Volkswagen Jetta Club, Sport Edition launched – prices begin at RM122,888, RM132,888, respectively

volkswagen-jetta-limited-edition-sport 2

Teased some time ago and captured in a pre-launch gallery post, the Volkswagen Jetta Limited Edition has finally been unveiled. The Jetta LE is available in two flavours, the Jetta Sport Edition and Jetta Club Edition – both variants are limited to 500 units. First off, the Jetta Sport Edition you see here is, in essence, a spruced-up version of the CKD Jetta 1.4 TSI launched back in 2014.

Exterior goodies found on the Jetta Sport Edition over the standard car include a five-piece Volkswagen Zubehör bodykit, comprised of a front chin spoiler, side skirts, a subtle rear lip spoiler and a sportier, diffuser-like rear bumper. In profile, the Jetta Sport Edition now sports 17-inch “Silex” twin five-spoke alloy wheels, shod with 225/45 Goodyear Assurance TripleMax tyres – an inch larger than the 16-inchers found on the regular Jetta.

Elsewhere, the Jetta Sport Edition is equipped with Llumar window film. On the inside, matters remain status quo with the exception of a new Blaupunkt Philadelphia 835 seven-inch touchscreen head unit mounted on the centre console – said system includes GPS navigation capabilities.

Under the bonnet, the Jetta Sport Edition soldiers on with the same twin-charged (turbo/supercharged) 1.4 litre TSI four-cylinder engine. Said mill produces a total power output of 158 hp at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. Paired to a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch gearbox, the C-segment contender sprints from 0-100 km/h in 8.3 seconds before hitting a top whack of 221 km/h.

Click to enlarge.

Moving on to the Jetta Club Edition (not pictured at launch, unfortunately), said variant forgoes the 17-inch wheels and bodykit but carries over the aforementioned window film treatment and Blaunpunkt touchscreen head unit. As surmised, the Jetta Club features the same mechanical innards as the regular Jetta 1.4 TSI.

In terms of safety kit, both variants present the same amount of features as that of the Jetta 1.4 TSI. That equates to a total of six airbags, ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, ESP, hill-hold control and Isofix child seat anchors on the rear seats. Colour schemes include Candy White, Reflex Silver, Platinum Grey and Deep Black.

Prices for the Volkswagen Jetta Sport Edition begin at RM132,888 with GST excluding on-the-road costs – which is a full RM2,000 cheaper than the regular Jetta 1.4 TSI. On the other hand, the Jetta Club Edition allows for a more affordable point of entry into the Jetta ownership circle with a price tag of RM122,888 inclusive of GST sans on-the-road costs.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Lololol on May 07, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Don’t give a f*ck edition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
    • Areyousure on May 07, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Not sure why are you here also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Lololol on May 07, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Tsk Tsk Tsk… u are so insecure and unsure about yourself….. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • VW produce very low quality car so think twice before booking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
      • Improve on May 08, 2015 at 3:09 pm

did you know many many testing to be done by Group Quality Assurance management before they launched the new car… Every car is assure to build in good quality before they start producing. Come on common sense pls dnt just simply bash~~~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • george on May 18, 2015 at 4:51 pm

how come low quality leh? i drive vw too.. but so far im still satisfied with my car

• DonkeyKong on May 08, 2015 at 2:07 am

With comments like these, Paultan.org might as well do away with comment moderation.. the admins don’t seem to have any interest at all to maintain the comments section as a constructive discussion area. Every useless basher and idiot gets his/her say and are making these comment threads worse than shitty forum pages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
      • dsgneedstowtruck on May 08, 2015 at 8:38 am

But without Same Lorrrr stupid jokes the forum is not funny to read. Do you have tow truck phone number?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • DonkeyKong on May 08, 2015 at 1:57 pm

That low-brow infantile ah beng crap is considered funny? Well, horses for courses I guess

• Dear Donkey,

That’s why even an ass like u dropping “poo” comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • DonkeyKong on May 08, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Yup, comments like saying you’re a lowly-educated bumpkin who can’t get a decent job and afford a decent car?

• Whats the matter? Your butthurt issit? Of did your donkey konged…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • DonkeyKong on May 08, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Butthurt? Over what? Proves you’re not even reading jack shit and just want to put in a word. Typical of idiots with lousy education and jobs

• Correct on May 08, 2015 at 9:43 am

True…. even idiots like you get a say….

• DonkeyKong on May 08, 2015 at 1:55 pm

..while geniuses like you get a say, too, but end up talking cock

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 12:38 am

nice try vw salesman

• JB_KIA on May 08, 2015 at 9:02 am

tsk..tsk. look at the interior…is this an east Europe car?

