2015 Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid production ends

2012_Toyota_Prius_Plugin_003

Production of the 2015 Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid is due to end in the month of June 2015, according to Nathan Kokes of Toyota Motor Sales USA in a post on PriusChat. The first Prius model to adopt a plug-in variant was initially revealed to the world in 2011 and sits alongside the regular Prius as well as c and v variants in the North American lineup.

Under the bonnet, the Prius Plug-in Hybrid utilises a 1.8 litre Atkinson-cycle petrol engine which puts out a total of 99 PS, paired to an electric motor capable of 86 PS – juice comes courtesy of a 4.4 kWh lithium-ion battery. All in all, total power output is rated at 136 PS, good enough for a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 10.7 seconds and a top whack of 180 km/h. Fuel economy is quoted at 47.6 km/l.

2012_Toyota_Prius_Plugin_007

An all-electric range of 18 km at speeds of up to 100 km/h has been touted while full operational range is recorded at 870 km, CO2 emissions stand at 49 g/km. A bit of side trivia – the Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid holds the record for the most economical car to lap the Nurburgring with a 250 km/l figure over a 20:59 lap.

As for its replacement, the next-generation Prius Plug-in Hybrid will probably see the light of day no earlier than 2017, at best. Though it has been stated that Toyota is “hard at work developing” its successor, delays for the regular next-gen Prius means that the launch of the plug-in model won’t be happening anytime soon.

GALLERY: Fourth-generation Toyota Prius spyshots

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• isuzuki on May 06, 2015 at 3:48 pm

so it ‘s just a hype?

• Same L0rrrr on May 06, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Don’t worry if got no Prius. Spend your money on some good undergarments for your wife and gf. Myself and Sam Loo (ori1) are now undergarments promoter in Parkson. We left UMW long time ago after realising UMW was cheating the whole Malaysia with low quality cars, low RV cars and low safety features (2 airbags and no VSC)

• Same L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 2:31 pm

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

• MAI Where is your EEV advice? on May 06, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Prius now big faiure in Malaysia. nobody wants it. Everybody scared to touch it.

Thank you MAI for encouraging people to move towards EEV and then, when thousands bought EEV and Honda and Toyota invested billions to CKD the Civic and Jazz Hybrid, Government pulls the plug.

This is how stupid MAI is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • It’s not tat no 1 want prius.. is the price tag tat kept ppl away.
      I own a prius.. I love it to d max.. never regret a single bit also

• It is good that they end production thr plug in hybrid.

U got urself the normal hybrid.. it is the most reliable hybrid mechanism.

U can continue to keep your lovely PRIUS and enjoy the peace of mind, strong torque in silence drive.

• Actually regular hybrid and normal hybrid are very similar. In fact, it is possible to hack a normal hybrid to be converted into a plug-in, in US many people actually DIY this. I’m guessing Toyota is probably moving away from electric charging and focusing on fuel cell technology, so it makes sense to phase off the plug-in feature.

• Jimmy on May 06, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Plasticky.

Felt like torsion beam at the rear (I didn’t check the exact set-up, not interested).

Taxi.