Gov’t mulling re-enforcing motorbike ban on highways

saigon-motorbike

Motorcyclists may soon find that they will no longer be able to use the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (Akleh) and the Maju Expressway (MEX) for their travel needs.

According to The Sun, the government is mulling over the request by both highway operators to re-enforce the ruling on restricting the usage of motorcycles on them, citing safety reasons. Both highways were not originally designed for motorcycle usage.

“They (concessionaires) are appealing to us to withdraw the permission for motorcycles to use the highways. Right now, (motorcycles are) one of the major causes of accidents on these two highways, as far as records are concerned,” Works Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof told the publication.

He said that while it will not be easy to withdraw the privilege for motorcycles to use these highways, the safety record of bikers was worrying. “Once you have given that permission (of using the highway) and withdraw it, motorcyclists will definitely object because that is the fastest way for them to get to their destinations,” he said.

Honda EX-5 4

“I am still compiling all the reports in terms of record of the accidents involving motorcycle or caused by motorcyclists, so if I have sufficient proof or evidence, we may consider. I am looking at balancing them before making the final decision,” he added.

The report states that since motorbikes were allowed to use both highways seven years ago, a total of 382 road crashes involving bikers – with 15 fatalities – have been recorded on MEX. Statistics show that during daily peak hours, there are an estimated 4,000 motorcycles and 32,000 other vehicles plying the 26 km-long highway.

Meanwhile, the 7.9 km-long Akleh – which began running in May 2001 – sees around half a million motorcyclists using it monthly. There are an average of four accidents (and three fatalities) involving bikes every month. Toll-paying users have long been complaining to the concessionaire over a number of issues involving motorbikes, including that of illegal night racing on weekends.

For the last six years, the concessionaires have requested that the government revoke the approval for motorcycles to use both highways. They were originally gazetted with a restriction on motorcycles under subsection 70 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987, but in June 2008, the government had given temporary approval for bikers to use Akleh and MEX free of charge, a move “to ease the burden of the people” in view of the hike in the price of petrol at that point.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• G-mey on May 11, 2015 at 10:06 am

Nak halang motosikal guna MEX dan AKLEH..
    Lepas tu nak caj motosikal..
    Lepas tu semua hiway akan caj motosikal..
    Nampak tak permainan mereka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 76
    • Areyousure on May 11, 2015 at 10:16 am

Sometimes can see the motorbikes driving 40km/h (speed limit 80km/h) on the fast lane. Obviously they don’t obey “undang” and also affecting others that using the highway lo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 7
      • G-mey on May 11, 2015 at 10:44 am

If they rode 40kmh on the fast lane.. memang la tak boleh la.. but MEX should be allowed for motorbikes from start from Bukit Jalil – Putrajaya..

how about ban only in the peak hours.. let say..
        7am – 9am.. and 5pm – 8pm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
        • Motor - Low Life Scum on May 11, 2015 at 11:19 am

Why motorbikes always beat traffic light ah? They don’t care for their lives ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 1
          • Open Letter to Kerajaan Malaysia on May 11, 2015 at 11:43 am

Please Government of Malaysia. Please protect our female car drivers.

The Mat Rempits are always attacking and abusing our wives and sisters even when it is not their fault. Would you be pleased if your wife or sister was driving and moto rider get down and show his finger right at the screen?

In Singapore, showing finder is an offence. In Malaysia, after I report the incident, PDRM officer smile at my wife. He say “Ini perkara kecil”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
          • Flashers Galore on May 11, 2015 at 12:04 pm

My sister walks home from school. Only Form 3 girl. One day, guy ask her direction. His helmet was on his lap. When he lifted his helmet, it was covering his batang. As he lifted his helmet, his batang was attention and up.

Ask most schoolgirls, they have been flashed by these fellows on bikes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • karam singh on May 11, 2015 at 9:31 pm

ban lorries and trailer..
            better option,
            well … they only ban people who dont pay for their road,
            hahaha
            funny

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 11, 2015 at 11:04 am

Motorbikes should be banned on highways. But start with Federal Highway first. Polis still cannot enforce. Everyday so many scum motorbikes go on Federal Highway, endangering their lives. Always near accident.

Motorbikes are the lowest scum on earth. Mostly uneducated scum who have zero brains. One fellow get knocked down, all motorbike riders get down and take helmet and hantam and beat the car driver and his car.

Nearly everyday this happens. This can only mean one thing, motorbikes are the lowest ameba in Malaysia, uneducated low lives that have no regard for safety and life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 117
        • Why Show finger? on May 11, 2015 at 11:23 am

Have you wondered why when you hon at the motorbike because they did some dangerous stunt, they always show their finger at you? Always!

I got it worse, he tendang my side mirror sampai pecah. Cost me RM800 to replace.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
        • Superbikerz (And also car owner) on May 11, 2015 at 11:45 am

not everybody is rich like you. How educated are you to call these people scum and low life. You seems more pathetic than these so called low life scum as you don’t even know the meaning of humanity. Stop disgracing yourself……. By the way, for you rich people information, many of those so called motorcycle lane, are not well maintain by gov, often with holes, faulty street lamp, floods, etc. so what you expect them to do??? So before you high life assh*les given your pathetic comment, use you high life brain, if you have any, to think before you speak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 50
        • Road User on May 11, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Just by reading your comments, safe to say that you have the lowest mentality among intellectual human being. Don’t think just because we rode a motorcycle to work, we can’t afford to buy a car.

Each to his own, i love riding my 3 times more expensive motorcycle than your, let say VIOS perhaps? I just hate stuck in a traffic jam.

