The BMW 3 Series – six generations over four decades

The BMW 3 Series – six generations over four decadesThe BMW 3 Series – six generations over four decades

Some say that life begins at forty. Barring any unforeseen developments, that will certainly apply to the BMW 3 Series. Not that the first half of the compact sport sedan’s life has been dull and insignificant – the 3er created the segment and has been the benchmark ever since. It is desired by many, winning new devotees to the temple of Bavaria with each generation.

It all started 40 years ago when Munich needed to replace the BMW 02. In July 1975, BMW rolled out the first 3 Series, a two-door sedan with a compact footprint and a sporty character. The E21 was powered by four-cylinder engines (1,573, 1,766 and 1,990 cc) with 316, 318, 320 and 320i model designations – ‘i’ stood for fuel-injection in a day when carburettor engines were the norm. Two years later, the segment’s first six-cylinder engine (320 and 323i) was introduced with all-round disc brakes.

A sporty drive was delivered by the E21’s McPherson front axle and independent wheel suspension on trailing arms and spring struts at the rear. The car’s cockpit was inclined towards the driver, and this feature has remained a BMW trademark till today.

You’ll spot an E21 on a lucky day, but the next-gen E30 is a more common sight. Still very compact by today’s standards, the E30 introduced a four-door sedan bodystyle (1983), a convertible and the first M3 (both 1985), plus a wagon in 1987. In addition, the first diesel (324d) and the first four-wheel drive (325iX) models were rolled out. The range expansion was very successful – more than 2.3 million units were sold from 1982 to 1990. Our Harve Singh owned a 1983 320i Coupe.

The next chapter was a big leap in sophistication and size. The E36 was launched as a four-door sedan in 1990, with a coupe following in 1992 before a convertible and the second BMW M3.

New six-pot engines came with two camshafts and four valves per combustion chamber, and VANOS made its debut in the E36. Also new to the nameplate was the 3 Series Compact of 1994, a stubby-tailed hatch based on the E30. Yours truly had an affair with a 1996 328i Sedan, still my favourite booted 3 Series shape.

The BMW 3 Series – six generations over four decades

The fourth-gen E46 (1998-2005) was an evolution of the E36, introducing more comfort and refinement to the familiar package. Innovations included double VANOS for a beefier torque curve and reduced emissions, common rail injection on the 330d diesel and the throttle-free load control system Valvetronic. Also new was an xDrive system that operated without conventional locking, the task being assumed by automatic, wheel-selective brake intervention instead.

We now come to the fifth-gen E90, which in our books, brought the Series back to its sportier roots. Efficiency was all the rage back in the noughties, and BMW launched its Efficient Dynamics strategy for better fuel economy and low emission levels in the E90’s era. High Precision Injection was combined with TwinPower Turbo and Valvetronic in the 335i. Brake energy regeneration and auto start stop were also introduced.

Nice and clean, but for this writer and colleague Jonathan James Tan, this generation’s E92 M3 and its 4.0 litre naturally aspirated V8 motor will be forever missed.

The current chapter in the 3 Series book is today’s F30. The competition has never been stronger, and to defend its turf and cover all the bases, Munich has introduced an unprecedented number of variants to fill every niche.

Sedan and Touring aside, there’s now a 3 Series Gran Turismo for those who want a something between saloon and estate. Coupe and Convertible models have been spun off to to the new 4 Series family, which now also includes the 4 Series Gran Coupe, essentially a four-door coupe offering more style than a plain old 3er Sedan.

The F30, unveiled in 2011, has just received its mid-life facelift. Not much difference in terms of looks, but the LCI gets improved engines and a new range-topping 340i model with 326 hp and 450 Nm. 2016 will see the introduction of a new 330e plug-in hybrid. Read all about the F30 LCI here.

Happy 40th birthday, BMW 3 Series. From fans, ex-owners and the rest of us at paultan.org. Don’t worry, because life begins at forty.

1975 E21 BMW 3 Series

1982 E30 BMW 3 Series

1990 E36 BMW 3 Series

1998 E46 BMW 3 Series

2005 E90 BMW 3 Series

2012 F30 BMW 3 Series

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• E46 M3 – Scale down version of God.
    Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
    • Bangle on May 08, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Real version is better than Asia’s copy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • George Abdul on May 09, 2015 at 9:10 am

Enough say all MITI ministers will change their BMW and Volvo to Proton !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • youlazy on May 09, 2015 at 10:50 am

You lazy you cannot buy BMW, even camry!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • youbutthurt on May 09, 2015 at 11:45 pm

And you can only afford to buy “BMW of Asia”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Nowadays p1 been compared to Bimmers Volvos even in different classes.

