Toyota and Mazda to widen partnership: Toyota to share fuel-cell/hybrid tech, Mazda to offer SkyActiv

Amidst ever-tightening emissions regulations and market competition, Toyota and Mazda are set to deepen their existing technological partnership – the Nikkei reports that Toyota is considering providing fuel-cell and hybrid tech to Mazda, while Mazda will share its economical SkyActiv petrol and diesel engine technologies in return.

Sources apparently told the business daily that Mazda has been trying to develop fuel-cell vehicles on its own, but has now elected to bolster its relationship with Toyota, which makes the Mirai, the world’s first and only mass-market fuel-cell car.

In an attempt to speed up fuel-cell development and infrastructure, the Japanese giant has made over 5,000 patents related to its hydrogen fuel-cell tech available royalty-free until end-2020. Toyota, meanwhile, is set to utilise SkyActiv tech in some of its cars – reports indicate that the next-gen Yaris is set to use Mazda’s high-compression, direct-injection SkyActiv petrol engine as seen in the Mazda 2.

The Japanese publication reported that both automakers were looking at reaching an agreement on the expanded partnership soon. The report added that Toyota and Mazda officials said nothing has yet been decided.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loo1 on May 11, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Kimchi cars, stay at one side. Stupid kimchi cars stated a large power output but can’t deliver. Sad kimchi cars, over rated their engine. Only stupid people will buy. Smart people buy sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
    • roxas on May 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Hyundai already producing fuel cell few yrs back la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
      • Read carefully lah on May 11, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Yeah but Hyundai did not mass produce it. If you read carefully Toyota is the first to mass produce fuel cells with the Mirai.

If you really want to compare, Mazda also produced a hydrogen fuel cell vehicle in the 1980’s but because gasoline was so popular it became nothing but merely an experiment.

• Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 7:46 pm

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Imagine a Skyactiv Vios or Mazda 3 hybrid… you will find no reason to waste your money on low RV (kimchi) and junk (Proton) cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • wwwee on May 11, 2015 at 9:04 pm

But battery in CX5 kong even using it less than a year, you said it’s quality?

Ptuih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
          • shusi on May 11, 2015 at 10:41 pm

lol?? Mazda no produce battery .means no under Mazda

• skyactivesuck on May 12, 2015 at 4:39 am

It’s kong because skyactive tech is so good not saving energy but using it like lembu minum air, LOL

• My little MyVi’s battery has been serving me since Oct 2013. Does that mean Perodua have better quality??

• vanco on May 12, 2015 at 9:18 am

Of course Myvi has better quality, much harder than truck

• Lance on May 12, 2015 at 10:21 am

Since when Mazda produce battery??

• Since skyactive minum fuel like lembu minum air, battery also dies

• SkyActiv Vios? Wait more 10 years la…

• Same L0rrrr on May 12, 2015 at 10:36 am

Ok lah, I have to admit, Toyota got worse RV than kimchi now.

• irsan on May 11, 2015 at 5:42 pm

vios will has skyactiv engine in next edition. Huhu. Kipidap.

• Skyactiv hybrid. Best in ICE gasoline & paired with good electric hybid tech.
    Would be great if Mazda can use their rotary tech engine as a range extender to an all electric car

• Toyota share bullshit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • roxas on May 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Hyundai already producing fuel cell few yrs back la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Lance on May 12, 2015 at 10:23 am

Only few years back? Did you know Mazda already have a ready product for fuel cell decades ago? Its a matter of mass producing it. Only Toyota did it so far..

• Areyousure on May 11, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Why not just turbocharged it?

Preve did the same. But not selling well la, lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • youcaveman on May 11, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Toyota has such plan, go out from cave and read more

• Hor Shen Hau on May 11, 2015 at 11:54 pm

What,Preve sell is not well?Are you blind?Preve can be seen everywhere now.Bersepah.I think you better get an eye checkup.As fast as you can^_^

#TheStupidestBasherCommented

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on May 11, 2015 at 10:08 pm

If I were Mazda CEO, I don’t want this kind of partnership.
    1. No free lunch. If there is no difficulties, I won’t let you use it for free, you help me to solve the problem. Why want to trade good tech for immature tech?
    2. I believe Mazda has the ability to do things in his own ways, and the products may be even more superior. Just give yourself some time, no hurry (to trade your Skyactif) as at the moment you still can sell well with your Skyactif.
    3. Always be extra careful when you deal with good businessmen.
    4. Do not expose the secret technology of Skyactif.
    5. Keep Skyactif for yourself.
    6. Skyactif = Mazda.

• Well, skyactiv is for high compression ratio. If mazda able to make indirect injection on low RAM & direct injection on high RPM with maintain high compression ratio, this engine would be very fuel efficient.

• The simple way is just put a turbocharger on. But skyactiv are tuned for N/A so it won’t be efficient anyway.

• Lance on May 12, 2015 at 10:27 am

If you read Mazda comment carefully, they say in actual driving condition, Skyactiv is more efficient than turbo engine but in a controlled environment and for the purpose of getting good figure, turbocharged engine is better.

• red3r on May 12, 2015 at 11:01 am

Benefit of so called i-Eloop is nothing more than 6% fuel saved. No wonder some bolehland variants don’t get that.

• But they have got no choice. Here’s why.

1. No free lunch. True, but the meal Mazda gets to enjoy in the future is much bigger if they share theirs now. Regardless of how good SkyActiv sounds, fossil fuels are running out and fuel cell is the future.

2. Fuel cell tech is destined to be the mainstream. But Mazda, being a small company that sells barely enough to cover their expenses, they could not afford to spend billions just to catch up on a technology that others are light years ahead. So buying or “leasing” the tech from another company known for its careful approach on technology makes more sense.

3. SkyActiv is good, but what makes you think that other manufacturers cannot achieve the same combustion ratio and efficiency? Especially when Mazda has solved the bottleneck question, others can just make slight changes to the patents they applied and come up with something as good if not better.

4. Mazda does have the know-how to make fuel cell on their own, but they don’t have the money. Money speaks louder than actions in the business world, unfortunately.

5. SkyActiv is old tech “reused and recycled”. There’s nothing secret about that.

6. SkyActiv = Mazda, but SkyActiv Fuel Cell could be even better!

• Lance on May 12, 2015 at 10:35 am

Mazda has developed fuel cell and hydrogen cars already. Getting it into mass production will be another matter. Toyota invested on developing hybrid and fuel cell that’s why their internal combustion engine sucks. Mazda still think internal combustion engine has more to improve that’s why they invested their effort on it and Skyactiv is really light year ahead of other N/A engines. Now coming to mass market, obviously Toyota has the biggest shares and advantages and it makes sense for Mazda to just partner with them for a win win situation and cost cutting for both party. No matter how, car still need internal combustion engine for a long time.

• explodeJaps on May 12, 2015 at 4:43 am

If put turbo not leak but explode? Lol

• old dog on May 12, 2015 at 10:57 am

a SkyActive with FuelCell/Hybrid tech will let 1 tank of fuel drive from Singapore to China…(seems manufacturers are comparing from KL-Thai, from SG-Thai..:P)