Ford Mustang Shelby GT350 – only 100 units for 2015, and just 37 examples of the Shelby GT350R

The All-new Shelby GT350 Mustang

The Ford Mustang Shelby GT350, which made its debut in Los Angeles last year, is set to go into series production, but buyers can expect a bit of a stampede for a 2015 car – the automaker has announced that only 100 units will feature a 2015 model year designation before production switches over to 2016.

Developed and built in-house by Ford through its Special Vehicle Team (SVT) division to commemorate the nameplate’s 50th anniversary (the original Shelby GT350 was introduced in 1965), each of the 2015 Shelby GT350s will come with a unique 2015 VIN. Fifty cars will be equipped with the Technology Package and the other 50 with the Track Package.

The Mustang Shelby GT350 is powered by the Blue Oval’s most powerful naturally-aspirated engine, the 5.2 litre Voodoo V8 – the unit is an evolution of the more familiar Coyote 5.0 litre seen in the standard sixth-gen Mustang GT, and was specifically developed for the GT350.

Ford Mustang Shelby GT350R-07

The 32-valve twin-cam Voodoo, which features a flat-plane crankshaft as opposed to a traditional cross-plane design, offers upwards of 500 hp and 542 Nm of torque, and on the GT350 is paired with a six-speed manual transmission and a Torsen limited-slip differential.

The automaker has also announced that an even more limited run of 37 Mustang Shelby GT350R models will be built, these in homage to the original Shelby GT350 competition model of 1965. The GT350R – which premiered in Detroit earlier this year – is essentially a hardcore version of the GT350.

The variant is also equipped with the Voodoo mill, but is lighter by nearly 60 kg over a GT350 with a Track Pack strapped on, is shod with carbon-fibre 19-inch wheels and has a specially-tuned suspension featuring track-tuned alignment settings.

2015 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350

2015 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350R

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 0-100 time? my vios turbo can do less than 6secs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Guys, please support Proton so that their cronies can get this as toy. Else they will ask for RM2bil government aid again this week.

The fact is: You buy Proton or not, you are subsidizing their Ford Mustang Shelby.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Anybody buy Toyota, I give them discounts on ladies undergarments in Parkson.

Sorella I can offer 70% off

• Hor Shen Hau on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Bro,can you stop talking about your Proton and cronies?When talk about Proton,you will come with those stupid comments.Proton is belonging to DRB Hicom.OK?Get a life Same Lorrr

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Proton belongs to DRB Hicom but why hire someone with zero automotive industry experience to be its chairman?

Ask me to get a life? You better wash your eyes.

• uslhwzero on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:17 am

Ford hv nice tech tht very good on practicality. For eg fiesta & focus. For those hp man. I think these car one of optional beside of GTR. Yup, gtr hv more power & speed but with these power stangs already same level of power to maserati grand turismo tht cost 1million. But, anyman hv thier point of view, it all depend of wht u need & love to. Anyway, this car was awesome dude!

• concern citizen on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Will Ford Malaysia bring this in? Or at least will Ford produce a right-handed drive placement so that recond car sellers can bring this in Malaysia.