• Alan Harris on May 09, 2015 at 11:35 am

Why would someone buy a car that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, and facebook postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts after the warranty expires. That is why you see so many 1 year old BMWs for sale in the 2nd hand market.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.

To those sour grapes BMW salesman who will say I am a Mercedes salesman, don’t be jealous. I am not. I am the big man in BMW fighting for the rights of all BMW owners in Malaysia for longer warranty.

Facebook and forums don’t lie. Go and see for yourself what happens after the 2nd year and read all the forums. The saying Banyak Masuk Workshop is not a myth. Even the company themselves so scared to give you more than 2 years warranty so that alone speaks volume!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
          • tokmoh. on May 09, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Must have gaya mar. Rim size also kiasu, if get 19″, will complain too small, must get 23″ only they happy.

Volvo’s Drive-E use 8-speed gearbox by Aisin, owned by Toyota. Volvo owners smile, knowing their gearbox bulletproof and as cheap to maintain as any other Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • e-driverubbish on May 09, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Go to h*ll with e-drive, pricing is like sh*t

• Jay Jay Denis on May 08, 2015 at 8:23 pm

BMW made the mark with the E30 in the compact sedan department. Fabulous piece of art which stands the test of time. The one in my driveway puts a smile on my face every morning!

• Jay Jay Denis on May 08, 2015 at 8:30 pm

BMW made the mark with the E30 in the compact sedan department. Fabulous piece of art, with a simple stunning driving experience. The one in my driveway puts a smile on my face every morning!

• sudonano (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 8:39 pm

I have to agree, the 3 somehow is still my favourite among the competition, yes, it doesn’t have the most extravagant styling like the C class. And yes, it doesn’t have the vault like feel of the A4. Nor will it have as much drama as an XE.

But that’s the thing, the 3 series is a car about you,the driver. I feel that while the E46 was a bit of a lost generation, the E90 (especially in LCI) brought back the sporty roots. And the F30 just looks way more athletic than the competition. I do agree, this isn’t the car for everyone. Want a comfy interior, but with sort of OK dynamics? Get the C. Want to be German but different? Probably the A4 is a better choice. Or probably something YOLO? Then the XE.

But the 3 series still is the definitive dynamic benchmark. It may have gotten softer over the years, in non Sport/M Sport variants especially, but it’s still the best driver’s car. Just check the M Sport box and Estoril Blue finish.

PS: I actually like the current generation M3 more for some reason, probably because it’s back to an I-6. Leave the V8s for the Australians and ‘Murica.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on May 09, 2015 at 10:45 am

Long live the I-6!

• tokmoh. on May 09, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Want safety, most comfortable seats and ride ever, unique body form, get Volvo V60 wagon.

I-6 is nice, just a bit sad its N/A novelty is gone.

• undrtkr on May 09, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Perfect hearse!

• sudonano (Member) on May 10, 2015 at 6:58 pm

As much as I would like to agree, as I do like Volvo wagons, and I do like the S/V 60’s looks, nothing beats the feeling of an RWD sedan, pushing you out of the corner, with you being able to feel the car just about to break the curve, yet the DTC is just trimming off the power ever so slightly without ruining the fun, and not turning the car 180 degrees.

You should try it. Perhaps seancorr or myself should take you to a BMW dealer and you too can try some of the Munich poison from the sacred vile.

• tokmoh. on May 11, 2015 at 1:05 am

I have respect for classic BMWs, particularly E30 M3. This car’s RV will make Sam Loo shat bricks for the next 7 generations.

You may consider me old-fashioned, hipster or whatever, but there just isn’t replacement for good old 3-pedal manual transmission, a sentiment shared by many Europeans.

Playing paddle shift is either too professional kinda seriousness or filthy rich’s playstation toy showoff-ish. I’m not paid to drive like Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, nor am I a Familia Myvi Club member, so I couldn’t be obsessed by 0-100 km/h stats, top speed, Nurburgring lap time, and sorts. I’d rather just drive… and drive… and drive. Don’t care about going as fast as I can, but just soak in the moment and reward myself (in that aspect, I may probably be very satisfied with a Miata, hmm that’ll be something).

I like Porsche’s philosophy of re-introducing manual, and going N/A setup. #savethemanuals

Anyway, the Volvo is a more livable everyday car. They tried to be naughty, but people just wanna appreciate them for being safe, comfortable, and dependable. Well, the seats are the best, so that’s cool.

With the F30, rear seats can’t fold, topkek practicality there.

