Renault Fluence facelift launched in Malaysia, RM109k

20150423_112820--1

Teased on Facebook last week and spotted on the road yesterday, the Renault Fluence facelift has finally been launched in Malaysia. It has been less than a year since the C-segment sedan’s initial local introduction last May, but the updated model’s arrival had always been looming right from the very start.

After all, the facelifted Fluence was first unveiled for international markets at the end of 2012. It’s mostly a cosmetic upgrade, bringing the Megane-based sedan closer to Renault’s more recent models in looks. The front bumper, especially, features the brand’s current family look, mimicking that of the Clio and Koleos.

The rest of the car’s exterior remains the same as before, apart from the new wheel design (still 17-inchers, with a dual-tone look on the top model) and the use of LED tail lamps on the top-spec Dynamique variant.

Yes, Renault Malaysia has split the Fluence range into two: one that matches the sole pre-facelift model called the Dynamique, and a more affordable Expression variant with slightly reduced equipment. Prices start at RM108,888 for the Fluence Expression, up to RM119,888 for the Fluence Dynamique.

The two can be differentiated by their unique wheels and tail lamps as mentioned above, as well as the inclusion of LED daytime running lights on the Dynamique. Inside, the Expression gets standard fabric seats, while the range-topper gets upgraded to full leather upholstery.

Otherwise, the two variants share the original Fluence’s impressive equipment list. Six airbags, electronic stability control, Isofix mounts, TomTom navigation system, R-link touchscreen interface with reverse camera, dual-zone automatic air-con, auto lights and wipers, keyless entry and cruise control are all standard.

What’s under the hood stays the same as before too. The Fluence employs the previous-gen Nissan Sylphy’s 2.0 litre engine with 143 hp at 6,000 rpm and 195 Nm of torque at 3,700 rpm, paired with an X-Tronic CVT gearbox. Zero to 100 km/h is handled in 10.1 seconds, on to a top speed of 195 km/h. It’s claimed to average 7.7 litres per 100 km (13.0 km/l).

A five-year, unlimited mileage manufacturer’s warranty is standard across the range, while the Fluence Dynamique adds on the “5 inFluence” that includes free maintenance (parts and labour inclusive) for the first five years or 100,000 km.

Other aftersales perks include a one-year unlimited warranty on Renault Genuine parts, free car pickup service for scheduled maintenance and the availability of a courtesy car, should your vehicle be in the service station for more than 48 hours. There’s also Fixed Price Servicing scheme that’s active nationwide.

A new shade, Crimson Red, is available from launch – for all colour options and detailed equipment list, refer to our new car research website, CarBase.my.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Roque on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:42 am

Nevermind that it is a few years late, but the specs is pretty impressive as compared to others in its class. my opinion, its quite a looker as well. i have seen the pre-facelift in the flesh, the interior is of quality…thumbs up. pricing wise, i need not elaborate further.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
    • Jonn Dol on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:35 pm

GOOD JOB RENAULT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • karam singh on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Sorry to say,
        the interior looks boring ,very grey
        touchscreen to far away,

its like designed in year 2000

But for Renault’s good reputation in safety,
        this car worth to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:39 pm

This car should appeal to fans of Japanese cars. Slightly boring, but comfortable workhorses that are really spacious inside. Add a bit of European finesse and a good price tag, and good safety on top, … worth getting.

• Japanese Fan want Reliability.

Renault is not reliable and high maintenance with expensive spare part.

so much of hidden cost and time u gotta spend!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:10 am

Er… drivetrain and gearbox from Nissan. Shouldn’t be too bad.

• alphawolf on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:44 am

The news on the launching of the face-lifted Fluence must be bad news for owners of the previous Fluence model.
    Therefore, IMHO it pays to research before buying any cars. Luckily, I had done mine and I am just waiting for Renault Malaysia to launch this facelifted model before putting in my money :) . Heard good things about the services rendered by Renault Malaysia.. hope I would not be disappointed :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Maybe current owners can order a new front bumper from Renault? It might fit…

• ImpulsezRY on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:17 am

Ya, it is actually fit. They selling the expression front bumper accessories at RM5088 (GST included) right now.

• The half analog half digital panel is killing me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • alphawolf on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:54 pm

You must be so easy to kill since anything that you don’t agreed with will end your life..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • shen low on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:57 am

with nissan engine and gearbox & platform, hopefully dont have some comment saying spare part very hard to find la. 5 star c segment with 3 star price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Yaa…better than Altis that 3 star C segment with 6 star price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrr on Apr 23, 2015 at 8:47 pm

You must be the hailat kimchi owner , come look for me, I give you discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
        • aaron on Jun 18, 2016 at 12:43 pm

altis… gt discount also dunwan la… milo tin car… 1.8 liter selling like 2.0 liter car??? joker car….. for those old minded fanboys only….

