PLUS to introduce gateless gantry toll system in 2018

etc-plus-m-b 243

According to a report, highway concessionaire Projek Lebuhraya Usaha Sama Berhad (PLUS) is set to introduce a gateless gantry system for electronic toll collection on its closed highways beginning from 2018.

Citing the move towards a Multi-Lane Free Flow (MLFF) system would check traffic congestion at toll plazas, PLUS CEO Muhammad Fuad Khusairi said that the concessionaire was studying several such systems running in other countries.

“Under the system, a gadget or sticker will have to be installed on the windscreen of vehicles. The toll will be calculated using the Radio Frequency Identification or RFID system. There will also be a CCTV network installed on the gantries. The system will be able to tell the amount that needed to be deducted electronically from the vehicle owner’s account with us,” he told reporters.

Last year, PLUS said it was targeting 100% electronic toll collection at all its toll plazas nationwide by 2020 with a gateless gantry toll collection system (like Singapore’s overhead Electronic Road Pricing gantries), where cars may simply drive through and be charged electronically without the need for slowing down.

The idea of a MLFF electronic toll collection system is not new – as early as 2008, trials with a Mitsubishi-based system utilising microwave transmission technology were carried out at a single location, at the Batu Tiga toll plaza on the Federal Highway.

Earlier, it was reported that from June 1 all toll transactions at both the Mambau and Lukut plazas along the Seremban-Port Dickson Highway (SPDH) will be conducted electronically via Touch ‘n Go cards or SmartTAGs. Five other toll plazas are also set to go fully electronic in 2015 – they are Jitra, Penang Bridge, Bukit Kayu Hitam and the two toll plazas on the Butterworth-Kulim Expressway.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Singaporeans be like; ‘Welcome to 2006’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
    • what the? on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:05 am

Australians, particularly Victorians, would be like:
      ‘Welcome to 1999’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • Still Waiting on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:27 pm

So now we know how many years difference we have compared to developed countries till we start adopting actual sensible things… 16 years… sigh…

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:58 am

Now, from Damansara to Bukit Raja = RM3.00
      Future, from Damansara to Bukit Raja
      … Subang (-1.00)
      … Shah Alam (-1,00)
      … Setia Alam (-1.40)
      … Bukit Raja (-0.70) = RM4.10!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • pxp154 on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:37 pm

LOL zZz….

Dubai,UEA implemented this ages ago. 2008. copying the Spore system.

Kolot la PLUS. Your R&D team makan gaji buta ke ?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • arteu32 on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:20 am

so…instead of making moves towards abolishing tolls, they are coming up with methods to ease continuing payment to the foreseeable future…nice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • shafa on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:57 am

They cannot abolish tolls as the cost of construction is under concession with the government. These companies need to pay back the money they owe the government and the only way to collect money is through tolls.

Only after the concession period ended then we can enjoy no tolls. Like Jalan Kuching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
      • George Abdul on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:08 am

As your mean cronies right?

Moderation?? So that cronies will keep whole Rakyat suffer more taxes and fees?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Alex Kew on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:31 pm

U mean like federal hiway, where the concessions will be extended at their whims for no valid reason?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Toll ya on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Tolled road is a service, which provide a means for people to use it for avoiding jams and get to place faster. just like North-south highway, which you have the choice of old roads linking from JB to Alor setar. But currently many places in Klang Valley, tolled road is the only road from places to places. Find me a direct road from Puchong to Shah Alam which doesn’t required toll.

• blahblah on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:36 pm

I did go though non-tolled road before, from Puchong to Seksyen 7 Shah Alam as part of my experiment, but it was freaking hassle.
          U want direct non-tolled road, forget it, coz there’s none.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:09 am

If they abolish tolls, where will be the source of revenue for highway maintenance? Don’t be a freeloader. Scandinavian countries have free education, free highways, etc because their income tax rate is almost 60%, versus under 30% for Malaysia. Are you willing to pay 60% income tax to get free stuff? Or are you just a freeloader?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
      • tokmoh. on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:31 am

The problem is we’re paying more but getting less.

