Existing traffic laws enough to keep roads safe – IGP

1610923_963118703732951_4294408694917185179_n

Inspector-general of police (IGP) Tan Sri Khalid Abdul Bakar has said that current traffic regulations are sufficient to ensure the safety of road users, according to a Malay Mail report. “Our laws are sufficient. If someone drives dangerously, we can catch them and they can be imprisoned,” he was quoted as saying.

He also said that the problem with fatal crashes like the May 2 incident – in which three people, including a six-month-old baby, were killed when their Mitsubishi Pajero Sport collided with a pair of Perodua Myvis allegedly street racing – were not caused by inadequate laws, but rather the challenge of detecting illegal racers before committing the crime, as a lot of these races were unplanned.

“They [illegal racers] intentionally choose the place where there is no police presence… Their illegal races aren’t planned where we can make preparations to take action against them,” he added, noting, however, that all divisions within the police force have been mobilised to investigate the incident.

The crash happened in the early hours of Saturday morning on the Duta-Ulu Klang Expressway (DUKE), during which both Myvis from a local car club are said to have been involved in a six-car race.

One of the drivers involved in the crash, however, reportedly put the blame of the accident on the victims, saying that the Pajero Sport cut into her lane, causing her to lose control of her vehicle. Since the incident, the police has called up 11 people for questioning, and have released the two Myvi drivers on bail.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sandiwara (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 9:20 am

We’ve plenty of laws, the only thing lacking is enforcement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Gargantia on May 07, 2015 at 9:39 am

His action in the past has made millions of us having the same view about him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 2:29 pm

No seatbelt worn, nothing happened.
        Street racing, nothing happened.
        Accident happened people die, nothing happened.

Anything anti-BN/government, something MUST happened.

They rather watch your words on fb than enforcing the law on the roads. Their principle: As long as we are still the government, you die you own problem. Thank you IGP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 07, 2015 at 10:08 am

…and too much of corruption.

• winliaolor on May 07, 2015 at 1:06 pm

I believe it’s mostly the mindset of the people. Even with high fines, “rich” people are still speeding like nobody’s business.

• superboy on May 07, 2015 at 9:23 am

i believe his statement apply on himself merely.

• Areyousure on May 07, 2015 at 9:24 am

No point of having law, not enforcing, but abuse it!

• stevencheong on May 07, 2015 at 9:25 am

Law may enough but law enforcer sure not.

• road user on May 07, 2015 at 9:26 am

ya betul…the existing regulations are enuf…just lacking of enforcement actions….

• Obviously (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 9:30 am

LOL, the MyVi driver is victim blaming…

Their race caused 3 deaths and they blame the dead for bad driving…which might be true, but it doesn’t make them any less wrong at all. Shame on this victim blamer for trying to shift the blame away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • AcerMan on May 07, 2015 at 9:56 am

Since both is wrong, the Pajero driver already got his punishment. Death. What punishment the Myvi drivers getting? Curious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Moving Forward on May 07, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Blamer gonna blame and loser gonna lose.. If they lost to the legendary yet fictitious Takumi they gonna say.. Hey it’s not fair you’re driving a 86.. or they might even end up saying… Hey not fair we’re not in the same skill level… Lolz

• in the other way, I felt like our road laws are here aimed to suck road user money rather than prioritizes for our safety, look at AES and brainless speed limit that you need to put on break all the way to keep within the speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2015 at 9:38 am

The IGP is spewing nonsence yet again. I’m not one that takes his words seriously.

the issue here is not about illegal racing but the lack of safety conciousness with drivers in general, especially about young children.

After all that publicity, another child was killed after being thrown out in a crash, just a few days later. Which shows a tidak apa attitude typically labeled on malaysians.

They still don’t wear seatbelts, they still don’t secure thier child properly. While there are seatbelt laws, its not enforced properly…and there are NO LAWs about the use of child seats.