• I say this Renaulit Fleunce is better than the Outdated Honda Civic.

• sepul on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:00 pm

I was hoping the facelift comes with electronic parking brake. Oh well..

But this car wins over everything else in the segment hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Almost. Mazda 3? Similar price tag, a bit sportier, better looking, but probably a bit cramped inside. This is more of a family car to the drivers Mazda, but both are viable choices.

• Berann on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Good Good 109k can fight with Mazda 3 GL CKD.
    But….i still prefer mazda 3. lol

• Is the interior hard plastic or soft touch ? I haven’t driven one, but sat on a taxi in SG. Nothing to shout about, sounded like diesel and it was noisy inside.

Appreciate if any owner can comment on their experience…

• isengard12 on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Test drove the pre-facelift Fluence 2 weeks before. Interior is soft touch material and pretty comfortable. For the price, this car is good

• alphawolf on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Most of the front cockpit are soft touch..but of course there are hard plastics here and there. Switches looks and feels cheap..remember this ain’t a premium car and you’ll be fine ..

• DonkeyKong on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:08 pm

The taxis in Singapore are old Renault Latitudes, not Fluence. They look similar from the rear but they’re different. The Latitude taxis in Singapore also run on diesel engines, as are their Hyundai Sonata taxis.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Even this shitty car is priced at RM109k. Torsion beam for the rear?

Woi Najib, bila nak turun harga kereta? Penipu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Najib takut nak turun harga sebab takut Mahathir marah. Sampai naik TV3 buat EXPLANATION

• frossonice on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Part is gomen fault with that stupid Excise duty. Another part is that our Ringgit is so low in value right now, everything becomes more expensive. Come to think about it, that second part is partly blamed to the gomen also. Haishh…

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Nothing wrong with torsion beam for the rear. It enables a bigger boot, and Renault knows torsion beams like no one else. Fastest FWD car around the Nordschleife? Renault Megane… using torsion beam rear suspension.

• DriveSafePlaySafe on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Now, Renault Fluence vs Mazda 3…both top spec version..which one is more value for money?

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Mazda has a good reputation for reliability, but the Nissan engine in the Fluence is more common in Malaysia, mechanics know it, spare parts are available, … Not sure if all Nissan SC are allowed to work on the Fluence (at least as far as engine and gearbox are concerned). If yes (maybe call up your Nissan SC?), that would be a nice advantage as Nissan SCs are much more common than combined Nissan/Renault SC.

The Renault will probably offer more space, especially for rear passengers and in the boot. The ride should be more aimed towards comfort.

That being said, on the Mazda 3 high spec you do get Bi-Xenon headlights, which are quite a bit better than halogen ones, at least when they come from the factory. You can see better at night, without blinding others. The 3 also has more power, and perhaps better handling (not that the Renault will be bad). i-ACTIVSENSE is also nice, sadly Paultan doesn’t expand of what exactly is included. In Australia that means for the 3:
      Rear-view mirror with auto dimming function
      Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
      Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA)
      Smart City Brake Support (SCBS)
      Not the most important things perhaps (no lane departure, no adaptive cruise control), but at least it should help you avoid fender benders, potentially saving money later on.

Personally I’d go for the Mazda, but nothing wrong with the Renault. Funny how the Renault is more Japanese than the Mazda, which is quite European.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Is there any owner share is this car is reliable?

• Never had any problem … granted the car is one year old only :) Service by Renault Malaysia is superb. You can go ahead and buy

• nice if they bring megane hatchback

• nabill (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:42 pm

nicely specced , nicely priced , perfect world!

• spongewai on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:44 pm

hmm, one day will test drive on this

very affordable price

thumbs up, Renault

• Wheeeeeee Splat on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:45 pm

It may or may not be a nice car, but the name…. all I can think of is flatulence when I see it.

• Shaif on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Crimson Red is so nice….perhaps better than in the sea of white car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Should be similar to Mazda’s signature red. Very nice. Seen a couple of Renault in that color (it’s more expensive than other metallic paints btw.), they look good.

• spongewai on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:10 pm

i see many Renault Meganes RS Cup OTR but few units Clio RS here

the Koleos hard to see too

• shaunD on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:38 pm

wait for a while, and they will do promo, sell it for 99k, like last time. hurray, sub-100k, well-specced c-segment car!

• abg misai on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Why la they don’t swap the push start button with the ac adapter location? It feels very awkward.

