South East Motor DX7 SUV – designed by Pininfarina

south-east-motor-dx7-suv-shanghai-1

Here’s another one that turned up at Auto Shanghai 2015 – the rather prosaically-named South East Motor DX7. Yes, we know what you’re thinking – brings to mind a product by a certain Korean carmaker, right? Well, this high-riding looker is actually the work of Pininfarina!

Touted as “the first Chinese SUV with an Italian touch,” the DX7 received the “Most Awaited Local Brand SUV” accolade last year at the Guangzhou Auto Show, where it made its debut. Pininfarina began collaborating with South East Motor in 2012, and with the DX7 as a starting point, the two firms will work together in more depth on more models for the Chinese market.

Quite a number of interesting styling elements are to be found, including the projector headlamps connected to the front grille and accompanying chrome bar, intricate intake designs, flowing swage lines and kinked C-pillar with continuing chrome line. Pretty striking, actually.

The sole interior photo reveals a rather welcoming two-tone dashboard with vertical central air vents and broad aluminium trim that frames deep-binnacled instruments. A central display sits atop infotainment controls which are horizontally aligned.

Among the South East Motor DX7’s features are stability control, vehicle roll-over prevention system, parallel and perpendicular auto-parking, intelligent electric tailgate and a panoramic sunroof. Additionally, the vehicle claims to meet SUV safety standards set by the US.

Founded in 1995, South East Motor develops and produces vehicles under the Soueast marque; it also assembles a range of Mitsubishi models for the Chinese market. Pininfarina’s involvement with Chinese carmakers dates back to 1996; it has partnered Hafei, Chery, Changfeng, Brilliance, BAIC and JAC, amongst others. Indian SUV maker Mahindra is reportedly in talks to buy the Italian styling house.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:18 pm

pininfarina…u know they also designed that rather silly thing called the hyundai matrix

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Josh Ling on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:24 pm

actually i like Giugiarro’s / Italdesign’s design more. their works are usually rather stunning, unlike pininfarina’s constant flops. i can’t remember any good pininfarina’s design aside from all the ferraris and peugeots of the early days.

and this is still not impressive, the DX7. no no, simply too messy for me. the interior looks good though.

• Looks like a Tucson or a CX5. Why, Pininfarina?

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:30 pm

We don’t waste on designer cost nowadays. Sales is terrible
      U want sporty? We give you TRD
      U want more gears? We give you 6 speeds
      U want day running light? We plug you few LEDs
      U want horsepower? We give you big CC + hybrid
      U want cheap? We give you discount + special discount gao-gao lagi
      U not happy? I go naked also can (jokingly)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • NeitherHereNorThere on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Seems the front light copy from Ah Beng Camry facelift. No, not my cup of tea.