Volkswagen Jetta Limited Edition teaser goes up

Screen Shot 2015-04-30 at 10.19.03 AM

Volkswagen Malaysia has begun teasing the Volkswagen Jetta Limited Edition on its homepage – you’ll note that the car is officially known as the LE and not the Special Edition, which was what it was originally tagged as in a slide presented during a recent VW Malaysia luncheon.

It’s the same image of the car as on the presentation slide, except you now get a clearer view of its side profile. The car gets a full bodykit, with new front and rear bumpers as well as sideskirts, and there’s also a rear boot lip spoiler to be seen.

The variant also wears larger twin five-spoke wheels, which was teased via an image earlier on Facebook. It shouldn’t be long now before we find out what’s new on the car, especially inside (is that a touchscreen HU hinted at in the interior shot?), but expect the changes to be largely cosmetic, with dress-up bits done in the same vein as the just-launched Volkswagen Beetle Bug Edition.

The locally-assembled Jetta was introduced last year, priced from RM134,888 inclusive of GST but sans on-the-road costs. The car is powered by a 1.4 litre four-cylinder TSI engine offering 158 hp at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm, and this is paired with a seven-speed DSG transmission.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:56 am

Priced below RM150k?

• Areyousure on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:33 am

Do buy-it?
      (1) supercharger + turbocharger produce best horsepower and torque in the class
      (2) faster than Passat/ Camry/ Accord / Altis/ Civic etc
      (3) crazy discounts
      Don’t buy-it?
      (1) turbocharged engine heats faster than NA
      (2) not suitable for traffic jam > 1 hour
      (3) not suitable for salesman/ heavy use

• dsgfail on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Don’t buy-it?
        (4)DSG – can finish your annual leave or you can go to work by bus/taxi

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:42 pm

No worry. Salesman loves our Vios because cheap and easy to maintain. No problem even if they drive it 8 hours long everyday!

• VW_rocks on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:15 pm

The dry-clutch I’m driving since Mar-2013 and recording 33500KM now. I find is really about knowledge about what you own and driving.

Q1: Should you drive like conventional auto/CVT?
        The answer is “NO”. Always have the mindset of driving a manual without the clutch pedal.

Q2: How to drive smoothly with DSG?
        The “D” mode optimizes fuel economy and tends to upshift quickly possible. You can manage the DSG swiftly with good pedalling. The DSG will gives the desired output at your demand.

Q3: Which gear is “bad”?
        Often is the 2nd gear especially when you slowed below 20km/h (e.g. crossing the hump). The DSR becomes a bit indecisive whether to upshift or continue to slowdown.

Q4: How to overcome the clunky shift?
        Basically there are two ways:
        To cross the hump slowly. With 2nd gear, hold the gas pedal lightly until is done.
        To cross the hump faster. With 3rd gear, hold the gas pedal lightly until is done.

Q5: What other things to watch out?
        When running on “D” mode, overwrite the automatic with downshift manually for immediate-returns of power. Like mentioned in (Q2), “D” mode tends to upshift rather than downshift in nature. It has the tendency to sticks to the “higher” gears.

Q6: Is DSG difficult to drive?
        Is like you learning to walk, as soon as you get there, it becomes part of your reflex and rewarded.

Q7: What about “S” mode?
        This is the “Sport” mode. No clunky shift detected at all.

DSG loves to race :P

• u5rtBN on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:04 am

they make all limited edition so all the moneys can go to BN crony pocket, just like proton strategy rakyat continue suffer but jib can fly with new jet, who care?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • just a human being on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:23 am

*facepalm*

• foodmarket on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:25 am

Well, could u imagine how’s our PM, enjoying life but rakyat still struggle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:34 pm

You might as well say can you imagine how a company CEO enjoys life while the warehouse workers suffer. How did he get there and how are you still stuck with a low-paying job? Did he steal from you to get promoted? If someone earns more, does it mean he stole from those who earn less?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • RAPUSSSY ROMLi on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:32 am

If x mampu, then don’t put ur shit view and comment la.. Lets discuss on automotive things here la..
      Btw, if u gaji kecik then avoid this car.. Even rapussy take the lead.. N price of car drop.. U can’t even afford to maintain.. la.. Nak kereta murah.. Then spare parts nak harga kancil..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • cynthia on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:42 am

i fail to see the relation..

• trying too hard

• Jonn Dol on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:23 am

Still can’t understand why there’s no DRL yet for this model locally, despite the so-called cosmetic upgrade..

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:23 am

MEH!!! Special driver with tattoo ?

