Honda EX5 Dream FI launched in Malaysia – RM4,299

Honda EX-5 29

Boon Siew Honda has unveiled the its latest addition to its dependable kapcai range – the Honda EX5 Dream FI. Billed as a motorcycle “specially designed” for the local market, the EX5 Dream FI supersedes the EX5 Dream 110, launched in 2013. It is the first model in its class to feature Honda’s PGM-FI (programmed fuel injection) technology for improved fuel efficiency and performance.

The Honda EX5 Dream FI is powered by an air-cooled, four-stroke 110 cc engine which puts out a total of 8.4 hp at 7,500 rpm and 8.4 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. Transmission is that of the four-speed constant mesh variety with a wet-type automatic centrifugal clutch. As for the (adjustable) suspension setup, 81 mm telescopic forks are featured up front with 68 mm twin forks at the rear.

Compared to its Dream 110 predecessor, the Dream FI boasts a larger 4.3 litre fuel tank. As a result, the Dream FI possesses an operational range of 250.7 km compared to the 214.4 km figure touted by the Dream 110. Fuel consumption is also improved with a 58.3 km/l quoted on the ECE 40 test cycle. The Dream 110 could only manage 53.8 km/l on the exact same test cycle.

In terms of its dimensions, the EX5 Dream FI measures in at 1,923 mm in length, 696 mm in width and stands at 1,046 mm. Wheelbase is recorded at 1,212 mm. Two variants are available, a kick starter version sits alongside an electric (self) starter model. The former tips the scales at 98 kg while the latter, at 99 kg.

Honda EX-5 4

Styling wise, the Honda Dream EX5 FI features a revised headlamp design with the Honda emblem beneath it now marked out in chrome. Elsewhere, a chrome heat cover on the exhaust outlet projects a more premium image while the rear taillamp assembly now feature side indicators with a separate housing – a move made to fulfil UNECE safety regulations for motorcycles.

Other improvements over the outgoing EX5 Dream model include a reworked instrument cluster for improved legibility in conditions with less than desirable amounts of lighting. Prospective customers can choose from three different colours – Euphoria Red Metallic, Vital Blue Metallic and Mariana Purple Metallic. The latter is a deep violet hue that is almost black under all but the harshest of lighting.

Prices for the Honda EX5 Dream FI begin at RM4,299 and RM4,529 – the former figure is for the kick starter variant. Prices exclude both GST and on-the-road costs. A two-year/20,000 km warranty is offered. Boon Siew Honda aims to sell 37,200 units of the EX5 Dream FI annually.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:09 pm

No girl will ride on this bike wei~
    Minimum requirement also get Vios la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 86
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:24 pm

I always lend my kapchai to girls in UMW to use. But they don’t know, near the speedometer, I install spycam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 46
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:15 am

When my words carry weight, a lot of imitators pop out talking non-sense. I don’t even have junk Proton at home, you think I will have kapchai? Use your brain a bit.

Want speed and good handling? Get this EX5! More reliable than the Proton and more fuel saving! Enough of Proton 5S here.

Proton 5S:
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
      • superboy on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:43 am

keke, don’t humiliate women as stupid as sam lor

• Carrer (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Come on Sam, people buy this not to get girls, they buy this to avoid the jam when they go to work. I think even pretty girls will hop onto this EX5 rather than your Vios when the traffic is congested. Also, the hot girls would look much more hotter on EX5 than in Vios, especially when the Vios is heavily tinted.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:30 am

Now go outside look for the road yourself how many hot girls on the bike, you day-dreamer!

With Malaysia weather, the girls will get very dark (due to strong UV) and very wet (due to heavy rain EVERYDAY). Girls do like to hop into heavily tinted Vios/City.

You really have to own one (car) to get one (girl).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Now we know...again? on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:36 pm

“I always lend my kapchai to girls in UMW to use. But they don’t know, near the speedometer, I install spycam.”

now we know where most Toyota reverse cameras went.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
    • EX5 Dream FI owner: “eh, my kapcai got 4 speed auto. how many is your car, ah?”

Vios owner: “Paiseh. Oso 4 speed”

EX5 Dream FI owner: ROFL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • Same Lorr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:21 am

very bad.. This motocycle is no airbag, ABS, VDC, HHA, EPS, even no seatbelt.. Buy toyota better.. good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Dissappointed Toyota driver on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Haha. What’s the use of the airbag if its not functioning at the moment of impact? My uncle almost died because of that while crashing in a 1 year old Toyota Hiace a few weeks ago. He broke his backbone Sorry for .my bad English but you get what I mean.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Although I am pro Toyota, I have to agree, kapchai is the best.

I always bring awek on my kapchai, then I tekan, she peluk me kuat kuat. Syiok betul. Stim betul.