Regarding motorcycle is endangering people’s life, how about those A holes (mostly people like you) who change their lane without ever looking at THE SIGNAL? Without looking through the side mirrors? How about when you’re driving and playing with your phone at the same time just to see your pathetic DAMACAI results? Now this is the real scum.

Both motorcyclist and drivers have the same responsibility that is obey the traffic law, drive/ride safely, keeping each other safe. Pathethic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 21
          • rider on May 11, 2015 at 5:35 pm

exactly. I support your view. most of car drivers didn`t concentrate when driving. They like to play with their mobiles. Never give signal and never check their side mirrors for coming motorbikes. i have a very big car but i choose to ride coz it more convenient for me. can beat jam, same time can save cost for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
        • Samdol betullah mamat ni. suka hati nak scum orang. Macamlah semua car drivers dewa tak pernah buat silap. Masing-masing ada silap dan kurangnya. Cari jalan penyelesaian dan pastikan penguatkuasaan dibuat dengan rapi. Apa yang bersusun guna emergency lane (esp. when approaching the Sunway exit) di Fed Hiway tu kenderaan beroda dua?? Use your brainlah before blaming others.. piang sangat Sam Dol nih..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • VHL Lorr on May 11, 2015 at 10:00 pm

“Motorbikes should be banned on highway”. Don’t think all people are bloody rich and can live comfortably like you all. The story should be like this:

Toyota (particularly jamban junks) and most Berukdua (particularly Myvi 1.5) drivers that should be banned on highway. But start with emergency lane first. Polis still cannot enforce. Everyday so many scum Toyota drivers simply cutting queue using emergency lanes and drive like it’s their father’s road, endangering their lives. Always near accident (you knowlah, drive a ‘jamban junk’ Toyota made from 3rd world countries already lansi here and there and looking down other local car drivers and motorbikes)

Most Toyota drivers in Malaysia are the lowest scum on earth. Mostly uneducated scum who have zero brains (pay over RM100k just to get a junk cars with ‘T’ brand, somemore without any stability control equipped). Once their car get knocked, the Toyota drivers get down and take steering lock or baseball bat and hantam and beat the other car driver and his car (can’t afford to lose their precious RV mah if their car get knocked).

Nearly everyday this happens. This can only mean one thing, Toyota drivers are the lowest ameba in Malaysia, uneducated low lives that have no regard for safety and life (these days, buying an expensive cars without VSC already prove this statement mentioned just now where they can buy a better equipped car at far more cheaper price).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • Hey i hate some selfish motorcyclist as well but its not nice to call them scum. I agree there are some pricks who still use federal highway despite the fact there is a separate line. As i noticed on a daily routine police are summoning them. I dont mind sharing a road with motorcyclist but as long as they stay patient and they put their foot down when necessary rather then just go eventhough there is a car coming behind u. Or stand behind the line at traffic lights. Out of curiosity, y does motorcyclist always want to be in the front of a traffic light, y not they stay in the middle or back for the light to change?
          Not all motorcyclist are bad. I like those high end motorcyclist since they usually act like civilize person on the road. Probably because they are rich i guess.. Just ride safe and follow the rules. The road is for everyone.

• Chow Yen-lung on May 29, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Federal Highway got separate line for bike? Do you know how often they close the bike lane bcause of flooding and construction?

Any do you know why motorcycles cannot stay behind the line at traffic lights? Because the traffic light sensor only activate for cars! Wait for green light like forever.

• Shady on May 15, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Lowest scum on earth? You’re one bit funny aren’t you bro? Driving and tailing closely to another car, is safe? Please bro, learn your facts. Changing lanes without signal. Best attitude? Please. Uneducated? Self reflection really?

• no offense but do u want to compare the ratio between how many motorcycles and cars put on signal when they want to make a turn or change a line, or die in accident or park on walkway in KL or use the zebra crossing as ur motorcycle crossing or never stop when making a turn or having both rear view mirrors or using one way or etc (if anyone knows anything else pls add on) and motorcyclist pls ans on my ratio.

• ooooo yeah right on May 11, 2015 at 6:34 pm

How about cars that go 40km/h on the fast lane? or cars that go 180 km/h on the fast lane? i mean. the recent DUKE tragedy did involve a MYVI (which is a kapchai as i recall)

Heck cars also dont obey the ‘undang’ with your texting and calling and whatsapping in the car. How about we get a ban to that first eh? so many times got kantoi cars that drive like shit because BOTH HANDS ARE ON THE PHONE.

motorcyclists accept the risks for what they are, unlike you ppl. I’m not saying banning motorcyclists in these highways will not solve those deaths. heck if all moto got banned in all roads, sure one fatality will reduce right? (MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT LOGIC). Im saying here is that you car ppl are also at fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Motor - Low Life Scum on May 11, 2015 at 11:17 am

abang rempit, tak ada permainan la bang. you obey rules la bang. Jangan rempit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Lady Driver Nightmare on May 11, 2015 at 11:28 am

Ask any lady driver, they will tell you how their handbag kena snatch from motor dude or windscreen smash and handbag taken.

My sister even worse, motor guy take out his kukubird and show my sis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • Bomoh on May 11, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Perhaps his kukubird need some breath air…and your sis misunderstood…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Anti-Pati on May 11, 2015 at 11:38 am

Kalau penunggang motosikal bawak ikut peraturan tak ada masalah. Ni tak, diorang bawak macam bapak dia punya jalan.