• After over four decades, it still a benchmark in sport sedan and the others continue to follow and try to match this Ultimate Driving Machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on May 08, 2015 at 9:50 pm

am i the only one who thinks the arrangement of the 3-series generations in the first picture is really bothering? I know it’s my OCD but cannot tahan, arrange la properly!

• Same L0rrrr on May 08, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Low RV car since first generation till now. I have 3 Lexus at home, you only need to work hard like me to earn one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
    • wiwiwiwiw on May 09, 2015 at 12:07 am

3 Lexus printed brochures or price list? xD

• Same L0rrrr on May 09, 2015 at 7:50 am

You got it right, 3 printed brochures.

• wiwiwiw on May 09, 2015 at 11:12 am

Wah so nice
          CBU or Greg import?

• Same L0rrrr on May 09, 2015 at 10:01 pm

I am real sam loo. Don’t use my name. if you cant afford even a vios. You come to my showroom look for me, i give you RM 200 discount. I am buying another lexus next month and don’t be jealous with my success. You people need to work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • horatio on May 09, 2015 at 8:50 am

they r on the your wall right?

• seancorr (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Like the video about its long heritage and passionate owners. I’m starting to prefer the F30 LCI DRLs over my pre LCI DRLs too after watching this video and can’t wait to see what BMW has for us in the next gen 3 Series.

Till then happy birthday Mr 3 Series.

• sudonano (Member) on May 09, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Same here, took me a while to appreciate the new look…

Somehow I feel that BMW’s press photos need some improvement, should get Sherman Sim to do it!

Somehow find for the most part, many of their press photos don’t really get to convey the beauty unlike the ones paultan.org gets….

Speaking of which, by far, the only set of press photos from BMW that I liked have to be the new F8x M3/M4 and the pre LCI F30, but the UK not the German ones.

• nabill (Member) on May 10, 2015 at 2:00 am

personally , what makes the 3 series f30 a 4 star rather than 5 , is the steering , or the electric steering….it just doesnt feel right , and it definetly does not feel natural ,maybe after a long time u get used to it but its the weak point in my opinion….drove the 320d few times , n godness me that diesel torque is so effertless!
        i know interior plastics stil not that great either , bt yes , as a driving machine n if u love driving n if ur a half car-guy , its the choice , sting abt that rear drive chassis that makes it different…

and yes , since im an 80s born guy , the e36 it is!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 10:01 pm

six generations of success…. kudos BMW

• banyakmasukworksyop on May 09, 2015 at 5:33 pm

So successful until got “Banyak Masuk Worksyop” nickname

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • samtowtruck on May 09, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Tow truck best friend, alongside VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • mechanc on May 10, 2015 at 12:30 am

No doubt BMW is a luxury brand but its unreliability makes it a joke and hilarious car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Semi-Value (Member) on May 10, 2015 at 2:56 pm

a joke? bad reliability or bad owner maintenance? my friend’s bmw works like a tank and never breaks down….CBU BMW of course….if you are driving say…a recon E60 525i with money spend on bodykits than upkeep….sure masuk workshop la

• your----- on May 10, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Another my friend gurl friend neighbour office mate pen pal cleaner laundry worker technician mechanic driver maid story. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • For those loser who cannot effort BMW, they always like to bring up this phrase so they can wank all night long like Ah Q.

• richnyoung on May 10, 2015 at 11:04 am

They blame everything: MITI, Asian BMW, tax, protection, p1, Same Lorrrr, etc

• tokmoh. on May 08, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Well, last year Volvo 240 celebrates 40th anniversary too. Both very iconic cars.

I think E30 M3 had gotta be THE most quintessential 3-series ever built. Loved its pure, simple, truly driver’s car philosophy.

• wiwiwiwiw on May 08, 2015 at 10:19 pm

I am a proud owner of the 1995 BMW E36 325i Convertible that is still in stock BMW Museum condition =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • I love 3 series…

• old dog on May 08, 2015 at 11:32 pm

personally felt E46 look is classic and like it so much…

• VW_rocks on May 08, 2015 at 11:35 pm

Everytime when a new generation makes its debut, reminds me how good looking actually the previous one is.

• piggy on May 09, 2015 at 11:49 pm

They say it kidney grill but actually looks like pig nose
      BMW = pig car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • A Pig when look at anything also looks like a Pig.

• benzfan on May 10, 2015 at 2:29 pm

I’m not fan of those ugly big nose holes, i’d rather buy 3 pointed star car

• blaster88 on May 10, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Sure lah you are Ah Pek that like a car that driving like a boat.

