GALLERY: The weird and wonderful at Shanghai 2015

shanghai-2015-weird-wonderful 1391

We wrap up our Auto Shanghai coverage a little differently this year. You were expecting a gargantuan gallery of barely-clad beauties? Well, this time, the organisers decided against having models at the show, so instead, we’ll furnish you with a collection of curious and amusing machinery that was on display.

Most of you are no strangers to wheeled oddities from the Middle Kingdom, of which there certainly was no shortage at Auto Shanghai 2015. Dongfeng showed a massive Hummer H1-like monster with an open rear deck, and the Dongfeng Fengdu MX6, a vehicle very clearly based on the second-gen Nissan X-Trail. In a corner stood the Dongfeng Fengguang 360, a compact MPV with a very, ahem, Wolfsburg-inspired face.

Landwind’s infamous and near-perfect Range Rover Evoque copy, the X7, stood unabashed at the front of the stand – Jaguar Land Rover initially wanted to take legal action, but according to reports, the company may have no recourse to do so in China. Brilliance had a brilliant Jinbei van on its stand with the biggest nostrils in the world – well, the company is after all BMW’s joint-venture partner.

Everything is of significant proportions in China, but at Auto Shanghai 2015, perhaps none the more so than this Foton Tunland monster truck, replete with snorkel and floodlights. The photo shows the immense size of that thing – those tyres are almost as tall as the woman standing next to it!

On the Beijing Automotive Industry Corporation (BAIC) stand stood the D20, bearing more than a striking resemblance to the Mercedes-Benz B-Class, especially in the side profile. BAIC has a Chinese joint-venture with Mercedes-Benz called Beijing Benz. FAW Besturn had an “A-Class” on display – although clearly not an A-Class as we know it.

Besides its rather-handsome Qin plug-in hybrid sedan, BYD Auto also had some interesting facsimiles on its stand, including the Yuan and Tang. Both are pretty strikingly-styled SUVs, although the Yuan does remind one of the Ford EcoSport (down to the outside spare wheel and secret tail lamp-integrated tailgate handle!) and the Tang, when viewed side on, gives off slight Toyota Harrier overtones.

Of course, a trip to a Chinese motor show arguably wouldn’t be complete without visiting Hongqi – the first Chinese passenger car marque. Synonymous off-and-on with China’s high-ranking officials and elite, the luxury carmaker displayed the rather non-descript and angular LS5 SUV, as well as the imposing L5 limousine.

We have loads of pics for you down below – check them out and see if anything else seems vaguely familiar to you…

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:01 pm

the knock off ecosport actually looks better than the original!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Burong on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Semi, Mahathir is busying with his agenda and u r here so free.

This year no lady for Shanghai show. Too much is too much. Cars only.

So does proton plan to penetrate China?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:04 am

i long time quit MIC and moved back to Sri Lanka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:03 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Introducing the Kopier technology.

Only from China.

That Evoque ripoff absolutely disgusts me. It is a joke that they even stopped the lawsuit from Jaguar Land Rover…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Josh Ling on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:29 pm

you can never win that kind of lawsuit in china, never. just read through all the lawsuits regarding patent rights bla bla bla cases and you will find out that almost all failed to win the case.

and do you really wanna upset those china men? i mean, china is the world’s largest car market after all, and those men could have some important connections in the government, or maybe they themselves are who’s who in the society or even in the government sector, and upsetting them might prove disastrous for your wonderful “china market penetration” plan.

compare to a few hundred thousands to probably few million dollars in compensation, and highly likely ended up with nothing, i think i would have dropped the case, for the sake of few billions i can earn from the market.

• tokmoh. on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:10 am

I actually like it, read somewhere it has Mitsu 4G63T with 6 speed MT or 8 speed AT. It’s literally Airtrek Turbo reskinned yeaaa.

I’d gladly have it in manual if sold here, may even request SA to paste troll face around the car with caption “Problem?”

• trollmaster3000 on Apr 28, 2015 at 2:54 am

it’s like watching a parody of most of the major carmakers out there.. hehehe.. i find these fun to watch.. though i do feel like a cheapskate if i ever own one..

• kzm (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:58 am

at least chinese can clone car aka making a car..boleh people oni can complaint n ask 2 “P” brand to built everthing.

• That clone evoke look nice too.

• zamer on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:34 pm

the yellow 4-door hatchback is good looking actually..
    what car originally is that?

remove all the stickers and it seems to be some serious car

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Who’s up for a rousing game of spot the difference?!

