Malaysian traffic laws to be reviewed to mete harsher penalties, AES coverage to be expanded – report

Street Racing

The government will be reviewing existing traffic laws to mete harsher penalties to reckless motorists and repeat offenders, according to a report by The Sun.

The English language daily quoted deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi as saying that the move comes in the aftermath of a collision between a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and two Perodua Myvis – the latter allegedly involved in a six-car illegal street race – on the Duta-Ulu Klang Expressway (DUKE) on May 2. The incident killed three people on board the Pajero, including a six-month-old baby, inciting public anger.

“The ministry is ready to review the current traffic laws,” Aziz Kaprawi said, adding that the transport ministry will consult all stakeholders in analysing the regulations. “If it’s too lenient or there are some loopholes which limit taking action against bad motorists for showing disregard to road safety, we shall amend [the traffic law] or add some new elements, if necessary.”

Both Myvi drivers are currently being investigated under Section 41(1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 for causing death by reckless or dangerous driving, which could result in up to 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of RM20,000 upon conviction.

speeder

Last July, another motorist was sentenced to a four-year jail term, fined RM10,000 and received a three-year driving suspension for causing the deaths of four people on the Middle Ring Road 2 (MRR2) in September 2013, under the same charge.

Aziz Kaprawi said that he “completely understands” the anger shown by the public over the issue, and promised proper action will be taken against those who are guilty.

With regards to the allegation that the two Myvi drivers have eight and 11 outstanding traffic summonses, he said: “We will investigate and if it’s true, appropriate action will be taken, including suspension of driving licenses.”

In addition, Aziz Kaprawi said that the government will expand the Automated Enforcement System (AES) beyond the existing 14 locations, once the takeover by Boustead Holdings Berhad and the Armed Forces Fund Board (LTAT) has been completed. “The AES is necessary as eyes on the road, so that people will be mindful not to drive or ride recklessly like what we have seen in this tragedy,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• same lorr on May 05, 2015 at 9:35 am

Buy toyota better.. Good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 55
    • winrar on May 05, 2015 at 11:30 am

Now I believe myvi is much much tougher than BMW, Volvo and all conti cars!

Myvi > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • lilytan on May 05, 2015 at 9:47 am

Good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Its not just about the summons but the need for it to be linked to other things/systems that will really deter these drivers. If one can drive freely despite having 11 summons, it shows that people can get away with it. In this case, who would bother to pay summons? I heard the myvi driver’s summons date back a few years and yet she can still drive freely..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • labix7 on May 05, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Yeah …bcoz summons only is not enough … must be more enforcement officer visible at the road/hway.
      Some driver even dunno they got speedtrap summons until a month later, once they receive a letter.

• dodgeviper88 on May 05, 2015 at 9:52 am

What’s even worse is the female driver of the Myvi has shown no remorse, even going to the extent of blaming the victim. I mean seriously, blaming a dead person? Sadly it’s a sign of an epidemic in Malaysia, everyone skirting responsibilities

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • mohdjiman on May 05, 2015 at 9:55 am

why peugeot 308 in the picture? why not myvi? haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • supercarmyvi on May 05, 2015 at 10:07 am

Actually myvi is a super car. If above pic shows full speed at 330km, it can do much more at 430km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 10:15 am

more like profiting from people’s misery…how about ensuring cars meet the safety requirements, have proper tyres and brakes etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
  • DonkeyKong on May 05, 2015 at 10:16 am

When the authorities implemented AES, the people opposed it. When deadly accidents happen, the people demand that the authorities take stern action and have stricter enforcement. At the end of the day, after 3 months, we won’t hear anything about this anymore. This is Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Josh Ling on May 05, 2015 at 10:17 am

if no justice is being served equally to everyone, and no impartial enforcement implemented throughout the whole country, it will be pointless to install even one billion more AES cameras in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Martual on May 05, 2015 at 10:20 am

To be honest, what can AES helps in preventing accidents? If a person with 8 summons still can drive without any further action, will AES helps in that at all?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • Bangkang dari Longkang on May 05, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Instead of ranting, please suggest an idea on how to curb this problem.