We pay GST, no more subsidy, and what we get is RM42bil debt, Jho Low party with Paris Hilton, bik mama buy private jet, colour hair for RM1,200, etc.

inb4 tak suka keluar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
        • Alex Kew on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Ni mesti budak /k :)

• Rooney on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Assuming you pay income tax 25% give or take lah), that’s only 1.2 million. The other 90% don’t pay income tax at all.

Is it enough ka? Corporate tax private sectors only 35%. Biggest contributor is Genting Group.

So, you think you pay so much, is it?

Yeah, so Najib 1MDB screw up with Jo Lo. That doesn’t mean you can make outrageous demands.

Millions of cars pound the LDP tarmac each day. You think maintenance cheap is it? The east coast and east Malaysia also pay road tax, but they don’t get high quality road.

Assuming LGE becomes PM, you think he will abolish GST? Toll? Reduce car tax? You tell me. So far, we only hear complains, but no solutions even from PR side.

Tell me something convincing. Don’t just spew hatred. Else, we will be like Egypt once new gov takes over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
        • DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:20 am

And what makes you think PR will be better? Same crap, same smell, different buttholes. That’s about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • blahblah on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Forget about PR.. They talk cock only. The proposed Penang tunnel road, still have toll in the plan.

A lot of people never pay taxes, low and some middle income earner and even those working on commission basis. Heck, some of them can even earn more than RM20k a month on commission without paying taxes!!

• huntlarr on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:03 pm

U mean road tax? Or afta based taxes? Or gst? Freeloader my sticky balls. The govt had veen freeloading for 5 fking decade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • apa la ang ni on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:24 pm

dah pakai jalan kena la bayar tol.. apa baghal unta hang ni.. nak free tak yah hidup la

• Better late than never right??? Nope. There are people who keeps on bashing on everything they see like a Troll Warlord with permabash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • venven81 on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:35 am

Thank god finally they have the brain to implement it! Better late than never. This MLFF system had been around way before 2008 when the “idea” was being tested by PLUS. It takes them another 10 years to implement it! Gosh. Talk about efficiency by any GLCs… Anyway, hope all the tolls will be replaced with this system to help ease traffic congestion. Better still, tear down the tolls la wei! Why Batu Tiga and Sg Rasau tolls are still here with extension?! *facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • George Abdul on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:35 am

More and more ways to suck the pocket money from Rakyat.

Hope that Rakyat won’t tsunami the Govt or cronies in coming GE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:11 am

So are you saying that if Pakatan is in power, they’ll somehow find ways to build these things for free? No construction company will profit from the project? That’s the problem with Malaysians.. zero common sense, just all political nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
      • George Abdul on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:59 pm

So by your mean Cronies was right all alone… with No open market / No transparency was right too?

Good keep making your common sense!!! by making more fool of Rakyat…

• Just like the trash collection at Selangor, replace BN crony with PR crony. But they took the cheapest option so service like shiet.

No thank you. Give me BN crony anytime. I rather pay more for better service than less for no service!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Witch hunt on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:36 pm

After PR took power, start a witch hunt for the lost treasure for the past 50+ years, I think easily billions if not trillions recovered. Putrajaya project, PKFZ project, bridge project, bakun project, 1MDB, MRT project, Airport projects….and counting

• the cronies will be like “kaching $$$$$$”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:12 am

Explain how these things can be implemented without profit, without being a Marxist-Leninist state like Mao-era China or Stalin-era Russia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • NajibShamelessPM on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:50 am

Yeah right.. This is just another way of extending tolls and giving project to crony company and then they songlap some kickbacks.. I ask you whos gonna build the gantry system? It wont be plus. It will be some company that established yesterday without any record that you never heard of. Same like AES. thumb me down i dont care. My hate my bisnes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:13 am

But if Anwar or LGE does it, it’s the most perfect project in the world.. right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
      • ashween on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:57 pm

