KL-Singapore High Speed Rail – Singaporean terminus to be in Jurong East, area to become second CBD

Hitachi Super Express

The Singapore government has announced that the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail terminus will be located in Jurong East, Bernama reports. The terminus will take up about 12 hectares, or around 20%, of the current site of the Jurong Country Club.

Singapore has big plans for the area – the site is set to be significantly re-developed to house new mixed-use developments and community facilities to serve Jurong residents, High Speed Rail passengers and visitors. Jurong itself is also set to be developed as a second Central Business District and a new gateway to Singapore.

Apart from being closely located to Jurong Gateway, a vibrant mixed-use precinct, the Jurong Country Club site is served by the East-West and North-South MRT lines (Jurong East MRT station). New Jurong Region and Cross Island MRT lines are also planned around the area, as well as the future integrated transport hub in Jurong East.

hitachi bullet train

The Malaysian terminus, meanwhile, is set to be located at Bandar Malaysia in Sungai Besi.

The KL-Singapore High Speed Rail project was originally targeted to be completed by 2020, but prime ministers Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Lee Hsien Loong have decided to reassess the deadline considering the scale and complexity of the project. However, economic and commercial counsellor of the Chinese embassy in Malaysia, Wu Zhengping, has said that China can build the line by 2020, if given the contract.

The 330 km line is set to bring down the travel time between KL and Singapore to 90 minutes, with trains on the service projected to run at average speeds of 350 to 450 km/h. A number of countries are lobbying for involvement in the project, including Japan, France, Germany and China.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• If China can complete in 2020, so how about the safety? i rather hope it can be done in 2025, 5 more years to do safety inspection. wahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Ultra2Disk on May 12, 2015 at 12:36 pm

5 years safety inspection ( Especially Train and Train speed test ) is RIDICULOUS, too much on kopitiam instead. I think less than 1 year is adequate. Project length is done by phase, one phase complete, go with safety inspection while other other phase start developing. This one we can see few train station to start operation first.
      Maybe we can also ask YTL ( ERL devloper ) to check, just for sure.

• Good luck to Msian govt trying to buy kampung land.

• BNaik on May 12, 2015 at 12:16 pm

BN love Rakyat, Rakyat support ah jib.
    Enough say.

2020 all Rakyat salary RM10k minimum, cars, properties, foods and medicine all RM1.

1MBD and all Tabung no corruption. Just follow or Get out of Malaysia !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Asal bukan Penipu Rakyat on May 12, 2015 at 3:15 pm

P(enipu) Rakyat loves (to tipu) the Rakyat, Rakyat (blindly) support Buttseks.
      Enough say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • Super on May 12, 2015 at 5:11 pm

So, which one penipu most?.

• Asal bukan Penipu Rakyat on May 12, 2015 at 5:47 pm

One is a thief who steals.
          Another is a priest who lies.

One is following his instincts.
          Another is going against everything he preaches.

You take your pick which is worse.

• ProminentWife on May 12, 2015 at 12:22 pm

90 minutes traveling time and all the hassles to build it? i rather fly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Ultra2Disk on May 12, 2015 at 12:39 pm

While other try to avoid flying, who likes airport inspection and wait ?

• Korean Fan on May 12, 2015 at 1:54 pm

While flying may sound fast, actually it took more time. You need to be in the airport 2 hours before the flight. Add another 1 hour travel to airport. And another 1 to get out of airport. Finally the flight to Singapore took about 45 min. So all in you spend 4 h and 45 min.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • ProminentWife on May 12, 2015 at 5:23 pm

To be fair, if online check-in before reaching the airport, then can be at the boarding gate 40min before departure + from KL to KLIA took about 30min = 70min.

If take high speed train, u still need to travel to the high speed train station in city center, so with the massive jam in city center might need 20-30min from house? then the train station still have some check-in process that may take another 15min? 20+15+45 = 80min minimum..

• CyberPatrol on May 12, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Bandar Malaysia, the chosen site then I guess there going be an alignment of MRT2 to HSR terminal and KL Sentral HUB to HSR terminal.

I guess Malaysia-Singapore has to come to an agreement to which country of high speed rails from given choices from China, French, German and Japan.

• shawal on May 12, 2015 at 12:48 pm

I hope they make a stop right in front of JBO hahahaha

• mr1031 on May 12, 2015 at 1:41 pm

since the service will be between countries, how’s the implementation of GST to the ticket? or is it being charge only to local stations?

• Sing GST % higher than MY, so u want to follow which country GST?

• If accident happen (touch wood), SG will blame MY. MY citizen pula will ownselves blame MY. You can quote me on this for posterity.

• Why dont go for 600km/h train? extend the rail to bangkok will be nicer

• Siput BabyTech on May 12, 2015 at 5:50 pm

600 km/h, you need Maglev, bipolar magnet technology. Only two countries build this kind of trains, Siemens – Germany (their trains are used for the Shanghai-Pudong express) and JNR – Japan. Nobody else has this technology. The drawback – it will cost almost triple the price of the HSR that Malaysia and Singapore is planning.

• Triple would work out quite nicely actually. With SG currency >2 times ours, SG ought to sponsor 2/3 of the cost and we 1/3. Then it would be fair to everybody.

• Josh Ling on May 13, 2015 at 1:24 am

The writer used three paragraphs to describe what Singapore government is trying to do with the new terminus area, and already have some big plans in-store. whereas for Malaysia, only one sentence “The Malaysian terminus, meanwhile, is set to be located at Bandar Malaysia in Sungai Besi.”

way to go, Malaysian government. way to go…..

• tommy on May 15, 2015 at 8:42 pm

The Kuala Lumpur-Singapore HSR will have 7 stops in Malaysia, starting in Kuala Lumpur, PutraJaya, Seremban, Ayer Keroh, Muar, Batu Pahat and Nusajaya before crossing over to Singapore terminal at Jurong East.