Chevrolet Sonic 1.6 hatchback and sedan introduced

CHEVROLET-SONIC-1600-0003

Chevrolet Malaysia has added a new 1.6 litre variant to the Chevrolet Sonic line-up in Malaysia. Available in both sedan and hatchback body styles, the new Sonic LTZ 1.6 is priced at RM86,782.23 OTR with insurance, which is a premium of just under RM8k or so over the 1.4 litre version.

The 1.6 litre engine makes more power of course – 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 155 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, compared to the 1.4 litre engine’s 100 hp and 130 Nm. Power goes to the front wheels via six-speed automatic transmission. Other than that, the infotainment system has been upgraded to a Chevrolet MyLink touchscreen system.

According to Chevrolet Malaysia, stock availability for the 1.6 litre version is limited for now. You can head over to the Naza World Auto-Mania event running this weekend to have a look at the car and enquire further.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• roxas on Apr 25, 2015 at 4:55 pm

there was once u can see alot of cruze on the road, thn suddenly all disappear, hardly sees a chevy now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • KoreanCarJunk on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:30 am

Typical Korean Junk desogn hide under Yankee badge, this is how Korean Junk look like minus the before plastic surgery..Muahahaha

• Anyone seen a sonic on the road before? I seen only once so far..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • I’ve never seen a Sonic on the road. BTW, I dont live in a cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • JB_KIA on Apr 26, 2015 at 10:05 am

saw some…..but all in Thailand. Never here…I think there are more Lambos than this sonic here in JB

• karam singh on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:49 am

But, I always seen the car’s speedometer
          elsewhere…
          on a motorbike/superbike
          ;P

• shadow on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:40 am

Nope… not a single one. Old chevy seen more often then new 1.

• Rover (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 2:27 pm

My former headmistress drove a sonic hatch, but I never seen another one other than that..

• Matchy on Apr 25, 2015 at 5:37 pm

I thought this one was dead and no longer available?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Why even bother to bring tis model, when the same overpriced 1.4cc epic failure..i have only seen them twice on the road ( maybe even once)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 25, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Car dealer bring a model in Kena complain, don’t bring in also kena complain. Indeed the sonic is rubbish, I just applaud Chevy for bringing variation to our market. Unlike Toyota, I see so many parallel imported Wish on the road, why does UMW not bring any in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Stanley on Apr 25, 2015 at 6:18 pm

I think this is one of the worst selling car in malaysia together with suzuki s-cross & jimny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Arell on Apr 25, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Yes, really the worst selling car in Malaysia considering it is not so ugly looking. Most other non sellers are because of super-ugliness!

• Oride Car Rental on Apr 25, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Looks great

• This chevy still wants to stick to naza? Low sales? Serve you right. You really think naza putting effort to sell your car? I have seen a dedicated chevy store used to store ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • abahko on Apr 25, 2015 at 6:58 pm

regardless it has 1.4. or 1.6 replacement, it still a cold dish after all where malaysian dont bother to consider about it.

• Arell on Apr 25, 2015 at 7:47 pm

But anything that sell or cannot sell it all comes down to price. Anything will sell like hot cakes if the price gets low enough, no matter how lowsy it is. Think Axia.

• comet on Apr 25, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Pls bring back Aveo!

• zamer on Apr 25, 2015 at 8:44 pm

“According to Chevrolet Malaysia, stock availability for the 1.6 litre version is limited for now”

They can keep their limited stock and no need to re-stock..
    Reduce to 70k then maybe some people buy with that rear look..
    cheaper preve looks a lot better than this although its a proton

• Jimmy on Apr 25, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Iriz is better, think about the reasons.

It is probably not going to make you look more intelligent by buying and driving this car (same like Camry 2 airbags + 0 ESP at RM148,888).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Is this a rebadged Daewoo?

• Arell on Apr 25, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Daewoo, opel whatever you wanna call it. Their so called international team product which they dare not mention…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 26, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Their international design team couldn’t give a damn about malaysia. Our market is so tiny that it is not worth for Chevy to develop a car that suits what we want. Out total annual sales volume don’t even command more than 10% of Indonesia sales volume

• alldisc on May 22, 2015 at 4:11 pm

malaysia and indonesia basically has similar sized market of about 600,000 units of new car sales.

but over there, toyota has about 50% market share – which translates to about 300,000 unit.

ever wonder why toyota want to make a car that suits to indonesia ppl/economy/terrain?

