F30 BMW 3 Series LCI – first official photos surfaced!

f30-lci-leak-0007

We’ve been waiting for the facelifted (LCI) F30 BMW 3 Series for quite some time, and now first pictures of the updated compact exec benchmark have surfaced on the internet in both sedan and Touring forms. Evidently, this is a fairly minor update, even by BMW’s blink-and-you’ll-miss-it standards.

From what we can see, the exterior features a mildly-rejigged face with squared-off corners, a reprofiled lower air intake and new, optional full-LED headlights (previously available only on the M3, which shares its front end with the M4). Moving back, the tail lights are now fully LED and have reshaped light guides, while the rear bumper has been redesigned with a wider lower trim piece.

Two trim lines can be seen here – Sport features a single horizontal silver trim on the sides of the lower air intake, as well as the gloss black grille slats; Luxury, on the other hand has chrome grille slats, bumper trim and window trim. The M Sport pack features the same aggressive front and rear bumper design as before.

It’s interesting to note that the blue car shown here also features blue M-badged brake callipers, hitherto reserved for cars fitted with the M Sport pack, mid-tier M Performance models (like the M235i) and full-on M cars.

Inside, the modifications are even harder to spot – differences here are limited to white graphics for the climate control display (previously amber), gloss black trim surrounding the audio and climate control switchgear, silver air vent surrounds as well as what appears to be a sliding lid for the front cupholders – this differs from the lid on the old car, which you had to stow in the glove box compartment.

Technical details will have to wait for the official unveiling, but we do spot a new 340i badge on some of these cars – this hints at a new 3.0 litre B58 turbocharged straight six, replacing the current N55 mill on the outgoing 335i. The rest of BMW’s new family of turbo engines – a 1.5 litre B38 three-pot and a 2.0 litre B48 four-pot, both of which made their debut on the F56 MINI 3 Door – are also expected to feature.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• mr1031 on May 07, 2015 at 4:40 pm

that’s all??

next time just camouflage the head & tail lamp la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • sohhai on May 07, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Better yet, camouflage the damn lazy designer for doing a poor facelift job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Onanodus on May 07, 2015 at 5:42 pm

It’s a facelift, not an all-new model. I wouldn’t expect a lot of changes. I must say they have done a decent job for the facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
        • noncompetentdesigner on May 07, 2015 at 11:15 pm

BMW designers have no new ideas, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 series all same front.
          They should be sacked

• sammy on May 07, 2015 at 6:00 pm

No need camo also I doubt anyone can spot the difference lah.
      The accessories shop in jinjiang could probably do a better facelifting job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 4:40 pm

It looks just like one of the million (ok, im exaggerating) F30s on the road now. The Merc C Class, Lexus IS & Cadillac ATS still look way better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • VW_rocks on May 07, 2015 at 6:33 pm

I certainly admire the way how BMW has keep their design. Undoubted. BMW does makes one of the best car in the business.

• nomercplz on May 07, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Merc C class?!?!!

Are you kidding me. The designer ran out of creativity juice and merely shrink an S class and call it the new C class. Its such an ugly car if you ask me.

• the class-leading bimmer is back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • bmw 2years on May 07, 2015 at 4:41 pm

1.5 3 cylinders. Interesting.

Most importantly BMWm is still giving 2 TWO years warranty.

• No more Value on May 07, 2015 at 6:29 pm

BMW gives 2 years warranty, sell like hot cake.
      Merc gives 4 years warranty, only Ah Pek want to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • bmwbreakdown on May 07, 2015 at 11:17 pm

No wonder many new Bimmer sold at mudah. Everyone wants to ditch off their cars before problems come.

• sudonano (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Unsurprisingly a small visual change. I think the new headlights fit the 3 well but the new light guides are a bit off for me. Prefer the older more classic style in the pre LCI.

The new M Sport rims are pretty cool though. More polished look to the metal.

How will the 3 hold against the C? Simple. It is gonna be having a more powerful engine lineup especially with the new B series engine. Won’t be the most flashy looking but I am quite sure it would still leave the C behind by being the driver’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • wiwiwiwiw on May 07, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Does it matter? We still get only 2 year manufacturer warranty

• cendol (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Does the 2-year warranty undergo LCI and become 4-year warranty?

• xbeangen on May 07, 2015 at 6:32 pm

What?!??! Fully LED on a facelift model ? Goshhh .. I just gave my deposit last week …

• phail on May 07, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Oh well you should have researched before purchasing. we all know that the LCI will have LEDs

• Is it me or from this angle it looks like the 4 series gran coupe http://paultan.org/2015/05/07/f30-bmw-3-series-lci-first-official-photos-surfaced/f30-lci-leak-0002/

• olddesign on May 07, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Nowadays they are too lazy to design and cut cost, every bimmer looks same

• This is gonna fight the the new class? Hahaha #joke but thanks to malaysian pricing.. ppl will buy this instead #BN

• Price drop anyone? Hehehe