Perodua Myvi vandalism continues in JB – report

Myvi

The latest in a string of Perodua Myvi vandalisms reportedly takes place in Johor Bahru, where a white car was torched on Saturday at Danga City Mall, according to the New Straits Times.

Johor Baru Selatan police chief Assistant Commissioner Sulaiman Salleh, who confirmed the 4.15 pm incident, told the English-language daily that the Myvi, parked at basement level one, was partially torched at the rear. The case is being investigated under Section 435 of the Penal Code for mischief by fire or explosive substance, he said.

According to a Johor Fire and Rescue Department (Bomba) spokesman, a fire engine and four firefighters were dispatched to the scene, and they put out the fire in 14 minutes.

Since the fatal May 2 Duta-Ulu Klang Expressway accident, reports of Perodua Myvis being defaced and vandalised have been doing the rounds on social media. Whatever our views are on the unfortunate incident, such vandalism is certainly neither big nor clever.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• lesont on May 11, 2015 at 1:47 pm

please learn the lesson. because of the incident the whole myvis (majority law obedient) get the bad name too.

because of these few ahbengs, myvi known for two things:
    (1) speeding over 110kmh
    (2) tailgating/flashing light

erase this reputation…… how?…… drive properly, derar ahbengs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 10
    • Areyousure on May 11, 2015 at 2:38 pm

You should look at how many illegal racing on the road is Myvi first. No surprise Myvi to top the list.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
      • Really? on May 11, 2015 at 2:51 pm

And you think Proton has no illegal racers? Plenty of Mat Rempit R3s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 50
        • corsed on May 11, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Why drag in p1 in p2 article?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 3:42 pm

why you see more racing/rempit Myvis on the road instead of Proton?

Simply 1. No one buy Proton now 2.Proton is fuel hunger that the owners normally drive it slow to preserve fuel consumption.

Saw a lot crawling modded (and loud) Waja/Iswara/Persona/Preve on the road, this is typical SENDIRI SYOK!

Back to the topic, Myvis shouldn’t race on the road. We all know your engine (from Toyota) is reliable and fuel saving, but consider others on the road too!

Driving sibeh fast in Myvi, you still a Myvi, no one care. Drive a Camry/Lexus on the road 60km/h steady, everyone respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 47
          • same loh on May 11, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Lexus is glorified Toyota, noone gives a damn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
          • African L0rrr on May 11, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Africans don’t give a damn about Proton, that’s why it close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Unrelated story also been dragged in. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • reputis on May 11, 2015 at 3:02 pm

their reputation nothing near myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • Hor Shen Hau on May 11, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Really Same LOrrr?But why you didn’t about mention about mat rempit TRD?Especially Toyota Vios.That day,I found one driver,driving Toyota Vios,want to race with my Suprima S.With big spoiler,”aerodynamic” bodykit,big sport rim,neon light under the car,and crappy sound exhaust.And the one thing that I tak boleh stop gelak is there is a GT badge beside the Vios badge.I just step my throttle pedal once,hilang dari pandangan.I think the Vios “GT” got asthma,because eat my Suprima S smoke too much

#ViosGTRicerEdition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
          • Suprimau Sotong on May 11, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Smoke here, smoke there. So you bangga you can smoke Vios? Use C segment to “buli” B segment? With an attitude like yours, now wonder we have so much accident. You think your Suprima is what? F1 car kah? Just a rubbish car with a fuel consuming engine. A class, 1 series and Audi A3 owners can easily smoke your crap car if they want

#SuprimaSucksEdition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
          • Same L0rrrr on May 12, 2015 at 12:10 am

Myvi street racers, Toyota street racers, Honda street racers, Proton street crawler, we don’t welcome ANY!

When you “smoke” the Vios and feel syok, you are just same, dangerous, ignorance and stupid as him/her.

Suprima S so good? Turbo 1.6 (9.9s for 0-100km/h) still can not beat our tiny battery Prius C (9.7s).