• Nasi ayam on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:25 am

No thx. VW! Reliability wise. Get an accord with that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Jonn Dol on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:33 am

The ‘real’ facelifted Jetta with upgraded controls has already been launched in the Indian market early this year. I guess it’ll be introduced in the Malaysian market towards the end of this year..kind of slow..

• LOLOL on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:55 am

Ahahah… have to resort to have an arm model with tats to try to make it look cool.

0 interest.

• People are paranoid to hear the word DSG. So what ever cameo they do, its still gonna be tough sales.

Its just unbelievable that a giant like VW cant rectify a mechanical issue so critical for so long. Yet they try to push the sales. So many strategies yet the problem remains?

Can any of the new owners (real owners and not Toyota Sales men) if any (in this forum) who dared to buy VW after 2012/2013 confirm their car condition ?

The sales man told me that all DSG issues was rectified since 2012. He literately went through with me how the DSG works. I am no mechanic to understand the whole thing. But in short he said that the RPM has been limited, so that the gear changes within those RPM limits. The problem is thus solved with such small adjustments. I don’t know if the mechanical tweaks as simple as that would rectify a major issue that caused a lot of people heart aches.

Please comment if any one really know the facts of this.

• tokmoh. on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Tok kok wan la.

Tell that SA you’ll buy it if he signs contract to buy the car back from you at agreed price in the event you’re dissatisfied and wish to dispose it.

No SA will have balls to sign it. SA only want commission, they’ll cock n bull then after that sumpah tak kesah.

• DSG User on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:23 pm

DSG problems generally resolved by new revision mechatronics, clutch packs.

Brother in law’s passat mechatronics fail twice,
      clutch pack change once

my 2013 passat DSG just changed,
      and friend’s 2014 passat n jetta work fine.

all above car mentioned more than 60k mileage.

I would say, the DSG issues seems improved.
      But I m not 100% assure

• DonkeyKong on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:42 pm

DSG problems are present even in the UK and China, in regions where it’s not hot all year-round. It’s got nothing to do with changing at certain revs. The main thing that kills DSGs is getting stuck in a slow, long traffic jam.

If you were driving with a manual gearbox, and instead of going to neutral everytime you need to slow down, you just half-clutch so that the car can still inch forward slowly.. needless to say you will start smelling something like burnt brake pads after some time. That’s because the clutch is heating up due to the constant friction.

That’s what happens with dry-clutch DSGs, because in 1st and 2nd gear, in order to simulate transmission creep in stop-and-go traffic, the gearbox will half-clutch and this will result in continuous friction between the flywheel and the clutch packs, causing them to suffer premature wear and loss of positive clutch engagement. This problem isn’t present with wet clutch DSGs because they are soaked in an oil bath and are not as susceptible to frictional heat.

• Thanks for the input. You explained it well.

So why is DSG Malaysia still using Dry clutch.. i wonder !

• cendol (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:08 pm

The worst thing to do is to buy a car with limited edition and the parts also limited edition ( limited supply) later on.

• laughing_out_loud on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:13 pm

im trying to understand how some ppl hv made the connection btwn a vw jetta limited edition and certain political issues. mind boggling.

• no ahjib on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:23 pm

u so blind to see the ppl suffer and want support govt stupid policy? open u mind please. they con ppl with hudud now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • i don’t support hudud but i certainly wish people like you would just go and die.

sincerely,

a proud (gasp!) umno member

• DSG User on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:24 pm

For safety, handling, power of flat torque, go for VW
    For reliable, go for japs

• e-cgi on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I want both, go for Preve turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • thats right.. agreed with your point!!
      different product have different pros and cons
      but i like vw product more jap car

• shawal on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:27 pm

If u have time to comment on an automotive website…i find it difficult yo believe that u are ‘struggling’ with life

There people out there who are actually struggling with their daily lives…so do not misuse the word to label your lack of ability to purchase a decent set of wheels….

Having said that….
    Whuddup with the tattoos? Its a freakin jetta tsi….not GLI, nor a scirocco…

Anyway, theres alot of jettas in mudah, some still with their warranties…
    WondEr why….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kitalawan on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:30 pm

helo? maybe u don’t suffer because u are crony or paid cybertrooper by bn. we rakyat suffer everyday buying groceries because of gst. don’t worry next election thing will change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • shawal on Apr 30, 2015 at 4:43 pm

hahahahahahahahahahha

yes we need more people like YOU to push this country forward

• Was checking out the VWMy FB for the first time.It’s like a hate page!Yes it might show transparency but heck it’s a marketing killer.And the social media support team is not convincing at all.And tattooed arms to portray street cred…nope.