U r an ignorant ass. The problem is not on the project,the problem is on the bad governance. Stop licking jibby’s balls. For the resources we have, cost of living must be relatively very low. That time everyone will be happy with the developments. The current govt is swindling millions n gona make this country a living hell. At time, we both get burned. No expection for u even if u lick jibby’s balls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:19 am

Who said I’m a BN supporter? I voted for Pakatan in the last two GE but they only accomplished shit. At the constituency where I live, besides completing interchange and road-widening projects that were started by the MCA ADUN previously and claimed it to be PR achievement, they have not done anything since. So, it’s wrong to criticize Pakatan? Brainless fools on both sides of the political divide.. sigh..

• u must be very stupid not to realize that the federal government is still run by BN , not PR. if nothing was accomplished, then a large portion of the blame should fall on the fed gov.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Dumbass, I’m talking about state-level issues within my constituency that doesn’t involve the Federal Govt. Another example of PR cybertrooper / DAP red bean army stupidty

• Sparcov on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:54 am

Good and bad

Bad:
    1. No need hiring toll collectors, no job for those people already.
    2. No need do maintenance of the toll booth, meaning no job for the subcontractor
    3. No need build toll, no job for subcontractor

Good
    1. Good traffic flows
    2. Low maintenance cost for PLUS = more revenue for PLUS
    3. Good income for PLUS as the road user have to top up in advance to their account as what we did for Touch and GO. They can use the money and get bank interest out of it.
    4. Convenient for the road user

To implement, Taiwan using a sticker on the windscreen and they have an account of each of the register user. Is like paying bill every month depends on how much you use.

So, I will say good and bad depends which angle you look at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Gargantia on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:04 am

One simple word “Bad”.

Add tax to burden Rakyat were always a wrong decision !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:17 am

Tax burden? Tolls are not tax burden.

I travel on the PLUS highway everyday and it’s irritating to see cash lane users choking up all lanes approaching the toll booth because they are too stingy or lazy to use the cashless lanes. And yet, PLUS is spending money to widen all the major lanes and all the major toll booths to compensate for these stingy lazy highway users. Where do you think their capital comes from?

I also regularly see PLUS Highway Patrol clearing burst truck tyres, large pieces of junk, etc from the roads and assist highway users with flat tyres. They’ve even helped me change my flat tyre twice in the past 15 years that I’ve been using the highway. Where do you think their salary come from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • Gargantia on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:03 pm

You don’t get the meaning, Taxes above mentione are GST.

Adding fees to Rakyat are Good?; then truly Malaysia has fallen to Bolehland policies.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:21 am

Oh, and what sense of entitlement have you got to make you think that the government exists to give you everything for free without you contributing anything?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:24 am

considering smart tag always got problem and hang gei…i expect this auto system to hang gei also…means high chances of free travelling….thats why when i was menteri i never approved this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Smart Tag’s major problem is that is it based on infrared signaling which is slow (needs a longer exposure time to read the signals) and susceptible to blocking or interference.

With an RFID based system, it will be just like the ERP systems in Singapore and Melbourne.. continuous movement without the need to slow down, with accurate signal reading

• people could also be a problem. when the machine signal that the battery is going to be out soon yet people are lazy to change them.

so jokers just couldnt keep the distance and happily tailgating for no reason.

there is car at the road side with hazard light on. road user start to jam their break to have a look. either for the number or just being busybody.

• Tyler Durden on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:20 pm

I think its high time the G impose a set of KPIs on these toll consessionaires to give the toll users a value of our money. Too many times in the city when even 1 out of 3 smart-tag booths is closed due to unknown reason can put traffic to a crawl. Someone should make a KPI in which the toll operators can be penalised if prolonged or unplanned failure to maximise automated toll booth operation especially during peak hours. Now with more and more concessionaires going electronic, its high time we get better service from these people. I don’t care if the PBT or government wants to take their money, as long as someone can whipcrack the concessionaires into performing.