Dok celah2, bawak lane tengah tapi slow, kereta nak masuk lane tak reti nak perlahan. Mana tak asyik eksiden je. Kalau siapa pernah bawak kereta overseas kat negara yang takde motor Kapchai mesti akan kata memang heaven bawak kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • right choice on May 11, 2015 at 11:53 am

for safety reason it should implement even i have my big bike.car and bike should seperate way to prevent accident and also snatch theft. that is root. it will cause many inconveniences but the cause may good. hope no offence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Bobby (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 10:11 am

If the government continue its past 50 years policy of stifling the development of large scale efficient public and private mass transport system for the people, so as to enrich its cronies, this new policy will cause even more deaths as poor cyclist will pursue the alternatives just like before.

The stupid mentality of fire fighting on public issues must stop, and stop now. Provide a better and efficient means of public transport system and educate the travelling public relentlessly rather than to penalise them whenever and wherever will get us nowhere, let alone 2020!

Most important of all, the government must start working for the people, not their cronies. Get rid of the monopolised car system and implement efficient public transport system nationwide. Not able to do so? Well what is the point of having a government then!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Anti-Pati on May 11, 2015 at 11:34 am

Uh, have you seen outside your window as you drive through KL lately?

Stifling public transport development is the last thing that’s happening right now.

• Open Letter to Kerajaan Malaysia on May 11, 2015 at 11:45 am

I think if you do a survey, 9 out of 10 car drivers are verbally abused by motor riders. In the UK, this is an offence because you have brough fear of harm to the driver.

Whoever has been threatened in Malaysia, showed the middle finger by a motorbike, please give me a like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • Double STANDARD on May 11, 2015 at 11:58 am

I don’t know why when car beat the traffic light, they always get saman in the post.

When Motor beat traffic lights (like every minute of the day) even the AES or ordinary camera take pix, the motor guy never get saman.

Why is the double standard? Is it because PDRM officers all user motor and they feel sorry for other bikers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • stay neutral on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:25 pm

I got saman ekor also for my bike lah. Where is the double standard?

• Areyousure on May 11, 2015 at 10:13 am

Everyone talks about democratic in Malaysia. Then motorist should be given the freedom of using the highway too. And, of course, paying the toll fee as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
    • Not sure what has this got to do with Democracy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Areyousure on May 11, 2015 at 11:15 am

Freedom of choice to be given fairly to individual. Or why do you think car driver needs to pay toll while motorbike doesn’t need to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Wisdom on May 11, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Because your car is 1-2 metric tonne.
          4 wheels.
          Your acceleration & braking affect the road surface.
          Bike? 1xxkg

I thing its more on educating the motorist. not deleting them.

*some of us need to thank them, coz they indirectly reducing the traffic jam by riding bike, though they knew the risk factor is higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Why Show finger? on May 11, 2015 at 11:25 am

Democratic also means I should be protected from abuse from motorcycle riders.

Every other day, a motorbike will show his finger to me or take some lock and threaten me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • tailong on May 11, 2015 at 3:24 pm

probably becoz u deserved the middle finger… go figure why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • Rider and driver on May 15, 2015 at 12:35 am

I am a rider and a driver. I never get honk or show finger by the riders when I am driving. This is because I know how to give signals at least 5 second before make a turn. Give them a proper space during traffic jam for them to pass through. I can predict their behaviour because I understand them.

I am sure you must be a reckless driver. That’s why you get show finger by many rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Should do more on May 11, 2015 at 10:14 am

Should expand this to all highways that does not have dedicated bike lanes. Alternatively, start charging toll on bikes e.g. Penang Bridge. Why should bikes have these sort of privilege when using highways anyhow?

And the idiot minister who allowed Bikes on these two bike-unfriendly highways should be sacked and sued. He wanted political mileage at the expense of all those bikers who died on these two stretches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
  • Gonggok on May 11, 2015 at 10:20 am

Fully support motorbike ban on AKLEH and MEX. Its just too dangerous for bikes because they were not designed for bikes. Takde space. Lorong dia sempit. Tu yang 3 orang mati tiap2 bulan kat atas AKLEH tu.
    Baik tambah perjalanan 10 minit dari tak sampai langsung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 10:22 am

I can understand why accident rates are high on AKLEH cos its pretty narrow and its walled in with minimal/no emergency lane and it has that sudden/tight lane change in the middle to go around the LRT station. But MEX is so wide (or appears to be so) with almost no tight corners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • bomoh on May 11, 2015 at 10:29 am

How about bicycle?

• taboogen on May 11, 2015 at 10:37 am

yup agree.. those riding bicycle on hiways also need to be ban.. they are using motorcycle lane..moral of the story is malaysian as a malaysian even given 5 star public transport still the same lor. no diffrent

• If they reasoning are based on accident & fatality involving motorcyclist….then all road even normal public trunk road should banned motorcyclist coz the statistic will show that they contribute to most accident/fatality too!…what kind of reasoning is this?

Btw, if you make comparison btw highways & trunk roads statistic involving motorcyclist…it will show highways are much safer for motorcyclist!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • A motorcyclist AND a driver on May 11, 2015 at 10:52 am

This is getting ridiculous. Why the discrimination against motorcyclist? The ONLY highway in Malaysia that i know of that has dedicated motorcycle lane is Federal Highway, and that’s saying something considering how many highway here in Malaysia. Heck, even the entire Malaysia is not “cycle” friendly. Imagine riding a bicycle through Jalan Kuching to KL, it’s impossible. That road doesn’t even have emergency lane.