Fuel consumption? miles away…

Reliability? No way.

Go follow the Vios street racers a few times, then you will have to visit your beloved Proton garage to fix this fix that.

Suprima S? lol. Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Why compare hybrid Prius C with Preve? It’s crampy city car, driving it at high speed may end up like those rempit Myvi.

• Good job guys…burn them all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • vandall on May 11, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Must be the work of those P2 haters. P1 Exora terbakar now want to bakar other people’s car to bad name P2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • Carrer (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 1:03 am

1. Myvi is one of the highest (if not the highest) in terms of number of cars on the road.
      2. Myvi is cheaper compared to Continental or Japanese cars, therefore, more lower income citizens (where most Mat Rempits reside at) could afford.

So, most Mat Rempits are driving Myvi, but not all Myvis are driven by Mat Rempits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • I’m not a Myvi owner, but this is too much. Not all Myvi owners are racers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 11
  • Joe Whiner on May 11, 2015 at 1:55 pm

To be safe all Myvi owners should quickly change the Myvi badge to Daihatsu Sirion

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
  • Aero (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 2:18 pm

If this has anything to with the recent case of the Myvi-Pajero crash which shocked all Malaysians… then I must say that whoever thinks that shocking accident justifies vandalising other people’s Myvis is extremely retarded and narrow minded.

Yes, Myvi drivers have a bad reputation as of late, but in no way does the actions of the Myvi drivers who caused that shocking accident represent ALL Myvi drivers. First off, the Myvi has been the best-selling car in Malaysia for 9 consecutive years, that means every other car you see on our roads is bound to be a Myvi. Taking into account the hundreds of thousands of Myvis on our roads, chances are you’ll find more rotten drivers in Myvis simply because the car is popular. Again, a lot of cars which speed, do not indicate, undertake, illegally park etc. tend to be Myvis, but that’s simply because every other car in Malaysia is a Myvi. The truth is, most Myvi drivers are normal people like you and I. It’s just that the Myvi is a victim of its own success. A handful of rotten eggs shouldn’t spoil the entire basket. An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind. Vandalising and discriminating against other people’s cars simply because of the badge is a crime.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 5
    • Aero (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 2:37 pm

I forgot to add; I’m not a Myvi driver, no one in my family owns a Myvi (or Perodua) either (we’re a Proton family haha). I drive a 2007 Saga and I’ve seen my fair share of rotten Saga drivers too. I’m not trying to defend Myvi owners or anything, I’m just saying what needs to be said; carcism (car-racism) is irrational. Hate the driver, not the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 10
      • myvi club sucks on May 11, 2015 at 2:56 pm

What’s the point of long explanation dude, shut up la Aero bla bla.. Most of the public road racers are myvi drivers..that’s the fact. Yesterday I was tailgating by silver myvi, recklessly over took me when the was a lorry from the opposite direction. Hope he collided with that lorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 96
        • Maybe there is something that urging myvi drivers tailgating other cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • myvitos on May 12, 2015 at 12:15 am

Oh yah, always they in urgent, others who also pay toll and taxes not need to urgent….. nust give ways to the myvitos

• Myvi Owner 10 on May 11, 2015 at 3:14 pm

please la dude learn how to construct proper sentences in English. “yesterday I was tailgating by silver myvi”. you speak the language with so much filth. people nowadays have become more ignorant. “most of the public road racers are myvi drivers?” wow please do enlighten us with the results of your interviews and surveys with “most of the public road racing myvi drivers”.

thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
          • you just prove that myvi owners are arrogant & retard such as yourself… pls drive safely adhering to the traffic rules and be cosiderate to other road users

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 7:01 am

Most of the cars on public roads are Myvi, so it makes sense that most racers are also driving Myvi. Use your brain la.

