VIDEO: Toyota Hilux Revo teaser – launching end May

This teaser video for the upcoming Thai market launch of the new 2016 Toyota Hilux was found on social media pages dedicated to the new Hilux. As per the teaser images we’ve seen before, it mentions 22-23-24 dates, which coincidentally fall after the new truck’s supposed May 21 date debut.

For those who aren’t in a position to conveniently watch a video during office hours, we’ve screen grabbed important frames in the video which showcase the new Hilux and put them in a gallery below. The video teases the new truck’s headlamps, fog lamps and the shape of the front end in general, although everything is still pretty much hidden in shadows.

The ending frame of the video shows the new truck’s logo – it’s called the Hilux Revo in Thailand. The Revo moniker replaces the outgoing car’s Vigo name.

Toyota also announced the new GD family of D-4D turbodiesel engines at the 2015 Vienna Motor Symposium. The new engine family consists of the 177 hp, 450 Nm 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and the 160 hp, 400 Nm 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 11, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Guys…… Seriously need some true advice & experience. Is it Ford Ranger have gearbox problem & their SC is sucks? Heard parts need to wait for months!!!!! Love the Ford but dare not book since heard & my neighbour Ranger having gearbox problem. Your valuable comment is highly appreciates. Thank You.
    Btw bila EURO 4 Diesel launch weeiiiii.… most Malaysian eargely awaits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Sam L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Buy my Toyota Hailat to secure your investment. By next time when EURO4 throughout Malaysia states. Only think others la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 3:37 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially Toyota.

Gonna be busy again… why can’t UMW give us a break? Saw my Proton/Hyundai/Ford/VW salesman friends are having long tea break everyday…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Nathan Ferdinand on May 11, 2015 at 5:22 pm

I have a Ranger with manual tranny few years ago. When I was driving around Cameron Highlands, the gearstick stuck in 2nd gear so it’s hard to shift over and it cannot shift anymore. I replaced the new gearbox for about RM 15k. I don’t know about SC so far, because the SC in my car works well. Knowing this, I sold my ranger and replace it with an older, but robust – Land Rover Defender ’80.

So, for my experience, better buy Navara NP300, Hilux or Triton.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 11, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Thanks Bro, really helpful info. My neighbour Ranger having same as yours too, stuck in one of the gear & he told me he twist those knob here & there and then on/off the radio……..finally get the Ranger move but it was like Horse JERK. His Ranger is Auto 6-speed.
        Been waiting news Navara NP300, so far nothing.

• Diesel on May 12, 2015 at 7:19 am

On durability & reliability, buy DMAX or hilux. Because I also heard many complaints of it’s engine. Injector problems & manual gearbox faulty also too. If the navara coming with new engine & gearbox then can give a try.

• Yes, I do owned D-Max 3.0 4×2 Auto, it’s reliability & durability. No complaint at mechanical failure, just wear & tear parts got replaced.

• From my experience, I never trust ford & mazda from beginning. They share same engines & chassis frame. Well, built quality is really not good compare to Japanese. My friends drives Ford all have their weird complains. Example, good friend of mine, 2008 ranger with warning light on. Went to diagnose, roof leaking & water goes into chassis wires. 2nd problem injector no 3 spoil. Done repair with replacement & maintenance on another 3 injector RM5K.Now gearbox skip 3rd gear. Riding like horse.
      Another good friend with ford van, less than 8 years spend several times overhaul, 4 injectors nozzle replacement, manual gearbox spoil, oil leaking & high fuel consumption same as his Toyota dyna 5-ton truck.

• Same Lorrr on May 11, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Hailat Good RV, better than DMax, Ranger & Colorado

• Ford Dual Clutch on May 11, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Ford’s problematic gearbox are dual clutch.
    Used in focus, fiesta.
    So far, ranger no problem

• ThePowerofDreams on May 11, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Sam Loo is coming too

• Hilux killed pupils

• The hailats are coming to invade the world. Humanity should work together to destroy this abomination and ensure that it never happens again.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 11, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Hilux is a great tool to show kimchi owners at my yard.

Instead of telling them that their rotten cabbages have no RV, just point them at the Hilux

• Philp L on May 12, 2015 at 8:34 am

SamLoooo, Come! you always talk about RV right??? So, new hailat gonna releases soon. So, I gonna sell my 2010 Hilux with High Resale Value! Now, it’s Your time to perform and show.. Before that, tell your toyota big head boss, equip new hailat with VSC! I love VSC very much.

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 12, 2015 at 10:07 am

Go to Thailand if you want Hilux with VSC. I doubt UMW wouldn’t put VSC in their lineups.

• Philp L on May 12, 2015 at 12:09 pm

tat why i asked samloo to tell big head boss! i think new hilux will has VSC. Because Hiace window van already equipped with VSC for 2015 model.

• demon89 on May 12, 2015 at 10:15 am

Cant wait for the debut…after this its gonna be a competitive 1 in truck selling market…hopefully price can be lower lor…

• cc poh on May 12, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Ahead of its unveiling, which is nowconfirmed for May 21 in Thailand, Toyota has issued a teaser of the 2016 Hilux Revo. The unveiling of the new Hilux Revo will be closely followed by the new Fortuner (expected to be revealed in July), and the all-new Innova.

The new Hilux will come in a total of 31 variants.

Three variations of the new Hilux Revo will be offered initially – Single Cab, Smart Cab and Double Cab. Each of these will come with three engine options (2.4- and 2.8-liter diesel and 2.7-liter petrol), with manual and automatic transmissions, and 2WD and 4WD. In all, the new Hilux will be offered in 31 variants.

As reported earlier, the 2.4- and 2.8-liter diesel engines replace the 2.5- and 3.0-liter units. It remains to be seen if these are all-new engines, or merely modified versions of the older engine architecture.

All 31 variants of the new Toyota Hilux Revo will get SRS airbags as standard, while features such as VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) are reserved for the top-end variants, which are more likely to be purchased by private and self-driven owners.