• azhar on May 05, 2015 at 10:24 am

please put AES cam at MEX highway…full of irresponsible and stupid drivers speeding well over the speed limit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
    • Low Budget on May 05, 2015 at 12:27 pm

How many motorists also observed the Max. speed limit of 60 KM/H in any of the urban housing estate roads, especially those slightly longer roads?

• Full of irresponsible and stupid drivers will still speed with or without the AES. Good example is the people who caused the DUKE accident, see how many outstanding summons they have?

AES will solve this problem? If you think yes, put as many AES as you like. Problem still won’t solve until the G starts serious crackdown on corruption.

• azhar on May 05, 2015 at 2:59 pm

speed limit also wont solve problems..so it should be abolish?

• LuvHonda on May 05, 2015 at 10:24 am

What is the point to review the law if there is no enforcement at the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • FordKuga on May 05, 2015 at 10:40 am

In cases like this, y pay summons to gomen whereas the victims suffer. Y not the gomen include some sort of compensation to the victims (or next of kin) as well?

• intermilan on May 05, 2015 at 10:44 am

Kerana nila setitik, rosak susu sebelanga..

Govt should not use this incident to create additional blind laws. Existing laws is adequate to punish offender, just make the punishment heavier. An eye for an eye, they say.

As creating laws to prevent such incident in the future, dont think it gonna be effective without being oppressive in the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Pls enforce child seat as well. Chances are in that accident the mum was carrying the kid. If the kid was in a car seat at the back from the looks of the picture maybe the baby would be still alive. I also think that any one of the passenger may not be wearing their seat belts that may have cause them to be thrown out of the car. Seat belts should be strictly enforced both in the front and back. Furthermore i think the late pajero driver couldnt have seen the Myvi coming due to blind spot and this may happen to any drivers. To avoid that many cars are now offering blind spot signals and that should be made compulsory. Finally drive based on the speed limit or a little higher than that in the middle line. Use the third line only for overtakes thats what it is meant for. Not many drivers know that due to our incredibly easy driving classes. If u want drive fast pls do in a less crowded road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Mc Kangkung on May 05, 2015 at 10:54 am

It is really funny (but true) that the govt ONLY does their job ONLY when there were death involved in road accidents.

Who to blame??

1) Kopi-0 licence?
    2) Driver?
    3) Driver’s parent? (for poor upbringing)
    4) Law enforcers?
    5) Poorly design road?
    6) (the absence Of) AES Cameras??
    7) Fast and Furious movies?

Whatever and whoever gets the blame, this sort of accident ain’t the 1st, and wont be last. ONLY in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Pls enforce child seat as well. Chances are in that accident the mum was carrying the kid. If the kid was in a car seat at the back from the looks of the picture maybe the baby would be still alive. I also think that any one of the passenger may not be wearing their seat belts that may have cause them to be thrown out of the car. Seat belts should be strictly enforced both in the front and back.

• Gberd on May 05, 2015 at 11:03 am

Improve driving skill first, just look into our fabulous education system, where it rank now ??? Don’t wait till it’s hit rock bottom !!!

• Joe Whiner on May 05, 2015 at 11:46 am

Action should also be taken on heavy vehicle drivers who hog the fast and middle lanes on highways.
    When driving too fast they weave in and out of traffic as if they’re driving Myvis. When driving too slow they create big gaps and disrupt the smooth flow of traffic.
    The authorities always pander to the whims of the lorry and bus companies but the interest and safety of all road users must be the priority.

• C.P. MOHAN on May 05, 2015 at 11:56 am

The whole “production chain” must be reviewed i.e. e.g driving school to double parking.