• that long to implement this MLFF, i wonder when-lah can we have MLRB (Multi Lane Road Block) system. if not, every time got roadblock the roads are clogged like mad.

• SampatLang on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:09 pm

When I first read MLFF I could swear I saw MILF! What a way to make an acronym…

• Sad. If any ordinary person bring in something to the country, it will get rejected right away. Have to wait for crony to bring in then only can implement.

• No. Its sad that Malaysians condemn any local efforts. Rather prefer foreign even if come from Bangla.
      We are so shameful of our own work that we should just outsource all our jobs, then we can be happy cuz nothing else to complain.

• william on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Nice to upgrade the system ….

however could u abolish the toll between 2nd penang bridge and Juru auto city …. to reduce traffic congestion ….. cheers

• william_pglover on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:02 pm

nice to upgrade the system ….

however, could PLUS please abolish the toll between 2nd penang bridge and JURU auto city …. to reduce traffic congestion…

cheers

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:03 pm

In Taiwan, the T&G Smart Tag has been phased out gradually since 2012.

They have a new passive metallic silver strip of sticker that does it all. No need battery at all

• alfie on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:58 pm

What ever it is,its another deal for Ah Jib Gor younger brother Nazir to make more money. Ah Jib Gor has help stepson Reza and JHLo,now its Rangkaian Segar to make money. Bad enough we have to pay for the touch n go card every few years. Guess the new CEO Karim who was also formerly from CIMB is helping his Boss Nazir of making more money from the rakyat.

The AES camera plan was aborted with Omar Ong being paid about $600+M plus. Less see how much Ah Jib Gor will paid his younger brother Nazir if the rakyat dont want to go fully electronic,for Nazir cost for setting the infrastructure.

• Great! Will we get any money back from the Samrt Tag devise since it will be replaced?

• my only question

How to control when I cover my sticker or gadget or some sort of Smartag from the gantry to scan? Still driving along the road , right? End up I am not paying. Apa macam?

I heard this is TnG concern on why they are not installing such gateless system way before.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:46 pm

That’s why there are cameras to snap the pictures of cars who do not have the system, or whose device is unreadable or faulty. Such camera systems usually incorporate number plate recognition and is linked to the department of motor vehicles so that the outstanding charges can still be mailed to your home.

• adnan on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Y complaint ? Last GE PR want to abolish those tolls these dumb voters still want BN, so let SUFFER ! hooray !!!

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:24 am

Even in states that PR controlled, they didn’t deliver their promises of abolishing this and that. So, dream on that PR will make any difference at all if they take the Federal govt. Chances are, like in the states that they control, they’ll just go “WOW! BN cronies were making this much?? Let’s replace with our own cronies, it’s our turn to take over the gravy train now”. This is from first-hand experience in dealing with PR state agencies.

• if it’s a similar system like singapore’s where a wire is connected from the RFID device to the car cpu/engine, one can simply turn off the engine to avoid the charges. gantry hack 101, free toll. let them implement and the crony company default on low revenue

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:26 am

Why turn off the engine? Why not put a switch across the necessary wires? (Slaps head) Just a talk-cock from a troll who probably doesn’t know how to connect a light bulb to a battery..

• WahLau-J on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:47 pm

After this, they will tell you we need to extend the toll collection consession another 100 years because we install this new system for your convenience

• MalaysiaforMalaysians on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Singapore has been using it for ages… and now only PLUS is talking of implementing it. FYI, the gantry system being used over there was develop by a team of engineers, some of them whom are Malaysians discarded by UPU, MOE only to be taken in by NUS. Now don’t tell me PLUS/GOM is going hire a consulting team of foreigners to set up the system when we have capable Malaysians to set it up!!!

• abusiti on May 01, 2015 at 4:38 pm

They dont even dare to implement all malaysian toll to be electronize like sg. Rasah and batu tiga toll. How to implement MLFF??

• eagletalon on May 11, 2015 at 1:42 am

better not to have toll at all. we all are paying road tax every year.