• Albert on May 08, 2015 at 9:04 am

I really don’t comprehend why people still fall in love with VW cars INSPITE of LOADS of COMPLAINTS about their after sales service.
      Duped buyers cursed their decision to buy VW cars after being told to wait 2-3 months for simple spare parts….umpteen times we have read in this car forum.
      Aren’t there better alternatives…Sushi or Kimchi…or even bankrupt soon Protong ?
      Even a blind man knows how to avoid a deep shit hole by using his walking stick.VW car buyers can’t see any difference and prefer to buy into TROUBLE.YOU CALL THIS PRESTIGE, gaya,syiok sendiri syndrome ?
      Don’t buy any VW cars…A MORATORIUM…UNTIL very low sales force them to wake up and stock up sufficient parts.Then you decide to buy or not to buy…this makes more sense,right ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • KiraGil on May 08, 2015 at 3:59 pm

U can’t stop others to buy VW cars. Somehow ppl still consider to buy.

• as a user myself, the DSG is kinda of addictive, go test 1

• wiwiwiwiw on May 07, 2015 at 8:44 pm

1) Tintings
    2) Bodykits
    3) Large wheels
    Are too Perodua, UMW Toyota, Tan Chong Nissan or Isuzu for me. Meaning squeezing profit margins.

Where are the…
    1) Leather seats?
    2) Paddleshifters?
    3) Xenon headlights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • wiwiwiwiw on May 08, 2015 at 1:42 am

Not to forget full 5-year manufacturer warranty, and not 2 year manufacturer and an extended 3-year insurance warranty.

• sudonano (Member) on May 07, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Oh yep. Stock clearance all over it.

Looks like VW Malaysia is stealing a page from Perodua’s playbook eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Billy on May 07, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Keller losing his job soon and crying in his own pant. VW should have deep deep deep regret to license HICOM mass producing VW here. End up, gotta lower the price 3 times (from 150K, 135K to 122K) with the topping of freebies (bigger rims, tinting and better player)

• roxas on May 07, 2015 at 10:25 pm

super exaggerated bodykit is needed like the 1.5extreme to sell.. haha

• hahaha on May 08, 2015 at 10:01 am

probably poached all their execs, designers and marketing strategist…

• Sam L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 9:13 pm

2015 or 2014? Got 0% interest campaign? We Toyota selling 2015 for long time already lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • vwsasamlor on May 07, 2015 at 11:32 pm

If you dun have money buy Vios lor. Dun waste our time

• taknakToyota on May 07, 2015 at 11:39 pm

But still only several new altis and new camry on roads. Porsche Cayennes are more to be seen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • spongewai on May 07, 2015 at 9:16 pm

hmm, buy one after few days or weeks DSG cracked down

less than half year sell it to used car dealer expected to RM90k lol

haih, no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Malaysian_Slut on May 07, 2015 at 9:33 pm

You’re such a low life. Why still sell to 2nd hand market? Use it to hit hard at some Myvi on DUKE to total it!

• Volkswagen… th

• Winson on May 08, 2015 at 12:33 am

If you never drive volkswagen before dun talk cock here.. always dsg dsg… they had fixed the problem since 2013!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • failgearbox on May 08, 2015 at 8:40 am

Still some owners complain here his new VW got prob. Problem solved? I dun think so. What about rages in FB?

• come on la, how you ensure that all the fb complain is posted by REAL VW owner. THey are just bunch of idiot VW haters. Come to think of it, if is really the real vw owner, I don’t think they got such free time to go fb and put those silly complain. They must complain to the SC when they sent their car to fix it to get more details! right???

• Kenny on May 08, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Real VW owners have plenty of time to go to facebook while waiting for their cars to be fixed in SC. For those whose cars are immobilized in VGM workshops they have plenty of time at home as they have no transport to go out and enjoy with their friends. So your argument falls flat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Joker Kenny on May 14, 2015 at 11:17 am

Lol! this joker kenny think that VW owner only have 1 car! Funny la! If the person can really afford a VW I dnt think that they have only 1 car lo. Like they got no more spare vehicle from their family memebers. Even a proton owner also can afford 2-3 vehicles. no transport? have you ever heard of courtesy car? :)

• Then why is there still aplenty of DSG-related breakdown cases now in 2015? lol

• george on May 18, 2015 at 5:02 pm

i dont think they are real.. mayb is some of those vw haters bad spreading rumours

• Acrix on May 08, 2015 at 9:29 am

You are the one that’s talking cock here. If DSG problem is solved why my 2013 Scirocco 1.4 had DSG problem twice and my brother 2014 Golf 1.4 had DSG problem within a year. The problem has never been fixed and it is still the main issue with VW. Not to mention each time got DSG problem have to park the car at the service center for at least 6-8 weeks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • because ur car model CBU, the fixed issue car is CKD model which is 2014 and above

• sooo hai winson on May 08, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Maybe you are one of the lucky guy but did not mean you can represent for the majority.