• Some of them are quite good. Before you laugh at them, look where we stand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Ziemmmmn on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Aiii guys, i just wanna say “bapakkkkk ahhhhh” and thats it.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:02 pm

long long time ago , there was such a thing called SHAME!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • The chinese are shameless. Its just not in their DNA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:57 pm

The chinese named paul created this website i believe…LOL

• Just my two cents on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:28 am

Trying to not be racist here but Paul’s Malaysian…

• steven on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:40 am

good thing Paul’s not copy blog from China….heheeh.

• VWfanboi on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:45 am

first petrol car ever invented by Mercs. Just because BMW,Ford,and Toyota are shameless and they improved it this is where they are right now. 100 years later your grandchildren will be very proud of their made in china cars and drive to your graveyard.

• Usavich on Apr 28, 2015 at 11:12 am

The main culprit is the one who invented the photoCopy machine…now everyone can COPY..damn!

• armandd on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Yet people still buy China cars. This, I don’t understand.

• shawal on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Imitation is a form of flattery…
    But judging from these pics , China is catching up really fast….

some of those crossovers really look appealing…

• Josh Ling on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:33 pm

i think the FengDu MX6 cannot be counted as copycat product, because it has “鄭州日產” wording at the rear, which means Zheng Zhou Nissan, which may also mean that Nissan might have given them the CKD pack to reproduce under different name, so they might actually get the official approval from Nissan before they did it.

• That was so cool. A lot of clones. Lets begin a clone war. Just saying…. no offense…

• driver on Apr 28, 2015 at 7:48 am

i like that L5. i dont mind driving that car.

• Leonardo on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:20 am

The FACT is China can obviously make cars, as shown here. What is missing is some good Stylists, preferably graduates from some European design studios, so that that can create thier own DNA and image for China cars.

• Technology start from copy on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:57 am

Compass, Paper, EarthQuake detector,Gun powder are 4 wonders invention invented by Chinese.
    Everybody copy and make the compass, paper, etc?

Back to 40s,50s, 60s, Japanese car copied American design too.

70-2ks, Korean Hyundai, Kia copy Honda, Ford too.
    After 2000s,KIA = Korean Imitate Audi?

I would say, everything start from copy.
    Aren’t you?
    Copy is a learning progress before invention/innovation.
    That’s why we study and copy our teacher’s knowledge.

Anyway, we can see KIA ‘s art in copy.
    But, KIA doing good job. Copy, improve, invention.

Potong, copy Mitsu, so many years, no improvement at all.

• I don’t think you will feel too generous if they are stealing YOUR copyright and stuff. Landwind made a near exact design copy without permission. I can make exception for some others as I can see there are some significant differences, and some real effort are being put into it.

• Tun Punya on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:12 am

I really like the Tunland ! Every Tun in Malaysia should own one. Tun in the Tunland !

• the L5 with its front classic look can be a good car…if they made it 2 door sport version that be nice

• sepul on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:31 am

We use copiers in our office every working days.

Still, this is amusing to look at.

• carazy on Apr 28, 2015 at 11:13 am

I’ll take china Hummer anytime!!

• Battu on Apr 28, 2015 at 11:30 am

I feel kinda disgusted with all the shameless copy. no pride to design by yourself? china have the biggest automotive industry, a little bit of originality should sell there, no need to copy bulat2.
    the most bleh copy – that evoque and 2nd gen xtrail. 100% copy.

• Malay Hero on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:55 pm

China got all the technology.

If only they can imprint their beautiful culture into all of it vehicle DNA, it will be great selling points.

Like US is proud with their American Muscle, Volvo with their steel, Germans with their tech advance, Italy with their unique design… etc etc…

Im thinking something like kung fu or shaolin or anything related to their highly discipline army? Idk…

Just one look people would know the great car is from the great land of China.

Hopefully Proton can succeed to. As long as there’s improvement, it is always better than stand still. Would love to be a part of this beautiful automotive industries…

All the best.

• I dont get Malaysian mentality. When P1 do rebadging (with license, mind you), all condemn like hell.
    But when China ripoff bulat-bulat (illegally), all praise to heaven.
    Why dont we move all our industries and jobs to China, since we are so shameful of our own efforts, and we trust others to do a better job. That way Malaysians can be proud of themselves

• Exactly. I see a lot of comments (and likes) justifying these rip-offs. As someone who used to develop video games and had close working relationships with artists & designers, it’s disheartening when something we poured hours of effort got ripped off and monetized by unscrupulous people.

And people condemn locals why they are not trying to come up with something original, when pirates like these are praised.