• SaveTheEarth on May 05, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Traffic law??? What does it means to Malaysian. Any enforcement hardly seen along any highway. We saw only hide and summon style, kopi style and what else….. Blaming style by the authorities who should actually be blame and take on the responsibility of many of the accidents. Beside the Myvi Girl Driver, enforcement law (traffic law authority) should take up the biggest responsibility, where are you when incident occur, what investigation need to be carry out since many of the cameras around, unless the cameras not working and enforcement also sleep all night long for taking rest. Traffic law……. Do u know you put Malaysian in dangers, people racing all the way from Genting Highway but no enforcement at all. Useless when people needed you all.

• brazbuz on May 05, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Its not about the law anymore, it is about enforcement

• ariff on May 05, 2015 at 12:24 pm

That seems to be the trend nowadays isn’t it? Let’s just make amendments to the current law and problem solved. Forget enforcement, forget proper driving education. What’s going on is more of a mentality problem than a technical one. Mentality for a real change in attitudes. I’m all for the support of AES system. Police can’t be everywhere. However this system needs to be monitored live by qualified officers of the law. This is what they do in the UK. What happened to the once proposed demerit system? You get fined twice and automatically your license is revoked. This is what they do in Australia and UK. Another important note is how are we teaching the new drivers? Are the driving schools just making profit? Lesen kopi? Are the authorities making sure they are up to standards? We need to change our mentality permanently and not just when accidents happened then everything goes back to normal. If we keep this up we will never change and more stupid avoidable accidents will happen. And please don’t even start mentioning bus accidents in this country…Sedih

• drMpower on May 05, 2015 at 1:09 pm

aziz u should appoint me as the DG of Traffic Safety. and segregate me, my post, and get my department jurisdiction that not challenge-able by any orang dalam. and add one more thing, if someone decided to challenge in court, if they lose then they will have to bear all cost AND more penalty. and if they win of course they are free to walk away.

should i be the new DG i will enhance the existing laws and add something like ‘citizen arrest’ or ‘citizen proof’ will be considered as case proofs. that eliminate safety cameras. and people want to speed or drive reckless also will be scared because they dont know who is actually filming them.

• longjaafar on May 05, 2015 at 1:17 pm

AES was opposed not because of the benefit it will bring to road safety, but the way the job was given out to a party, without any competitive bid. This led to the perception that it was all about making money, and not about reducing accidents.
    Now the government has sold it to Boustead who will also will not do it free either.
    Worse still, the government (taxpayers) will have to pay compensation…So, how?

• Kok Wai on May 05, 2015 at 1:22 pm

1. The current traffic rules is good enough. There is no need to amend anything. It is the implementation, practise and enforcement that needs to be reviewed.

2. Many express bus drivers and lorry drivers are not professionals. They have diseases like sleepy conditions. The employers are flouting the law due to lack of enforcement. So, they are able to hire cheap unqualified people to do a dangerous job.

3. Designer Drugs , or cheap stimulants and drinking are the most dangerous intoxicating substances. Drivers have to be severely punished or be banned from driving if caught using them.

4. Speeds at 130km/h on the highway is not the cause of accidents. It is the above drink and drive and reckless drivers which cause the most horrific accidents.

5. Fatal and horrific injuries are cause by speeding pass red lights and busy and narrow roads. Driving at 130km/h on a proper highway is not the cause of accidents. Driving at 200km/h is of course not to be encouraged. That is very dangerous because in Makaysia, rain can happen anytime and occur anywhere. The wet roads ahead cannot be known when we are driving on the dry road. 150km/h and above is not to be encouraged for this reason and due to our highways are slightly narrow and the materials used does not make it totally safe at higher average speeds at 150km/h.

6. There are more motorcyclists on Malaysian roads than most countries. Drivers should not speed inside the cities and towns due to this factor. There is nothing wrong with our current traffic laws. The enforcement must be improved.