• Areyousure on May 07, 2015 at 9:18 pm

I think the bodykits are ugly.I would vote for Club edition.

• sambalbabi on May 07, 2015 at 9:57 pm

with all the issues with their DSG, can’t they make do with conventional auto box?

strange that i’ve yet to hear any Bruneian owner complaint about their DSG, period.

• because too little there buy DSG lahh bro…VW in Brunei like saga 1986 lahh…they can afford more better car there hayya wake up and smell the world

• sambalbabi on May 10, 2015 at 8:58 pm

clearly you have nuts knowledge of bruneian.

go back to your cave please.

• Pangeran Muda on May 11, 2015 at 1:17 pm

vw also do the conventional auto transmission for their car bro. u can check it on polo 1.6 mpi and polo sedan too.

• Arell on May 07, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Might as well be VW Jetta Gulung Tikar Edition…

• Volkswagen but Proton quality.
    Rm120k is overpriced.

Not worth the money.

• elson on May 07, 2015 at 10:52 pm

why this saga sell so expensive?

• seancorr (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 2:07 am

Price cuts and extra freebies from VW aren’t new…since they are the only brand here in Bolehland which always hike their entire lineup price list with lame excuses.

So VW Malaysia…pls stop increasing your prices else you’ll need to do more of these promos to attract customers.

• LOLOL on May 08, 2015 at 6:21 am

WOW! So affordable you can get 2!!! Guess you need to, especially when VGM doesnt honor its warranty, the second unit will come in handy for spare parts LOL

• Kipas angin on May 08, 2015 at 6:36 am

Sume yg komen ni bukan penah pakai vw pun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • TheDean on May 08, 2015 at 7:25 am

Still no DRL? Price is very cheap though for 1.4 turbo. My first Jetta (version before this one) cost 185k.

• where are mine... on May 08, 2015 at 7:59 am

Where is the push start button? Where is the paddle shift? DRL.. XENON.. and leather seat..? Are those reserved for special edition? C’mon VW..
    Pls do something…

• VW Must Improve CSR on May 08, 2015 at 8:22 am

Indeed,VW is a good car.
    Spec, performance, quality is good for CBU unit.
    However, reliability, after sales service, DRB CKD assembly quality are poor.

I m a passat owner, I would say the ride is one of the best in the D segment if compare with Accord, Camry, Maxda 6. Only Mondeo can surpass passat which priced below 200k mark.

Unfortunately, VW & it’s dealer works poor on after sales service.

To sell more VW and penatrate malaysia market,
    what VW should do is improve it’s CKD & after sales service quality.

Jetta would be in my consideration interms of twin charger engine, fast shift DSG (Hope VW improve), 6 bags, ESP, firm ride. From the spec given, it’s unbeatable in C segment.

*Whisper to VW*
    To sell more Jetta, make sure u solve the DSG problems with longer warranty (10 years) to gain customer confidnt.
    Monitor DRB hicom properly to avoid rattle dash, poor windows/doors rubber to reduce wind noise.

I bet, VW will be top selling with such price.
    If they really work hard and effective to solve above problems that current owner’s experience.

• vwtakguna on May 08, 2015 at 8:51 am

Giving 10 years warranty also no use if the car stays in SC more than on road

• VW SRSLY on May 08, 2015 at 9:21 am

NO ESP for 100k plus? What now? Vios brother? Sorry, and no thanks!

• How many VW owner here?

• Kontikinte on May 08, 2015 at 10:01 am

Imma interested
    Look smart and turbo some more. Great torque for sedan car

Dunno about DSG is it happen in bolehland only?
    Could be the driver error?
    I believe not all having this issue

• VW could not do this to Malaysian. Hey Malaysian Wake up!!!
    Already proven 7speed DSG have problem in Malaysia yet VW urge to sell this to clear up stock buy put some make up and offer some price incentive. COme on lahhh VW!! Come on lah Malaysian!!

1) Settle up your backlog in service centre first. Get your customer confident and trust back VW!!! Value them!! Understand their feel after you sold them Lemon!! How can you serve them like “melepaskan batuk ditangga” after you sold them problematic DSG come on!!!