• With this price, I rather buy Honda City first choice or new Mazda 2 second choice. Those who bought this sonic , will regret later , for obvious reason. No resale value, spare parts expensive. service centers ? Most of all, ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • I cant imagine what is inside the mind of Naza Chevy marketing ppl. Hopefully Naza Kia wont become like this.

• Kimchi car,American name branded scrap metal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 1:08 am

i can see some buyers buying this , naah , im kidding !

• ss427 on Apr 26, 2015 at 8:51 am

Seriously just 114hp from a 1.6? Its not the 1990s Chevy. Daewoo was a failed company as an auto manufacturer. The last thing u need, GM, is to continue using their outdated engines and gearbox and hope someone dumb enough will buy your products.

Even the Cruze was never a brilliant performer no thanks to the lousy engine options.

Pls see what your Korean big brothers can do Daewoo. Hyundai/Kia 1.6L GDI makes a heady 140hp in NA form and a superb 200hp in turbo form.

• alldisc on May 22, 2015 at 4:09 pm

should see the torque… which translates to better driveability.

i doubt you will make use of peak engine power once in every month but that torque will be damn useful at any time of the day (matched to the new 6 speeder auto)

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 10:26 am

I honestly don’t understand what is Chevy Malaysia doing. Think about it, the Sonic isn’t half as bad as say a Yaris or a Vios. It is engineered to have all the modern safety unlike a Yaris or Vios. Yet why Chevy Malaysia can’t bring in the higher spec units beats me. I actually won’t mind a Sonic, it’s pretty competent and should (in theory) drive better than a Vios, yet I still can’t see why anyone would buy it since it’s specced just like a Vios.

Ugh.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 26, 2015 at 3:42 pm

The problem with Naza Chevy here is that its akin to the unloved middle child.

Its not the cheapest.
      its not the best looking (although an argument can be made for the Cruze).
      Its not the most fuel efficient.
      Its not the best equipped.
      Its not one with the best RV.
      It doesn’t have the best service center or cheap parts.

Basically, its not the most compelling product out there.

I did quite like the Orlando when I was shopping a replacement for our Citra… sadly, it only came with 2 air bags. So basically, they had a good product, but nuked it themselves when they brought it in.

• Chevy Owner on Apr 26, 2015 at 3:58 pm

LOL, let me start by saying to those who say that u can’t hardly see a Sonic on the road is because of our local culture and ones own buying power. Well, like our local cars, u dont need that much of buying power, as it’s cheap and easy to maintain but other than Malaysia where can we find them??? LOL so dont even dream to compare any Chevrolet to any of our local brands. Whether is Daewoo or not,Sonic is still a great car, would u think that Chevrolet would be crazy enuff to put its brand to it of its not. Anyway, each car whether its local or an international brand has its pros and cons. It can never really satisfy everyones taste and needs. If u say it does, then it’s true, U ARE LIVING IN A CAVE. Anyway, if u really want to know, go ask anybody who owns a Sonic or Chevrolet or better go test drive one. Just one fact, if Sonic is not good enough, ask urself why is it one of the best selling cars of its category around the world? And don’t even try to bullshit about it. In regards,to its second hand price, well that is simple economics, higher the demand, the higher the price. As for Chevrolet price in Malaysia, it does not have the demand so the price is not that competitive to others but it does NOT reflect its quality and value.

www.facebook.com/AutoSonic.My

• cclasssmoked on Apr 26, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Local brand? Dun dream la, with that price I can get 140ps 205Nm turbocharged Preve ady.

Why I have to choose this puny engined car? To get smoked? LOL

• Chevy Owner on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:22 pm

LOL, knowing that u are chosing preve..tells more about u, than the car itself…well, what i can say, whatever rocks ur boat..LMAO…u must be a salesman for that “brand” i guess…LMAO..preve?!..really..?…LOL

• sepul on Apr 26, 2015 at 6:11 pm

I don’t think the Sonic is ugly. Unattractive, maybe. But it is definitely not ugly.

I guess apart from the product itself being lacking in may ways, GM (or Naza) did not even bother with compact cars anymore seeing how bad the sales are, even in Europe. Only Vauxhall/Opel would do well in Europe because they are originally European brand to begin with.

• Kccheh on Apr 26, 2015 at 7:31 pm

This car is UGGLY!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • stanley on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:51 am

Sonic might be a good car international but Malaysia it’s sure not. Just google and you would know why. chevrolet.com list sonic engine option is 1.8 or 1.4turbo with 10 airbags as standard.