Why is there a need to look down on motorcyclist? I have both car and motorcycle, I just prefer to take motorcycle to commute daily and sometimes just to avoid traffic. The amount of inappropriate parking that we have to find also unbearable. Take the all “new” Nu Sentral for example, the new mall beside KL Sentral. There is ZERO (0000) motorcycle parking there. While the ONLY motorcycle parking in KL Sentral (the one under the escalator, yuck) is full at ALL times. We have to try to find park at other free space, and guess what? SUMMONS!!!! Yeah, all the new “malls” looking down on motorcyclist thinking that we could not spend anything on their shit can go f themself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 31
    • ulkamikuP on May 11, 2015 at 11:06 am

U’re wrong. GUHTRIE hiway also got motorcycle lane. If the very left lane on those hiways full of motorbike, it will spoil the traffic flow. And the worst part is…doing 40-50kmh near the exit and interchange that cause a difficulty for cars to enter the exit. And most of them not using their side mirror to switch lane. TNS

• taboogen on May 11, 2015 at 11:16 am

get your facts righ… federal not the ONLY hiway… KESAS also have dedicated motorcycle lane lah….

• Anti Rempit on May 11, 2015 at 11:16 am

You bikers should lepak at kota raya and chow kit. Leave the upper class alone. We don’t like rempit hanging out in classier mall.

I support all mall which don’t provide parking space for bikers.

This is also for safety reason as you know, most snatch bag or theft are majority commited by bikers. So there, eliminate and ban all bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
      • Dear Antirempit. Not all bikers are rempit and not all bike are cheap. We do hate mat rempit as well but we as a biker we respect other road users. And for your information, a bike can cost more than your so called CAR. Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
        • And what’s your point? Your bike could be cost more than a car and it does not mean you could drive on highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • A motorcyclist AND a driver on May 11, 2015 at 12:34 pm

We’re just tired of people looking down on bikers. Just because we use cheaper alternative doesn’t mean we can’t afford what you use. On highway usage, if we “mencelah” here and there, you guys would say some shit, then you guys want us to be in lane with you? means, at traffic light, there’s a long line of bikers in the MIDDLE of the lane. K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • A motorcyclist AND a driver on May 11, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Mat Rempit is out of the question. They’re an abomination. This exact mentality that bikers = rempit is the one that’s pissing me off. If you think “car” user is better than the bikers, guess what, I have both. My car might even be more classier than yours, does that mean I should look down on you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • You are getting out of question. We are emphasizing on motorbike should not ride on highway. What’s with your looking down here and there?

• Your looking down here and there is out of the question too. We are emphasizing on motorbike should not ride on highway.

• Idiot on May 11, 2015 at 12:31 pm

No parking space for motorbikes in your classier malls? And you think all the workers insider your classier malls shops can drive to work? Or there are good public transport services to all your classier malls?

• Anonymouse on May 11, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Well all,
        If you notice our roads are already jam-packed and if we bikers (all) take the car instead and add that another amount of cars to the daily jam-packed…You do the math. Then the complain will most probably be too much cars and start car-pooling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Motor - Low Life Scum on May 11, 2015 at 11:18 am

So many times I switch lane on Federal highway, one motor guy will just suddenly appear in the middle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Mr. Nobody on May 11, 2015 at 10:59 am

I completely disagree with this. Motorist pay their roadtax too, why should they unable to use highway such as MEX. Even car also use motorcycle/emergency lanes.

Gov dont use stupid reason illegal race among motorcycle, even myvi races on duke they mention nothing. This is a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
    • Anti-Pati on May 11, 2015 at 11:36 am

If it’s the average kapchai variety no roadtax is paid.

• Road Tax Doesn't Build Highways on May 11, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Everytime a proposal like this comes up, motorcyclists will come around whining that they pay road tax.

Sure, pay road tax, use federal roads. They are still an option. Don’t use highway.

Highways are paid for by toll and motorcyclists don’t pay toll.

• seancorr (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 11:00 am

Why don’t they start nabbing those motorcycles that are using federal highway instead of the motorcycle lane? So often I see them zipping past my car at high speeds. I bet most of us drivers never realize them coming from behind and the worse can happen anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • 4roda on May 11, 2015 at 11:12 am

Support govt. Please ban all this 2 wheelers from using highway. Less rempit, less superbike bullying, safer for us motorists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Motor - Low Life Scum on May 11, 2015 at 11:21 am

Yes, better low lives. Knock one down, all come and beat you up with their helmets. So many car drivers have died or become cacat because of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • right choice on May 11, 2015 at 11:23 am

i hope all motorcycle ban on all highway, that’s too dangerous for them. if there have motor lane then ok.
    many country have this rule,motorcycle is prohibited ride on highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Kutu Motor Users on May 11, 2015 at 11:37 am

Other countries, motor users are so courteous. Only in Malaysia all show middle finger, all hurl abuses, vulgar words at car drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • taboogen on May 11, 2015 at 1:28 pm

but why when car exident particularly that happened at DUKE hiway no said ban car from using duke. thats not fair isnt it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 11:32 am

they should ban motorbikes full stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • Anything on May 11, 2015 at 11:40 am

sorry to motorcycle, as long you use the highway there is more people mad at you. Why ? Because you not paying toll. Using highway without pay anything and use fast lane what a bad attitude is that. Actually they use motorcycle not because dont have car but dont want to pay toll. It’s fair to all if all highway user pay. In Singapore they charge to all road user and in Indonesia no motorcycle allowed in highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Superbiker (and also car owner) on May 11, 2015 at 11:56 am

For all you so called people asked for the banned of motorcyclist. Most of the robbers and hijackers are car drivers, so shall we all walked and stop using cars as well. You guys are really pathetic…… For your information as well, some of this bikes are more expensive than your car…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Anything on May 11, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Sorry Superbiker (and also car owner) you state your bike more expensive than car so you want to use highway like your highway road without pay any cents. Now I state here most of the biker cant afford buy my car and my road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • shuhaimi on May 11, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Don’t just give lip service and ban motocyclist from highways.
    Make sure you have enforcement to implement these ruling.
    Have signboards and the amount to be fined should the law be broken.
    Msian motorbike riders should be educated this way.
    They have gone overboard using emergency lanes as a motorbike lane and weaving in and out of traffic when they have dedicated lanes built for them.
    Beating traffic lights has become a norm and its high time we put a stop to this.
    24 hours CCTV would do the job for both motorist & motorcyclisT alike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • C.P.MOHAN on May 11, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Roads with motorcycle lane enforce usage. Those roads without motorcycle lane, enforce use of slow lane. The key word is enforcement.

