First full interior pic of M’sian-spec Mitsubishi Triton!

mitsubishi-triton-interior-mitsubishi-motors-malaysia

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has posted on its Facebook page a full photo of the Malaysian-market 2015 Mitsubishi Triton‘s interior. We can see shift paddles, auto dual-zone air-con and the 6.1-inch touch-screen – this is the top-spec, auto-only VGT Adventure then.

The new Mitsubishi Triton is now open for booking and listed on Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia’s website, with estimated introductory prices from RM71k to RM114k (OTR with insurance and GST). The Thai-CBU pick-up truck will be officially launched in May with a 2.5 litre VGT engine with 178 PS and 400 Nm from 2,000 to 3,500 rpm.

This is an improved version of the current 178 PS/350 Nm DI-D motor, not the new 2.4 litre turbodiesel MIVEC VGT engine with 182 PS, 430 Nm of torque and 20% better efficiency that Thailand gets.

Apart from the interior equipment you see above, the range-topping VGT Adventure gets a five-speed auto, HID projector headlamps with LED DRLs and 17-inch wheels.

One rung below, the VGT AT and VGT MT (five-speed manual) come with keyless entry and start. Both also get the touch-screen, but without the reverse camera. There’s a new rotary selector for the Easy Select 4WD system (2H, 4H, 4L) to replace the old vibrating stick, but only for the VGT Adventure and VGT AT.

There are also two non-VGT (variable geometry turbo) workhorse variants, namely the Triton 4X4 MT and the Triton Quest 4X2 MT. The latter’s ‘Quest’ name replaces the old ‘Lite’ moniker. Tilt and telescopic steering is available on all 4WD models.

Full price and equipment lists for all variants, plus roadshow schedules, are in the gallery below. Do also browse our 2014 Thai Motor Expo gallery for an accurate preview of the new Triton. The truck recently scored a five-star Australasian NCAP (ANCAP) safety rating.

Malaysian-market 2015 Mitsubishi Triton

Malaysian-market 2015 Mitsubishi Triton Quest 4X2 MT

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Why not MIVEC diesel like in Thai market? I was expecting to have that engine, but sadly…

• noneedsoserious on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:47 pm

2.4 MIVEC diesel is not compatible with our euro 2 diesel..

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Well done Mitsubishi. As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. At least you avoid the sour face during your next trade in.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:23 pm

To be honest, I have to admit, the sour face I have seen is from Toyota owners. A June 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5V now selling for RM98k, down Rm82 in hardly 10 months.

A 2014 Camry 2.0 also selling for RM90k now. Brand new RM150k

• DieDieDontTry on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:32 pm

This Sam L0rrr guy is schizophrenic? Got two personalities, one smelly kimchi, one rotten fish sushi.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:19 am

When the kimchi and Proton sales too bad, their salesman come here bullshit using my name.

Lousy cars lousy sales man. Fair enough.

• Because the diesel quality, my friend. MIVEC diesel need clean euro 5 diesel.
      If I were buy the new Malaysian model, first I will do is disconnect the vacuum by-pass valve & the EGR. That might easily cause carbon build up in the intake & valves.

• LandoCar on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:02 am

Wow…I need to learn this. Disconnect the vacuum by-pass valve and the EGR.
        Thanks for highlightinG bro VGS.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 28, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Because our diesel quality is so clean that the new 2.4 MIVEC unit will have trouble creating combustion.

• Saw one test drive unit on the road just now ! Not a bad looking truck

• Instant turn off without ESC, Traction Control and 6 air-bags.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 28, 2015 at 2:31 pm

What do u expect my friend?! If it is fully loaded, the price will be crazy. Unsaleable.
      At least with minimal safety features, if someone die in a road accident, everyone has takdir to blame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Fahmi on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:11 pm

If Isuzu D-Max can give ESP, why Mitsubishi cannot?

• Really on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Not to mention Ford equips all Ranger models with stability control. Yes, even the cheapest 2WD low rider model. Priced at 114k and still no stability control seems like MMM is following in UMW’s footsteps. Maybe they think since Hilux can be a best seller by offerring less, why don’t they try the ‘less is more’ strategy too.

Only time can tell whether their strategy will work. MMM can always ‘do a Camry’ and equip the Triton with stability control when the sales is not up to their expectation or more customers demand it.

• Kancil Turbo Kepish Kepish on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:18 am

No wonder u still drive a Kancil.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:04 pm

So we do not get the new engine….nvm but they better replace it with more airbags, VSC and what not.

• albag on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:18 pm

when will the NP300 Navara be launched??? Tan Chong sleeping ka?

• Josh Ling on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:45 pm

the dealer in where i stay actually got one demo unit for test drive already. saw some people went for test drive already. no more secret.

• TH Too on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:05 am

Will NOT look at another Mitsubishi car/truck .
    The Mitsubishi co. only mail me the coupon for the first 1000km service after I serviced and PAID for it .
    No recourse to claim the paid service and Mitshubishi lousy or no follow-up whether their vehicles were treated right w.r.t. the after-sales service totally disappointing ! ! !

Real sucks and left a very bad taste in the mouth .

• TH Too on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:07 am

ccc

• Malaysia will either needs to get itself clean euro5 diesel or it will get shafted by getting 2nd grade diesel engines.