Isuzu MU-X prices, specs revealed – RM152k-165k

Isuzu_MU-X_Malaysia_ 001

This is it, folks – prices and specs of the Malaysian-spec Isuzu MU-X have been revealed. The D-Max-based seven-seat SUV is available here in 4X2 and 4X4 variants. The order books open today ahead of deliveries in end-May.

No matter which variant you choose, the 2.5 litre VGS four-cylinder turbodiesel with common-rail direct-injection from the D-Max lurks under the bonnet, providing the same 136 PS at 3,400 rpm and 320 Nm of torque between 1,800 and 2,800 rpm. The gearbox is a five-speed auto with manual mode.

Standard across the range are projector headlamps, fog lamps, roof rails, dual airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, ESC and traction control. Inside, you’ll find second-row Isofix, three-point seat belts for all occupants, a leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio and hands-free controls, plus leather seats (driver’s seat is six-way power-adjustable).

The second row is split 60:40; the third 50:50, and there are second- and third-row vents with blower control. Suspension is handled by double wishbones up front and a five-link setup out back (instead of the D-Max’s leaf springs); brakes are front ventilated discs and rear solid discs.

How does one tell the variants apart? Well, the 4X2 rolls on 245/70 R16 alloys; the 4X4 on 255/65 R17s. The 4X2 also doesn’t have the 4X4’s LED DRLs, rear spoiler and tailpipe finisher. Inside the 4X4, you’ll find cruise control, auto air-con (4X2 has manual air-con), Terrain Command 4WD, anti-pinch for the driver’s window, a cargo organiser box and a tonneau cover – all of which are not on the 4X2.

The 4X2 gets a 2-DIN audio system with CD, USB, Bluetooth and six speakers, but the 4X4 has a Blaupunkt touch-screen that adds DVD, MirrorLink, WiFi, navigation and a reverse camera. The 4X4 also gets a roof-mounted rear monitor and four-cell reverse sensors (two-cell for 4X2).

Fully-imported (CBU) from Thailand, the Isuzu MU-X is priced at RM151,945 for the 4X2 and RM164,970 for the 4X4, OTR with insurance and GST. A three-year/100,000 km warranty is offered. Rivals include the Toyota Fortuner, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and new Ford Everest, which will be here before the year is up.

Isuzu MU-X 4X4

Isuzu MU-X preview at Alamanda Putrajaya

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo1 on May 11, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Before you buy this car, go book a test drive with me. I let you drive Fortuner especially on the off-road. See who wins?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 73
    • Fak off la.. stop talking your $hits about Toyota. Everyone knows how bad it is, no further explanation needed. Please go back and fak off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 11
      • Newcomer on May 11, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Actually which one is the real Sam Loo? Why there are many different nickname of Sam Loo? Is there anyone who pretend the real one? Or just a sarcasm? And the people who reply it do you see the people who wrote it? Or just another keyboard warrior?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • whoissamtelor on May 11, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Are you real Same Lorrrr?

• karam singh on May 11, 2015 at 9:27 pm

hahaha
            2.7l fortuner …
            180kmh speedcut, lame…
            1.8 HRV better,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Newcomer on May 12, 2015 at 11:55 am

Nope, just a 18 yrs old boy. I have seen people with SameLorrr, SamLoo(ori) , SamL0oor, SameL0rr.. why everyone trying to pretend someone?

• karam singh on May 11, 2015 at 9:29 pm

fortuner doesnt offer this kind of safety on the road..
          well how many % SUV driver actually driving off-road?
          more on the road..

• Sorry. I seldom on off road. So Isuzu MU-X is my choice because fortuner is bumpy for me. Engine is lousier than the Isuzu.

• Fortuner has been around here for so long. Not many on the road. Now with a competitor baru nak test drive?

• Areyousure on May 11, 2015 at 7:09 pm

U know why Fortuner good?

Because u pay the price for one, but having the same driving experience like one Hilux. Literally owning 2 cars, lololol

• aboden on May 12, 2015 at 9:15 am

Actually you get to drive 3 cars. The Innova shares the same crappy platform as the hilux. Now this is value :)

• bukapintubayartol on May 11, 2015 at 6:00 pm

What’s the Chevrolet version?