• Fadzli Fauzi on May 15, 2015 at 12:28 am

Finally a constructive and intelligent comment. Everybody else here is using their foot to think.

• diamjer on May 11, 2015 at 12:09 pm

they should ban all cars from entering KL city, all cars should be parked outside KL and entering KL trough public transport.

motorcycles are 100% better transport for city, all those cars are dangerous to motorcyclist.

if you plan to justify your reason using jungle law “the bigger will command” then i might as well drive a “lori Pasir” for work commuting. then the statistics of fatalities involving cars driver will be higher than those driving “lori pasir”, after that govt will ban cars from entering highway because of statistics showed that too many of then died from accident with “lori pasir”

this is a never ending story…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • Superbiker (and also car owner) on May 11, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Dear ,

Motor – Low Life Scum

Your guys gotta stop using cars. Many of you have killed motorcyclist by not using signals, SSM or talking on phones and etc.

Anti-Pati
    Car owners like us should be ban parking in shopping mall too. Many of those robbers and hijackers are using cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • For bikers who always blame cars did not give signal when changing lanes, if we are to play the numbers game, pray tell me, how many bikers give signal when changing lanes?

Mind you, both are assholes.

• Ainon on May 11, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Why it is always the case that when you signal to switch lanes a biker from 1 km away will speed up just to horn and block you. If you insist to change lanes you’ll get the finger or worse your car get kicked by the biker.

• calvin on May 11, 2015 at 12:28 pm

So at the end of the day, who actually approve a highway construction/design without a bike lane?

Only brain retarded people using fatality as an excuse, as some reader have rightly mentioned, if that is the reason, then bike should be ban in all road…. retarded!

Not all rider are bad, but since all our polis rather collect money at the highway then enforce and arrest the mat rempit, too bad, that is malaysia….. all the signs representing a fail government.

For those that vote for current government, when you think its no big deal, then take you own medicine and keep quiet.

For the rest of the people, we need to understand the source of the problems, if no enforcement, this is how a country rot.

I dare not hope for police enforcement in place soon, as they dont have the right mind to start with, always have either political/personal agenda.

• hahaha2222 on May 11, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Those motorcyclist showing middle fingers are a bapuk, when i was kid time, a motorcyclist shows middle finger at my father as he hon at that motocyclist when he comes near to our car. Then my father hon at him again and he look at us, then my father getting down to fight with that guy..but he took off from there once he saw my father getting down from car.. so dear car drivers , don’t ever afraid for motorcyclist , they are even smaller from us in size..

• rider on May 11, 2015 at 5:51 pm

dei pundek, he will bring his motorbike gangs then u and ur father will run like shit to save urself. donot follow this stupid hahaha2222 guys advice. even though opposite guy look small then u maybe he will have a pistol or knife with him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • hahaha2222 on May 13, 2015 at 2:10 pm

This guy are an uneducated fellow, using a bad word to reply my comment.. Gi belajar moral dulu, lps tu mari sini comment.. I don’t give a shit who the hell you are but be polite to everyone here..

• hahaha2222 on May 13, 2015 at 2:39 pm

You guys are act like a hero when you are in a group of gangs, but whenever you are solo on that time, then you will diam diam only..If a car driver is a policeman or an army motor, cyclist gang or you and your gang run away like a shit??

• public transport on May 11, 2015 at 12:32 pm

only bicycle can use highways.

• Superbiker Too on May 11, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Motorcycle is low class? How about those special edition superbike?

FYI, motorbike pay higher roadtax compare to car, thus no need for a toll anymore.

250cc = 600cc car
    600cc = 1.6l car (correct me if i’m wrong)

Yes we do against those rempit and snatch thief, but please dont generalize all motorcycle.

I drive and i ride, sometime when I drive, i do see the bad side of the biker, but when I ride, the same things happen, driver have their bad side as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • I_m_a_lorry_driver on May 11, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Yeah, I agree just let them be…More of them involve in accident and died the lesser of their kind on the road…everybody is happy..

• Rooney on May 11, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Motorbikes are simply not safe. I simply have to put the blame on Boon Siew Honda for single-handedly introducing this kind of transportation into our system.

Also the government for making cheaper car not accessible for the masses.

• logic on May 11, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Thanks a lot u guys. So much ‘pahala’ I got today for the bashing to motorcyclist. Cheers.

Back to topic, I’am weekdays user for MEX highway going and back for work. IMO most of u guys generalize motorcyclist issues to the user for MEX highway. Most of us usually used the emergency lane to at MEX. It is undeniable some of the motorcyclist did used the right lanes but for sure they drive fast usually big bikes or some rempit. ;)

As for me, the key word when driving are we respect all others driver and keep your awareness when driving. For example when I passes the exit for Bukit Jalil, I will turn my right signal on, keep a little bit to the right and will maintain my speed from 80 – 90 km/h to notice other driver that I would not exit the highway and try not to disturb any traffic to exit the highway. Surprisingly although by doing all those things, I still facing some driver that speed on the right to overtake me to exit the highway. That’s why awareness is important for me to slow down and give them the way. That’s means it is not motorcyclist is the problems, it’s the attitude of the driver either motorcycle, car even lorry and bus.

