GALLERY: 2016 Audi TT 2.0 TFSI – a closer look

2015_Audi_TT_Malaysia_ 002

Launched just mere days ago, we are now able bring you a more detailed gallery at the 2016 Audi TT 2.0 TFSI, inside and out. Seen here sans the optional S line package, the third-generation icon wears a more contemporary face, which definitely helps to bring it in line with its rejuvenated stablemates.

Up front, a new front grille is crowned by the signature four-ring badge of Ingolstadt – the second-generation variant housed the Audi logo within its grille. Continuing on the marque’s strength of providing oh-so-cool headlights, the new TT sports sharply-defined assemblies which contain xenon projectors along with LED daytime running lights.

For an additional RM9,000, Audi will throw in its Matrix LED headlamps. In profile, the 2016 Audi TT 2.0 TFSI is equipped with twin five-spoke 18-inch alloys, shod with Continental’s ContiSportContact 5 tyres. Other wheel designs, as well as larger 19-inch S line items are available as cost options.

The rear of the car adopts a similar evolutionary-over-revolutionary mantra with the taillights appearing more familiar than they should be, albeit with updated graphics within. A pop-up spoiler deploys at speeds of 120 km/h and above to provide downforce while the third brake lamp is now a thin strip of crimson underneath said spoiler – should be quite the spectacle at night, this one.

Down below, the segregated twin exhaust outlets serve as an aesthetic throwback to (certain variants of) the first generation TT, themselves now embedded into a diffuser-like element. All in all, the MQB platform-based coupe tips the scales at 1,335 kg and measures in at 4,180 mm, 1,837 mm and 1,353 mm in length, width and height, respectively. Wheelbase has been stretched by 37 mm to 2,505 mm.

On the inside, things are a lot more advanced with a streamlined interior layout courtesy of the deletion of an MMI screen. Said display has now been integrated into the instrument cluster, forming the 12.3-inch TFT LCD Audi virtual cockpit display panel. MMI Radio with MMI Touch comes as standard while MMI Navigation is a cost option along with the 12-speaker Bang & Olufsen sound system – the latter goes for RM3,000.

Performance figures aren’t too shabby, either – the century sprint gets completed in 5.9 seconds while top speed is quoted at 250 km/h. Under the aluminium bonnet sits a 2.0 litre turbocharged TFSI four-cylinder engine pumping out 230 hp and 370 Nm of torque. A six-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission sends the power to the front wheels – no quattro variant for us Malaysians, at least not yet.

Prices for the Audi TT begin at RM284,900, on-the-road with GST, sans insurance. A four-year/120,000 km (whichever comes first) manufacturer warranty is offered. As mentioned, a plethora of options are offered including 10 different colour schemes – see them all here at Carbase.my.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• James Tam on May 12, 2015 at 9:29 am

Just my personal point of view, An Audi simply isnt an Audi without its God forbidden Quattro. =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Contender on May 12, 2015 at 9:33 am

Any idea or news if Audi Malaysia will bring in the entry level model 1.8 ?

• AhBengCRZ on May 12, 2015 at 10:01 am

Unlike the Honda CRZ, This TT looks miles better. Merely top up 50k frm last CRZ price…

• Gorgeous body design! Lame dashboard… =( why Audi!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Lololol on May 12, 2015 at 10:08 am

Hmmm… issit me or there arent any CD/DVD slot anymore? Also, with all the controls in the middle and no center screen, how is the passenger going to control the audio etc if he / she has a challenge to view the screen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • JB_KIA on May 12, 2015 at 10:14 am

See how fortunate we are…S’pore ppl can’t even buy a Vios at this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Kenneth Fook on May 12, 2015 at 11:16 am

Strongly Agree. Ppl here are not respecting the ruling coalition. Transport service here in malaysia is good enough to compensate the high price of cars. On top of that, our car prices are very much reasonable as compared to Singapore. Lets not focus on the small dot on a piece of white paper. Malaysia Boleh!!! Long live 1 Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
    • Poor Malaysian on May 12, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Fortunate? How about Singapore’s economic development, security, uncorrupted government, valuable S’pore dollar, tons of opportunity and all the benefits we malaysian cant even dream of ????

Do u still think we are lucky now??

• Captain America on May 12, 2015 at 10:53 am

How come sell so cheap?
    Can foresee many rich kids drivin to college which their lecturer only can afford blm. Sad but true! This is malaysia.

• 4G63T DSM on May 12, 2015 at 1:09 pm

No Quattro.

I would probably get flamed for this but I don’t think the TT is pretty enough, and entry level of anything isn’t cool.

Save 30k and get the faster, AWD, more practical Golf R?

• wiwiwiwiw on May 12, 2015 at 10:54 am

Interesting pricing and specs, nice one Audi Malaysia. Are you guys going to slash the prices the rest of the Audi range? Can’t wait for the new A4. Please give us a full factory five year warranty!

• Fabric seat !?

• sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Quattro is what makes an Audi, an Audi.

If you want a FWD coupe, why not get the Scirocco.

Audi Malaysia should have given it Quattro. Though in this FWD variant, the price isn’t too bad.

• Quattro is not what makes Audi, an Audi.
      Go Google Audi’s history. Lots of misinformed comments about Quattro and FWD cars here. Audi’s heritage probably surpasses that of BMW.

• roxas on May 12, 2015 at 5:36 pm

the TT just gets better from generation to generation . i dont mind FWD TT, its still awesome right

• seancorr (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 5:40 pm

With this kind of price the Toyota 86 and the upcoming Mazda MX-5 will now seem a tad too expensive when compared to this premium German car which is a lot quicker off the quarter mile and decent spec inside.

Now to wait for the used car prices to tumble and maybe some pretty nice pre-reg units.

• Josh Ling on May 13, 2015 at 1:29 am

i must say the look definitely is growing on me.

• blaster88 on May 16, 2015 at 4:12 pm

For those of you that bitch about the dash board, you have to go there to take a look esp with the MMI plus option. oh Man….as usual Audi this TT oozes quality and class… While the MMI without the plus is nice, the plus allows you to electronically pan in/out and focus on certain areas…but its RM9500 which to me is day light robbery!!!! The B & O system is ok at 3k, the Matrix LED lights are a whopping 9.5K, the reg led at 5k is good enough…..while the price is attractive (by MY standards, the accesories can add up another 20K easily. Looks like they are following Porsche, give you a basic car and you add the goodies…

• shawal on May 19, 2015 at 6:35 pm

the matrix led light is expensive, and if anything were to happen itll be costly to repair…

Bno system is 3k, thats quite a bargain, that is as much as whut umw toyota is charhing for their lackluster dvd-n system