• aboden on May 12, 2015 at 9:38 am

Seriously if you took the time to read or you’re completely illiterate which I will aplogise. MAJORITY of the people owns a Myvi so it’s not a supernatural event to see a myvi racer on the road. If you manage to find more racers than etiquette Myvi drivers then kudos to you, you live in a very special part of Malaysia. The one you should condemn is the drivers not the cars. Why blame the gun when someone else pulls the trigger

• Sensible Malaysian on May 11, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Come on, it’s barbaric to burn other people’s car.Don’t take the law into own hands, hopefully the lawmakers and enforcement officers can work harder…Those who run on emergency lanes and those who tailgate are cowards!

• msians bunch of dumb asses, halo its the attitude stupid, not the cars

• Not all myvi are racer, but most of the time I has been tailgated by P plate myvi,especially youngest ah beng, even know you are giving signal to give way.
    along the way myvi has given some bad impression when you saw on the road.

• i blame mitsubishi, if you look at a pajero sport it look very tall with too much inward camber. The thing visually looks unstable plus no stability systems. The accident could of not been fatal if the pajero didnt flip over. Body on frame truck based suv’s are big no no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • dumb driver hater on May 11, 2015 at 4:23 pm

If you know nothing about such car have higher chances of body roll over, please shut up. If you insist want to blame, blame the driver itself for not buckling up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 7:03 am

Higher cars are indeed more likely to roll. There are statistics about that, SUVs and pickup trucks are much more likely to roll, which is why it is even more important for them to have stability control. People just think because they drive a big car they are safer.

However yes, the passengers are to be blamed the most (apart from the Myvi drivers), they should have buckled up and they’d be alive and well.

• I also think the pajero sport, toyota fortuner and all the pick up based suv’s are too narrow and tall making them not very stable. Hopefully the new ford everest is not the same

• anak sarawak on May 11, 2015 at 5:05 pm

So those idiots should burn pajero sport as well??Very clever indeed.

• Obviously (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Sounds like you know the whole story. What was the speed of the Pajero Sport vs the MyVi? What was the angle of impact? What about the second impact? What did the driver do immediately after being struck?

They got flung out of the car. Very likely means that they didn’t buckle.

You know so little yet your claims are so big.

• g-TRSSS on May 11, 2015 at 8:23 pm

But the accident won’t happen if both myvi didn’t race

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • holofanboi on May 12, 2015 at 12:04 am

The silly actions of the external cause is not an excuse for the primary cause to be forgotten. In this case, Obviously is right to point out about the seatbelts (Have you any idea how ridiculously tough seatbelts are?)

• kadajawi (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 7:07 am

In this case, yes. But there are many more reasons for such accidents that don’t involve others racing. And you can’t stop those external factors, all you can, for the most part, do, is put on seatbelts so that when you crash it won’t be nearly as harmful as without.

• Jojo the idiot…your knowledge on cars is very poor and you must be one of the idiotic n lunatic myvi owner

• Anti-pati on May 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Stupid Malaysians are stupid. Which is why this country’s going to the dogs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • stopFMC on May 11, 2015 at 3:21 pm

I understand the outrage. No such activity had happened before and only started after FMC had their fiasco (Orang dalam, dont care attitude, blamed on the dead etc.) If FMC Yana would just accept the whole damn thing (as there are CCTVs, eyewitness accounts) then i dont think there will be any hate towards Myvi Owners/Myvi cars.

This is really sad and i pitty those innocent people affected (family and friends do drive myvis) but i guess this is how the nation expresses their hate towards something.

• Same Lorr on May 11, 2015 at 3:53 pm

toyota/daihatsu DNA.. But still good RV for Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Akhmuadz on May 11, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Bought an iriz is the ultimate solution… Myvis, u got served for having racer’s owner… They thought myvi was a supra’s rebadged instead of passo;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • So if a Ferrari / GTR crashed into the Pajero instead of a Myvi would they vandalise all Ferraris & GTRs? No right? Why?

• GolfR on May 11, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Coz those cars are made for high speed driving. Myvi is just city car. Stickers won’t add any hp or torque and slapping ah beng bodykit wrongly will reduce stability.