As for me, I think the MEX is still the safest route for me to commute to work. Hope KKR/LLM will study this issues thoroughly. The decision should not only derived from MEX statistic for motorcycle but also for car and comparison with other routes.

p/s: Have rode motorcycle on AKLEH. That will be my first and last time. So scary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Rooney on May 11, 2015 at 1:43 pm

No. you and your fellow motorbikers are still the main contributor of road death statistic in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • fz150 on May 16, 2015 at 7:41 pm

I agree with some comments and i disagree with lots of them. I’m a government officer who work at putrajaya. When i was instructed by my superior to be located at Putrajaya, I know MEX is a good option for me to ride my 150cc motorcycle to Putrajaya. I explore some other options for example using Besraya, MRR2 or Plus Hiway and the risk is still the same. MRR2 is more dangerous route to travel to Putrajaya. Plus hiway will takes longer time.to reach PutrajayaPutrajaya from my home in Desa Pandan. Besraya maybe the second option for me.

Based on the comments, a lot of you bemoaning the mat rempits and superbikers who rode at speeds. But some of the drivers also have the negative attitude when driving and careless. Using gadgets when driving, driving at 120km/h, dont turn on signal light when changing lane and etc.

The point is, if you care for your life, you will definately care for other life. Follow the rule, everyone is responsible for their acts.

• Lalala on May 11, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Lol look at all the comments. Do you know who uses MEX and Highways? All the fathers going to and from working every day, earning meager income to support their families. This also includes me. What we should worry is why the concessionaires got approved building highways WITHOUT motorcycle lane? Federal highways have it, KESAS have it, why these two dont have? And to say motorcycles are the one to blame as the cause of the accident, that is just statistics out from your ass. CARS are responsible for causing accidents in these highways, tayar celup from lorries are leaving damaged tires around the highways. That is why all those fathers are dead now. You car drivers making noise about the cost of living? You dont know shit how to support your children everyday with measly income, living dangerously on highways like this that have no motorcycle lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo Fan on May 11, 2015 at 3:10 pm

That’s why, work harder and get Toyota Camry.

Who ask you to always makan kuih, minum teh tarik, mc always when there is work. Boss ask you to work, you prefer to sell some MLM get rich quick scheme.

That’s why unless you are prepared to change your life, you will still be driving a kapchai. And please don’t come and says, Hey I also got a car at home. Don’t look down on me, my bike is more expensive than your car.

If so, then you don’t value life and you are still a low scum. Do you see CEO or high level mgmt rempit in 2 wheels to go to work, NO right ? Coz, they have drivers or probably driving the latest Benz or Bimmer. Work harder ya…and stop loitering in the toilet and watch porn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • AVH (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 1:01 pm

I have a long standing grudge against a majority of motorcyclist. Just today on the NKVE from SG.Buloh heading to Subang ,motorcyclist literally dominate the 2 slow lane(there are 4 on that stretch)and some ‘leaking’ into the 3rd lane. Most of them linger in the ‘neither here nor there’ of the lane and most if not all will never put signal to indicate if they are crossing into a lane. This is already dangerous move with a motor vehicle but something like a motorcycles where the human wraps around the machine instead of the other way roind, this is very dangerous.

The situation doesn’t improve in the night where,for whatever reason or another, most have either front or the tail light out of action or dim up by a bulb as weak as a babies night light. This makes spotting them like spotting an aircraft in the middle of the pacific ocean on a cloudy pacific night. Funny thing I’d that I spot most of them in the federal and sometimes on the nkve. Also during a rainy night or just night in heavy traffic, differentiating the lights of a car and a two Wheeler Is next to impossible, and changing lanes would usually result in a very loud horn and a ‘I am gonna kill u’ glare from a motorcyclist between lanes.

Given the fact that motorcycles don’t pay toll and have a high chance of invading road tax, also if I am not wrong, a collision on a motorcycle is usually settled with the car driver paying the damages TO the motorcyclist ,no matter what the circumstances as this is determine by our law. So if a unlighted motorcyclist cut into your lane, and his lack of brake light prevented you from avoiding a rear ending, you are in the wrong. And I find this unfair. Its a very one sided law against motorcyclist in malaysia. With weak enforcement and increasingly errant riders, I , due also to bias against them, support this move

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Exactly. I have spent thousands to repair damages motorcyclist inflict on my cars when none of the incidents was my fault. Some that I can remember; (not inclusive all the time they hit my side-mirrors for no reason except they are moving too fast to evade it in traffic jams)

A: In a traffic jam. Bike A on the right quickly changed lane behind my car not noticing bike B was zooming past on my left. Bike A tried to evade but end up hitting side on my car. Major Dent and Paintwork.

B: Traffic Jam Jalan Pekeliling. Bike zoom past on the left suddenly fall for no reason (probably chain or block got locked), bike spins on the ground and hit my car. Make deep scratch on rims, side skirt and bumper. I sympathize a bit, but I still have to fix my car by myself. Imagine if my car spins out of control (brake rosak or sumting) and hit your bike (even when you are not on it and it’s parked somewhere). Will you be sympathetic?

C: Slow moving Duke Semarak exit to KLCC. An uncle on a bike fell 30 metre in front right after road hump (very slow, probably nothing more but scratches on knee and bike, cos he get up immediately). I stop gradually (as with all the cars in front) as the uncle is on the other side of the road, but a bike behind is too busy looking at the uncle, end up hit my bumper. Deep scratch.

The best things about all these; all the bikers will claim “Tak ada apa2, calar sikit aja”. Have that “calar sikit” happen to YOUR vehicle and see how YOU feel.