• alphawolf on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Had just went for a test drive today !
    My thoughts on the car..please note I am not a motor journalist and these are my opinions :
    Pros: looks good in real life, rides well, seems solid, quiet, great price and promises of good service from Renault Malaysia. Cons: cockpit is dull and wished it was more ‘French’ inside, reverse sensor an option, some very minor quality issues, questionable resale value (if you care about such a thing..am not). To conclude..at this price..this car is very much worth the money. I hope i could put in a deposit once I switched jobs next month :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • anonymous on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Touch a french car sure to get burnt! After 5 years none of them are on the road ever. Just look around now. Find a french car that is over 5 years old!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:18 pm

No problem. Need to look to my car park, and there it is, a 10 year old Renault, going strong with no end in sight. :)

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Oh yeah, and pretty much every Renault you see on Malaysian roads is more than 8 years old. They have hardly sold any cars in the past 7-8 years.

• fendy on Apr 26, 2015 at 10:43 am

My scenic is already 7 years old…

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu! on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:21 pm

This car is Fugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • SamaLorrr on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:02 pm

central speedo with calculator graphics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Lolbadcar on Apr 23, 2015 at 8:59 pm

The first generation fluence is using old Nissan Slyphy engine,did you guys notice that????

• Lolbadcar on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:03 pm

P.S. , Renault your Fluence front grille looks ugly,but back ok.

• Mazda3 anytime..
    FC 13km/L is way off the benchmark set by Mazda3 for a 2.0L na engine..

• orange on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Wierd body with a PuXXy Front Badged car..

dashboard is so plastic and plain boring.
    both youngster and uncle wont like it..

with hidden huge maintenance cost, what is the selling point?

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:09 am

What huge maintenance cost? Renault/Nissan is pretty reasonable, the prices for repairs are fixed so the SC can’t rip you off, spare parts for engine and gearbox are easily available since there are many cars on Malaysian roads that have the same engine and gearbox.

And that front end is cool.

• aaron on Jun 18, 2016 at 12:42 pm

you coming from which era bro? huge maintenance cost?? you not even driving it or understand whats the article is talking about… another joker with their own stupidity assumption…..

• not a nice car, but looks better than uncle dashboard in Kia Cerato.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:34 am

No manual option? I’m not yr customer then..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • young-man on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:11 pm

nice grill….ada lubang..

• Seeker King on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:56 pm

It is having its roadshow in Midavalley Shopping mall. Look elegance and nice,spec is good for the price of 108K. I wish I have money to buy… but I dont have. sad….

• jambogumbo on Apr 25, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Test drove the car.It was horrible. Pick up bad, noise in cabin reaching 90db, dash rattles and suspension was hard. Practicall its a shityy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • Are test the car together with sound detecter? 90db ? How u measure it? Stupid people with stupid comment.

• Are you kidding ? I own one, suspensions are fantastic, it drives wonderfully. Renault service is fantastic and friendly, always available to answer your questions and concerns.Best value in the market by miles !

• aaron on Jun 18, 2016 at 12:40 pm

stupid betul this comment… i wonder if you really test drove… dont show your stupidity here….

• bblack on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:25 am

Had a look at the Mazda 3 today. Impressed with the exterior, not so with the interior, which I found to be more cramped even compared to a MyVi. Also the speedometer is smaller than others of the same class, which sort of gave it a feeling of being a smaller vehicle than it actually is. Am curious how the renault fluence actually measures up. Still thinking whether to book the mazda3 or wait longer for the 2016 civic. Appreciate your thoughts.

• klusseng on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Renault cars are not known for reliability. Brave ones who buy this may get burnt like the VW Polo. Yes, engine and gearbox same as Slyphy but a car is much more than engine and gearbox. I have no confidence in French cars as they are not tropicalized. In our hot and humid weather they break down fast and maintenance is a headache.

• How did you know when you haven’t try it out? don’t just simply badmouth on others brand. Keyboards warrior.

• aaron1010 on Jun 18, 2016 at 12:36 pm

so what your say now…? the owner who owned the first batch already two years plus… compare to VW… not even pass first year already creating so much fuss… joker….

• aaron on Jun 18, 2016 at 12:39 pm

so what say you now…. the first owner already owned the car for two years plus…. no fuss like VW that broke down not even one year on the road… and most of the owners are praising the quality of the Renault SC…. joker assumption….

• Kccheh on May 07, 2015 at 8:29 am

This car looks very well equipped for the price. Is it reliable? How many months have to wait for parts for any major repair?

• hazriell on Jun 07, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Just test drive the car. Have a nice look but boring dashboard. The power a bit slow but the handling was good. Looking at price tag worth buying. Im might consider to own the car for my wife. Service offered was quite good with 5 years warranty with free maintainance parts and labour unlimited milage. But I don’t find the db sound detecter inside the car. Please, every car have pro’s and cons. Even Ferrari could have problems even though you bought at Millions Ringgit

• Aaron on Jun 14, 2015 at 5:32 pm

if compare the new renault fluence and the new sylphy which one would be better?

• hazriell on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:09 am

same engine but better suspension and design. go for test drive