Next Porsche 911 GT, RS to focus on weight, not power – engines to stay NA, and manual ‘box will be back!

porsche-911-gt3-rs-geneva-live-9

Porsche Motorsports manager, Andreas Preuninger has hinted that the development of future high performance Porsche 911 GT and RS models will be focussed on making them lighter, not more powerful.

“I’m not a believer in this horsepower monster, up, up, up, more, more, more,” said Preuninger to Car UK. He added that 500 hp is enough for the high performance machines, because any higher will call for bigger brakes, firmer suspension and heavier equipment in general. Making a car that has a better power-to-weight ratio with each new generation is more logical than say, adding a 50 hp power bump with each model, according to Preuninger.

Last but certainly not least, it appears the next GT and RS models will stick to naturally-aspirated engines, and that a manual transmission option will make a comeback, after the PDK-only current offerings. “I like atmospherical engines, because they are more linear, has better driveability, lighter, more emotional. In the future, we don’t want to discuss what is better (PDK or manual), we just want to offer both, so everybody should make up his mind and choose,” he said. Good lad, this Andreas Preuninger.

Porsche 911 GT3 driven in Sepang

Jared David

Despite his age, Jared David is an old soul in a young body. He eats, sleeps and breathes cars. When he is not attempting to finish his tertiary education, he can be found in workshops in Klang, tinkering with old school cars.

• Obviously (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 3:30 pm

“I like atmospherical engines, because they are more linear, has better driveability, lighter, more emotional…”

It’s like he just read my mind. And also, they’re more reliable than turbo’d engines.

Here’s hoping the tide of turbos will not wipe away magnificent NA engines.

• GT3 (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 10:13 pm

This is why it’s important to have a good driver working in motorsport/performance division of a manufacturer.
      Just like Toyota’s, the senior manager (can’t recall his name) in motorsport division also tries to drift the GT86 in dirt, even though he’s quite old. Same to Proton’s R3, we have Tengku Djan which is a very talented driver, only that Proton’s higher management that screws up ideas and visions from their engineers.
      Back to Porsche, I’m sure for next gen 911 in 2-3 years time, NA performance engine will become rare (even now). I guess other than Porsche, only Lambo would still offer NA?

• tinmilo on May 11, 2015 at 8:47 am

Djan was there because of his father… and all malaysian need to thank his father for the state of proton currently in.

• Obviously (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 3:36 pm

HM! Just noticed. Who’s this Jared David? The paultan.org new guy?

• sudonano (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Hmm just realised too…

Anyway back to the 911, kinda agree though. One of the reason why I have a soft spot for the Cayman GT4.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 08, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Baru tau………….Ol skol tech still da best coz ada “feel” lllaa brader. I guess Porsche lost quite a number of customer in terms of “Manual Kaki’s” coz if not, I don’t think Management will bother offer both. Anyway thumbs up for Andreas Preuninger for his vision in power to weight ratio. As HONDA always emphasize “POWER is NOTHING without CONTROL”.

• I’m not a believer in this horsepower monster, up, up, up, more, more, more,” said Preuninger to Car UK. He added that 500 hp is enough for the high performance machines, because any higher will call for bigger brakes, firmer suspension and heavier equipment in general. Making a car that has a better power-to-weight ratio with each new generation is more logical than say, adding a 50 hp power bump with each model, according to Preuninger.

The above statement is very true.. In real world, 500 hp is already considered powerful and the vehicle will become more powerful if they manage to reduce overall weight to the car while maintaining all its safety features. Unless you are driving on Sepang track or any tracks, you can’t go any faster on Malaysian road and even North South Highway due to the traffic and the speed trap. The 997 Carrera 4S which I’m currently driving is already sufficient to drive daily. And yes… Although turbo charged engine is the future but to me NA engine is always the best!!! Like they said “nothing beats displacement” :)
    If only Malaysia’s road tax structure is not based on engine capacity

• myvipower on May 08, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Myvi can beat your car for breakfast lunch dinner

• VHL Lorr on May 09, 2015 at 11:42 am

and get crushed up (with their internal organs hancur) once they crash, especially with those ‘Lagi Power Lagi Best’ 1.5.

At least the Porsche Motorsport division have knowledge and brain to make this statement unlike Berukdua, just put in more powerful 1.5L engine into Myvi chassis with stupid tagline ‘Lagi Power Lagi Best’ (i’d say Myvi chassis are more suitable with 1.0L engine instead considering the braking and handling it had currently) without upgrading other areas (comes with same shitty brakes and handling plus same skinny 14″ shoes with 175/65 series), that’s why i saw lots of Myvi that are crashed and totalled in P2 SC and it’s workshops (not sure whether the driver also went to Holland of Hell as well since most of them are drivers from hell, even can easily outrun a Merc A200 and Fiesta ST that i had drive before at open highway).

• myvibest on May 10, 2015 at 12:06 am

Then it’s true that Myvi is lagi power, coz can beat Funta STmah and Merclenovo A200

• VHL Lorr on May 10, 2015 at 9:09 pm

and high chance Myvi drivers going to Holland. Even if Myvi can outrun Fiesta ST and Merc A200 so what (i don’t really tekan at that time although i know they can’t even smell my smoke if i am really whack my throttle because i am not that stupid to race on public roads even with more superior cars, oh ya, i am not that kind of makan angin also at any other lane except left lane, once i saw any ‘lightning’ fast Berukdua cars, i will gladly let them pass, probably it’s their last moment of syok sendiri before going to Holland of Hell if anything happens)

• blackbox on May 08, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Colin Chapman :”I told you so…”
    Lotus knows that ages ago…..
    Fun>Fast

• Holofanboi on May 08, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Reading the comments, it feels reassuring to know there are still those into pure, high strung NA engines :3 …

Jared David is probably their cameraman who murdered jonathan.

• Jimmy on May 08, 2015 at 5:35 pm

The older you are, the more tendency for you to choose Panamera, or Cayenne.

• Lance on May 08, 2015 at 6:03 pm

100% agreed. It’s power to weight ratio that matters. Unfortunately many Malaysians still look at this hp thing and not the actual driving experience. And yes NA with big cc anytime better and sounds better too than that little turbo.

• KarTiN (Member) on May 10, 2015 at 10:48 pm

What I find interesting is Porsche is listening to its owners and fans. I am a fan of PDK and throughly love how nice and easy it is to go fast. My first Porsche was a triptronic and then the PDK, no comparison.

I feel slower in a manual but then I was a coward on track days anyway. However, they are bring the manual back so owners can choose from the two. Good for Porsche. Maybe some local ones could learn from it.