• Bomoh on May 11, 2015 at 1:18 pm

If public transport and economy of our country is good, who want to ride the kapcai…

• mercy on May 11, 2015 at 1:23 pm

the highway concessionaires manyak untung should build motorbike lane

• HIFZAN ARIFF on May 11, 2015 at 1:28 pm

come on guys. respect each other. i also ride motobike to office everyday and use MEX putrajaya to kl. reason being it take only 30 min reach to KL either it is jammed or not. toll free and it only cost me like 5 ringgit a day for petrol. parking only for Rm1. it save a lot of money. save every penny that i earn so i can spend it elsewhere and not to spend most of the money for me the cost of travelling to work for me it just wasted. plus when i passed those car that stuck in the jammed with those piss off face. it totally worth it … keep on smiling and laugh to them … hahahahahahahahha …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • It is dangerous because motorcyclist dont pay toll.
    Once toll for motorcyclist is implemented,it will be safer for motorcyclist to travel on highway.
    This is malaysia maaaaa?

Btw,my motorcyle road tax i think is higher than vios kancil or any 1.6 and below.

• Johnny on May 11, 2015 at 2:37 pm

A lot of motorcyclist think they are above the law. Ride 100cc also run traffic light. Ride 800cc Ducati also run traffic light. Then cars have to watch out for them when they don’t even watch out for themselves. Staying on the topic, there’s many times I have to e-brake on a highway no thanks to a rider riding at about 50kmph. Better education and road ethics needed for motorcyclist.

• DrCooper on May 11, 2015 at 3:01 pm

nah I don’t think this gonna happen..even if it does…they gonna revert it back once public goes outrage…who’s the majority vote for them on election ? those people ride on bike lah..

• 1MDB & LTH to build laluan motorsikal as part of their Corporate social responsibility. Rakyat Didahulukan

• Toyota Hailat on May 11, 2015 at 3:15 pm

The govt should also ban myvi on highways.

• pompadour on May 11, 2015 at 3:30 pm

I totally agree with this. Have you seen the bikes when they exited AKLEH near Dang Wangi LRT station? All of them go against the traffic flow to go to the other way because it is convenient for them.

• Aniki on May 11, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Motorcylist with lower CC are not allow to drive to city and highway, only high CC are allow. They cause a lot of accident and vandalism on the road and therefore they should be banned. Please use LRT if you are not afford to buy a car.

• i’m sure they are some rempits and perverts using motorcycle. but there are lots more motorcyclist that use them as daily horse because they have to. cost of living is getting more d more expensive by the day. in fact, nobody want to ride a kapchai in the middle of highway if better option is available. imagine if all the kapcai rider change to axia and drive everyday using the same highway. jam will be triple. driving back during raya will be greater hell. god forbid

• To avoid illegal racing, such ban should only be implemented from 10pm to 6am, which they will not be allowed to enter these highways. During these times, other highways and roads should be safer and able to cope with any emergencies that may happen.

• The reason I prefer riding bike is because I can help my fellow Malaysian car drivers so that they don’t have to stuck longer in the traffic. For every motorcycle you see means one less car on the road. Removing the motorcycles from the road will not only increase the road traffic by several fold, but also increases the loads on other transport system such as trains and buses.

• orang kaya berlagak on May 11, 2015 at 4:28 pm

kalo aku byk duit ak pn x nk naik motor..sebelum ckp aku uneducated fool, aku ade degree drpd universiti awam…nk beli kereta bukan mcm beli baju..kena kumpul duit downpayment…byk betul org kaya berlagak dlm ni..mereka igt org yg naik motor ni semua sampah..patut lah selamba je tukar lorong walau dah tahu ada motor nk lalu kt tengah..aku perhatikan ni byk berlaku kt org yg bawak kereta mahal…

• orang kaya berlagak on May 11, 2015 at 4:36 pm

byk betul orang kaya berlagak..igt semua pengguna kapcai ni mat rempit ke? anda tukar lorong tak bagi signal lagi teruk drpd mat rempit…

• Sparcov on May 11, 2015 at 4:39 pm

BAN Motorcycle on all highway….
    Why?

1. Motorcycle don’t pay toll
    2. Motorcycle travelling at slow speed on the middle of 3 lane highway.
    3. Motorcycle also travelling at high speed on the fast lane following car and go Zig-zag
    4. Road widening done from 3 lane to 4 lane in NKVE
    Slow lane left occupied by motorcycle, 2nd slow by trucks, left 2 lane for passenger car, Any different after road widening? You created 1 more lane for motorcycle instead of car. That’s only if the motorcycle don’t behave like driving a car

• honda wave125 on May 11, 2015 at 4:49 pm

korang banyak duit.. boleh laa ckp…. yg komen kat sini semua yg ada internet, semua komen xperlu naik moto. pikir laa pasal yg xberkemampuan. moto pon ada isurans.

• Sateh on May 11, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Moto ni memang patut kena banned kat highway Malaysia..dah la x bayar tol..lepas tu membahayakan keselamatan pengguna lain…hish..

• Krasher on May 11, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Wait until I don’t see any motorbikes on Federal Highway then we will talk again :)

• Muzamir on May 11, 2015 at 7:05 pm

I agree on the ban on motorbikes for 2 reasons:

1) Both DUKE and AKLEH do not have a designated motorbike lanes, and as a result, motorbikes have to share the lanes with cars and other bigger vehicles and that is dangerous and inconvenient.

2) Not fair to other toll-paying vehicles as motorbikes do not have to pay any toll but they get to use all the facilities and experience the convenience of a tolled road for free, and in fact, other toll-paying vehicles and users are subsidising them.

You want to use toll road for its convenience, you have to pay. Otherwise, please do not complain.

Tq.