7. Enforcement is not there. Many officers, either the police or the JPJ are corrupted. Here lies the problem. Here is the biggest problem. In court, the teenager who killed anyone can most of the time get away with a heavy fine. There is no strict ban or prison term. This is because the parents or employers make a ‘deal’ with the corrupt officers.

8. The lorries , especially small lorries, have very poor rear lighting. Their lamps are so dim. That is one of the two reasons why Karpal Singh’s driver collided into the back of that small lorry. Partly his own sleepiness and partly due to very poor back light of the front lorry.

Just do the right things.

• Samsa on May 05, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Ur points are valid and should be considered. Driving at 130 to 150km/h on a straight line on the highway does not cause accidents. Those who suddenly shift to the right line without looking back properly cause the accidents. I personally drive around that speed in a less crowded highway and i am always alert and keep my distance with other cars. Maybe they should teach this in driving school. Why nobody consider studying autobahn in Germany? They must be doing something right that can be implemented here. BTW if everyone just set their auto cruise at 110km/h and drive middle line would solve many problems on the road. Let those who wants to overtake and drive fast use the right line.

• ben yap on May 06, 2015 at 8:57 am

how do you know the materials use on our roads are not safe at high speed? have you done your testing on the materials?

don’t simply assume.

• areos on May 05, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Change the mentality of everyone..the drivers, enforcement officers, government leaders…in some countries like New Zealand..the drivers are indeed very discipline..everyone patiently waiting for their turn..even the motorcylist will not dare to overtake other vehicles at the traffic light..everyone q up ………..btw i am surprise AES operating co taken over by Boustead ..from Prokhas

• areos on May 05, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Change the mentality of everyone..the drivers, enforcement officers, government leaders…in some countries like New Zealand..the drivers are indeed very discipline..everyone patiently waiting for their turn..even the motorcylist will not dare to overtake other vehicles at the traffic light..everyone q up ………..btw i am surprise AES operating co taken over by Boustead ..from Prokhas

• normal_user on May 05, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Enforce ESC/VSA as mandatory along with 6 airbags & child seats. If only pajero sport is equipped with ESC, im sure the victims survived (if driven not too fast of course). Deepest condolence for the bereaved family.

• normal_user on May 05, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Enforce ESC/VSA as mandatory along with 6 airbags & child seats. If only pajero sport is equipped with ESC, im sure the victims survived (if driven not too fast of course). Deepest condolence for the bereaved family.

• nabill (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 2:47 pm

i wd emply ppl just for one job and one job only , put them on motorbikes , n look for those who drive slow on the right lanes and those cowards who turn/change lane without signalling , n give them summons on the spot or just take away their keys n ask them to collect at the police station , the culture we have , the only way to correct it is being rude n violent with offenders , being nice and civilized does not work here sorry to say …
    this is a long term thing …
    for heavens sake authorities dont have enough manpower to apply watever law they come up with….
    they have been saying all those things for a long long time , i have no reason to believe they r gonna do sting abt it now…lost case…

• Jimmi Kenting on May 05, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Try this concept.
    A summons is linked to car engine.
    Once a summons is issued your engine cannot start the next day.

• sammy on May 05, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Giving the corrupt more power? I am not sure….
    A heavier penalty would only mean heavier kopi o for them….

• fight for rakyat on May 05, 2015 at 5:44 pm

see how the DUMNO policy want to suck all our money? first is GST and AP, and now want to collect more from driver? petrol price always go up. rakyat like me suffer everyday. rakyat want change next election!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Samad Jain on May 05, 2015 at 11:32 pm

the accident must be caused by over dosed of nasi lemak kot???

I remember this was raised by some PDRM goon last time….about car accident…

• Aaron on May 08, 2015 at 5:37 pm

you can impose RM1,000,000.00 summons or 30 years jail. But where the hell are the enforcement??

and not to mention, our roads are extremely slippery when its wet! Now who’s to be blame?