Audi TT teasers begin – registration of interest open

audi-tt-teaser

Audi Malaysia has opened registration for interest for the third generation Audi TT, indicating that a launch will happen very soon. If you’re interested in the new ‘Daredevil’ as Audi calls it, head on to the form and sign up with your details.

The Audi TT coupe first made its world premiere at last year’s Geneva Motor Show, while the open top Roadster version got its debut later in September 2014. Audi is even toying with the idea of a more practical five-door TT with the TT Sportback concept and perhaps even a crossover-styled variant in the form of the TT Offroad Concept.

Based on the VAG group’s new MQB platform, the new Audi TT is just slightly (2mm) longer than the outgoing model, although the wheelbase has grown by 37 mm to 2,505 mm, granting shorter overhangs. It is also a little narrower at 1,837 mm but is the same height at 1,353 mm. The sportier TTS is 10 mm lower.

The interior’s most impressive feature is the new Audi virtual cockpit, a 12.3 inch TFT LCD display which replaces the traditional instrument panel. This eliminates the need for a central MMI screen, which allows the dashboard design to be streamlined.

Like its predecessor, the new Audi TT features a steel/aluminium hybrid space frame construction, but is further optimised to reduce yet more weight. The 2.0 TFSI variant now sits at just 1,230 kg, 50 kg lighter than the previous model. Suspension is McPherson struts at the front and multi links at the rear, and the new car keeps the optional adaptive magnetic dampers of its predecessor.

The base model is the 1.8 TFSI with 180 hp and 250 Nm ated to a six-speed S tronic dual clutch gearbox, which can do the 100 km.h sprint in just 7 seconds. The 2.0 TFSI can do 230 hp and 370 Nm. The TTS’s 2.0 TFSI does 310 hp and 380 Nm.

Reader Muhammad Ezanee Rasli sighted a white TT with trade plates in Glenmarie in early April 2015, but there are no badges on the TT to indicate engine displacement. However, since the 1.8 TFSI variant was only just announced globally in late April, it should be the 230 hp 2.0 TFSI model.

Interested? Sign up at the registration of interest form.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gim peng teh on May 03, 2015 at 6:51 pm

like to find out about the price and when will the car be avaliable

• wow thats fast. Hats off to you Audi Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on May 04, 2015 at 7:03 pm

TTS is better than A-AMG, overall.

Youngster should always learn to see the ‘not commented’ stuff, example being ‘qecil’ for this TT.

Nobody will comment a Ferrari as short, why it is not 1988mm in height, and why it is not roomy like an Alphard. But if you design your flagship 7-seater, then it is a different story.

• Audi TTS
        2.0 Litre 4 Cylinder Direct Injection
        0-100 kp/h : 4.6s | 228 kW (310 hp)

CLA 45 AMG Coupé
        2.0 Liter Turbo Engine
        0-100 kp/h: 4.6 s | 265 kW (360 hp)

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 03, 2015 at 8:23 pm

car has been out for a year la dei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Aditas on May 03, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Meh… I’m more interested for the 2nd gen R8.

• seancorr (Member) on May 03, 2015 at 9:47 pm

About time! Wonder if they will bring in both the 1.8 and 2.0 TFSI but seeing this as a slow selling model here I guess they will only bring in the 2.0 as one spec.

• Obviously (Member) on May 03, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Oh my! It’s a t-t-teaser!

Ok, I’ll stop.

• D.I.Y. on May 03, 2015 at 11:18 pm

wait for low price recond..

• DAP the best on May 04, 2015 at 12:05 am

this one for BN cronies only. suck our money pocket then give GST. rakyat suffer but they drive the big car. AP system got GST??? think for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • hakone on May 04, 2015 at 7:56 am

Repeat the argument 10x and DAP will win over one voter.

• take your politics away from here you low life fag.
      this is an automotive blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • AqeefH on May 04, 2015 at 8:59 am

Will they bring the S3 sedan?

• they should being in model RS & S into mayalaysia market.

• I know right. Amg and m cars are here. But only grey importers bringing the fast Audis in

• Read the article again:

‘The TTS’s 2.0 TFSI does 310 hp and 380 Nm.’

The TTS is the ‘S’ model, since 2014 there’s no TT RS any more.

• Gracke on May 04, 2015 at 9:57 am

Price tag is the most interesting for this 1.8 base model…..how much actually would it be?????

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 04, 2015 at 5:00 pm

I’m interested, but I know my option is to get a reconditioned porsche cayman rather than paying much for a 1.8 or 2.0 coupe tt.

• droll on May 04, 2015 at 6:07 pm

so the passengers cannot view anything from the central console screen that could be there like in other cars?

• broll on May 04, 2015 at 10:08 pm

What do you want to see? If movies, surfing internet you bring your own tablet lor

You only need those view in camry because it’s boring car until you sleep, with TT it’s not boring at all.

• hazamiey on May 04, 2015 at 8:34 pm

What is so Daredevil about bog standard normal TT? Unless it is the upcoming TT RS!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 04, 2015 at 9:51 pm

ugly rims

• Sam Loo Ori on May 05, 2015 at 1:42 am

Can’t wait to show you the hilux after 18 months when you bring this no RV car to my yard. I’ll offer you 55k max