GolfR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Doesn’t matter. Ferrari or Kancil, death is still death & illegal street racing is still illegal street racing.

• aboden on May 12, 2015 at 9:43 am

Made for racing means can race on the road? Racing tracks are made for a reason. U wanna street race? Do in front of your house. Wanna jeopardize a life? Jeopardize your own families’ safety

• Johnny on May 11, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I hate volkswagen driver even more…
    speeding here and there.

Motorcyclist are in danger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • maXref (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 7:17 pm

and motorcyclists are the perfect example of good road users? Your line of thinking are exactly what is wrong with these vandals. Stop generalising that ‘this brand’ drivers are bad n etc. People who drive recklessly will do so regardless of what brand they drive.

• Samad Jain on May 11, 2015 at 6:35 pm

there are good myvi drivers and there are stupid and speed demon myvi too. There are oso too fast, too ah beng myvi.

Those driving a myvi and think they can tapau every car on the road, cucuk here, cucuk there…..be careful…YOU would be the next kena “tapau” in a black body bag.

• Captain Obvious on May 11, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Remember when electricity killed people? Burn down all the electricity power generators! Power grids!… Can we grow up a little?

• Albert on May 11, 2015 at 7:59 pm

The problem is not the CAR BRAND.
    The problem is SICK MINDS targeting the wrong people.
    If they have the BOLA,please turn up in court and target the 2 fast and furious guys ,who may be jailed easily 5-10 years.
    By the way,Same Lorr… your Camry may not be very safe with these sick nuts around.They are like suicide bombers…not amm….bomb and maim .

• Albert on May 11, 2015 at 8:07 pm

By the way,the next group of dangerous people are the unlicensed,underage bikers.Are you going to burn their machines alive?
    They are killing machines on the road in practically all the suburbs of KL.
    Whats sad is nothing has been done to stop these killing machines.Your nephew,niece,auntie,uncle crossing the roads are at their mercy.
    Boleh land is waiting for more horror accidents b4 some VVIPs get killed.Then our dear minister will awake from his slumber.

• Albert 2 on May 12, 2015 at 8:47 am

Lets burn all the unlicensed, underage, u”unhelmet bikers’ bike….burn them to hell…

• Henry on May 11, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Those people who cause the tragic accident on the DUKE are wrong. Vandalism is also wrong ……. and illegal.

• Cool Rambo on May 11, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Maybe the one they torched belongs to a particular group. I’ve came across several rude drivers from Alzas club, Wish club or even Myvi. They don’t really think about other drivers when that are together

• MEGANE on May 12, 2015 at 7:35 am

Next are Souped Up Vios ,Alza and Livina . Many drive as if these were bloody sports cars .

• CyberPatrol on May 12, 2015 at 9:36 am

It sum up these people spend energy on the wrong way, he can advocate good driving habits and responsibility instead punish innocent people. He no different than driver of Myvi that took three lives away and breadwinner of family. Or he a psychopath person.

• Myvi is a big fat stupid car, not a sport car.

• What scares me (and what I haven’t heard being discussed here) is that 3 out of every 5 cars ever sold in Malaysia in the last 8 years is a Myvi….which means that….. most Malaysians are bad drivers….. think about it…before blogs and social media 15 years ago..there was a general consensus that Wira/Waja were the worst drivers on the road and they outnumbered everyone else in the same way

Though I admit that I have personally seen many Myvi (esp 1.5’s guys..its 1.5!!) way overestimate the capability of their car.. the bigger issue is we need to revamp the way licenses are obtained and look at it on a grassroots level as Myvi owners basically represent all types of drivers on the road which means that our driving standard is really low at present….

• Vincent on May 12, 2015 at 11:03 am

When I read comments state ” most of the street racer.. speeding, dangerous driver are myvi” I feel sad for malaysia education! Most keyboard hero failed in.their math.. statistic lesson…

The facts is:

MYVI recorded as the best seller for more 5 continues years.. the number of MYVI on the road is much more than others model! If 5% of the driver are driving dangerous on road… the posibility that it is MYVI also higher as it sI highest number in the sampling size! So.. why r u concluded that all MYVI driver are dangerous driver?