2) Solve the DSG problem for your in stock model first!!! Dont sell it by put some makeup!!! Or your interest shceme or anything alike!! You have to either change to 6 speed gearbox or anythingelse that can solve the problem first!!! Shame on your marketing strategy, all of you making the decision to sell this 7speed DSG knowing the problem later for the customer.

3) After all, VW produces excellent car and yet Golf titled Car of the Year 2013. However, the unsolved problematic 7 speed DSG gearbox in Malaysia yet those greedy marketing keen to sell them and poor after sales service makes the image of VW in Malaysia down level with Proton.

We Malaysian hope for VW Malaysia to wake up, hear us and appreciate us as customer. Do not sell lemon to us. We had enough.

Sincerely,

Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Now the SC has really improved a lot. They even call me and provide solution.

• seman on May 08, 2015 at 10:33 am

easy to sell those Protonish VW, just put price below 100k for all model & wait for the gazillion booking

• Das Autar on May 08, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Whatever “sport edition”, you will eventually end-up in their Service Center “club”. Pay your monthly installments while the car sleeps in their SC. Welcome to Visit Workshop (VW) club.

• Abang Ustaz on May 11, 2015 at 1:32 pm

hahaa. your words mean the others car did not end up in their service centre too. all cars had their own problems and issues. doesnt matter what manufactures it was. local cars japanese cars, korean cars also many seen end up in their service centre too. haha

• unforgiven on May 08, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Pls do more to improve the after sales sevice, plenty of rooms for improvements, reliability is always a main concern since the car price is so high (× numbers of years to pay off the loan), not forgetting we are low income earner in global perspective. Minus the cronies and corrupted folks.

• xbeangen on May 09, 2015 at 7:55 pm

UGLY ENOUGH

• Johnny on May 09, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Volkswagen jetta
    even more lousy than a ford focus..

Sigh..

• Mommy on May 12, 2015 at 12:29 pm

you never drive these two car before and you come up a conclusion? How’s fabulous! lol

• Samlok on May 09, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Well vw u can keep the car.

• Kelvin Yam on May 11, 2015 at 2:48 pm

My golf with dsg problem, fixed with 2 months plus.
    Dealer provided proton saga for temporary use, good service!

• isaac on Jul 11, 2015 at 5:13 pm

any 2015 jetta owner who can verify with the solved dsg problem?

• alex tan on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:37 pm

yes dsg issue have been solved, most of the commentators here have not even test drive or been driven in a VW jetta before for sure. just like to bash..most likely a saleperson of competitor brand.
    EVERY brand that appears in PT news will GET bash..have u guys noticed?.. :D, the worst is proton/toyota/perodua..

Before i decided to go for jetta,ive test drive a few model in the segment.
    1. Civic – nice interior, spacious
    2. Altis – So so only- uncle taste
    3. Mazda 3 – nice dashboard layout with unique multimedia interface, Handling is good.
    4. Ford focus – nice interior and design. handling is good
    5. Cerato – gadget packs, full acessories handling is ok lah
    6. elantra – Nice dashboard, handling is ok lah
    basically, all the engine is ok – except focus is more powerfull

Then the last stop, i went to VW show room, just to complete my search for my old mazda 2 replacement.
    test drive a jetta- Woaahhhhh, a very very different driving experiance from the japanese & korean cars!!.

straight away booking – that was 3 month ago!..thankfully i went to VW showroom at the last minute, if not i will be same as most commentators here..never drive but complaint complaint & bash..hahaha.

if anyone in search for this segment, please..do test drive a jetta..im not a salesperson, but u will not know until u drive it.

• Hi alex tan. Care to share your experience now with jetta? How’s the service? Any problem? Is it 2015 or 2014 manufactured? How is it comparing with cerato / forte 1.6sx? Currently i own forte 1.6. I figure to try change to jetta. Is it any better ? Or worse?

• JuSoH on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:42 pm

I booked Jetta yesterday…
    I think never regret after do the test drive
    :)

• JuSoH on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:43 pm

I just booked Jetta yesterday after did test drive..

Really good performance car…

• Wolfsburg on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:11 pm

congrats on the new purchase. I purchased mine in end 2014. I love the technology that goes into this car – the twincharged (supercharged & turbocharged) engine and dsg gearbox, the technology will never go out of date. the car is serving me well and it has such tremendous amount of power coming from a small TSI engine. to all those critics here, those are false comments pretending to be owners, they never owned a VW to begin with. The only thing I could wish for was it has LED DRL