• uglybimmer on May 10, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Big nostrils make me puking my lunch

• blaster88 on May 10, 2015 at 10:48 pm

When you can not effort a BMW, sure your mental will tell you to puking lunch when you seen one because of over jealousy syndrome. It is best you go and see a psychologist.

• fuglybmw on May 10, 2015 at 12:27 am

You must be fan of Davis D-2 Divan design

• sammy on May 09, 2015 at 12:28 am

The E30 coupe… is my favourite of the lot.
    If they still make it brand new today, I will buy it in an instant.

• Sam Loo Ori on May 09, 2015 at 2:18 am

3 series is nothing compared to lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • 1st time when I drive the E46 325i, I was like “WOW”
    The torque just very darn good!! When cornering it was like holding a chain to the road, miss it.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 09, 2015 at 11:02 am

E36 still looks the best to these eyes. I remember first seeing them as a young boy, when they were launched in Malaysia, and it was just wow (and I still think it looks great today). It looked nothing like its predecessor. The 5 Series E34 was another favourite car back then. BMW made really hot cars then, design wise.

• wiwiwiwiw on May 09, 2015 at 3:05 pm

I agree with you. I share the same sentiments towards the E34, E36, and E38. Growing up I always admire and wanted an E36. I am happy I own one now =)

• viosed on May 09, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Vios much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • wiwiwiwiw on May 09, 2015 at 7:56 pm

1995 BMW 325i vs 2015 Toyota Vios 1.5AT
          Price (New): RM380,000 vs RM 76,248.57
          Power: 2,498cc vs 1,497cc
          Torque: 250Nm vs 141Nm
          Weight: 1,520kg vs 1,065kg
          Brakes: All disc brakes vs front disc rear drum
          0-100km: 7.7 seconds vs. 12.8 seconds
          Max speed: 255km/h vs. 170km/h
          0-1/4mile: 16seconds vs. ???
          0-1km: 29 seconds vs. ???
          Automatic: 5-speed vs 4-speed
          Fuel consumption: 9.8l/100km vs. 7.3l/100km
          Airbags: 4 vs 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • stupidcommenter on May 09, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Lol comparing between luxury and mass car is definitely plain stupid

• viosed on May 09, 2015 at 11:52 pm

How about fuel consumption? Can get 15km/l? Vios winrar ROTFL

• ongkl on May 09, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Old BMW = amoi runs away
            New Vios = amoi comes in

• wiwiwiwiw on May 10, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Amoi? Aunty got ar xD

• Gotttt, what specs you want?
            Heh heh heh

• wakaka on May 10, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Amoi for BMW. Aunty for Asia’s copy

• das auto on May 09, 2015 at 10:42 pm

E36 design was way ahead of its time yet the look remains timeless.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 09, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Europeans still can’t get the durability and reliability factor into their DNA.

Most Beemers that clocks more than 100,000kms will have some form of oil leaks or engine bocor problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • blaster88 on May 09, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Of course Toyota is the most reliable – uses technologies that are decades old. Case in point – Some current Toyota model still uses the good old 4AT which is coming to 20 years old…When was the last time Toyota seriously upgraded the Hilux, Innova (Kijang?) etc.

• protong on May 09, 2015 at 11:44 pm

And yet still much better than Punch CVT. Both BMW and Toyota’s transmission are better than Proton. Haha

• germantank on May 10, 2015 at 11:15 am

Vios gearbox is old one, 4 speeder, nowadays even Toyota put CVT on its higher end cars

Let alone the engine, 1.6l CFE with 205Nm is much torquey than puny 141nm of 1.5l 1NZ-FE

• Asia BMW on May 10, 2015 at 12:10 am

Who needs to buy this? Better buy Iriz, which is a combination of BMW and Volvo, with Lotus handling and 5 stars ANCAP safety. You can even change the wheels to BMW and logo to propeller with the word “Asia” besides it. Much cheaper and more gaya

• Belrose on May 10, 2015 at 8:31 pm

A beautiful car, a beautiful legacy and a wonderful video. However, the time has passed for the 3 series – today’s 3 is nowhere close to the sportiness and luxury of Lexus and Infiniti. It’s a car selling on its legacy and name, but not standing out.

• gloly on May 10, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Lexus=glorified Toyota
      Infiniti=glorified Nissan

Nothing special

• Chinaman on May 10, 2015 at 11:03 pm

What do you think of the Lotus rebadged Proton in China? Anything special?

• calvin on May 11, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Belrose hit the sweet spot in commenting on 3, i do hope BMW put in more work to make the car more reliable….

Its always a nice legend to look back into the historical 3 model, partly we simply look and admire it, instead of living with it, where the reality start to set in, the maintenance and reliability.