2016 Dodge Viper ACR – fastest street-legal Viper ever

Dodge Viper ACR-02

This mad-looking machine is the 2016 Dodge Viper ACR, the fastest street-legal Viper track car ever. This is the latest in the line of hardcore ACR Vipers, from the original 1999 model to the second ACR (2008-2010) based on the fourth-gen coupe. There was also a non-street legal Viper ACR-X that was targeted at the grassroots racer.

For the 2016 Viper ACR, the SRT engineering team focused its efforts on three areas: aerodynamics, chassis and tyres to maximise grip, producing “never-seen-before handling capabilities and unprecedented lap times,” according to Dodge. “Our goal is to arm our enthusiasts with the ultimate Viper track car to dominate road courses around the world,” proclaimed Tim Kuniskis, president and CEO of Dodge and SRT brands.

An Extreme Aero package produces the highest aerodynamic downforce of any production car. During on-track testing, development engineers have experienced nearly one-tonne of downforce at the Viper ACR’s top speed of 285 km/h.

Dodge Viper ACR-03

It includes a huge 1,876 mm wide adjustable dual-element rear wing, rear carbon fibre diffuser (includes six removable strake extensions, designed to rub against the track surface for increased straight-line stability and downforce), unique SRT hood with removable louvers (to reduce air pressure in front wheel wells to for more downforce), detachable extension for the front splitter and four dive planes.

A fast car needs brakes to match, and the Viper ACR features new Brembo Carbon Ceramic Matrix brakes for optimum performance with “unprecedented brake fade resistance”, plus better handling through reduced unsprung weight. It consists of 390 mm two-piece front rotors and 360 mm two-piece rear rotors, with six-piston calipers up front and four-piston units at the back.

At each corner sit aluminium bodied, double-adjustable coilover Bilstein race shocks designed specifically for the Viper ACR. They work in conjunction with ride height adjustment for optimal control of weight transfer and handling performance. Each shock provides independent 10-way rebound and compression adjustability, and the system allows for more than three inches of ride height adjustment.

Dodge Viper ACR-04

Dodge says that the 295/25 R19 front tyres and 355/30 R19 rears provide the largest combined tyre patch available on any production car. They are Kumho Ecsta V720s designed specifically for the Viper ACR.

At the heart of the ACR is the handcrafted, all-aluminium 8.4 litre V10 overhead-valve engine, rated at 645 hp and 814 Nm of torque. Power reaches the pavement through the standard Tremec TR6060 six-speed manual ‘box. Unique exhaust tips have been added to the side-mounted pipes for reduced exhaust pressure.

Inside, the instrument cluster area and door armrest panels are wrapped in Alcantara. A new, ACR-exclusive Alcantara wrapped steering wheel with racing stripe and unique badging further sets the ACR apart. The term “high-grip” is also used for the seats (again, with Alcantara inserts), while a unique dash plaque is finished in carbon fibre. Customers can choose between silver or red accent stitching.

Hand-built in Detroit at FCA’s Conner Avenue Assembly Plant, the Viper ACR goes on sale in Q3 2015.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Areyousure on May 12, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Anyone going to say the interior looks like Proton Saga?

• all that horsepower and down force for only 285 km/h…

• Have you ever considered the power-to-weight ratio? The car can actually float, in fact, fly in that kind of speeds. It’s not how much the top speed is, but how to keep the car grounded, which means down force. Those down force generates drag to make the car sit on the tarmac, as well as high speed corners. And the top speed depends on the gear ratio with the effects of engine rpm, as well as the size of the wheels. If you think this is excessive, try looking at

• I feel like they could have done better. Also I want to know what do you want me to look at.

Aaand people will comment like: “You try to do lah, make the top speed higher!” It is not directed to you Faiz. You gave some good points.

• Jonn Dol on May 12, 2015 at 6:14 pm

But the problem is, there’s too much emphasis on downforce that the top speed is severely affected. The downforce performance balancing is a bit, well unbalanced.In case of the hardcore version of European supercars, they still could break the 300 km/h barrier with good downforce level.Or maybe the gear ratio of the Viper ACR is too short?

• GT3 (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Aiyo akio. Do u even know what downforce for? It provides stability on high speed cruising as well as high speed cornering. Because of those massive wing that gives downforce, it’s a compromise for its top speed. If u remove the wings and spoilers, for sure the ACR can achieve much higher top speed with that power. 320-330 kmh i would say.
      Please read more and have physics common sense before commenting.

• I know what downforce is. Come on, it has 645 hp. Can they do something?

• You underestimate how downforce can affect top speed. Formula One with 1000 horsepower can’t go through 400kph due to downforce. Furthermore this Viper is track focused, why they need to make it have a high top speed if it can complete a lap quickly? All that matters is cornering speed

• this dodge top speed is 285km/h…my vios turbo can go 240km/h… so in term of money value it is better to buy vios… still can chase close enough this dodge at highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • GT3 (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Ok la even if your ‘turbocharged’ Vios REALLLYYYY can go 240 kmh, how long will it take? 5 min? 7 min? Im sure this ACR can achieve 240 much earlier.
      And do u really think that u’re gonna race it on a long straight smooth road? On corner, this ACR can carry higher speed and exit corner faster, while your turbo Vios with crappy gt wings and spring potong would surely masuk longkang if taking corner near 200 kmh.

• 0-100 in less than 6 secs… 0-200 in less than 15secs… 0-240 in 20secs

• freddie on May 12, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Liked this comment for it’s stupidity

• areyousure, you’re saying that the interior looks like Saga? Saga is not even close to this. Dreamer

• Ah Beng Sunway vios now has another thing to inspire them

• Myvilembughini on May 12, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Talk about stree-legal, nothing is comparable with our Perodua MyVighini 1.5 SE. Malaysia boleh!

• vioslover on May 12, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Yes, it does resemble Saga a little especially the aircond vents and passenger dash. As for Wong, let me list the fastest cars in Malaysia, including sports cars (GTR, Impreza etc)

5th: Evo
    4th: Impreza
    3rd : GTR, tied with some Satria Neo
    2nd: Myvi. Although people say it’s the fastest, it is not.
    1st: Vios, especially the dugong version.