MYVI is the entry level.. most driver are young. So, the percentage of young dangerous drive will also increase…but then, shall we concluded tat the others majority of good myvi driver in this bad Apple category?

The rational should be… no matter hwat model u drive, look at your car spec.. those safety features u got.. test and nake sure u know how fast u can stop ur car.. before you chasing and push for high speed!

I do drive a lot of model include MYVI..my feeling is… even 1.5L… it is not safe when u hit above 110km/ h..so, pls follow malaysia speed limit.. keep below 110 km/ h… no way MYVI.. or any japanese, nor korean B segment car is safe after 110km/h. Want a bit fas, got get an used continental car which mostly.still safe at 150km/ h!

• Myvi user on May 12, 2015 at 12:15 pm

There is no reason and excuse to do car vandalism like this. It’s so so so childish to torch or hurt a certain type of car according to the accident the other day. The accident is not because of PERODUA, PROTON or any brand car’s fault. It IS DRIVER’S FAULT who drives a certain car. I don’t care if illegal driver’s car is torched or destroyed if someone surely know the car is illegal driver’s one. I hope Malaysians people do understand this kind of action has no meaning and just shows some people’s meaningless, stupid mind. You should change your mind who said it’s no surprise to see this kind of news. Can you imagine victim’s feeling who just uses Myvi ? If your car is destroyed this kind of reason, can you just say “Oh, no wonder…. the same type of car I drive caused fatal accident the other day”

What we have to learn from the accident is we need to safe drive to protect others and of course, ourselves and keep asking Govn. to tighten the law to exterminate illegal drivers to protect us.

• leonardo on May 12, 2015 at 12:53 pm

I want to suggest that MyVi club or oter Car clubs to organise;
    1. Safety driving classes/courses for their members to improve thier driving skills and knowledge. Getting a driving licence is not enough.
    2. Organise a race event in a proper track. If a race track is too expensive,you could organise a go kart race within a confined circuit complete with race marshalls. This would allow members to let off ‘steam’ and the neeed for speed in a safe environment.

• alias on May 13, 2015 at 6:56 pm

common lah people, so many narrow minded. don’t put the blame on the car branding, its becoz of the uncivilised driver. as usual, we malaysian, first class facility with third class mentality. just like you guys comments… its all third class mentality. we should blame the driver attitude regardless their car brands. yeah myvi is myvi, but if ferrari accident hi speed, that makes it way stupid than myvi.

• $ RichGuy $ on May 15, 2015 at 12:29 pm

If you drive Myvi, please don’t try to challenge ppl on the road…Please know your own status. Many Myvi driver don’t realise their status they thought their Myvi is Toyota/Honda/Benz/BMW or even FERRARI @_@ and still wanna find problems. I respect those who drive their Myvi responsibly but for those who like to flashlight ppl, illegal racing, tailgating, simply honk ppl…YOU ALL SUCKS! GO BUY A MIRROR AND LOOK INTO IT! WHAT ARE YOU! PXXR GUY!

• stopblamemyvi on May 15, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Dun blame the car/brand of the car.
    Please calm down, and please wake up…

who is the murderer?, please understand it is the driver. not the car.

burning or vandalism other car is a thing to proud?
    come on, grow up malaysian!

• $ RichGuy $ on May 15, 2015 at 6:46 pm

If you drive Myvi, please don’t try to challenge ppl on the road…Please know your own status. Many Myvi driver don’t realise their status they thought their Myvi is Toyota/Honda/Benz/BMW or even FERRARI @_@ and still wanna find problems. I respect those who drive their Myvi responsibly but for those who like to flashlight ppl, illegal racing, tailgating, simply honk ppl…YOU ALL SUCKS! GO BUY A MIRROR AND LOOK INTO IT! WHAT ARE YOU! PXXR GUY! Shit!