Volkswagen Jetta Special Edition teased on FB page

Volkswagen_Jetta_SE_ 001

The Volkswagen Jetta Special Edition has been teased in a sole shot on Volkswagen Malaysia‘s official Facebook page. While the only photo posted up on its social media platform revealed nothing more than the design of its twin, five-spoke wheels, the entire profile of the car was teased earlier on in a series of slides, presented during a recent luncheon held by Volkswagen Malaysia.

Upon closer inspection, one will likely notice the aforementioned five-spoke wheels along with what looks like a subtle bodykit. Expect a more aggressive set of front and rear bumpers along with more pronounced side skirts should that be the case. While there’s nothing stopping us from hoping for a power bump, this special edition Jetta will likely feature only cosmetic upgrades à la Volkswagen Beetle Bug Edition.

The regular CKD Volkswagen Jetta was introduced last year, priced from RM134,888 inclusive of GST but sans on-the-road costs. Under the bonnet, a 1.4 litre four-cylinder TSI engine is to be found. Power figures include 158 hp at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. Mated to a seven-speed DSG transmission, the Jetta sprints from 0-100 km/h in 8.3 seconds and tops out at 221 km/h.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Good luck with your sales VWM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Sam L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:16 am

I bet is just the “stickers, sport rims, LED day-running”. Who will pay more for these no RV things?

• alldisc on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:08 pm

he he.. my bro bought Passat sedan 2 years ago.
        very much angry when i mentioned on this DSG thing. he said… VGM has solved this matter. with programming and use of mineral oil for lubrication.

bcoz he was upset, i did not drag further but LOL in my heart.

• VWnottatbad on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:47 am

I think the statement your understand so call “the black and white in May 2013 by VW AG Germany” is just half half. get full detail before you make any statement…the reason that make DSG breakdown mainly because over the syntactic oil VW is using. Somehow this issued had solved by replaced with mineral oil.
        Well, are you another keyword warrior that doing tarnish for VW as well? Your finger pointing at other, but ask yourself are you one of them.
        10 year warranty.. why not refers this to BMW? no car manufacture will give 10 year warranty la! dun be stupid.. common sense no way!
        VW service centre is too pack. Have you sent “your VW” to service? or you don’t even own a VW? Well, for me VGM have do alot of improvement compare to previous.. would say you are outdated over such news already lol. If you don’t believe drop by to VW service centre and see urself.. hardly see people complaining.. Even if you think SC cannot handle, you can always go TSC, which have 17 germany expert there assists you!
        overall conclusion, if you think other is spreading rumous, and you yourself also the same… hahahaha

• neo4g63t on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:11 am

I forgot when did i comment in facebook regarding some of issue in service centre here in kelantan and guess what? Vgm directly call me regarding this and offer me a solution and will take care of my car. Suprised abit. Well, vw has considerably improved compared to 2013,the year i purchased my car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 7:01 pm

i rather u give me gearbox with no problem than try to window dress the problems with special edition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • ARM Yusof on Apr 28, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Igt balik malaysia nak beli ni..so many people bad mouthing this car..i guess i’l wait for civic 10th gen…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • theanswer on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:08 am

if ur 2nd choice is civic..then u’r not suitable to buy this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Dear ‘theanswer’
        This car is not suitable for Msian looking 4 reliable cars! ….VW fanboys stop boasting their 1st class quality!

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:41 am

VW fanboys in M’sia is the same as Toyota fanboys.. katak bawah tempurung.. Take a trip to Canada or the US, they consider Toyota and VW to be cheap cars like Proton.

When I was in the US, there was habit by my colleagues to piss off Audi owners by telling them “Nice Volkswagen you got there” because VWs are known to be crappy cars over there.

But here, VW fanboys think it’s a premium “German Engineering” marque. Most of the people in the states would even regard a Hyundai to be more reliable and a better buy than a VW.

• VWnottatbad on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:19 pm

same same la! you go and check and see.. So many people is also bad mouthing CIVIC too.. no matter how good the car is.. people still complaint. And those people who complaint, voice is louder than anyone else. He sound like representing the whole damn world people who drive that particular car, yet end up he might not even own that car. For them, they just too free to become keyword warrior!
      For me, I drive VW Polo Sedan. I dun see that serious complaint like what forumer mention…

• Another typical msia dealers move, adding cosmetic, bodykit, bigger rim, ridiculous strap and stupid “edition” badge to CON the local Ah Bengs and Ah Lians..

How sad, that is our local culture “ada gaya, no substance”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:58 am

Special Edition thing is very popular in developed countries and like in the UK, even Proton has some numbers of Special Edition Wira and Satria like Proton Compact Duo and Proton Coupe Evolution 16V.

most of the times they are sold at no extra amount than the standard model – just to help boost sales.

• Vw jetta is so outdated.. ugly dashboard and boring exterior profile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • different people have different preference, that’s all i can say…

• neo4g63t on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:59 pm

4 me, the dash looks clean and easy on eyes. Not so much dated and i can live with it for plenty of years i guess, if no breakdown happens..

• Pls give UNLIMITED DSG gear box replacement 10 yearsto all VW onwer !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Johnny on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:03 pm

The oldies dashboard suit 60s uncle who still believe VW is still a good brand.

Only good in racing games.. where u get urself zero maintenance.. if u can afford vw jetta in relialty.. the maintenance u can use this for a more expensive yet worth japanese car with much much lower maintenance cost.

My advice to 60s uncles.. if u insist on germany car. Try a 2010 mercedes benz c200 at the same price.

Same.. also designed for uncle like u.