Kapchai sure got good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 30
  • pomen on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:11 pm

reborn of the legend!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • D.I.Y on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Just feel weird those show girls posing on the bike.. I bet my life they won’t give a sight if you ride this out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • shawal on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:32 pm

They would….
      If u look like robert pattison
      With a physique like wolverine..
      And hung like a horse…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • YaLor... on May 01, 2015 at 11:13 pm

ya lor. no hot girl want to ride a kapchai with you even kapchai in made out of solid gold. all girl want is some rich asshole with expensive car and have shit load of money. toyota vios? big deal meh? my sis own a vios TRD so does my dad. i don’t see any hot girls hop into my dad car. Lol…

• That face on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:33 pm

The most interesting part of this article is the face of the Exec on the bike in the first pic.
    I guess the only time you can make an excited face riding an EX5 is when you are the one selling it.

• This reminds me of an old college-mate who used to make hyperbolic claims on why his EX5 is the best-est & fastest after all his modifications, which, mostly are superficial. We used to make fun about that all the time.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Very nice priced PMV.

PMV – Pencuri/Perogol/Peragut/Penyamun Mobile Vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
  • sepul on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Pizza delivery will be faster and cheaper, no? Fuel injection ma.. Save fuel, more efficient.

• HupSengStar SA on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:51 pm

FOR POOR ONLY … Min req Bmw 1 series to get “awek” hop into ur car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
    • Vencel on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:15 am

the poor one is you. need bmw just to get an “awek”.
      i got a wife just by riding a kapchai Honda Wave. Manage to buy landed house some more.

your hooked up skill so poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • I started with ex5, now driving cx5, my next car must and X5!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Lorr is So Sorry on Apr 28, 2015 at 7:57 pm

I wanna say sooooo sorry for all the stupid things I have said all this while. I fake all the good things about toyota. All fake, nothing but fake.

I am a very insecured person, mummy boy and damn blardy kiasu about my toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Same Lor your toyota vios RV value has gone down the drain since the new city is launch… sometimes its best to keep quiet so ppl don’t what your brain level is… FYI, I am a vios owner… new vios is giving discount RM8k but sales still sei sei har…

• Samad Jain on Apr 28, 2015 at 7:58 pm

kapchai oso not cheap these days…

How la to survive in Mesia???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • zeigler on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Wth man, the odometer still using analogue?? At least led or lcd pls..But won’t affect me anyway because I am using car

• dan kho production youtube on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:04 pm

superbike vs kapchai talk
    super : eh u pnya motor.. 4stoke kah 2stoke..ada stroke kah?
    berapa cc tu? 110cc kah? ada cc kah?

kapchai: zzzz

• semlu on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:46 pm

jual moto 4ribu lebih pon kena tayang pusat?

• kucing on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:02 pm

janji honda. kau ada?

• Papagoines on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Nice bike… But a bit too ‘hot’ among thieves

And for the Price, we can get either Suzuki Smash 115FI or Modenas 118EFI. Both fuel injected and have disc brake up front

• dark superman on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Fugly honestly. If the girls come with the motorcycle, i will consider. Hehehe.

• Abg moto on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:07 am

Maaf terpaksa menyatakan kebenaran dari dalam diri ku.
    Bentuknya HUDUH.
    EX-5 high power dan dream lebih menawan.

• Honda EX5 DayDream. on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:29 am

Still use drum brake LOL!

• amirad on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:41 am

It would be more appropriate if the models were roti man with the ex5 fully loaded with roti and jajan.

• I have cars too on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:51 am

So many poyoo comment kutuk kapcai. I owns two continental cars and one local car I bought all brand new. No need to call kapcai owners are for poor people as I have one EX5 too. I still keep my Kris 110cc as well which I ride when I was a student and broke.

So, to Vios owners, no need to be too poyoo to call kapcai riders are poor and are criminals. This EX5 kapcai’s are reliable and practical. I used to pick up the prettiest college girls with my kapcai, no problem coz smart girls appreciate your brain more than your ride as they know that smart guys are also a practical person.

If you only owns a Vios that means you are not that rich too, so am I.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • farghmee on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:35 am

depa ni mana pernah naik kapchai.

ramai naik kapchai, jalan kurang jem, depa mana tau.
      kapchai mana ada jem, keta saja jem.

• superboy on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:44 am

i like the rear light design , it remind me honda city.

• Fareez on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:11 am

Dear Mr PT, can I request your permission to use some of your picture on this entry to be used in my blog? I will credit it and link back to you.

• sammy on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:57 am

RM4.5k?
    This or a used Fiat Multipa? Hmm…
    No one will steal the Fiat….

• alldisc on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:21 pm

dont buy this.

in 2 years, the ivtec version will be coming. with disc brakes, abs and traction control.

btw, does this ex5 gets free maintenance like when u buy a honda civic/accord? NO?

• AhBengMabuk on May 23, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Driver vios bodoh dah lah punca jem.kalau naik sorang2 bawak lah motor bodoh oi ape ko ingat naik kereta ko selamat dari kemalangan?? Kalau perempuan bawak kereta boleh terima lagi ini lelaki?? Buang lah penis ko si bodoh ganti pussy then u can ride your car ok.cuba korang pandang kiri dan kanan masa jem mesti driver keretanya si jantan mata sepet. Soooooo pussssyyyy!!

• Liang Chai on Mar 06, 2017 at 8:25 pm

lol fuel price nowadays
    ex5 lorr
    no jem
    free parking
    save time
    save money
    liang moi hug me everyday
    use brain
    ego^^