SPIED: BMW 3-Series F30 LCI drops some camo

Prototype units of the F30 3-Series LCI has dropped more of its camo in the recent few weeks, which points to the possibility of the car getting a global unveil soon. In fact, there have been reports lately that claim a reveal in the first half of May – we’re not sure how true that is, but we’ll keep our eyes and ears wide open.

The image above shows the design of the new front bumper quite clearly. As for the rear end, the tail lamps are pretty exposed, but it’s nothing we haven’t seen before as previous spyshots of the F30 LCI driving in the snow have already shown how the tail lamps look like lit up.

Spy-Shots of Cars

Our spy photographer also caught a unit wearing the M Sport front bumper on test. It actually doesn’t look very different from the pre-facelift M Sport, so BMW must be doing what they did with the F10 LCI – the M Sport bumper didn’t get any changes. But we do wonder what’s that plastic panel doing in the middle of the centre intake – could it be a cover for some kind of sensor?

There will probably be more changes under the hood of the F30 LCI than there will be on the exterior – the entire engine line-up is set to be refreshed. Word is there will be a new three-cylinder 1.5 litre turbo engine as well as new 2.0 litre and 3.0 litre engines for both petrol and diesel, the latter rumoured to be installed in a new 340i variant that replaces the 335i.

GALLERY: F30 LCI with regular bodykit

GALLERY: F30 LCI with M Sport bodykit

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gary Chong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:02 am

a challenger to Merc C-class~

• KingKong Nose vs Mercedes Benz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • policeman on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:16 am

Young and energetic vs Ah Pek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • polisman on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:44 am

ah pek car still look better than your Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Inspector on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:51 pm

A real global car, unlike some local company who claims to be “BMW of Asia”, which produce only crap cars with Punch CVT

• Protonist on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:02 pm

only sozai will burn money buying BMW. Our Proton is as good as BMW/Mercedes.

• sackdesigners on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:05 am

Lazy designers have no idea to design. This is more than nolift, not facelift. 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 series all same front.

BMW should sack all of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • cendol (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:09 pm

audi A1,2,3,4,5,6,7 all also looks the same

• No more Value on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:21 am

Young Chico vs Old Fart.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:58 am

Still a low RV car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • blaster88 on Apr 30, 2015 at 6:46 am

Yum…looking forward to what’s under the hood. Read somewhere that the 328 would get a 15hp and 50nm torque boost? Pretty decent esp the torque numbers…

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:46 am

Looks like the front box like cover may be the Adaptive Cruise Control – potentially an improved version perhaps?

• Perhaps you a right regarding that cover but it still looks clumsy because it’s so obvious. I’m sure they could think of a better solution. Maybe it’s just a placeholder for the test car and the final car may have a more discreet design.

A bigger issue with be BMW’s introduction of 3 Cylinder engines, might be ok for a Mini but IMO they are taking it too far by implementing it in a 3 series and above(which they will).

It could meet all the performance benchmarks but it would be interesting to be sitting in a car that’s more then 5 years old with this engine and see if the NVH holds up. That configuration is just inherently unbalanced! There’s just no romance!

The current 4 cylinder already sounds like a truck on my gf’s 1 series which i taught was overdue for a service at first. Looks like creamy straight 6’s are a ‘luxury’ option now for BMW’s.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Yeah I think so too but it looks a tad too big but then again they are covering it so it might be smaller and to place it @ the intake… =_=’

Other than that not sure what line the black LCI is wearing but hopefully we get more updates in the interior section and they better fix the NVH problem especially on the side mirror section.

• pontiac on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:57 am

boring car

• smart on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:48 am

can’t wait for the pre-reg LCI units

• Same old boring car

• cendol (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:11 pm

when does the 2-year warranty gets a LCI?

• longjaafar on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:12 pm

This is a defensive measure against the new C class. It has been planned this way. That’s how the game is played by all of them.
    Upon introduction, a car will come with minimum specs, and it will be added along the way to keep it “current”. A case in point is the ageing 7 series. If one were to compare the early ones and those that are still being sold now, the difference is obvious. It is still a very desirable barge..To top it up, the 7 series now comes with a RM120,000 discount!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:45 pm

The SA has admitted that also and this is Bolehland so…what also can la as long bring profit settle d.

You don’t see this shitty practice overseas as customers can spec their own cars with whatever options they so desire but here….good luck in wishing the F30 will come with keyless entry or even a reverse camera and don’t get me wrong the reverse camera finally a cost option now but heck its only available for the 328i models with Pro Nav and the bulk of the cars on the road are the 320i and 316i with no option to purchase it. Sad but true.