hyundai santa fe or toyota fortuner.

• Kamar on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Fortuner bungkus liao. Are we witnessing the fall of the Toyota? Vios, camry already lose kau liao.

• xiper (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:00 pm

it will be as high as the Fortuner due to the tax structure

• NoCheapSUV on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Dream on man! That DMax truck with not so heavy tax already at your asking price. 7 seater SUV like this should be ard entry level X trail or CRV range for this 2X4 spec. Just compare to New Ford Everest it’s gonna hit near 200k range. Which is easily above 80K of it’s truck sibling.

• This come with tax unlike pick-up commercial vehicle. This would around RM160K.

• Anonymous on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Can I get that AWESOME camo too…!

• this or fortuner?

• thedarkside on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:34 pm

weh…i saw this car ady without camo at LDP…one lady driver…so meaning its not yet launched? how can this be

• batman on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Actual car is in Alamanda Putrajaya now. According to salesman price about 160K

• gaviny on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Popular in the phillipines

• Rebadge Chevy Trailblazer…

• holofanboi on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:35 pm

0-60?

Why yes, yes it matters. x3