• ngoryew on May 11, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Fortuner overpriced and underspeced. Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • antiG on May 11, 2015 at 6:16 pm

jump to rm150k over juz by putting some extra seat,roof etc juz to compete with other competitors that already have a good reputation in producing an suv???.good luck with the sale isuzu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Isuzu builts real rugged 4×4 s.u.v. This is not a luxury s.u.v. and it is very popular in Thailand. The only thimgs that spoils it is the price due to the tax structure in Malaysia.

• Nekelus on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:59 am

I truly agreed with you Jay. Govt is imposing so many taxes structure just to pay $? in view of their improper management of some of the channeled funds.

• 156k yet with only two airbags.

Car marques are definitely taking Malaysians for a ride.

• akulaini on May 28, 2015 at 9:25 am

156k with only two airbags? no, no. 1 SUV and 2 airbags (& other accesories)

• wiwiwiw on May 11, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Was hoping that the car might cost RM115k or RM125k. Considering that the pick up version of this costs around than RM90k. If I need a seven seater family 4×4, I would consider a Santa Fe diesel. Six airbags, traction control, five year warranty. Now I have to wait for the upcoming Kia Sorrento specs and price. Safety is my first priority, It is a shame that we have to look at these sort of cars, considering that a Volvo XC90 costs above RM345,000. We are paying a lot of tax for a car that offers so less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • voonvoon on May 11, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Unfortunately Santa Fe Malaysia model comes with pity 2 air bags count. Not 6 airbags though.

• wiwiwiw on May 11, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Dude, recently I think they fitted six airbags as standard.

• voonvoon on May 16, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Dud, where you got the fact that hyundai Malaysia upgraded the santa fe model with 6 airbags? I just double check again with hyundai Malaysia website. Please do do your homework before commenting. Thank you Dud. www.hyundai.com.my/modelsSantaFeInfo.aspx#contents_specification

• drust on May 11, 2015 at 9:54 pm

115k to 125k? Bro u dreaming? This price can only get you sedan car bro.

• wiwiwiwiw on May 11, 2015 at 11:25 pm

This is Malaysia and you have a point there. If I were Izuzu, I wouldn’t mind make it more affordable for the people. I mean at the end of the day, it is an agricultural truck that sits on a ladder frame. Simple technology and cheap manufacturing. Considering the basic D-Max low rider pick up truck is less than RM80k, how could this be twice the price of that? The base MU-X 2.5 4×2 MANUAL costs 1,044,000.00 THB = 111,504.56 MYR. I think it is seriously marked up, the price that makes the Santa Fe and Sorento extremely good value because it sits on a car-like platform and I regarded it as proper Volvo XC90 rival.

• Pick up in malaysia is tax exempted…

However.. 4wd like fortuner,everest, pajero sport and this mu-x…does not have tax exemption.

Thus..with a super size engine.. and a big body… big capobility..with the same tax system as others… that’s why it is more expensive then the cx5..crv..

These powerful 4wd itself is ady more expensive to be built then those c segment suv..

Santa fe and sorento is d segment suv.. but the platform is too fragile to bring them go offroad. Santa fe is sime darby high management company car.. sorento is for the aunties who are having mama competiton at the primary school and private school..who is bigger who win.

• same lor keem mak on May 11, 2015 at 6:50 pm

i love my pajero..

no loan no problem..

• Toyota Fan on May 11, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Of course this car would go around 150k. as the pickup version is categorised under commercial vehicle thus only has 10% sales tax.

• sick&tired on May 11, 2015 at 8:34 pm

i would go with the santa fe

• Arell on May 11, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Buy this and use on highway and tergolek-golek.

• Jimmy on May 11, 2015 at 9:57 pm

6 airbags + ESP.

• seancorr (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Aww the spec is almost complete if not for the lack of curtain airbags =(

• albag on May 12, 2015 at 9:20 am

third world country brand for third world country drivers

• Josh Ling on May 12, 2015 at 2:26 pm

impressive spec sheet for 4×4 variant, i must say. but it makes me wonder about the existence of the 4×2 variant…..a lot of difference in spec, but not so much in price.

• sambalbabi on May 13, 2015 at 2:16 am

a total win over Fortuner – cos it has rear brake discs.

• drust on May 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Test drove the car. Spacious and good power delivery. Doesn’t feel like driving a truck. Look muscular n much better in actual. If modify like those in Thailand…cun!