• neo4g63t on Apr 28, 2015 at 11:02 pm

I’ve owned 2013 polo gti,clocked abt 37k km already,same engine,same gb as vw jetta. 4 me,the maintenance is still affordable, last time cost me abt rm470 for every 15000km. For the same mileage, more cheaper let say than myvi or proton. Problem so far, engine oil consumption but only for 1st 7k km..now, touch wood. No problem at all. Just giving my opinion as 1.4 tsi powered owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 28, 2015 at 11:27 pm

I own a jetta n i agree the interior is nothing to shout about. About the DSG, yes the mechatronic kaput after 8 months of ownership but luckily resolved in 3 days time. They also throw in clutch replacement for free as well. Ride n handling? Pretty good. FC? about the same as my previous 1.8 grand livina, given that it is one of the heaviest C segment sedan in its class n power about the same with some 2.5l japanese/korean car. Rear leg room n boot space is still one of the best in its class.
      Conclusion: Great car let down by relatively fragile gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • maybe its the ‘fixed edition’..

• Henry on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:38 pm

This is how they flog a dead horse. Horse meat yakiniku, anyone?

• spongewai on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Jetta Special Edition?

add up RM15k to RM20k to buy World Car Of The Year 2014 winner, Audi A3 1.4 TFSi better

• Audi a3 is just a vw jetta in disguise. Audi also has the drivrtrain issue just like vw.

They use the same platform. Same drivetrain.

Poorman’ audi.

• LOLOL on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Should name it PF Edition. Problem Free! Lol

• seriouslyquestionmark on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:25 pm

only 9 comments?
    looks like these bunch of people (well a lot of them anyway) have managed to find better things to do.
    Congrats!

• amun ra on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:05 am

we are busy handling p.pauh issue. we will be back!! ABUP!

• lindura on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:55 am

theyre practically admitting theyre here to write fake comments. lol, u pr cybertrropers sre funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • lol. exactly wat i thought. they are here to create panic, negative emotions, and confusion. never thought they would say it out loud though. this guy surely get fired later

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:37 pm

The rims look good….far better than the stock one and does this SE model come with HID lights? The halogen lights on the current model is really a turn off.

• manual on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:49 pm

could it be a manual???

• even the Zero Downpayment Zero Interest VW Polo 1.6MPi got ppl kaput kena tow recently…

VW, not just the gearbox is shitty, the engine too.
      even the old engine is VW Polo.. u are risking ur own precious time and money.

VW, just a cheap germany car.

• VW FanBoy on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Look don’t talk trash here keyboard warrior …. The problems are with the DSG 7 speeders only.
        Polo 1.6 NA 6 speeder and Golf GTI DSG 6 speeder is problem free !

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:49 am

GTI 6-speed wet clutch DSG is known to be trouble-free. We’d expect the 1.6 MPI’s 6-speed Aisin gearbox to be robust as they’ve always been but recently a video went semi-viral on FB of a Polo Sedan 1.6 getting engine fault lights and stuff and unable to engage the gearbox in drive.

This led to many people developing a phobia of this otherwise-robust combination of 1.6 N/A engine with 6-speed Japanese gearbox. This combination has been around in Latin America, Russia and India for a few years before it made its way here. It’s robust enough to run on low-octane fuel, crappy service intervals, or regular servicing by regular mechanics that only understand N/A engines and torque converter gearboxes. It’s a powertrain combo for developing markets that have neither the resources nor expertise to properly maintain fancier engines and gearboxes.

Therefore, I think that what happened to the Polo Sedan in the video could be something unrelated to the powertrain.. perhaps some faulty senor, causing the ECU to engage “Safe mode”.

Even for Proton and Japanese cars, a simple issue like a faulty lambda sensor detecting an AFR that is too rich, or a faulty cam angle sensor that prevents the engine from adjusting the ignition advance/retard, will result in the ECU engaging safe mode, which prevents the gearbox from shifting into top gear (or sometimes limited to 1st and 2nd gear) and the torque converter lockup function will be disabled. These “limp home” modes typically allow continuous drive for 15-20 minutes before disengaging the gearbox altogether, requiring the driver to stop at the roadside and restart the car.

• Balls on Apr 28, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Must be part of their marketing campaign….

0 interest….. on the lousy VW car

• linggam on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:48 am

am totally regret getting this car.u guess right = gearbox. anoder problem now is ppl alredi kno, so become hard to sell

all the best to vw brand.i try, and for sure not my brand anymore

• VW is the Proton of Germany.

• lemon on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:28 am

worst choice i ever made. Coolant hose leaked, aircond failed, dsg failed and now cylinder/piston loss compression. my previous proton was far more reliable. from a real owner

• theanswer on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:10 am

and peole still sed proton is the worst brand. i rather spend 70k on a proton than 140k on a problematic car.

• tishaban on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:59 am

After so many years of problems with the 7-speed DSG I wonder why VW Malaysia doesn’t switch to the standard 6-speed auto transmission? They definitely have it in other parts of the world.

• Taking Malaysia as the test grounds for the rest of world?!! They tweak the issues and let the people do the testing. What other best way to test an issue other than real life testing.

Feel Sad for the VW Owners !

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:51 am

The most popular variant that I saw in Canada and the US are Jettas with 2.5-liter V6 N/A engine with 6-speed torque converter gearbox. These Jettas hardly give problems but that didn’t stop the North Americans from considering Volkswagens to be cheap trashy cars..

• normal on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:35 pm

6 speed mmg ada! Polo Sedan is 6 speed automatic. But if your drive 7 speed DSG, you would able to feel small engine big capacity performance. And most people will like it. 1.8L engine flying faster than normal 2.0 Camry.. that the reason behind

• Kenny on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Why keep selling a car with a known fault? Why VGM??!!