• Yea ban the motorbikes from these expressway with no dedicated bike lanes. Then your 20 km/h average in rush hour will be down to 2 km/h as all the workers are now forced to drive cars.

• sixspeedmanual on May 11, 2015 at 11:54 pm

I commute daily with motorcycle on kesas throughout almost whole stretch (klang-cheras) rush hour morning and evening. Banning motorcycles without tackling root cause will bring only more problems. I have a car. But commuting with a car will take me 1.30 hour plus to work as opposed to 45 mins by bike. Kesas has a dedicated motorcyclist lane. And so far im satisfied with its maintenance. Whats more important is the solution of the ‘motorcycles issue’ on mex and akleh. Since the lack of foresight is so obvious in not building a motorcycle lane in the first place. The same mistake by the bureaucrats should not be repeated. Banning motorcycles without offering any lasting and fair solution is irresponsible, and childish.

• Whynot on May 12, 2015 at 1:22 pm

The rich govt should let them have its own motor lane. Don’t punish the poor!

• kopikirkobagus on May 15, 2015 at 5:19 pm

aku bru mggu lepas guna KESAS.. and untuk drivers kreta mahal2, mmang aku observe je korg masuk lane atau masuk simpang x pkai lmpu signal,

FYI, aku bwak motorskal kapcai jah.. before tol awang besar aku dah masuk lane motor, and x jauh dari situ ade blockage jalan yg suruh keluar balik masuk jalan utama (KESAS).. And dari situ aku xleh masuk jln motor balik smpai la dekat tol kesas dkat persimpanagn kewajipan.. and dri situ jgak x jauh memang kena keluar balik masuk jalan utama.. So, untuk drivers2, jgn pkir bongek sngt kat rider, kitorg pkai jalan utama highway tu and not jalan motor yg disediakan sbb ade reason( ade block, aku x maksudkan roadblock yg ade polis, tpi yg roadblok warna oren/putih tuh)

• leftright on May 15, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Have u ever wonder this…

What if all the motorcyclist instead drive their cars? Can you imagine? I bet you most of them are capable enough to own a car and drive it
    My point is, the motorcyclists somehow ease your morning headaches, evening nightmares caused by ever crawling traffic jam. Though there are some of them are brainless and think they own the road, but…just imagine when ALL of us are behind our steering wheels,road-tax-paid cars, and flooded the highways, have you ever think of it?

Use both sides of your brain.

• Shady on May 15, 2015 at 11:39 pm

I am a rider and also a driver. Please people. Lowest scum on earth? Just because you have much money in compare to us riders, you think the road should be owned by you drivers? Fix the way you people drive then? Do you know that the car has at least 1 rear mirror and 2 side mirrors, in which, many drivers failed to use? If we riders honk, it’s because you drivers deserved it. Driving on the line. Not giving way for other people, freaking kancil trying to be hero, acting like a lorry? Please. Such lame comments. You ‘educated’ people know why ‘uneducated’ people like me ride? I pay RM5 for petrol, to and fro Klang – Kuala Lumpur. You educated people, if given the same distance? Living lavishly, under them roofs. Ban cars for heaven sake. Speeding and racing. 80km/h speed limit, you heroes driving at least 100 or 120, AT LEAST. Bunch of babies.

• Orang Kaya on May 16, 2015 at 7:03 am

Aku pakai motor tiap2 hari, bukan sebab aku tak mampu pakai kereta, aku ada ferrari, bugati, konigseg, mclaren, sls dan kapal selam sebijik… kenapa aku suka naik motor? Sebab banyak babi yg lembap memandu kereta, sbb banyak anak haram yg suka potong barisan, sbb banyak pukimak yg ingat jalanraya adalah kepunyaan keluarga mereka, sbb banyak beruk yg suka perlahan nak tengok kereta org lain tayar pancit, sbb banyak celaka yg suka main henpon lepas tu pandu perlahan dan sebabkan jem.. Jadi aku terpaksa naik motor utk menghilangkan stress bila berada di jalanraya… sebenarnya aku ni kaya nak mampos tapi bila tengok vios atau myvi dipandu dengan belagaknya, aku jadi sakit hati… pui

• Django Kay El on May 16, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Jika kerajaan mementingkan aspek keselamatan, perlu bina leboh motosikal. Jika boleh bina enam lorong dua hala. Kalau perlu bayar tol, sila tetapkan. Sepatutnya kerajaan utama keselamatan rakyat. Jangan banyak berdalih. Biar kenderaan lain guna lebuh raya sedia ada.

• nates on Apr 22, 2016 at 12:35 am

Malaysian mentality
    -Naik Motor=low life scum, no money(walaupun sebenarnya ada kereta kt rumah, saving byk sbb takyah byr parking/toll/minyak hari2 kpd kroni2)
    -Naik Kereta=kaya, berjaya(walaupun tiap2 bulan duit habis sbb byr toll/minyak/parking hari2/and maintance)
    Jangan jadi bodoh percaya pada first impression shj.
    Benarkah sbb utama accident adalah motorsikal? Padahal pemandu kereta yang asyik main telefon sampai menghimpit penunggang motorsikal hingga accident. I see a lot of drivers playing with their phone while driving and you can see that their car jalan melelong. Cant stay on their lane correctly. Some even use two hands typing messaging, whatsapping, facebooking. This kind of car driver that cause the accident.
    When encounter this type of drivers, I notice some motorbike rider will get angry and show his middle finger to the driver. Some angrier riders will also kick your side mirrors. Drivers, there must be a reason why a motorbiker get angry with you.
    Police should educate this type of drivers. Saman mahal2 so the drivers will stay away from the phone while driving.

• Can only afford 2nd hand Kancil on May 24, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Hey you low life bikers get off my lane