I don’t know why child seats are not popular, expense is not an issue, they cost a fraction of a new handphone and you can find locally made ones and used ones for cheap. I have 4 child seats and 1 booster seat (2 new, 3 hand me downs) used by my 2 kids, in 3 different cars.

Like I said, i don’t take the IGP seriously. what say Customs about abolishing Custom duties on imported child seats? (30 + 10, last time, now 30 + 6), I bring my seats back from the US so I avoid taxes, but not many would have that opportunity to do so.

• mehhh on May 07, 2015 at 1:09 pm

if give more summons, road block or put more AES camera

you bash PDRM gangster brainless causing traffic jam, government no money so need to collect more summon or crony take advantage

• Implement tax rebate on safer cars so that mandatory safety equipment such as vsc / collision detection braking could be implemented without skyjacking the selling price of cars?

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Of course.

Unfortunately, there is a reason why PDRM gets all that flack….and not all of it is uncalled for.

I was never against the AES. Just how it is managed, and by who.

You go take safety as an excuse into a money making scheme, sure people will bising.

• thepolygonal on May 07, 2015 at 9:38 am

Please just saman those emergency lane cutters and traffic lights beaters during rush hour. They are gods in their own car and couldn’t care less to queue and follow the law or what happened to other road users. We need more eyes on the road.

• donkey J on May 07, 2015 at 10:25 am

In order to enforcement, malaysian drive mind is unbearable as most are heat temper and ignorance, prior to fix with driver attention of self behavior and improve road structure and condition.

• CyberPatrol on May 07, 2015 at 10:07 am

Three lives perish, i just want to hear the verdict of story who responsible. No solution in sight, rate of accidents have not decreased and daily day in-out we witness reckless driving.

Mr. IGP, may I suggest that you invest in action cameras mounted on car and ask volunteer (good citizen) to record all actions on the on road for your team to pick up offenders. I hope this resolved issues of lack of manpower.

• Low Budget on May 07, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Its about time the Gomen require all vehicles to be fitted with front and back video cameras as a standard accessory for all cars.

• isuzuki on May 07, 2015 at 10:17 am

Look who’s talking

• concerned driver on May 07, 2015 at 10:36 am

The laws are there. Correct. Implementation? Where?
    The traffic police are pretty much lazy. They just do easy jobs. Speed trap, road block. They don’t really hunt other traffickers that:
    1) cutting queue
    2) change lanes without signal (even some did give signal, but if other oncoming cars is faster, doesn’t give the right to jump in. Let them pass first.
    3) no 3rd brake lights
    4) running red lights
    5) hogging the right lane
    6) stop in yellow boxes…….etc. There are a lot!

Hard to catch these offenders, i know. But why didn’t they put more CCTV? Look at what Singapore is doing. At least 3 CCTV’s every 500m (more or less..), even CCTV installed outside of their public buses.
    If the police are lazy enough, just sit and monitor those CCTV.
    The recordings shown on DUKE during the time of the crash, yes we can see those myvis are racing. No doubt. But, do we ever thing that maybe the Pajero change lanes without signal?
    Looking at the graphic on newspaper, if really the pajero was on its lane, the chance of getting hit are lower.
    *p/s i’m not a myvi driver. Just a random citizen.

• Lance on May 07, 2015 at 10:48 am

Whatever he says, no one will take it serious anyway. This guy has no credibility.

• Low Budget on May 07, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Pretty good at tweeting issuing warnings but not so good at asking his macais to catch traffic offenders.
      I been driving at 90 KM/H for years and years on Federal highway (Klang-KL) and never been caught for speeding, I am willing to pay the RM300 fine if caught but they are not interested. Ha,ha,ha.. They are more interested in escorting the VIPs and kick my car door if I am a bit late in giving them way.

• I have been driving the same route for years but i go usually 110km/h or more only when the road is not busy. Never once i got a saman despite the fact a lot of signboards saying speed camera is located.

• His statement is so dumb “They [illegal racers] intentionally choose the place where there is no police presence…”. Of course they choose no police location.

