2016 Toyota Hilux teased – Thai spec has DRLs?

These images that are supposed to be teasers for the new Toyota Hilux have been making their way around Thai language Facebook groups and forums. It features what appears to be the new Toyota Hilux being beamed down by some airborne craft.

We don’t quite have anyone who knows the Thai language at hand right now but we’re guessing the 22-23-24 numbers could be dates, and they happen to be right after the supposed May 21 unveiling date for the new pick-up truck. If you can read what these images say, drop a comment!

toyota-hilux-teaser-thailand

If we take a closer look at the shadowy Hilux in the teaser image we can make out what appears to be daytime running lights across the top of the headlamps. This matches what we’ve seen in spyshots before this, where DRLs could be seen running across he top of the partially exposed headlamps like an eyebrow.

The 2016 Hilux has been reported to arrive on the scene with two new diesel engines. Power outputs for the 2.4 VNT (Variable Nozzle Turbo) mill are expected to hover about the 150 PS/343 Nm mark with a five-speed manual and 167 PS/400 Nm with the six-speed auto. The larger 2.8 litre mill is touted to displace a total of 177 PS and 420 Nm of torque when paired to a manual, the automatic adds on another 30 Nm.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux spyshots

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 07, 2015 at 5:50 am

Yes, and it got VSC. Congrats to UMW for reading people’s comments about Toyota.
    Check this page out:
    http://www.facebook.com/newhiluxrevo

Oh, also I noticed the rear blower was moved to the center console, is that an indication that Hilux used monocoque chassis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • karam singh on May 07, 2015 at 7:18 am

Just wait n see until UMW brings it here.
      they chose DRL,Sportivo kit rather than all those safety features…

… rear blower to center console?
      BTW Subaru,Honda and other brands already use monocoque body for their car..
      thats why they are safer,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Obviously (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 9:40 am

Difference is that Subaru and Honda don’t make true SUVs. They make crossovers intended primarily for city usage and light off-roading on something like dirt roads.

A monocoque chassis doesn’t make sense in a heavy duty vehicle like the Hilux and other pick-ups. A body-on-frame build is tougher and more rigid whereas a monocoque chassis might flex too much when some wheels are off the ground. A few heavy usages later, the vehicle chassis might be out of commission already. A body-on-frame design is also supposed to ride more comfortably and quieter on rough terrain as well.

Having a monocoque chassis doesn’t necessarily make a vehicle safer also.

• leonardo on May 07, 2015 at 12:56 pm

After driving a Toyota Landcruiser ll for 14 years on road and off road, i totally agree with you that a body-on-frame is much better for pick up trucks than monocoque chassis.

• Same L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 2:30 pm

As I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

With our new Hilux, your life and wallet are safe.

• ah jib gor on May 07, 2015 at 7:43 am

don’t rejoice yet, knowing how cheapskate umw. even if Thai got vsc, there’s a big possibility msia wouldn’t get it. or, they will fit it as additional safety package, which require u to top up several thousands of ringgit. anyway, pickup truck with vsc in m’sia (for now) is only the Ranger & Colorado. sigh..

• littlefire on May 07, 2015 at 9:08 am

Isuzu D-Max do have ESC & TSC for the 2.5L 4X4 range and above also..

http://www.isuzu.net.my/dmax-doublecab.php?id=106

• Pickup lover on May 07, 2015 at 1:54 pm

where you pull those facts? D max and MAZDA BT50 do have VSC.

• Obviously (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 9:35 am

You mean the rear blower on the center arm-rest? That doesn’t necessarily mean that it is a monocoque body. The body can have many airways, after all.

• same lorr on May 07, 2015 at 6:54 am

Buy toyota better. Good RV. Avoid kimchi & nasi lemak cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • karam singh on May 07, 2015 at 7:22 am

RV or safety ?
      which one u prefer ?
      Even the Preve head on with Vios, Vios not gonna survive
      on the crash.
      So… Toyota Passo aka Myvi now very famous family killer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 8:41 am

Sam Loo when is the booking open?

Can I trade in my Hyundai?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 07, 2015 at 9:27 am

Only take Sonata and Elantra now.

Gestation rate for i10, Santa Fe and Tucson very low, so have more stock than needed now

• Tsungprajaleun on May 07, 2015 at 8:42 am

First time on earth, the greatest phenomena, see the proof in showrooms all over the country on the 22, 23, 24 this may.

• Sam L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 9:01 am

New Hailat is the new masterpiece created by Toyota. Queuing up for your ordering fast!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Obviously (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 9:45 am

So…the new Hilux is made in collaboration with aliens? How much share do they have in Toyota?

More importantly, since these aliens are technologically advanced enough to make spaceships, I expect this new Hilux to have electric motors in each wheel powered by a plasma-fusion core that never needs refueling, ok? And with autopilot technology, it must be self-driving too.

Finally moving forward, huh? Justifies its RV, I guess.

• Same lorrrr and Sam Loo are gonna have something to talk about this…
    That side, please ditch the Dino 4-speeders and throw in 6-speed in for good. And while we are on that.. ABS VCS and EBD

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 07, 2015 at 3:29 pm

I trade Sonata and Elantra only as off this week.

Anything else is sidetalk.

Making money is the first priority.

Hilux is a tool to tell sorhai tailangong kimchi owners that they are hailat oledi. Saves some time and breath

• ThaiExpert on May 07, 2015 at 11:50 am

The second image is correct per Tsungprajaleun.
    The first image says –

“Toyota is inviting the speCial people like you.
    To witness the veHIcle of the future
    The Revolutionary of design in every degree, cAtching eyes in every inch,
    Experience the neW power with the intelligent engine, a privilege from Toyota.
    Test oUt the aDvantage of the stability, challenge the new dimension of control.”

Feel the driving experience by yourself and receive a gift*
    This May 22-23-24
    Pretty much like that

• UMW Mampus on May 07, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Yes, throw in the DRLs, front parking sensor, leather upholstering, push start button, reverse camera, auto wiper, auto air-cond, anti snatch hook and all other bling-blings.

ESP, HHA, TC, BA, more airbags? Nahhhh.. no need for that, we still can sell, UMW says. Just look at all the new VIOS buyers we have!

• melvin on May 09, 2015 at 12:59 pm

why is the manual versions lower powered?