Then he “all divisions within the police force have been mobilised to investigate the incident”. Another stupid and unproductive moves. Wouldn’t it be more productive and make good use of police resources by setup a special unit with few police to investigate?

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2015 at 12:18 pm

There has been illegal street racing as long as there has been cars.

it is IMPOSSIBLE to eliminate street racing. How do they differentiate between street racing and a group of people simply driving fast? Go up any night up Genting and you’d see a bunch. I don’t see the IGP doing anything.

Why not provide an avenue for these people to blow off some steam? Sepang used to be affordable. Now its priced right off many people’s budget.

At any day and any time on the NSE, you’d see high speed cars, sometimes even in a impromptu loose “convoy” going 160++ (higher than the top speed of normal myvis), any of these would have caused the same accident.

As i have said before, and will say it again. its not the street racing that’s the issue here, its the loss of life, particularly of the infant which is so jarring.

The Pajero could have gotten itself involved in a single car accident and the outcome would have been the same.

The IGP is barking up the wrong tree. While I don’t condone driving recklessly on the streets, the Exora case which saw another infant being killed, was it street racing as well????

• kadajawi (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 12:13 pm

The problem is the lack of enforcement and the lack of knowledge of the rules.

Things that contribute to accidents are right lane overtaking, not sticking to the rule that you have to stay on the right lane unless overtaking (regardless of the speed you are driving), not wearing seatbelts, decorating rear windows until you can’t see a damn thing anymore, not using the lights properly (fog lights that are aimed too high, headlights that are aimed to high, using foglight instead of headlights, or using everything, not turning on headlights at night or during rain, not maintaining the lights of the car properly, especially rear lights and brakes), and other acts of random behavior.

Instead they only focus on speed. While that makes sense and should be enforced, it is by far not the only problem in Malaysia. Besides Germany has proven that speed and big speed differences don’t have to be dangerous, if people are used to it and drive in a predictable way. If people pay attention to their surroundings some faster drivers would not be an issue at all.

What is needed is police patrols on the roads and highways looking for all sorts of illegal behavior. They need to be equipped with cameras to record it, and the evidence needs to be saved in a way that the cops can’t delete it. It is then looked at by other people who make sure the cops didn’t get bribed (the cops need to deliver the money to the police station, including the time in the records where the proof is, and at the end of the month they get paid their bonuses for every offender caught). To protect people without video evidence you don’t have to pay a cent.

• paparadzi (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 11:54 pm

“Things that contribute to accidents are right lane overtaking, not sticking to the rule that you have to stay on the right lane unless overtaking…….”

I’m sure you’ve got the side wrong here, unless you’re driving in America or continental Europe.

• IGP mom on May 07, 2015 at 1:50 pm

When the police themselves speed like no tomorrow, beating traffic lights at the wave of a hand even when they are not chasing after any cars, what hope do we have that they will enforce any traffic rules? Apart from being escort and issuing “sila beri laluan” and pointing fingers to anyone who dare to hog any longer, what else is left with traffic police image?

• Norman Cheong on May 07, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Malaysia has ZERO enforcement despite having very good laws. I probably personally know at least 20 people who DO NOT follow the traffic laws on a daily basis but nothing has ever happened. Also personally know someone who DOES NOT know how to park a car, racked up 80 summonses from a reputable municipal council and got off it for a mere RM200. I myself may or may not have not followed the rules and regulation but never once got caught or paid a fine. Malaysia, the world where enforcement does not exist. If i get caught breaking the law, i would gladly serve my punishment but unfortunately in Malaysia you only get punished if you commit a certain crime or you cant afford to buy your way out. These people managing the country will fall sooner or later. Just a matter of time

• SaveTheEarth on May 08, 2015 at 12:57 am

Why still twisting when you putting people in risk. Such a statement you made, you treat Malaysian like idiots. In fact you portraying yourself even worse when you think you are smart. Do you know something will need to pay back if not now then in future.